tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : XII - The Ever Unfolding

XII

The Ever Unfolding

MusicCD (EP)
Gothic Rock

[82/100]   

Themes For Ancients
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

XII is the brainchild of John Carter (ex-Fields Of The Nephilim). This EP contains The Ever Unfolding, a track from the excellent album Moving In The Shadows from 2015. The track has been shortened and lasts eight minutes, two minutes shorter than on the album. In our review we wrote that is a strong and epic track with a Led Zeppelin-like guitar riff. A gothic rock song with some prog rock ambitions. Fortunately, the soul of the song remains untouched in this version. Only the atmospheric guitar has been skipped and the song opens with the majestic guitar riff. It sounds excellent, just listen to the bass and guitar work.

The EP concludes with a new version of More that lasts two minutes,half a minute shorter than the original.

This EP is a good project, because it will probably lead the listener to the excellent Moving In The Shadows (2015), an album that every goth rock fan should have in his or her collection.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

XII is het geesteskind van John Carter ( ex-Fields Of The Nephilim). Deze ep bevat The Ever Unfolding, een track uit het uitstekende album Moving In The Shadows uit 2015. De track is ingekort tot acht minuten (van 10 minuten op het album). In onze bespreking kon je al lezen dat The Ever Unfolding een sterke en epische track was met een gitaarriff die uit de Led Zeppelin-stal kon komen. Een gothic rocksong met progrockambities.

Op deze ingekorte versie is gelukkig niet aan de ziel van de song geraakt, alleen de atmosferische gitaarintro is weggelaten. De song opent meteen met de majestueuze gitaarriff. De song is steengoed, luister maar eens naar het bas- en gitaarwerk.

De ep sluit af met een nieuwe versie van More (2 min.), die een halfminuutje korter is dan het origineel.

Deze ep is een goede zaak omdat hij de luisteraar naar het uitstekende album Moving In The Shadows uit 2015 leidt dat in feite iedere gothrockliefhebber in zijn collectie behoort te hebben.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
13
03
KRANKLAND
Oh My Love