tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : CRUISE (CTRL) - Let's Rock

CRUISE (CTRL)

Let's Rock

MusicCD
ElectronicsPower ElectronicsPower Noise

[81/100]   

Signifier
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

Cruise (Ctrl) is a Belgian duo that exists for ten years now. The music is described as prune drone-electronica, and who are we to disagree? But really, this fourth album that features eight tracks explores all the areas of electronic music, from dark ambient to techno. A hodgepodge that ends in a very unique sound that gave these two guys a name in the Belgian electronic underground.

The CD starts with hard beats, while in the background some ominous keyboards show up. Somewhere it’s power noise, but you could eventually label it as techno that fucks your mind, the kind of music you can play when driving at the highway, of course at a high speed. The final seconds of Boys Light Fire are impressive as well, bleeping sounds that attack your mind.

You can enjoy Cruise (Ctrl) on the alternative dance floor (if the music ever gets there), or play it in your room with headphones on, and at a high volume. A track like Dancing Machines Create Image will haunt you, it has an industrial feel and somewhere this band should fit perfect on the Germand HANDS label.

It’s not about fear only, the addictive Circle Of Dreams makes you feel like you landed in the middle of a Formula 1 race. The machines are taking over, they rule and smash your brain. Man Makes Crying Man is characterized by deep beats, each of them feels like a drill, not that it ever becomes a cacophony as John C. and Gore keep it all under control.

Since My Baby Left Me (how do they find such a title?) has a repetitive pattern, impossible to stand still on, not even when you are in your lazy chair with your headphones on! Car Tree Woman is almost experimental industrial music that takes you back to the golden days of Monte Cazazza or Controlled Bleeding.

Woman With Memory Of Doll (we told you about those titles) has a chill-out feel, while the final track Why Electric Make Us Do Bad Things has the sound of a factory on fire.

Let’s Rock is perhaps a tad too extreme for some, but if you’re ready to hurt your eardrums, then just go for it!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis