tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : ESKOBAR - Magnetic

ESKOBAR

Magnetic

MusicCD
Indie

[67/100]   

Gibulchi Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Do you remember Eskobar? No, we're not talking about the Colombian drug lord, but the band that scored a big hit with Someone New in 2002, the duet with Heather Nova. After all these years, it still exist, even though it will be difficult to find someone who can name another song of this Swedish band.

The marketing guys have never managed to launch Eskobar as the Britpop band par excellence, which was the case with e.g. The Wannadies or The Cardigans. Nevertheless, the boys were increasingly popular in their homeland, although today the core of the band is just a duo. Magnetic is the seventh album, at least if you include the live album that was released last year.

A mediocre album with some gems, because the band never managed to have a specific identity. You always feel that you've heard it before.

Despite its ominous name, Eskobar sounds bittersweet and the boys are not ashamed to use cliché words like With a pure heart of gold you can reach all goals in the opener Untrap Yourself. No, Daniel Bellqvist will never be a poet. You hear Muse in a Swedish pop format, and it even sounds better than what you would expect from a description.

Always stay positive, like in the Beatles-like Grab Me. Starlight is pure splendor that feels like the song Snow Patrol never wrotee, while the pompous title song Magnetic is reminiscent to A-Ha.

How stupid the lyrics might be (Minute after minute after minute and everyday I think of you), Minute After Minute (ha!) remains a beautiful love song. It is not all gold that glitters, as this album also includes tracks like the far too mellow Escape or Rocketship...

They won’t change the world with this album, but for a while they make the world a better place by giving us some enjoyable indie pop songs, even if you forget it all once you have removed the CD from the player.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Weet je nog wie Eskobar is? Neen, we hebben het niet over de Colombiaanse drugbaron, wel over de band die in 2002 een superhit scoorde met het Heather Nova-duet Someone New. Na al die jaren bestaat de band nog steeds, ook al zal het geen lachertje zijn om een medemens te vinden die zich nog een andere track van deze Zweden voor de geest kan halen. De marketingjongens zijn er nooit in geslaagd om van Eskobar, zoals dat bij The Wannadies of The Cardigans wel het geval was, de gedroomde Zweedse Britpopband te maken. De jongens bleven wel steeds populair in hun thuisland, hoewel vandaag de kern van de band niet meer dan een duo is. Magnetic is het zevende plaat, ten minste als je ook het live-album van vorig jaar meerekent.

Een zeer brave plaat met een paar leuke uitschieters en het werk van een band die er nooit in slaagde om een eigen gezicht te hebben, want altijd hoor je er wel iets anders in terug. Niet dat originaliteit altijd een must is, want wat doe je ermee als het niet om aan te horen is?

Eskobar heeft misschien een onheilspellende naam, toch klinkt alles bitterzoet en zijn de jongens niet beschaamd om woorden te gebruiken waarvoor zelfs de Bond Zonder Naam zou bedanken, of wat dacht je van With a pure heart of gold you can reach all goals in de opener Untrap Yourself. Neen, een poëet is Daniel Bellqvist geenszins, wel klinkt het als Muse in Zweeds popformaat, en het is zelfs beter dan wat je van zo’n omschrijving zou verwachten.

Altijd positief blijven denken dus, zoals in het Beatlesachtige Grab Me. Starlight is pure pracht dat thuishoort in het rijtje van songs die Snow Patrol niet kan schrijven en de pompeuze titelsong Magnetic heeft wel iets van A-Ha.

Hoe dom de teksten ook zijn (Minute after minute after minute everyday and I think of you), toch blijft Minute After Minute (ha!) een prachtige lovesong. Niet dat het allemaal goud is wat blinkt, er staan ook complete miskleunen op deze plaat (bijv. het melige Escape of de veel te platte popsong Rocketship).

De wereld zullen ze er niet mee veranderen, maar ze slagen er ten minste in om ons een tijdje zoet te houden met een paar leuke indiepopsongs. Je bent ze zo weer vergeten, maar als het in de lader ligt, geniet je er toch van.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection