tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : CRUISE (CTRL) - Let's Rock

CRUISE (CTRL)

Let's Rock

MusicCD
ElectronicsPower ElectronicsPower Noise

[81/100]   

Signifier
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

Cruise (Ctrl) is a Belgian duo that exists for ten years now. The music is described as prune drone-electronica, and who are we to disagree? But really, this fourth album that features eight tracks explores all the areas of electronic music, from dark ambient to techno. A hodgepodge that ends in a very unique sound that gave these two guys a name in the Belgian electronic underground.

The CD starts with hard beats, while in the background some ominous keyboards show up. Somewhere it’s power noise, but you could eventually label it as techno that fucks your mind, the kind of music you can play when driving at the highway, of course at a high speed. The final seconds of Boys Light Fire are impressive as well, bleeping sounds that attack your mind.

You can enjoy Cruise (Ctrl) on the alternative dance floor (if the music ever gets there), or play it in your room with headphones on, and at a high volume. A track like Dancing Machines Create Image will haunt you, it has an industrial feel and somewhere this band should fit perfect on the Germand HANDS label.

It’s not about fear only, the addictive Circle Of Dreams makes you feel like you landed in the middle of a Formula 1 race. The machines are taking over, they rule and smash your brain. Man Makes Crying Man is characterized by deep beats, each of them feels like a drill, not that it ever becomes a cacophony as John C. and Gore keep it all under control.

Since My Baby Left Me (how do they find such a title?) has a repetitive pattern, impossible to stand still on, not even when you are in your lazy chair with your headphones on! Car Tree Woman is almost experimental industrial music that takes you back to the golden days of Monte Cazazza or Controlled Bleeding.

Woman With Memory Of Doll (we told you about those titles) has a chill-out feel, while the final track Why Electric Make Us Do Bad Things has the sound of a factory on fire.

Let’s Rock is perhaps a tad too extreme for some, but if you’re ready to hurt your eardrums, then just go for it!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
09
JOHN HASSALL(THE LIBERTINES,THE APRIL RAINERS)
'I’m trying to write for everybody!'
21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem