tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/12/2015 : KOMMANDO - Skull Snake

KOMMANDO

Skull Snake

MusicCD
Dark AmbientIndustrialPower Electronics

[60/100]   

Ant-Zen
06/12/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Skull Snake is the sixth album by Dan Courtman, a.k.a.Kommando, on which he pays attention to the various aspects of the serpent: the biblical meaning, snake skin, snake venom and the snake pit, which in European legends is connected with concepts such as horror, torture and death. The result is a dark and gloomy album on which slow kick drums and haunting loops are connected with heavy synths, distortion and voice manipulations, and for which he calls on the Swedish guest vocalist Th. Tot (a.k.a. Trepaneringsritualen) in one track (Serpent Seed).

There is little diversity on Skull Snake. Essentially, the 10 tracks are variations on the same musical themes. As a result, the album is quite homogenous, but primarily intended for those who love death industrial, power electronics and a very dark ambient. The common denominator is a combination of growling drones, electronic noise and distorted voices to create a pitch-dark industrial atmosphere. The soundscapes are interesting as not everyday compositions that we would definitely want to listen to regularly, but the added voices might be too much for non-diehards of the genre.

Tracklisting:
1 The Nhsh Truth/bearer of lies
2 Snakepit
3 Picrotoxin
4 Stimulus Pre-Mortem
5 I Wear Your Skin
6 Häutung
7 Serpent Seed, Feat. Th. Tot (a.k.a. Trepaneringsritualen)
8 Infected Wounds Grow Endless
9 Crosses
0 Cytolysis

www.ant-zen.bandcamp.com/album/skull-snake
www.ant-zen.com
www.mailorder.ant-zen.com

William LIÉNARD
06/12/2015


NL

Skull Snake is het zesde album van Dan Courtman, a.k.a. Kommando, waarop hij aandacht besteedt aan de diverse aspecten van de slang: de Bijbelse betekenis, de slangenhuid, het slangenvergif en de slangenkuil, die in Europese legendes verbonden wordt met begrippen zoals horror, marteling en dood. Het resultaat is een donker en somber album waarop trage kickdrums en indringende loops verbonden worden met heftige synths, distortion en stemmanipulaties, en waarvoor hij in 1 track (Serpent Seed) een beroep doet op de Zweedse gastvocalist Th. Tot (a.k.a. Trepaneringsritualen).

Heel divers kan je het materiaal op Skull Snake niet noemen, de 10 tracks zijn hoofdzakelijk variaties op dezelfde muzikale aanpak, waardoor het album een grote homogeniteit uitstraalt, maar hoofdzakelijk bedoeld is voor liefhebbers van death industrial, power electronics en dark ambient. De algemene deler is een combinatie van grommende drones, elektronoise en vervormd stemgeluid waarmee een pikdonkere industriële sfeer wordt gecreëerd. De soundscapes zijn op zich interessant als niet alledaagse geluidsdecors die we zelf beslist regelmatig zouden willen horen, maar de toegevoegde stem is er voor niet-diehards wellicht net te veel aan.

William LIÉNARD
06/12/2015


 

Next reviews
WILDNORTHE • Awe
DYSTOPIAN SOCIETY • Overturned Reality
GARADH • Need A Change
QUEEN KWONG, LUSHES • Ghent, De Charlatan (05/12/2015)
THE BONES • Flash The Leather
ALESSANDRA GISMONDI (SCHONWALD) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Eclipse-Das Schwarze Denkmal
TENEK • Smoke & Mirrors
KISSING PARTY • Looking Back it was Romantic but at the Time I was Suffocating
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ghosts Of Christmas Past (Remake)

 

Other reviews from KOMMANDO
KOMMANDO • Kranial Klash

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
DARKHER • Realms
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident

 

Same genre: POWER ELECTRONICS
XOTOX • Essentials
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
CRUISE (CTRL) • Let's Rock
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
CONTROL • In Harm’s Way
VARIOUS ARTISTS • 25 Years of Hands
SHE SPREAD SORROW • Rumspringa
ILLEGAL TRADE • Acid For The Royal Family
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL • Germany (2015)

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real