tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : XII - The Ever Unfolding

XII

The Ever Unfolding

MusicCD (EP)
Gothic Rock

[82/100]   

Themes For Ancients
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

XII is the brainchild of John Carter (ex-Fields Of The Nephilim). This EP contains The Ever Unfolding, a track from the excellent album Moving In The Shadows from 2015. The track has been shortened and lasts eight minutes, two minutes shorter than on the album. In our review we wrote that is a strong and epic track with a Led Zeppelin-like guitar riff. A gothic rock song with some prog rock ambitions. Fortunately, the soul of the song remains untouched in this version. Only the atmospheric guitar has been skipped and the song opens with the majestic guitar riff. It sounds excellent, just listen to the bass and guitar work.

The EP concludes with a new version of More that lasts two minutes,half a minute shorter than the original.

This EP is a good project, because it will probably lead the listener to the excellent Moving In The Shadows (2015), an album that every goth rock fan should have in his or her collection.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

XII is het geesteskind van John Carter ( ex-Fields Of The Nephilim). Deze ep bevat The Ever Unfolding, een track uit het uitstekende album Moving In The Shadows uit 2015. De track is ingekort tot acht minuten (van 10 minuten op het album). In onze bespreking kon je al lezen dat The Ever Unfolding een sterke en epische track was met een gitaarriff die uit de Led Zeppelin-stal kon komen. Een gothic rocksong met progrockambities.

Op deze ingekorte versie is gelukkig niet aan de ziel van de song geraakt, alleen de atmosferische gitaarintro is weggelaten. De song opent meteen met de majestueuze gitaarriff. De song is steengoed, luister maar eens naar het bas- en gitaarwerk.

De ep sluit af met een nieuwe versie van More (2 min.), die een halfminuutje korter is dan het origineel.

Deze ep is een goede zaak omdat hij de luisteraar naar het uitstekende album Moving In The Shadows uit 2015 leidt dat in feite iedere gothrockliefhebber in zijn collectie behoort te hebben.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

05
06
GOOD CO
So Pretty
30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017