tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : EAGULLS - Ullages

EAGULLS

Ullages

MusicCD
IndieNew wavePost Punk

[86/100]   

Partisan Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Probably, the British band Eagulls can’t bear the comparison any longer, but talking about these guys from Leeds, we almost automatically think of The Cure. George Mitchell can’t help it that his voice resembles Robert Smith's, nontheless the band uses many sounds (and styles) from The Cure.

Indeed, times change. Once you better kept your mouth shut when you thought the eighties was the most groundbreaking period in music, today it sounds hip to say so.

Eagulls will be the last band to refute it, how else would you explain the fact that these young guys covered the old hit Requiem by Killing Joke on their debut single? In England, the band is the hype of the moment: Steve Lamacq plays their records endlessly, and the band was the support act of Franz Ferdinand during the British tour.

Ullages (just a pun name of the band’s name) is the second album of Eagulls, one that does not sound as raw as the previous record. The band takes its inspiration from old wave records, but you never have the feeling that this is the work of a nostalgic eighties band.

The new album was produced by Matt Peel who has worked with The Crookes, while Craig Silvey took care of the mix (a guy who is linked with names like Depeche Mode and Nine Inch Nails).

Ullages is a very dark record. The voice sounds desperate and melancholic, with soaring guitars that sometimes explode.

Contemporary indie that finds its roots in classic wave: Hard Strings has those typical guitar patterns by Robin Guthrie and Simon Raymonde.

Ullages is perfect!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Waarschijnlijk kan de Britse band Eagulls de vergelijking al lang niet meer horen, maar wie het over deze jongens uit Leeds heeft, moet bijna automatisch de naam van The Cure vermelden. George Mitchell kan er natuurlijk ook niet aan doen dat zijn stem sprekend op die van Robert Smith lijkt, toch graait de band met plezier de geluiden (alsook de stijl) uit het grote Cure-boek. Inderdaad, tijden kunnen veranderen. Ooit hield je maar je beter je mond als je dacht dat de eighties de meest baanbrekende periode uit de muziek was, tegenwoordig klinkt zo’n stelling gewoon hip.

Eagulls zal de laatste band zijn om ons wat dat betreft tegen te spreken, hoe verklaar je anders dat jonge kerels op hun debuutsingle de oude kraker Requiem van Killing Joke coveren? De band is in Engeland al lang verheven tot de te volgen hype van het moment, Steve Lamacq draait hun platen stuk en de band was de support act van Franz Ferdinand tijdens de Britse toer.

Ullages (gewoon een woordspeling van de bandnaam) is de tweede plaat van Eagulls,eentje die niet zo rauw klinkt als de vorige. Eerder zoekt de band de sfeer van dromerige waveplaten van weleer op zonder dat je ook maar één moment het gevoel hebt dat dit het werk is van een nostalgisch eightiesbandje.

De nieuwe plaat i,s geproduceerd door Mat Peel die al heel wat werk van The Crookes voor zijn rekening nam, terwijl Craig Silvey voor de mix zorgde (een kerel die gelinkt wordt met namen als Depeche Mode en Nine Inch Nails).

Ullages is een zeer donkere plaat, de stem klinkt wanhopig en weemoedig, met zweverige gitaren die soms voor de nodige ontploffingen zorgen. Eigentijdse indie die met plezier de mosterd haalt bij klassieke waveplaten; zo bezit bijv. Hard Strings de typische gitaarpatronen van Robin Guthrie en Simon Raymonde.

Ullages is perfect en een sluitend bewijs dat er vandaag nog steengoede muziek wordt gemaakt. Gelukkig maar, welk nut zouden onze schrijfsels anders nog hebben?

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE DANDY WARHOLS • Sint-Niklaas, De Casino (08/05/2016)
HIDDEN PLACE • Nei versi di Prévert/Reazione
RABIA SORDA • King Of The Wasteland
WHISPERING SONS + BLEIB MODERN • In Utero, Mechelen-Kamikaze (07/05/16)
DER KLINKE • Eernegem, B52 (07/05/2016)
SOUNDGAZER • Two Graves
FROM THE FIRE • Through The Oceans Of Time
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
COCAINE PISS • Sex Weirdos
VIEON • Fly By Light

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
COLD SHOWERS • Plant Life
FUTURE ISLANDS • Singles
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
PERVERTED BY LANGUAGE • Boxers
THE WAKE • Testament (Best Of)
SUN AND THE MOON, THE • CLASSICS: Le Soleil, La Lune
LITTLE NEMO • Out Of The Blue
LAISSEZ FAIRE • No Land for Escape
THE CHAMELEONS • Script Of The Bridge | 25th Anniversary Edition
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Movement One Vol.3

 

Same genre: INDIE
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
WHISPERING SONS • Image
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
A SLICE OF LIFE • Restless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
NAUT • Raise The Lights
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

13
12
Horses | Patti Smith’s Debut Masterpiece 43 Years On!
12
12
This weekend, BIMFEST 2018 kicks off with Covenant, Leaether Strip, Light Asylum, Clock Dva & Agent Side Grinder amongst others!
12
12
Out Of Line weekender line-up almost complete!
12
12
British enfant terrible Raymond Watts / PIG releases his BLACK MASS EP, covering WHAM!, Elvis Presley and John Lennon!
10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

13
12
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart