tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : ESKOBAR - Magnetic

ESKOBAR

Magnetic

MusicCD
Indie

[67/100]   

Gibulchi Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Do you remember Eskobar? No, we're not talking about the Colombian drug lord, but the band that scored a big hit with Someone New in 2002, the duet with Heather Nova. After all these years, it still exist, even though it will be difficult to find someone who can name another song of this Swedish band.

The marketing guys have never managed to launch Eskobar as the Britpop band par excellence, which was the case with e.g. The Wannadies or The Cardigans. Nevertheless, the boys were increasingly popular in their homeland, although today the core of the band is just a duo. Magnetic is the seventh album, at least if you include the live album that was released last year.

A mediocre album with some gems, because the band never managed to have a specific identity. You always feel that you've heard it before.

Despite its ominous name, Eskobar sounds bittersweet and the boys are not ashamed to use cliché words like With a pure heart of gold you can reach all goals in the opener Untrap Yourself. No, Daniel Bellqvist will never be a poet. You hear Muse in a Swedish pop format, and it even sounds better than what you would expect from a description.

Always stay positive, like in the Beatles-like Grab Me. Starlight is pure splendor that feels like the song Snow Patrol never wrotee, while the pompous title song Magnetic is reminiscent to A-Ha.

How stupid the lyrics might be (Minute after minute after minute and everyday I think of you), Minute After Minute (ha!) remains a beautiful love song. It is not all gold that glitters, as this album also includes tracks like the far too mellow Escape or Rocketship...

They won’t change the world with this album, but for a while they make the world a better place by giving us some enjoyable indie pop songs, even if you forget it all once you have removed the CD from the player.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Weet je nog wie Eskobar is? Neen, we hebben het niet over de Colombiaanse drugbaron, wel over de band die in 2002 een superhit scoorde met het Heather Nova-duet Someone New. Na al die jaren bestaat de band nog steeds, ook al zal het geen lachertje zijn om een medemens te vinden die zich nog een andere track van deze Zweden voor de geest kan halen. De marketingjongens zijn er nooit in geslaagd om van Eskobar, zoals dat bij The Wannadies of The Cardigans wel het geval was, de gedroomde Zweedse Britpopband te maken. De jongens bleven wel steeds populair in hun thuisland, hoewel vandaag de kern van de band niet meer dan een duo is. Magnetic is het zevende plaat, ten minste als je ook het live-album van vorig jaar meerekent.

Een zeer brave plaat met een paar leuke uitschieters en het werk van een band die er nooit in slaagde om een eigen gezicht te hebben, want altijd hoor je er wel iets anders in terug. Niet dat originaliteit altijd een must is, want wat doe je ermee als het niet om aan te horen is?

Eskobar heeft misschien een onheilspellende naam, toch klinkt alles bitterzoet en zijn de jongens niet beschaamd om woorden te gebruiken waarvoor zelfs de Bond Zonder Naam zou bedanken, of wat dacht je van With a pure heart of gold you can reach all goals in de opener Untrap Yourself. Neen, een poëet is Daniel Bellqvist geenszins, wel klinkt het als Muse in Zweeds popformaat, en het is zelfs beter dan wat je van zo’n omschrijving zou verwachten.

Altijd positief blijven denken dus, zoals in het Beatlesachtige Grab Me. Starlight is pure pracht dat thuishoort in het rijtje van songs die Snow Patrol niet kan schrijven en de pompeuze titelsong Magnetic heeft wel iets van A-Ha.

Hoe dom de teksten ook zijn (Minute after minute after minute everyday and I think of you), toch blijft Minute After Minute (ha!) een prachtige lovesong. Niet dat het allemaal goud is wat blinkt, er staan ook complete miskleunen op deze plaat (bijv. het melige Escape of de veel te platte popsong Rocketship).

De wereld zullen ze er niet mee veranderen, maar ze slagen er ten minste in om ons een tijdje zoet te houden met een paar leuke indiepopsongs. Je bent ze zo weer vergeten, maar als het in de lader ligt, geniet je er toch van.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
11
Disorientations! New band, new single, new video!
14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
11
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON:
Caught In Winters Weave
18
11
OAKTREE
La Fin
17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other
16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr