tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : CRUISE (CTRL) - Let's Rock

CRUISE (CTRL)

Let's Rock

MusicCD
ElectronicsPower ElectronicsPower Noise

[81/100]   

Signifier
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

Cruise (Ctrl) is a Belgian duo that exists for ten years now. The music is described as prune drone-electronica, and who are we to disagree? But really, this fourth album that features eight tracks explores all the areas of electronic music, from dark ambient to techno. A hodgepodge that ends in a very unique sound that gave these two guys a name in the Belgian electronic underground.

The CD starts with hard beats, while in the background some ominous keyboards show up. Somewhere it’s power noise, but you could eventually label it as techno that fucks your mind, the kind of music you can play when driving at the highway, of course at a high speed. The final seconds of Boys Light Fire are impressive as well, bleeping sounds that attack your mind.

You can enjoy Cruise (Ctrl) on the alternative dance floor (if the music ever gets there), or play it in your room with headphones on, and at a high volume. A track like Dancing Machines Create Image will haunt you, it has an industrial feel and somewhere this band should fit perfect on the Germand HANDS label.

It’s not about fear only, the addictive Circle Of Dreams makes you feel like you landed in the middle of a Formula 1 race. The machines are taking over, they rule and smash your brain. Man Makes Crying Man is characterized by deep beats, each of them feels like a drill, not that it ever becomes a cacophony as John C. and Gore keep it all under control.

Since My Baby Left Me (how do they find such a title?) has a repetitive pattern, impossible to stand still on, not even when you are in your lazy chair with your headphones on! Car Tree Woman is almost experimental industrial music that takes you back to the golden days of Monte Cazazza or Controlled Bleeding.

Woman With Memory Of Doll (we told you about those titles) has a chill-out feel, while the final track Why Electric Make Us Do Bad Things has the sound of a factory on fire.

Let’s Rock is perhaps a tad too extreme for some, but if you’re ready to hurt your eardrums, then just go for it!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu