tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DOUBLE EYELID - Broken Mirror

DOUBLE EYELID

Broken Mirror

MusicCD
Dark ElectroGothicHarsh ElectroIndustrial

[72/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

A while ago, we reviewed the debut album by the Canadian art rock (or if you prefer death rock) band Double Eyelid. We refered to artists like Bauhaus or The The to describe its sound, but the newest CD is something completely different. Well, it’s not exactly new as after all Broken Mirror is more like a compilation of remixes by artists from all over the goth-industrial-dance spectrum.

The CD starts with the Leaether Strip remix of The Stranger. Claus adds his typical electro beats to the Rozz Williams cover. You don’t recognize the original as it’s something completely new, and that is what you get when you surrender to a skilled beat master like Claus Larsen.

Don’t be afraid that this will be another CD with useless extra beats and extended crap mixes, as Broken Mirror just shows every song from a different angle. The German goth metal band Reactive Black makes something different from Black Box, suddenly it feels like you’re listening to a lost Bowie track.

Dead Is Better, which is actually the first single of this Canadian act, also gets a whole new treatment: the beats make you dance, but the voice of Ian Revell wants to crawl inside your skin. Quite addictive, with beats and bleeps that keep on haunting you.

Woman Hanged is remixed by their country mate nTTx: pounding beats and a melancholic sound that would fit well on some old Soft Cell record, even though the metallic guitars give it a harsh, industrial sound. I guess we’re just getting the best of both words.

Apart from Leaether Strip, Psyche is definitely the most famous band we find here. Once again we hear Black Box, but it’s a complete other version because you’re drowned in the typical synthetic atmosphere that Psyche is known for.

You better take some rest as Dead Red Velvet launches an attack of pure industrial beats, Ian’s voice sounds like a robot on speed. It is one of the lesser tracks here, but that’s perhaps because we heard too much stuff like that last months. Anyway, whether you like it or not, it definitely keeps you awake, it just has no direction.

When we said that Double Eyelid makes art rock, we mentioned that these guys like to use some unusual structures, music that needs some extra spins before the addiction starts. The track that comes most close probably is the DJ Cruel Britannia Remix of She’s Falling. I think of Tom Verlaine when I hear these Canadian lads. It could be worse!

Dead Is Better is featured twice, the Lanada Remix gives it a schizophrenic twist.

It would have been better to skip The Climb Remix of The Stranger. Of course you can blame Claus because he already spoiled us with a superb version, but this remix just sounds too much as a cacophony. But then again, you can’t win them all.

Dead Is Better is also reworked in what is called a 2015 re-take and is renamed as Cold Is Better. Again something you can’t compare with the previous versions. It’s like you just bought a ticket for a roller coaster that goes straight to hell.

The remix album is closed with an own version of Hanged In Dub, once again you notice that you can’t put Double Eyelid just in one box. A remix album as you haven’t heard before.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE CHAMELEONS • Live Shreds
CHIRON • Breaking Point EP
PARRALOX FT FRANCINE • Crying On The Dancefloor
DAVID BOWIE • Black Star
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:
MANTUS • Refugium
TACOCAT • Lost Time
CAWATANA • Decline Of Privileges
THE 1975 • I Like It When You Sleep, For You Are So Beautiful Yet So Unaware Of It
GREG LAKE • Remastered: Greg Lake (1981) en Manoeuvres (1983)

 

Other reviews from DOUBLE EYELID
DOUBLE EYELID • Seven Years

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
FEU FOLLET • Le champ des morts
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

 

Same genre: HARSH ELECTRO
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
REACTOR7X • And Chaos Bacame The New Order
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
DATACODE DIVISION • Dissections
REACTOR7X • Illusion Of Chaos
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
SYNAPSYCHE • The Abyss Effect
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
CHAINREACTOR • Dirt

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

Music reviews

14
08
LUKE LUND
Hopium
13
08
KRALLICE
Mass Cathexis
09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SIMON RAYMONDE (COCTEAU TWINS, LOST HORIZONS,SNOWBIRD...)
'I think the secret to it is never to try and force a relationship with someone...'
12
08
MICK HARRIS (SCORN,LULL,EX-NAPALM DEATH...)
'I still see myself as a bit of a punk...'
10
08
BILL LASWELL
'Sometimes thing sort of “follow a path”...'
08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AND ONE
Killing The Mercy
14
08
SEPTEMBER 87
Bad Dream Baby
13
08
KING DALTON
When The Bad Is Gone
12
08
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
11
08
JACK MANIAC
No Fate
10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands