tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/12/2015 : KOMMANDO - Skull Snake

KOMMANDO

Skull Snake

MusicCD
Dark AmbientIndustrialPower Electronics

[60/100]   

Ant-Zen
06/12/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Skull Snake is the sixth album by Dan Courtman, a.k.a.Kommando, on which he pays attention to the various aspects of the serpent: the biblical meaning, snake skin, snake venom and the snake pit, which in European legends is connected with concepts such as horror, torture and death. The result is a dark and gloomy album on which slow kick drums and haunting loops are connected with heavy synths, distortion and voice manipulations, and for which he calls on the Swedish guest vocalist Th. Tot (a.k.a. Trepaneringsritualen) in one track (Serpent Seed).

There is little diversity on Skull Snake. Essentially, the 10 tracks are variations on the same musical themes. As a result, the album is quite homogenous, but primarily intended for those who love death industrial, power electronics and a very dark ambient. The common denominator is a combination of growling drones, electronic noise and distorted voices to create a pitch-dark industrial atmosphere. The soundscapes are interesting as not everyday compositions that we would definitely want to listen to regularly, but the added voices might be too much for non-diehards of the genre.

Tracklisting:
1 The Nhsh Truth/bearer of lies
2 Snakepit
3 Picrotoxin
4 Stimulus Pre-Mortem
5 I Wear Your Skin
6 Häutung
7 Serpent Seed, Feat. Th. Tot (a.k.a. Trepaneringsritualen)
8 Infected Wounds Grow Endless
9 Crosses
0 Cytolysis

www.ant-zen.bandcamp.com/album/skull-snake
www.ant-zen.com
www.mailorder.ant-zen.com

William LIÉNARD
06/12/2015


NL

Skull Snake is het zesde album van Dan Courtman, a.k.a. Kommando, waarop hij aandacht besteedt aan de diverse aspecten van de slang: de Bijbelse betekenis, de slangenhuid, het slangenvergif en de slangenkuil, die in Europese legendes verbonden wordt met begrippen zoals horror, marteling en dood. Het resultaat is een donker en somber album waarop trage kickdrums en indringende loops verbonden worden met heftige synths, distortion en stemmanipulaties, en waarvoor hij in 1 track (Serpent Seed) een beroep doet op de Zweedse gastvocalist Th. Tot (a.k.a. Trepaneringsritualen).

Heel divers kan je het materiaal op Skull Snake niet noemen, de 10 tracks zijn hoofdzakelijk variaties op dezelfde muzikale aanpak, waardoor het album een grote homogeniteit uitstraalt, maar hoofdzakelijk bedoeld is voor liefhebbers van death industrial, power electronics en dark ambient. De algemene deler is een combinatie van grommende drones, elektronoise en vervormd stemgeluid waarmee een pikdonkere industriële sfeer wordt gecreëerd. De soundscapes zijn op zich interessant als niet alledaagse geluidsdecors die we zelf beslist regelmatig zouden willen horen, maar de toegevoegde stem is er voor niet-diehards wellicht net te veel aan.

William LIÉNARD
06/12/2015


 

Next reviews
WILDNORTHE • Awe
DYSTOPIAN SOCIETY • Overturned Reality
GARADH • Need A Change
QUEEN KWONG, LUSHES • Ghent, De Charlatan (05/12/2015)
THE BONES • Flash The Leather
ALESSANDRA GISMONDI (SCHONWALD) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Eclipse-Das Schwarze Denkmal
TENEK • Smoke & Mirrors
KISSING PARTY • Looking Back it was Romantic but at the Time I was Suffocating
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ghosts Of Christmas Past (Remake)

 

Other reviews from KOMMANDO
KOMMANDO • Kranial Klash

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec

 

Same genre: POWER ELECTRONICS
XOTOX • Essentials
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
CRUISE (CTRL) • Let's Rock
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
CONTROL • In Harm’s Way
VARIOUS ARTISTS • 25 Years of Hands
SHE SPREAD SORROW • Rumspringa
ILLEGAL TRADE • Acid For The Royal Family
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL • Germany (2015)

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)