tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : BETH ORTON - Kidsticks

BETH ORTON

Kidsticks

MusicCD


[79/100]   

PIAS
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Although the style is different, in the mid-90s Beth Orton often was linked to Britpop. Obviously that’s because her breakthrough album (Trailer Park) was produced by Andrew Weatherall, who was responsible for Primal Scream’s Screamadelica. Her music is now labelled als electrofolk. Kidsticks is her new album, and this time it is produced by Andrew Hung of Fuck Buttons.

Beth Orton has become an artist for connoisseurs, the successor of Sugaring Season does not last long (ten songs), fortunately, they are all of a very high level.

Beth’s most powerful weapon is her voice and if you put that in an irresistible dance song, then you simply get magic.

Do not expect easy pop songs on this new album, because Orton loves experimenting and on the noisy Petals, the deafening guitar playing seems to be improvised. The musician doesn not wants to exhaust her audience,because 1973 is an easy (but intelligent) pop song. In Wave, Beth plays a perverted game with your head: the strange melody meanders slowly inside your brain and never gets out. Wistful electronics, and we can only call it great.

On the equally impressive Dawnstar, Beth's voice reminds us of Joni Mitchell, although the music is more like atmospheric darkwave. After the dreamy Falling follows the playful instrumental Corduroy Legs.

In Flesh And Blood, the British artist flirts again with dark, experimental electronics. The title track takes less than a minute, and then Beth disappears in the fog... You want us to say anything negative about this album? It is too short, for the rest we are (again) impressed by Beth Orton.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Hoewel de stijl mijlenver uit de buurt ligt, werd Beth Orton in het midden van de jaren 90 in één adem genoemd met Britpop. Dat had natuurlijk veel te maken met haar doorbraakalbum (Trailer Park) dat was geproducet door Andrew Weatherall, die verantwoordelijk was voor het baanbrekende werk van Primal Scream op Screamadelica. De artieste die nu gemakkelijkshalve het etiket van folktronica opgeplakt krijgt, is met Kidsticks aan haar zesde plaat toe, en deze keer is ze geproducet door Andrew Hung van Fuck Buttons.

Ondertussqen is Beth Orton een artieste voor fijnproevers. De opvolger van Sugaring Season duurt niet lang (er staan tien songs op), gelukkig zijn ze allemaal van een zeer hoog niveau. Het machtigste wapen waarover Beth beschikt is haar stem en als je die in een onweerstaanbare dancesong stopt, krijg je regelrechte magie.

Verwacht echter geen tien gemakkelijke popliedjes op dit album, Orton houdt ook van experimenteren en op het lawaaierige Petals lijkt het wel of het oorverdovende gitaarspel geïmproviseerd is. Niet dat de muzikante haar publiek echt wil vermoeien. 1973, dat nadien volg, is een vrolijk niemendalletje waarover weliswaar goed is nagedacht. Met Wave speelt Beth perverse spelletjes in je hoofd. Het vreemde melodietje kronkelt langzaam je hersenen binnen en het komt er niet zo gauw uit. Weemoedige elektronica en meer dan “buitengewoon fantastisch” kunnen we eigenlijk niet verzinnen.

In het al even indrukwekkende Dawnstar doet Beths stem ons wat denken aan Joni Mitchell, hoewel ze muzikaal meer de atmosferische darkwave opzoekt. Na het dromerige Falling, volgt het speelse Corduroy Legs, dat bijna volledig instrumentaal is.

In Flesh And Blood flirt de Britse nog eens met donkere, experimentele elektronica. Met de titeltrack, die amper een minuutje duurt, verdwijnt Beth alweer de mist in... Als er al iets negatief moet worden gezegd over dit plaatje, dan is het dat het te kort is. Voor de rest zijn we meer dan (nog eens) onder de indruk.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)