tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : EAGULLS - Ullages

EAGULLS

Ullages

MusicCD
IndieNew wavePost Punk

[86/100]   

Partisan Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Probably, the British band Eagulls can’t bear the comparison any longer, but talking about these guys from Leeds, we almost automatically think of The Cure. George Mitchell can’t help it that his voice resembles Robert Smith's, nontheless the band uses many sounds (and styles) from The Cure.

Indeed, times change. Once you better kept your mouth shut when you thought the eighties was the most groundbreaking period in music, today it sounds hip to say so.

Eagulls will be the last band to refute it, how else would you explain the fact that these young guys covered the old hit Requiem by Killing Joke on their debut single? In England, the band is the hype of the moment: Steve Lamacq plays their records endlessly, and the band was the support act of Franz Ferdinand during the British tour.

Ullages (just a pun name of the band’s name) is the second album of Eagulls, one that does not sound as raw as the previous record. The band takes its inspiration from old wave records, but you never have the feeling that this is the work of a nostalgic eighties band.

The new album was produced by Matt Peel who has worked with The Crookes, while Craig Silvey took care of the mix (a guy who is linked with names like Depeche Mode and Nine Inch Nails).

Ullages is a very dark record. The voice sounds desperate and melancholic, with soaring guitars that sometimes explode.

Contemporary indie that finds its roots in classic wave: Hard Strings has those typical guitar patterns by Robin Guthrie and Simon Raymonde.

Ullages is perfect!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Waarschijnlijk kan de Britse band Eagulls de vergelijking al lang niet meer horen, maar wie het over deze jongens uit Leeds heeft, moet bijna automatisch de naam van The Cure vermelden. George Mitchell kan er natuurlijk ook niet aan doen dat zijn stem sprekend op die van Robert Smith lijkt, toch graait de band met plezier de geluiden (alsook de stijl) uit het grote Cure-boek. Inderdaad, tijden kunnen veranderen. Ooit hield je maar je beter je mond als je dacht dat de eighties de meest baanbrekende periode uit de muziek was, tegenwoordig klinkt zo’n stelling gewoon hip.

Eagulls zal de laatste band zijn om ons wat dat betreft tegen te spreken, hoe verklaar je anders dat jonge kerels op hun debuutsingle de oude kraker Requiem van Killing Joke coveren? De band is in Engeland al lang verheven tot de te volgen hype van het moment, Steve Lamacq draait hun platen stuk en de band was de support act van Franz Ferdinand tijdens de Britse toer.

Ullages (gewoon een woordspeling van de bandnaam) is de tweede plaat van Eagulls,eentje die niet zo rauw klinkt als de vorige. Eerder zoekt de band de sfeer van dromerige waveplaten van weleer op zonder dat je ook maar één moment het gevoel hebt dat dit het werk is van een nostalgisch eightiesbandje.

De nieuwe plaat i,s geproduceerd door Mat Peel die al heel wat werk van The Crookes voor zijn rekening nam, terwijl Craig Silvey voor de mix zorgde (een kerel die gelinkt wordt met namen als Depeche Mode en Nine Inch Nails).

Ullages is een zeer donkere plaat, de stem klinkt wanhopig en weemoedig, met zweverige gitaren die soms voor de nodige ontploffingen zorgen. Eigentijdse indie die met plezier de mosterd haalt bij klassieke waveplaten; zo bezit bijv. Hard Strings de typische gitaarpatronen van Robin Guthrie en Simon Raymonde.

Ullages is perfect en een sluitend bewijs dat er vandaag nog steengoede muziek wordt gemaakt. Gelukkig maar, welk nut zouden onze schrijfsels anders nog hebben?

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE DANDY WARHOLS • Sint-Niklaas, De Casino (08/05/2016)
HIDDEN PLACE • Nei versi di Prévert/Reazione
RABIA SORDA • King Of The Wasteland
WHISPERING SONS + BLEIB MODERN • In Utero, Mechelen-Kamikaze (07/05/16)
DER KLINKE • Eernegem, B52 (07/05/2016)
SOUNDGAZER • Two Graves
FROM THE FIRE • Through The Oceans Of Time
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
COCAINE PISS • Sex Weirdos
VIEON • Fly By Light

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
COLD SHOWERS • Plant Life
FUTURE ISLANDS • Singles
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
PERVERTED BY LANGUAGE • Boxers
THE WAKE • Testament (Best Of)
SUN AND THE MOON, THE • CLASSICS: Le Soleil, La Lune
LITTLE NEMO • Out Of The Blue
LAISSEZ FAIRE • No Land for Escape
THE CHAMELEONS • Script Of The Bridge | 25th Anniversary Edition
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Movement One Vol.3

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation