tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : XII - The Ever Unfolding

XII

The Ever Unfolding

MusicCD (EP)
Gothic Rock

[82/100]   

Themes For Ancients
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

XII is the brainchild of John Carter (ex-Fields Of The Nephilim). This EP contains The Ever Unfolding, a track from the excellent album Moving In The Shadows from 2015. The track has been shortened and lasts eight minutes, two minutes shorter than on the album. In our review we wrote that is a strong and epic track with a Led Zeppelin-like guitar riff. A gothic rock song with some prog rock ambitions. Fortunately, the soul of the song remains untouched in this version. Only the atmospheric guitar has been skipped and the song opens with the majestic guitar riff. It sounds excellent, just listen to the bass and guitar work.

The EP concludes with a new version of More that lasts two minutes,half a minute shorter than the original.

This EP is a good project, because it will probably lead the listener to the excellent Moving In The Shadows (2015), an album that every goth rock fan should have in his or her collection.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

XII is het geesteskind van John Carter ( ex-Fields Of The Nephilim). Deze ep bevat The Ever Unfolding, een track uit het uitstekende album Moving In The Shadows uit 2015. De track is ingekort tot acht minuten (van 10 minuten op het album). In onze bespreking kon je al lezen dat The Ever Unfolding een sterke en epische track was met een gitaarriff die uit de Led Zeppelin-stal kon komen. Een gothic rocksong met progrockambities.

Op deze ingekorte versie is gelukkig niet aan de ziel van de song geraakt, alleen de atmosferische gitaarintro is weggelaten. De song opent meteen met de majestueuze gitaarriff. De song is steengoed, luister maar eens naar het bas- en gitaarwerk.

De ep sluit af met een nieuwe versie van More (2 min.), die een halfminuutje korter is dan het origineel.

Deze ep is een goede zaak omdat hij de luisteraar naar het uitstekende album Moving In The Shadows uit 2015 leidt dat in feite iedere gothrockliefhebber in zijn collectie behoort te hebben.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

27
01
MARTIN L. GORE
The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 39 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)