tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : EAGULLS - Ullages

EAGULLS

Ullages

MusicCD
IndieNew wavePost Punk

[86/100]   

Partisan Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Probably, the British band Eagulls can’t bear the comparison any longer, but talking about these guys from Leeds, we almost automatically think of The Cure. George Mitchell can’t help it that his voice resembles Robert Smith's, nontheless the band uses many sounds (and styles) from The Cure.

Indeed, times change. Once you better kept your mouth shut when you thought the eighties was the most groundbreaking period in music, today it sounds hip to say so.

Eagulls will be the last band to refute it, how else would you explain the fact that these young guys covered the old hit Requiem by Killing Joke on their debut single? In England, the band is the hype of the moment: Steve Lamacq plays their records endlessly, and the band was the support act of Franz Ferdinand during the British tour.

Ullages (just a pun name of the band’s name) is the second album of Eagulls, one that does not sound as raw as the previous record. The band takes its inspiration from old wave records, but you never have the feeling that this is the work of a nostalgic eighties band.

The new album was produced by Matt Peel who has worked with The Crookes, while Craig Silvey took care of the mix (a guy who is linked with names like Depeche Mode and Nine Inch Nails).

Ullages is a very dark record. The voice sounds desperate and melancholic, with soaring guitars that sometimes explode.

Contemporary indie that finds its roots in classic wave: Hard Strings has those typical guitar patterns by Robin Guthrie and Simon Raymonde.

Ullages is perfect!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Waarschijnlijk kan de Britse band Eagulls de vergelijking al lang niet meer horen, maar wie het over deze jongens uit Leeds heeft, moet bijna automatisch de naam van The Cure vermelden. George Mitchell kan er natuurlijk ook niet aan doen dat zijn stem sprekend op die van Robert Smith lijkt, toch graait de band met plezier de geluiden (alsook de stijl) uit het grote Cure-boek. Inderdaad, tijden kunnen veranderen. Ooit hield je maar je beter je mond als je dacht dat de eighties de meest baanbrekende periode uit de muziek was, tegenwoordig klinkt zo’n stelling gewoon hip.

Eagulls zal de laatste band zijn om ons wat dat betreft tegen te spreken, hoe verklaar je anders dat jonge kerels op hun debuutsingle de oude kraker Requiem van Killing Joke coveren? De band is in Engeland al lang verheven tot de te volgen hype van het moment, Steve Lamacq draait hun platen stuk en de band was de support act van Franz Ferdinand tijdens de Britse toer.

Ullages (gewoon een woordspeling van de bandnaam) is de tweede plaat van Eagulls,eentje die niet zo rauw klinkt als de vorige. Eerder zoekt de band de sfeer van dromerige waveplaten van weleer op zonder dat je ook maar één moment het gevoel hebt dat dit het werk is van een nostalgisch eightiesbandje.

De nieuwe plaat i,s geproduceerd door Mat Peel die al heel wat werk van The Crookes voor zijn rekening nam, terwijl Craig Silvey voor de mix zorgde (een kerel die gelinkt wordt met namen als Depeche Mode en Nine Inch Nails).

Ullages is een zeer donkere plaat, de stem klinkt wanhopig en weemoedig, met zweverige gitaren die soms voor de nodige ontploffingen zorgen. Eigentijdse indie die met plezier de mosterd haalt bij klassieke waveplaten; zo bezit bijv. Hard Strings de typische gitaarpatronen van Robin Guthrie en Simon Raymonde.

Ullages is perfect en een sluitend bewijs dat er vandaag nog steengoede muziek wordt gemaakt. Gelukkig maar, welk nut zouden onze schrijfsels anders nog hebben?

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE DANDY WARHOLS • Sint-Niklaas, De Casino (08/05/2016)
HIDDEN PLACE • Nei versi di Prévert/Reazione
RABIA SORDA • King Of The Wasteland
WHISPERING SONS + BLEIB MODERN • In Utero, Mechelen-Kamikaze (07/05/16)
DER KLINKE • Eernegem, B52 (07/05/2016)
SOUNDGAZER • Two Graves
FROM THE FIRE • Through The Oceans Of Time
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
COCAINE PISS • Sex Weirdos
VIEON • Fly By Light

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
COLD SHOWERS • Plant Life
FUTURE ISLANDS • Singles
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
PERVERTED BY LANGUAGE • Boxers
THE WAKE • Testament (Best Of)
SUN AND THE MOON, THE • CLASSICS: Le Soleil, La Lune
LITTLE NEMO • Out Of The Blue
LAISSEZ FAIRE • No Land for Escape
THE CHAMELEONS • Script Of The Bridge | 25th Anniversary Edition
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Movement One Vol.3

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world
02
04
42 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
LMX releases CTRL+S

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
07
04
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
06
04
ASH CODE
Nite Rite
05
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
04
04
ADULT.
Nite Life