tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : BETH ORTON - Kidsticks

BETH ORTON

Kidsticks

MusicCD


[79/100]   

PIAS
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Although the style is different, in the mid-90s Beth Orton often was linked to Britpop. Obviously that’s because her breakthrough album (Trailer Park) was produced by Andrew Weatherall, who was responsible for Primal Scream’s Screamadelica. Her music is now labelled als electrofolk. Kidsticks is her new album, and this time it is produced by Andrew Hung of Fuck Buttons.

Beth Orton has become an artist for connoisseurs, the successor of Sugaring Season does not last long (ten songs), fortunately, they are all of a very high level.

Beth’s most powerful weapon is her voice and if you put that in an irresistible dance song, then you simply get magic.

Do not expect easy pop songs on this new album, because Orton loves experimenting and on the noisy Petals, the deafening guitar playing seems to be improvised. The musician doesn not wants to exhaust her audience,because 1973 is an easy (but intelligent) pop song. In Wave, Beth plays a perverted game with your head: the strange melody meanders slowly inside your brain and never gets out. Wistful electronics, and we can only call it great.

On the equally impressive Dawnstar, Beth's voice reminds us of Joni Mitchell, although the music is more like atmospheric darkwave. After the dreamy Falling follows the playful instrumental Corduroy Legs.

In Flesh And Blood, the British artist flirts again with dark, experimental electronics. The title track takes less than a minute, and then Beth disappears in the fog... You want us to say anything negative about this album? It is too short, for the rest we are (again) impressed by Beth Orton.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Hoewel de stijl mijlenver uit de buurt ligt, werd Beth Orton in het midden van de jaren 90 in één adem genoemd met Britpop. Dat had natuurlijk veel te maken met haar doorbraakalbum (Trailer Park) dat was geproducet door Andrew Weatherall, die verantwoordelijk was voor het baanbrekende werk van Primal Scream op Screamadelica. De artieste die nu gemakkelijkshalve het etiket van folktronica opgeplakt krijgt, is met Kidsticks aan haar zesde plaat toe, en deze keer is ze geproducet door Andrew Hung van Fuck Buttons.

Ondertussqen is Beth Orton een artieste voor fijnproevers. De opvolger van Sugaring Season duurt niet lang (er staan tien songs op), gelukkig zijn ze allemaal van een zeer hoog niveau. Het machtigste wapen waarover Beth beschikt is haar stem en als je die in een onweerstaanbare dancesong stopt, krijg je regelrechte magie.

Verwacht echter geen tien gemakkelijke popliedjes op dit album, Orton houdt ook van experimenteren en op het lawaaierige Petals lijkt het wel of het oorverdovende gitaarspel geïmproviseerd is. Niet dat de muzikante haar publiek echt wil vermoeien. 1973, dat nadien volg, is een vrolijk niemendalletje waarover weliswaar goed is nagedacht. Met Wave speelt Beth perverse spelletjes in je hoofd. Het vreemde melodietje kronkelt langzaam je hersenen binnen en het komt er niet zo gauw uit. Weemoedige elektronica en meer dan “buitengewoon fantastisch” kunnen we eigenlijk niet verzinnen.

In het al even indrukwekkende Dawnstar doet Beths stem ons wat denken aan Joni Mitchell, hoewel ze muzikaal meer de atmosferische darkwave opzoekt. Na het dromerige Falling, volgt het speelse Corduroy Legs, dat bijna volledig instrumentaal is.

In Flesh And Blood flirt de Britse nog eens met donkere, experimentele elektronica. Met de titeltrack, die amper een minuutje duurt, verdwijnt Beth alweer de mist in... Als er al iets negatief moet worden gezegd over dit plaatje, dan is het dat het te kort is. Voor de rest zijn we meer dan (nog eens) onder de indruk.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights