tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : BETH ORTON - Kidsticks

BETH ORTON

Kidsticks

MusicCD


[79/100]   

PIAS
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Although the style is different, in the mid-90s Beth Orton often was linked to Britpop. Obviously that’s because her breakthrough album (Trailer Park) was produced by Andrew Weatherall, who was responsible for Primal Scream’s Screamadelica. Her music is now labelled als electrofolk. Kidsticks is her new album, and this time it is produced by Andrew Hung of Fuck Buttons.

Beth Orton has become an artist for connoisseurs, the successor of Sugaring Season does not last long (ten songs), fortunately, they are all of a very high level.

Beth’s most powerful weapon is her voice and if you put that in an irresistible dance song, then you simply get magic.

Do not expect easy pop songs on this new album, because Orton loves experimenting and on the noisy Petals, the deafening guitar playing seems to be improvised. The musician doesn not wants to exhaust her audience,because 1973 is an easy (but intelligent) pop song. In Wave, Beth plays a perverted game with your head: the strange melody meanders slowly inside your brain and never gets out. Wistful electronics, and we can only call it great.

On the equally impressive Dawnstar, Beth's voice reminds us of Joni Mitchell, although the music is more like atmospheric darkwave. After the dreamy Falling follows the playful instrumental Corduroy Legs.

In Flesh And Blood, the British artist flirts again with dark, experimental electronics. The title track takes less than a minute, and then Beth disappears in the fog... You want us to say anything negative about this album? It is too short, for the rest we are (again) impressed by Beth Orton.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Hoewel de stijl mijlenver uit de buurt ligt, werd Beth Orton in het midden van de jaren 90 in één adem genoemd met Britpop. Dat had natuurlijk veel te maken met haar doorbraakalbum (Trailer Park) dat was geproducet door Andrew Weatherall, die verantwoordelijk was voor het baanbrekende werk van Primal Scream op Screamadelica. De artieste die nu gemakkelijkshalve het etiket van folktronica opgeplakt krijgt, is met Kidsticks aan haar zesde plaat toe, en deze keer is ze geproducet door Andrew Hung van Fuck Buttons.

Ondertussqen is Beth Orton een artieste voor fijnproevers. De opvolger van Sugaring Season duurt niet lang (er staan tien songs op), gelukkig zijn ze allemaal van een zeer hoog niveau. Het machtigste wapen waarover Beth beschikt is haar stem en als je die in een onweerstaanbare dancesong stopt, krijg je regelrechte magie.

Verwacht echter geen tien gemakkelijke popliedjes op dit album, Orton houdt ook van experimenteren en op het lawaaierige Petals lijkt het wel of het oorverdovende gitaarspel geïmproviseerd is. Niet dat de muzikante haar publiek echt wil vermoeien. 1973, dat nadien volg, is een vrolijk niemendalletje waarover weliswaar goed is nagedacht. Met Wave speelt Beth perverse spelletjes in je hoofd. Het vreemde melodietje kronkelt langzaam je hersenen binnen en het komt er niet zo gauw uit. Weemoedige elektronica en meer dan “buitengewoon fantastisch” kunnen we eigenlijk niet verzinnen.

In het al even indrukwekkende Dawnstar doet Beths stem ons wat denken aan Joni Mitchell, hoewel ze muzikaal meer de atmosferische darkwave opzoekt. Na het dromerige Falling, volgt het speelse Corduroy Legs, dat bijna volledig instrumentaal is.

In Flesh And Blood flirt de Britse nog eens met donkere, experimentele elektronica. Met de titeltrack, die amper een minuutje duurt, verdwijnt Beth alweer de mist in... Als er al iets negatief moet worden gezegd over dit plaatje, dan is het dat het te kort is. Voor de rest zijn we meer dan (nog eens) onder de indruk.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer
23
05
SCHONWALD
Fury