tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DOUBLE EYELID - Broken Mirror

DOUBLE EYELID

Broken Mirror

MusicCD
Dark ElectroGothicHarsh ElectroIndustrial

[72/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

A while ago, we reviewed the debut album by the Canadian art rock (or if you prefer death rock) band Double Eyelid. We refered to artists like Bauhaus or The The to describe its sound, but the newest CD is something completely different. Well, it’s not exactly new as after all Broken Mirror is more like a compilation of remixes by artists from all over the goth-industrial-dance spectrum.

The CD starts with the Leaether Strip remix of The Stranger. Claus adds his typical electro beats to the Rozz Williams cover. You don’t recognize the original as it’s something completely new, and that is what you get when you surrender to a skilled beat master like Claus Larsen.

Don’t be afraid that this will be another CD with useless extra beats and extended crap mixes, as Broken Mirror just shows every song from a different angle. The German goth metal band Reactive Black makes something different from Black Box, suddenly it feels like you’re listening to a lost Bowie track.

Dead Is Better, which is actually the first single of this Canadian act, also gets a whole new treatment: the beats make you dance, but the voice of Ian Revell wants to crawl inside your skin. Quite addictive, with beats and bleeps that keep on haunting you.

Woman Hanged is remixed by their country mate nTTx: pounding beats and a melancholic sound that would fit well on some old Soft Cell record, even though the metallic guitars give it a harsh, industrial sound. I guess we’re just getting the best of both words.

Apart from Leaether Strip, Psyche is definitely the most famous band we find here. Once again we hear Black Box, but it’s a complete other version because you’re drowned in the typical synthetic atmosphere that Psyche is known for.

You better take some rest as Dead Red Velvet launches an attack of pure industrial beats, Ian’s voice sounds like a robot on speed. It is one of the lesser tracks here, but that’s perhaps because we heard too much stuff like that last months. Anyway, whether you like it or not, it definitely keeps you awake, it just has no direction.

When we said that Double Eyelid makes art rock, we mentioned that these guys like to use some unusual structures, music that needs some extra spins before the addiction starts. The track that comes most close probably is the DJ Cruel Britannia Remix of She’s Falling. I think of Tom Verlaine when I hear these Canadian lads. It could be worse!

Dead Is Better is featured twice, the Lanada Remix gives it a schizophrenic twist.

It would have been better to skip The Climb Remix of The Stranger. Of course you can blame Claus because he already spoiled us with a superb version, but this remix just sounds too much as a cacophony. But then again, you can’t win them all.

Dead Is Better is also reworked in what is called a 2015 re-take and is renamed as Cold Is Better. Again something you can’t compare with the previous versions. It’s like you just bought a ticket for a roller coaster that goes straight to hell.

The remix album is closed with an own version of Hanged In Dub, once again you notice that you can’t put Double Eyelid just in one box. A remix album as you haven’t heard before.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE CHAMELEONS • Live Shreds
CHIRON • Breaking Point EP
PARRALOX FT FRANCINE • Crying On The Dancefloor
DAVID BOWIE • Black Star
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:
MANTUS • Refugium
TACOCAT • Lost Time
CAWATANA • Decline Of Privileges
THE 1975 • I Like It When You Sleep, For You Are So Beautiful Yet So Unaware Of It
GREG LAKE • Remastered: Greg Lake (1981) en Manoeuvres (1983)

 

Other reviews from DOUBLE EYELID
DOUBLE EYELID • Seven Years

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
MIREXXX • Vault
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
DICEPEOPLE • One From Many
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
WANT/ED • Unthinkable

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
AUTUMN • The Fall
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
TEARFUL MOON • Evocation

 

Same genre: HARSH ELECTRO
REACTOR7X • And Chaos Bacame The New Order
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
DATACODE DIVISION • Dissections
REACTOR7X • Illusion Of Chaos
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
SYNAPSYCHE • The Abyss Effect
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
CHAINREACTOR • Dirt
M.O.D. • Broken Machinery

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
KLANGWELT • The Incident
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
STACIAN • Person L
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night
3TEETH • Shutdown.exe

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked