tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DOUBLE EYELID - Broken Mirror

DOUBLE EYELID

Broken Mirror

MusicCD
Dark ElectroGothicHarsh ElectroIndustrial

[72/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

A while ago, we reviewed the debut album by the Canadian art rock (or if you prefer death rock) band Double Eyelid. We refered to artists like Bauhaus or The The to describe its sound, but the newest CD is something completely different. Well, it’s not exactly new as after all Broken Mirror is more like a compilation of remixes by artists from all over the goth-industrial-dance spectrum.

The CD starts with the Leaether Strip remix of The Stranger. Claus adds his typical electro beats to the Rozz Williams cover. You don’t recognize the original as it’s something completely new, and that is what you get when you surrender to a skilled beat master like Claus Larsen.

Don’t be afraid that this will be another CD with useless extra beats and extended crap mixes, as Broken Mirror just shows every song from a different angle. The German goth metal band Reactive Black makes something different from Black Box, suddenly it feels like you’re listening to a lost Bowie track.

Dead Is Better, which is actually the first single of this Canadian act, also gets a whole new treatment: the beats make you dance, but the voice of Ian Revell wants to crawl inside your skin. Quite addictive, with beats and bleeps that keep on haunting you.

Woman Hanged is remixed by their country mate nTTx: pounding beats and a melancholic sound that would fit well on some old Soft Cell record, even though the metallic guitars give it a harsh, industrial sound. I guess we’re just getting the best of both words.

Apart from Leaether Strip, Psyche is definitely the most famous band we find here. Once again we hear Black Box, but it’s a complete other version because you’re drowned in the typical synthetic atmosphere that Psyche is known for.

You better take some rest as Dead Red Velvet launches an attack of pure industrial beats, Ian’s voice sounds like a robot on speed. It is one of the lesser tracks here, but that’s perhaps because we heard too much stuff like that last months. Anyway, whether you like it or not, it definitely keeps you awake, it just has no direction.

When we said that Double Eyelid makes art rock, we mentioned that these guys like to use some unusual structures, music that needs some extra spins before the addiction starts. The track that comes most close probably is the DJ Cruel Britannia Remix of She’s Falling. I think of Tom Verlaine when I hear these Canadian lads. It could be worse!

Dead Is Better is featured twice, the Lanada Remix gives it a schizophrenic twist.

It would have been better to skip The Climb Remix of The Stranger. Of course you can blame Claus because he already spoiled us with a superb version, but this remix just sounds too much as a cacophony. But then again, you can’t win them all.

Dead Is Better is also reworked in what is called a 2015 re-take and is renamed as Cold Is Better. Again something you can’t compare with the previous versions. It’s like you just bought a ticket for a roller coaster that goes straight to hell.

The remix album is closed with an own version of Hanged In Dub, once again you notice that you can’t put Double Eyelid just in one box. A remix album as you haven’t heard before.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE CHAMELEONS • Live Shreds
CHIRON • Breaking Point EP
PARRALOX FT FRANCINE • Crying On The Dancefloor
DAVID BOWIE • Black Star
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:
MANTUS • Refugium
TACOCAT • Lost Time
CAWATANA • Decline Of Privileges
THE 1975 • I Like It When You Sleep, For You Are So Beautiful Yet So Unaware Of It
GREG LAKE • Remastered: Greg Lake (1981) en Manoeuvres (1983)

 

Other reviews from DOUBLE EYELID
DOUBLE EYELID • Seven Years

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BOY HARSHER • Country Girl

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
AUTUMN • The Fall
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
TEARFUL MOON • Evocation
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEARFUL MOON • In The Dark Morning
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless

 

Same genre: HARSH ELECTRO
DATACODE DIVISION • Dissections
REACTOR7X • Illusion Of Chaos
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
SYNAPSYCHE • The Abyss Effect
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
CHAINREACTOR • Dirt
M.O.D. • Broken Machinery
HOCICO • Ofensor
EDEN SYNTHETIC CORPS • Sandwalkers

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
STACIAN • Person L
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night
3TEETH • Shutdown.exe
DIVE • Underneath
LUXVID • Trench
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage

Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
10
07
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' opens this Friday followed by a cast and director Q&A!
04
07
'Locating Silver Lake' celebrates its international premiere at Edinburgh Film Festival!
29
06
Tonight! Dark Entries Night @ Kinky Star with Dead Man's Hill & Causenation!
18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl
12
07
SOFT RIOT
Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen
11
07
EUROPEAN GHOST
Suspended in the void
10
07
BLACK NAIL CABARET
Bête Noire