tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/12/2015 : KOMMANDO - Skull Snake

KOMMANDO

Skull Snake

MusicCD
Dark AmbientIndustrialPower Electronics

[60/100]   

Ant-Zen
06/12/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Skull Snake is the sixth album by Dan Courtman, a.k.a.Kommando, on which he pays attention to the various aspects of the serpent: the biblical meaning, snake skin, snake venom and the snake pit, which in European legends is connected with concepts such as horror, torture and death. The result is a dark and gloomy album on which slow kick drums and haunting loops are connected with heavy synths, distortion and voice manipulations, and for which he calls on the Swedish guest vocalist Th. Tot (a.k.a. Trepaneringsritualen) in one track (Serpent Seed).

There is little diversity on Skull Snake. Essentially, the 10 tracks are variations on the same musical themes. As a result, the album is quite homogenous, but primarily intended for those who love death industrial, power electronics and a very dark ambient. The common denominator is a combination of growling drones, electronic noise and distorted voices to create a pitch-dark industrial atmosphere. The soundscapes are interesting as not everyday compositions that we would definitely want to listen to regularly, but the added voices might be too much for non-diehards of the genre.

Tracklisting:
1 The Nhsh Truth/bearer of lies
2 Snakepit
3 Picrotoxin
4 Stimulus Pre-Mortem
5 I Wear Your Skin
6 Häutung
7 Serpent Seed, Feat. Th. Tot (a.k.a. Trepaneringsritualen)
8 Infected Wounds Grow Endless
9 Crosses
0 Cytolysis

www.ant-zen.bandcamp.com/album/skull-snake
www.ant-zen.com
www.mailorder.ant-zen.com

William LIÉNARD
06/12/2015


NL

Skull Snake is het zesde album van Dan Courtman, a.k.a. Kommando, waarop hij aandacht besteedt aan de diverse aspecten van de slang: de Bijbelse betekenis, de slangenhuid, het slangenvergif en de slangenkuil, die in Europese legendes verbonden wordt met begrippen zoals horror, marteling en dood. Het resultaat is een donker en somber album waarop trage kickdrums en indringende loops verbonden worden met heftige synths, distortion en stemmanipulaties, en waarvoor hij in 1 track (Serpent Seed) een beroep doet op de Zweedse gastvocalist Th. Tot (a.k.a. Trepaneringsritualen).

Heel divers kan je het materiaal op Skull Snake niet noemen, de 10 tracks zijn hoofdzakelijk variaties op dezelfde muzikale aanpak, waardoor het album een grote homogeniteit uitstraalt, maar hoofdzakelijk bedoeld is voor liefhebbers van death industrial, power electronics en dark ambient. De algemene deler is een combinatie van grommende drones, elektronoise en vervormd stemgeluid waarmee een pikdonkere industriële sfeer wordt gecreëerd. De soundscapes zijn op zich interessant als niet alledaagse geluidsdecors die we zelf beslist regelmatig zouden willen horen, maar de toegevoegde stem is er voor niet-diehards wellicht net te veel aan.

William LIÉNARD
06/12/2015


 

Next reviews
WILDNORTHE • Awe
DYSTOPIAN SOCIETY • Overturned Reality
GARADH • Need A Change
QUEEN KWONG, LUSHES • Ghent, De Charlatan (05/12/2015)
THE BONES • Flash The Leather
ALESSANDRA GISMONDI (SCHONWALD) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Eclipse-Das Schwarze Denkmal
TENEK • Smoke & Mirrors
KISSING PARTY • Looking Back it was Romantic but at the Time I was Suffocating
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ghosts Of Christmas Past (Remake)

 

Other reviews from KOMMANDO
KOMMANDO • Kranial Klash

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried

 

Same genre: POWER ELECTRONICS
XOTOX • Essentials
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
CRUISE (CTRL) • Let's Rock
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
CONTROL • In Harm’s Way
VARIOUS ARTISTS • 25 Years of Hands
SHE SPREAD SORROW • Rumspringa
ILLEGAL TRADE • Acid For The Royal Family
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL • Germany (2015)

Music reviews

15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO