tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : ESKOBAR - Magnetic

ESKOBAR

Magnetic

MusicCD
Indie

[67/100]   

Gibulchi Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Do you remember Eskobar? No, we're not talking about the Colombian drug lord, but the band that scored a big hit with Someone New in 2002, the duet with Heather Nova. After all these years, it still exist, even though it will be difficult to find someone who can name another song of this Swedish band.

The marketing guys have never managed to launch Eskobar as the Britpop band par excellence, which was the case with e.g. The Wannadies or The Cardigans. Nevertheless, the boys were increasingly popular in their homeland, although today the core of the band is just a duo. Magnetic is the seventh album, at least if you include the live album that was released last year.

A mediocre album with some gems, because the band never managed to have a specific identity. You always feel that you've heard it before.

Despite its ominous name, Eskobar sounds bittersweet and the boys are not ashamed to use cliché words like With a pure heart of gold you can reach all goals in the opener Untrap Yourself. No, Daniel Bellqvist will never be a poet. You hear Muse in a Swedish pop format, and it even sounds better than what you would expect from a description.

Always stay positive, like in the Beatles-like Grab Me. Starlight is pure splendor that feels like the song Snow Patrol never wrotee, while the pompous title song Magnetic is reminiscent to A-Ha.

How stupid the lyrics might be (Minute after minute after minute and everyday I think of you), Minute After Minute (ha!) remains a beautiful love song. It is not all gold that glitters, as this album also includes tracks like the far too mellow Escape or Rocketship...

They won’t change the world with this album, but for a while they make the world a better place by giving us some enjoyable indie pop songs, even if you forget it all once you have removed the CD from the player.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Weet je nog wie Eskobar is? Neen, we hebben het niet over de Colombiaanse drugbaron, wel over de band die in 2002 een superhit scoorde met het Heather Nova-duet Someone New. Na al die jaren bestaat de band nog steeds, ook al zal het geen lachertje zijn om een medemens te vinden die zich nog een andere track van deze Zweden voor de geest kan halen. De marketingjongens zijn er nooit in geslaagd om van Eskobar, zoals dat bij The Wannadies of The Cardigans wel het geval was, de gedroomde Zweedse Britpopband te maken. De jongens bleven wel steeds populair in hun thuisland, hoewel vandaag de kern van de band niet meer dan een duo is. Magnetic is het zevende plaat, ten minste als je ook het live-album van vorig jaar meerekent.

Een zeer brave plaat met een paar leuke uitschieters en het werk van een band die er nooit in slaagde om een eigen gezicht te hebben, want altijd hoor je er wel iets anders in terug. Niet dat originaliteit altijd een must is, want wat doe je ermee als het niet om aan te horen is?

Eskobar heeft misschien een onheilspellende naam, toch klinkt alles bitterzoet en zijn de jongens niet beschaamd om woorden te gebruiken waarvoor zelfs de Bond Zonder Naam zou bedanken, of wat dacht je van With a pure heart of gold you can reach all goals in de opener Untrap Yourself. Neen, een poëet is Daniel Bellqvist geenszins, wel klinkt het als Muse in Zweeds popformaat, en het is zelfs beter dan wat je van zo’n omschrijving zou verwachten.

Altijd positief blijven denken dus, zoals in het Beatlesachtige Grab Me. Starlight is pure pracht dat thuishoort in het rijtje van songs die Snow Patrol niet kan schrijven en de pompeuze titelsong Magnetic heeft wel iets van A-Ha.

Hoe dom de teksten ook zijn (Minute after minute after minute everyday and I think of you), toch blijft Minute After Minute (ha!) een prachtige lovesong. Niet dat het allemaal goud is wat blinkt, er staan ook complete miskleunen op deze plaat (bijv. het melige Escape of de veel te platte popsong Rocketship).

De wereld zullen ze er niet mee veranderen, maar ze slagen er ten minste in om ons een tijdje zoet te houden met een paar leuke indiepopsongs. Je bent ze zo weer vergeten, maar als het in de lader ligt, geniet je er toch van.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
16
02
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void