tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this 7 inch review

09/12/2016 : COCAINE PISS - Sex Weirdos

COCAINE PISS

Sex Weirdos

Music7 inch
Punk

[79/100]   

Hypertension Records
09/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

Earlier this year, there was a fuzz in alternative circles about the Liege based band Cocaine Piss. In Februari, the quartet travelled to Chicago the record a full album in the studio of Steve Albini. Yes indeed, Steve Albini!, the top producer who recorded Surfer Rosa (Pixies), Rid Of Me (PJ Harvey) and In Utero (Nirvana). The result of that cooperation will be available in October. In anticipation of the full album, Cocaine Piss releases the single Sex Wierdos. Cosmic Bullshit will follow soon.

Sex Wierdos is short but powerful. It’s a chaotic track at breakneck speed with shrieking guitars and uplifting drums. Front woman Aurélie is rabidly screaming. Full speed ahead!

On the single we also find 2 songs, adapted by befriended artists. Last year both songs appeared on the EP The Pool, that received a very positive reaction in our sister magazine Dark Entries. We hear an adaptation of the lunatic Pussy by Evil Superstar Mauro Pawlowski (dEUS), while Legends takes us back to the 80s with a synthpunk version of Fuck This Garden. A fantastic track with contagious percussion and bleeps that remind me of an old gaming console.

Cocaine Piss is an applicable name: sound both exciting and filthy! Looking forward to October!

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


NL

Er was eerder dit jaar heel wat te doen in alternatieve kringen omtrent het Luikse Cocaine Piss. Afgelopen februari reisde het Waalse viertal (3 jongens + frontvrouw) naar Chicago om onder het toeziend oog van Steve Albini een nieuwe plaat in te blikken. Jawel, Steve Albini!, de topproducer zat ondermeer achter de knoppen toen Surfer Rosa (Pixies), Rid Of Me (PJ Harvey) en In Utero (Nirvana) werden opgenomen. Op het resultaat van die samenwerking is het wachten tot oktober. Maar in afwachting is de single Sex Wierdos uitgebracht en binnenkort volgt de single Cosmic Bullshit.

Sex Weirdos is kort maar krachtig. Een chaotische track met gierende gitaren, opzwepende drums en een schreeuwende Aurélie, die schuimbekkend te keer gaat. Volle gas vooruit!

Op de single vinden we ook nog 2 songs die herwekt zijn door bevriende artiesten. Beide songs verschenen vorig jaar op de ep The Pool, die zeer positief werd ontvangen in ons zustermagazine Dark Entries. Naast het prettig gestoorde Pussy, door de ogen van Evil Superstar Mauro Pawlowski (dEUS), is er nog een synthpunkversie van Fuck This Garden. Legends voert ons terug naar de jaren 80 met bleeps die afkomstig lijken van een spelconsole. Een fantastische track met aanstekelijke percussie.

Cocaine Piss is een naam die de lading dekt: klinkt opwindend en smerig! Benieuwd naar wat oktober brengt!

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)