tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this 7 inch review

09/12/2016 : COCAINE PISS - Sex Weirdos

COCAINE PISS

Sex Weirdos

Music7 inch
Punk

[79/100]   

Hypertension Records
09/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

Earlier this year, there was a fuzz in alternative circles about the Liege based band Cocaine Piss. In Februari, the quartet travelled to Chicago the record a full album in the studio of Steve Albini. Yes indeed, Steve Albini!, the top producer who recorded Surfer Rosa (Pixies), Rid Of Me (PJ Harvey) and In Utero (Nirvana). The result of that cooperation will be available in October. In anticipation of the full album, Cocaine Piss releases the single Sex Wierdos. Cosmic Bullshit will follow soon.

Sex Wierdos is short but powerful. It’s a chaotic track at breakneck speed with shrieking guitars and uplifting drums. Front woman Aurélie is rabidly screaming. Full speed ahead!

On the single we also find 2 songs, adapted by befriended artists. Last year both songs appeared on the EP The Pool, that received a very positive reaction in our sister magazine Dark Entries. We hear an adaptation of the lunatic Pussy by Evil Superstar Mauro Pawlowski (dEUS), while Legends takes us back to the 80s with a synthpunk version of Fuck This Garden. A fantastic track with contagious percussion and bleeps that remind me of an old gaming console.

Cocaine Piss is an applicable name: sound both exciting and filthy! Looking forward to October!

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


NL

Er was eerder dit jaar heel wat te doen in alternatieve kringen omtrent het Luikse Cocaine Piss. Afgelopen februari reisde het Waalse viertal (3 jongens + frontvrouw) naar Chicago om onder het toeziend oog van Steve Albini een nieuwe plaat in te blikken. Jawel, Steve Albini!, de topproducer zat ondermeer achter de knoppen toen Surfer Rosa (Pixies), Rid Of Me (PJ Harvey) en In Utero (Nirvana) werden opgenomen. Op het resultaat van die samenwerking is het wachten tot oktober. Maar in afwachting is de single Sex Wierdos uitgebracht en binnenkort volgt de single Cosmic Bullshit.

Sex Weirdos is kort maar krachtig. Een chaotische track met gierende gitaren, opzwepende drums en een schreeuwende Aurélie, die schuimbekkend te keer gaat. Volle gas vooruit!

Op de single vinden we ook nog 2 songs die herwekt zijn door bevriende artiesten. Beide songs verschenen vorig jaar op de ep The Pool, die zeer positief werd ontvangen in ons zustermagazine Dark Entries. Naast het prettig gestoorde Pussy, door de ogen van Evil Superstar Mauro Pawlowski (dEUS), is er nog een synthpunkversie van Fuck This Garden. Legends voert ons terug naar de jaren 80 met bleeps die afkomstig lijken van een spelconsole. Een fantastische track met aanstekelijke percussie.

Cocaine Piss is een naam die de lading dekt: klinkt opwindend en smerig! Benieuwd naar wat oktober brengt!

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination