tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/12/2015 : KOMMANDO - Skull Snake

KOMMANDO

Skull Snake

MusicCD
Dark AmbientIndustrialPower Electronics

[60/100]   

Ant-Zen
06/12/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Skull Snake is the sixth album by Dan Courtman, a.k.a.Kommando, on which he pays attention to the various aspects of the serpent: the biblical meaning, snake skin, snake venom and the snake pit, which in European legends is connected with concepts such as horror, torture and death. The result is a dark and gloomy album on which slow kick drums and haunting loops are connected with heavy synths, distortion and voice manipulations, and for which he calls on the Swedish guest vocalist Th. Tot (a.k.a. Trepaneringsritualen) in one track (Serpent Seed).

There is little diversity on Skull Snake. Essentially, the 10 tracks are variations on the same musical themes. As a result, the album is quite homogenous, but primarily intended for those who love death industrial, power electronics and a very dark ambient. The common denominator is a combination of growling drones, electronic noise and distorted voices to create a pitch-dark industrial atmosphere. The soundscapes are interesting as not everyday compositions that we would definitely want to listen to regularly, but the added voices might be too much for non-diehards of the genre.

Tracklisting:
1 The Nhsh Truth/bearer of lies
2 Snakepit
3 Picrotoxin
4 Stimulus Pre-Mortem
5 I Wear Your Skin
6 Häutung
7 Serpent Seed, Feat. Th. Tot (a.k.a. Trepaneringsritualen)
8 Infected Wounds Grow Endless
9 Crosses
0 Cytolysis

www.ant-zen.bandcamp.com/album/skull-snake
www.ant-zen.com
www.mailorder.ant-zen.com

William LIÉNARD
06/12/2015


NL

Skull Snake is het zesde album van Dan Courtman, a.k.a. Kommando, waarop hij aandacht besteedt aan de diverse aspecten van de slang: de Bijbelse betekenis, de slangenhuid, het slangenvergif en de slangenkuil, die in Europese legendes verbonden wordt met begrippen zoals horror, marteling en dood. Het resultaat is een donker en somber album waarop trage kickdrums en indringende loops verbonden worden met heftige synths, distortion en stemmanipulaties, en waarvoor hij in 1 track (Serpent Seed) een beroep doet op de Zweedse gastvocalist Th. Tot (a.k.a. Trepaneringsritualen).

Heel divers kan je het materiaal op Skull Snake niet noemen, de 10 tracks zijn hoofdzakelijk variaties op dezelfde muzikale aanpak, waardoor het album een grote homogeniteit uitstraalt, maar hoofdzakelijk bedoeld is voor liefhebbers van death industrial, power electronics en dark ambient. De algemene deler is een combinatie van grommende drones, elektronoise en vervormd stemgeluid waarmee een pikdonkere industriële sfeer wordt gecreëerd. De soundscapes zijn op zich interessant als niet alledaagse geluidsdecors die we zelf beslist regelmatig zouden willen horen, maar de toegevoegde stem is er voor niet-diehards wellicht net te veel aan.

William LIÉNARD
06/12/2015


 

Next reviews
WILDNORTHE • Awe
DYSTOPIAN SOCIETY • Overturned Reality
GARADH • Need A Change
QUEEN KWONG, LUSHES • Ghent, De Charlatan (05/12/2015)
THE BONES • Flash The Leather
ALESSANDRA GISMONDI (SCHONWALD) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Eclipse-Das Schwarze Denkmal
TENEK • Smoke & Mirrors
KISSING PARTY • Looking Back it was Romantic but at the Time I was Suffocating
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ghosts Of Christmas Past (Remake)

 

Other reviews from KOMMANDO
KOMMANDO • Kranial Klash

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
CAVERNA DELLE ROSE • Elysian Chants
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux

 

Same genre: POWER ELECTRONICS
XOTOX • Essentials
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
CRUISE (CTRL) • Let's Rock
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
CONTROL • In Harm’s Way
VARIOUS ARTISTS • 25 Years of Hands
SHE SPREAD SORROW • Rumspringa
ILLEGAL TRADE • Acid For The Royal Family
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL • Germany (2015)

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
05
36 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
41 years Spellbound!
19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
05
MODEL DEPOSE
Nightwatch
22
05
MARBLE SOUNDS
Tout et Partout
21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day
19
05
NITZER EBB
Join in the Chant (Burn!)
18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money