tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DOUBLE EYELID - Broken Mirror

DOUBLE EYELID

Broken Mirror

MusicCD
Dark ElectroGothicHarsh ElectroIndustrial

[72/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

A while ago, we reviewed the debut album by the Canadian art rock (or if you prefer death rock) band Double Eyelid. We refered to artists like Bauhaus or The The to describe its sound, but the newest CD is something completely different. Well, it’s not exactly new as after all Broken Mirror is more like a compilation of remixes by artists from all over the goth-industrial-dance spectrum.

The CD starts with the Leaether Strip remix of The Stranger. Claus adds his typical electro beats to the Rozz Williams cover. You don’t recognize the original as it’s something completely new, and that is what you get when you surrender to a skilled beat master like Claus Larsen.

Don’t be afraid that this will be another CD with useless extra beats and extended crap mixes, as Broken Mirror just shows every song from a different angle. The German goth metal band Reactive Black makes something different from Black Box, suddenly it feels like you’re listening to a lost Bowie track.

Dead Is Better, which is actually the first single of this Canadian act, also gets a whole new treatment: the beats make you dance, but the voice of Ian Revell wants to crawl inside your skin. Quite addictive, with beats and bleeps that keep on haunting you.

Woman Hanged is remixed by their country mate nTTx: pounding beats and a melancholic sound that would fit well on some old Soft Cell record, even though the metallic guitars give it a harsh, industrial sound. I guess we’re just getting the best of both words.

Apart from Leaether Strip, Psyche is definitely the most famous band we find here. Once again we hear Black Box, but it’s a complete other version because you’re drowned in the typical synthetic atmosphere that Psyche is known for.

You better take some rest as Dead Red Velvet launches an attack of pure industrial beats, Ian’s voice sounds like a robot on speed. It is one of the lesser tracks here, but that’s perhaps because we heard too much stuff like that last months. Anyway, whether you like it or not, it definitely keeps you awake, it just has no direction.

When we said that Double Eyelid makes art rock, we mentioned that these guys like to use some unusual structures, music that needs some extra spins before the addiction starts. The track that comes most close probably is the DJ Cruel Britannia Remix of She’s Falling. I think of Tom Verlaine when I hear these Canadian lads. It could be worse!

Dead Is Better is featured twice, the Lanada Remix gives it a schizophrenic twist.

It would have been better to skip The Climb Remix of The Stranger. Of course you can blame Claus because he already spoiled us with a superb version, but this remix just sounds too much as a cacophony. But then again, you can’t win them all.

Dead Is Better is also reworked in what is called a 2015 re-take and is renamed as Cold Is Better. Again something you can’t compare with the previous versions. It’s like you just bought a ticket for a roller coaster that goes straight to hell.

The remix album is closed with an own version of Hanged In Dub, once again you notice that you can’t put Double Eyelid just in one box. A remix album as you haven’t heard before.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE CHAMELEONS • Live Shreds
CHIRON • Breaking Point EP
PARRALOX FT FRANCINE • Crying On The Dancefloor
DAVID BOWIE • Black Star
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:
MANTUS • Refugium
TACOCAT • Lost Time
CAWATANA • Decline Of Privileges
THE 1975 • I Like It When You Sleep, For You Are So Beautiful Yet So Unaware Of It
GREG LAKE • Remastered: Greg Lake (1981) en Manoeuvres (1983)

 

Other reviews from DOUBLE EYELID
DOUBLE EYELID • Seven Years

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
DICEPEOPLE • One From Many
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
AUTUMN • The Fall
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
TEARFUL MOON • Evocation
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEARFUL MOON • In The Dark Morning
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless

 

Same genre: HARSH ELECTRO
REACTOR7X • And Chaos Bacame The New Order
DATACODE DIVISION • Dissections
REACTOR7X • Illusion Of Chaos
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
SYNAPSYCHE • The Abyss Effect
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
CHAINREACTOR • Dirt
M.O.D. • Broken Machinery
HOCICO • Ofensor

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
STACIAN • Person L
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night
3TEETH • Shutdown.exe
DIVE • Underneath
LUXVID • Trench
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage

Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!
29
08
41 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag