tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this 7 inch review

09/12/2016 : COCAINE PISS - Sex Weirdos

COCAINE PISS

Sex Weirdos

Music7 inch
Punk

[79/100]   

Hypertension Records
09/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

Earlier this year, there was a fuzz in alternative circles about the Liege based band Cocaine Piss. In Februari, the quartet travelled to Chicago the record a full album in the studio of Steve Albini. Yes indeed, Steve Albini!, the top producer who recorded Surfer Rosa (Pixies), Rid Of Me (PJ Harvey) and In Utero (Nirvana). The result of that cooperation will be available in October. In anticipation of the full album, Cocaine Piss releases the single Sex Wierdos. Cosmic Bullshit will follow soon.

Sex Wierdos is short but powerful. It’s a chaotic track at breakneck speed with shrieking guitars and uplifting drums. Front woman Aurélie is rabidly screaming. Full speed ahead!

On the single we also find 2 songs, adapted by befriended artists. Last year both songs appeared on the EP The Pool, that received a very positive reaction in our sister magazine Dark Entries. We hear an adaptation of the lunatic Pussy by Evil Superstar Mauro Pawlowski (dEUS), while Legends takes us back to the 80s with a synthpunk version of Fuck This Garden. A fantastic track with contagious percussion and bleeps that remind me of an old gaming console.

Cocaine Piss is an applicable name: sound both exciting and filthy! Looking forward to October!

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


NL

Er was eerder dit jaar heel wat te doen in alternatieve kringen omtrent het Luikse Cocaine Piss. Afgelopen februari reisde het Waalse viertal (3 jongens + frontvrouw) naar Chicago om onder het toeziend oog van Steve Albini een nieuwe plaat in te blikken. Jawel, Steve Albini!, de topproducer zat ondermeer achter de knoppen toen Surfer Rosa (Pixies), Rid Of Me (PJ Harvey) en In Utero (Nirvana) werden opgenomen. Op het resultaat van die samenwerking is het wachten tot oktober. Maar in afwachting is de single Sex Wierdos uitgebracht en binnenkort volgt de single Cosmic Bullshit.

Sex Weirdos is kort maar krachtig. Een chaotische track met gierende gitaren, opzwepende drums en een schreeuwende Aurélie, die schuimbekkend te keer gaat. Volle gas vooruit!

Op de single vinden we ook nog 2 songs die herwekt zijn door bevriende artiesten. Beide songs verschenen vorig jaar op de ep The Pool, die zeer positief werd ontvangen in ons zustermagazine Dark Entries. Naast het prettig gestoorde Pussy, door de ogen van Evil Superstar Mauro Pawlowski (dEUS), is er nog een synthpunkversie van Fuck This Garden. Legends voert ons terug naar de jaren 80 met bleeps die afkomstig lijken van een spelconsole. Een fantastische track met aanstekelijke percussie.

Cocaine Piss is een naam die de lading dekt: klinkt opwindend en smerig! Benieuwd naar wat oktober brengt!

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!
29
08
41 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag
15
09
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Die Interimsliebenden