tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : XII - The Ever Unfolding

XII

The Ever Unfolding

MusicCD (EP)
Gothic Rock

[82/100]   

Themes For Ancients
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

XII is the brainchild of John Carter (ex-Fields Of The Nephilim). This EP contains The Ever Unfolding, a track from the excellent album Moving In The Shadows from 2015. The track has been shortened and lasts eight minutes, two minutes shorter than on the album. In our review we wrote that is a strong and epic track with a Led Zeppelin-like guitar riff. A gothic rock song with some prog rock ambitions. Fortunately, the soul of the song remains untouched in this version. Only the atmospheric guitar has been skipped and the song opens with the majestic guitar riff. It sounds excellent, just listen to the bass and guitar work.

The EP concludes with a new version of More that lasts two minutes,half a minute shorter than the original.

This EP is a good project, because it will probably lead the listener to the excellent Moving In The Shadows (2015), an album that every goth rock fan should have in his or her collection.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

XII is het geesteskind van John Carter ( ex-Fields Of The Nephilim). Deze ep bevat The Ever Unfolding, een track uit het uitstekende album Moving In The Shadows uit 2015. De track is ingekort tot acht minuten (van 10 minuten op het album). In onze bespreking kon je al lezen dat The Ever Unfolding een sterke en epische track was met een gitaarriff die uit de Led Zeppelin-stal kon komen. Een gothic rocksong met progrockambities.

Op deze ingekorte versie is gelukkig niet aan de ziel van de song geraakt, alleen de atmosferische gitaarintro is weggelaten. De song opent meteen met de majestueuze gitaarriff. De song is steengoed, luister maar eens naar het bas- en gitaarwerk.

De ep sluit af met een nieuwe versie van More (2 min.), die een halfminuutje korter is dan het origineel.

Deze ep is een goede zaak omdat hij de luisteraar naar het uitstekende album Moving In The Shadows uit 2015 leidt dat in feite iedere gothrockliefhebber in zijn collectie behoort te hebben.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures