tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : XII - The Ever Unfolding

XII

The Ever Unfolding

MusicCD (EP)
Gothic Rock

[82/100]   

Themes For Ancients
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

XII is the brainchild of John Carter (ex-Fields Of The Nephilim). This EP contains The Ever Unfolding, a track from the excellent album Moving In The Shadows from 2015. The track has been shortened and lasts eight minutes, two minutes shorter than on the album. In our review we wrote that is a strong and epic track with a Led Zeppelin-like guitar riff. A gothic rock song with some prog rock ambitions. Fortunately, the soul of the song remains untouched in this version. Only the atmospheric guitar has been skipped and the song opens with the majestic guitar riff. It sounds excellent, just listen to the bass and guitar work.

The EP concludes with a new version of More that lasts two minutes,half a minute shorter than the original.

This EP is a good project, because it will probably lead the listener to the excellent Moving In The Shadows (2015), an album that every goth rock fan should have in his or her collection.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

XII is het geesteskind van John Carter ( ex-Fields Of The Nephilim). Deze ep bevat The Ever Unfolding, een track uit het uitstekende album Moving In The Shadows uit 2015. De track is ingekort tot acht minuten (van 10 minuten op het album). In onze bespreking kon je al lezen dat The Ever Unfolding een sterke en epische track was met een gitaarriff die uit de Led Zeppelin-stal kon komen. Een gothic rocksong met progrockambities.

Op deze ingekorte versie is gelukkig niet aan de ziel van de song geraakt, alleen de atmosferische gitaarintro is weggelaten. De song opent meteen met de majestueuze gitaarriff. De song is steengoed, luister maar eens naar het bas- en gitaarwerk.

De ep sluit af met een nieuwe versie van More (2 min.), die een halfminuutje korter is dan het origineel.

Deze ep is een goede zaak omdat hij de luisteraar naar het uitstekende album Moving In The Shadows uit 2015 leidt dat in feite iedere gothrockliefhebber in zijn collectie behoort te hebben.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?