tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : MOGWAI - Atomic OST

MOGWAI

Atomic OST

MusicCD
Post Punk

[90/100]   

Rock Action Records
09/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

The bombing of Hiroshima isn't a subject to be taken lightly, in life or in art. One hopes we will never witness such an atrocity again. But we probably will.

Mark Cousin's recent documentary about the so-called atomic age certainly doesn't glamourise the event, rather it focuses on both life and death in terrifying times.

Commissioning Mogwai for the music was and is an inspired move. Atmospheric, epic, mildly bruising but crepuscular instrumentals are the band's go-to formula which has previously translated perfectly when applied to dramatic visuals - if you witnessed French horror series Les Revenants then you'll get the cut of the Scottish post-rockers' jib.

With the original documentary contributions being re-recorded, Atomic is at once successfully transformed from functional soundtrack to wholesome listening music that reveals just how far Mogwai have travelled in the past few years. The opener Ether is a typical example. Tentative synth-pulses usher in Philip Glass-like musical box chimes and french horns a-plenty, before the whole thing builds into a perfectly orchestrated crescendo, not unlike British Sea Power's work on From The Sea To The Land And Beyond.

But then comes the portentous sprawl of Scram which is just heavenly, very Boards of Canada in its melodic make-up and beatific and climactic breakdown. In fact, to dissect each track is churlish - Mogwai have finally swung post-rock (whatever that is, these days) around their heads and, to paraphrase an internet 'thing', hurled it into the fucking sea. This is more than just a wall of bland muddied sound chimed out on electric guitars and leaden drumbeats slaked to within an inch of their soul by spotty youths - yeah people, this is beautiful atmospheric to watch people die (or live) by.

If I was to pick one standout moment on Atomic it would be the elegiac unhurried Are You a Dancer? but really the whole 50 minutes is blissful and beautiful. Award-winning stuff.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
09/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap