tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this 7 inch review

09/12/2016 : COCAINE PISS - Sex Weirdos

COCAINE PISS

Sex Weirdos

Music7 inch
Punk

[79/100]   

Hypertension Records
09/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

Earlier this year, there was a fuzz in alternative circles about the Liege based band Cocaine Piss. In Februari, the quartet travelled to Chicago the record a full album in the studio of Steve Albini. Yes indeed, Steve Albini!, the top producer who recorded Surfer Rosa (Pixies), Rid Of Me (PJ Harvey) and In Utero (Nirvana). The result of that cooperation will be available in October. In anticipation of the full album, Cocaine Piss releases the single Sex Wierdos. Cosmic Bullshit will follow soon.

Sex Wierdos is short but powerful. It’s a chaotic track at breakneck speed with shrieking guitars and uplifting drums. Front woman Aurélie is rabidly screaming. Full speed ahead!

On the single we also find 2 songs, adapted by befriended artists. Last year both songs appeared on the EP The Pool, that received a very positive reaction in our sister magazine Dark Entries. We hear an adaptation of the lunatic Pussy by Evil Superstar Mauro Pawlowski (dEUS), while Legends takes us back to the 80s with a synthpunk version of Fuck This Garden. A fantastic track with contagious percussion and bleeps that remind me of an old gaming console.

Cocaine Piss is an applicable name: sound both exciting and filthy! Looking forward to October!

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


NL

Er was eerder dit jaar heel wat te doen in alternatieve kringen omtrent het Luikse Cocaine Piss. Afgelopen februari reisde het Waalse viertal (3 jongens + frontvrouw) naar Chicago om onder het toeziend oog van Steve Albini een nieuwe plaat in te blikken. Jawel, Steve Albini!, de topproducer zat ondermeer achter de knoppen toen Surfer Rosa (Pixies), Rid Of Me (PJ Harvey) en In Utero (Nirvana) werden opgenomen. Op het resultaat van die samenwerking is het wachten tot oktober. Maar in afwachting is de single Sex Wierdos uitgebracht en binnenkort volgt de single Cosmic Bullshit.

Sex Weirdos is kort maar krachtig. Een chaotische track met gierende gitaren, opzwepende drums en een schreeuwende Aurélie, die schuimbekkend te keer gaat. Volle gas vooruit!

Op de single vinden we ook nog 2 songs die herwekt zijn door bevriende artiesten. Beide songs verschenen vorig jaar op de ep The Pool, die zeer positief werd ontvangen in ons zustermagazine Dark Entries. Naast het prettig gestoorde Pussy, door de ogen van Evil Superstar Mauro Pawlowski (dEUS), is er nog een synthpunkversie van Fuck This Garden. Legends voert ons terug naar de jaren 80 met bleeps die afkomstig lijken van een spelconsole. Een fantastische track met aanstekelijke percussie.

Cocaine Piss is een naam die de lading dekt: klinkt opwindend en smerig! Benieuwd naar wat oktober brengt!

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


Music reviews

14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection