tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : EAGULLS - Ullages

EAGULLS

Ullages

MusicCD
IndieNew wavePost Punk

[86/100]   

Partisan Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Probably, the British band Eagulls can’t bear the comparison any longer, but talking about these guys from Leeds, we almost automatically think of The Cure. George Mitchell can’t help it that his voice resembles Robert Smith's, nontheless the band uses many sounds (and styles) from The Cure.

Indeed, times change. Once you better kept your mouth shut when you thought the eighties was the most groundbreaking period in music, today it sounds hip to say so.

Eagulls will be the last band to refute it, how else would you explain the fact that these young guys covered the old hit Requiem by Killing Joke on their debut single? In England, the band is the hype of the moment: Steve Lamacq plays their records endlessly, and the band was the support act of Franz Ferdinand during the British tour.

Ullages (just a pun name of the band’s name) is the second album of Eagulls, one that does not sound as raw as the previous record. The band takes its inspiration from old wave records, but you never have the feeling that this is the work of a nostalgic eighties band.

The new album was produced by Matt Peel who has worked with The Crookes, while Craig Silvey took care of the mix (a guy who is linked with names like Depeche Mode and Nine Inch Nails).

Ullages is a very dark record. The voice sounds desperate and melancholic, with soaring guitars that sometimes explode.

Contemporary indie that finds its roots in classic wave: Hard Strings has those typical guitar patterns by Robin Guthrie and Simon Raymonde.

Ullages is perfect!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Waarschijnlijk kan de Britse band Eagulls de vergelijking al lang niet meer horen, maar wie het over deze jongens uit Leeds heeft, moet bijna automatisch de naam van The Cure vermelden. George Mitchell kan er natuurlijk ook niet aan doen dat zijn stem sprekend op die van Robert Smith lijkt, toch graait de band met plezier de geluiden (alsook de stijl) uit het grote Cure-boek. Inderdaad, tijden kunnen veranderen. Ooit hield je maar je beter je mond als je dacht dat de eighties de meest baanbrekende periode uit de muziek was, tegenwoordig klinkt zo’n stelling gewoon hip.

Eagulls zal de laatste band zijn om ons wat dat betreft tegen te spreken, hoe verklaar je anders dat jonge kerels op hun debuutsingle de oude kraker Requiem van Killing Joke coveren? De band is in Engeland al lang verheven tot de te volgen hype van het moment, Steve Lamacq draait hun platen stuk en de band was de support act van Franz Ferdinand tijdens de Britse toer.

Ullages (gewoon een woordspeling van de bandnaam) is de tweede plaat van Eagulls,eentje die niet zo rauw klinkt als de vorige. Eerder zoekt de band de sfeer van dromerige waveplaten van weleer op zonder dat je ook maar één moment het gevoel hebt dat dit het werk is van een nostalgisch eightiesbandje.

De nieuwe plaat i,s geproduceerd door Mat Peel die al heel wat werk van The Crookes voor zijn rekening nam, terwijl Craig Silvey voor de mix zorgde (een kerel die gelinkt wordt met namen als Depeche Mode en Nine Inch Nails).

Ullages is een zeer donkere plaat, de stem klinkt wanhopig en weemoedig, met zweverige gitaren die soms voor de nodige ontploffingen zorgen. Eigentijdse indie die met plezier de mosterd haalt bij klassieke waveplaten; zo bezit bijv. Hard Strings de typische gitaarpatronen van Robin Guthrie en Simon Raymonde.

Ullages is perfect en een sluitend bewijs dat er vandaag nog steengoede muziek wordt gemaakt. Gelukkig maar, welk nut zouden onze schrijfsels anders nog hebben?

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE DANDY WARHOLS • Sint-Niklaas, De Casino (08/05/2016)
HIDDEN PLACE • Nei versi di Prévert/Reazione
RABIA SORDA • King Of The Wasteland
WHISPERING SONS + BLEIB MODERN • In Utero, Mechelen-Kamikaze (07/05/16)
DER KLINKE • Eernegem, B52 (07/05/2016)
SOUNDGAZER • Two Graves
FROM THE FIRE • Through The Oceans Of Time
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
COCAINE PISS • Sex Weirdos
VIEON • Fly By Light

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
COLD SHOWERS • Plant Life
FUTURE ISLANDS • Singles
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
PERVERTED BY LANGUAGE • Boxers
THE WAKE • Testament (Best Of)
SUN AND THE MOON, THE • CLASSICS: Le Soleil, La Lune
LITTLE NEMO • Out Of The Blue
LAISSEZ FAIRE • No Land for Escape
THE CHAMELEONS • Script Of The Bridge | 25th Anniversary Edition
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Movement One Vol.3

 

Same genre: INDIE
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell