tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this 7 inch review

09/12/2016 : COCAINE PISS - Sex Weirdos

COCAINE PISS

Sex Weirdos

Music7 inch
Punk

[79/100]   

Hypertension Records
09/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

Earlier this year, there was a fuzz in alternative circles about the Liege based band Cocaine Piss. In Februari, the quartet travelled to Chicago the record a full album in the studio of Steve Albini. Yes indeed, Steve Albini!, the top producer who recorded Surfer Rosa (Pixies), Rid Of Me (PJ Harvey) and In Utero (Nirvana). The result of that cooperation will be available in October. In anticipation of the full album, Cocaine Piss releases the single Sex Wierdos. Cosmic Bullshit will follow soon.

Sex Wierdos is short but powerful. It’s a chaotic track at breakneck speed with shrieking guitars and uplifting drums. Front woman Aurélie is rabidly screaming. Full speed ahead!

On the single we also find 2 songs, adapted by befriended artists. Last year both songs appeared on the EP The Pool, that received a very positive reaction in our sister magazine Dark Entries. We hear an adaptation of the lunatic Pussy by Evil Superstar Mauro Pawlowski (dEUS), while Legends takes us back to the 80s with a synthpunk version of Fuck This Garden. A fantastic track with contagious percussion and bleeps that remind me of an old gaming console.

Cocaine Piss is an applicable name: sound both exciting and filthy! Looking forward to October!

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


NL

Er was eerder dit jaar heel wat te doen in alternatieve kringen omtrent het Luikse Cocaine Piss. Afgelopen februari reisde het Waalse viertal (3 jongens + frontvrouw) naar Chicago om onder het toeziend oog van Steve Albini een nieuwe plaat in te blikken. Jawel, Steve Albini!, de topproducer zat ondermeer achter de knoppen toen Surfer Rosa (Pixies), Rid Of Me (PJ Harvey) en In Utero (Nirvana) werden opgenomen. Op het resultaat van die samenwerking is het wachten tot oktober. Maar in afwachting is de single Sex Wierdos uitgebracht en binnenkort volgt de single Cosmic Bullshit.

Sex Weirdos is kort maar krachtig. Een chaotische track met gierende gitaren, opzwepende drums en een schreeuwende Aurélie, die schuimbekkend te keer gaat. Volle gas vooruit!

Op de single vinden we ook nog 2 songs die herwekt zijn door bevriende artiesten. Beide songs verschenen vorig jaar op de ep The Pool, die zeer positief werd ontvangen in ons zustermagazine Dark Entries. Naast het prettig gestoorde Pussy, door de ogen van Evil Superstar Mauro Pawlowski (dEUS), is er nog een synthpunkversie van Fuck This Garden. Legends voert ons terug naar de jaren 80 met bleeps die afkomstig lijken van een spelconsole. Een fantastische track met aanstekelijke percussie.

Cocaine Piss is een naam die de lading dekt: klinkt opwindend en smerig! Benieuwd naar wat oktober brengt!

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless
20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten