tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/07/2019 : HOCICO - Artificial Extinction

HOCICO

Artificial Extinction

MusicCD
Dark ElectroHarsh ElectroIndustrial

[93/100]   

Out Of Line
09/07/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

From far away Mexico the new Hocico reaches our continent. Yet again an extremely aggressive harsh / industrial sounding album called Artificial Extinction. Erik Garcia and Oscar Mayorga provoke their machinery again and this to unprecedented heights and aggression. The band that entered the stage for the first time in 1994 meanwhile released lots of music for the electro-loving mobs. Wondering what they have to offer to us this time...

And we don't have to wait long to be sucked into their pitch black dark electro. They seem to have a patent on this style and even more! ‘Dark Sunday’ immediately makes this clear. The melody, typical of them and cheerful in themselves, is supported by immense dark beats. And they have a go at it, slow but yet with extremely exciting pace. You can already smell the rubber odor of the dancing shoe soles scorching. It gives me the impression that they are tuned a bit lower than ever before. The fact that this duo is not devoid of more cinematic / spherical music is nothing new neither. With ‘El Ballet Mecanico’ we get an electro track with a lot of diversity. Quite simple and modest, but with a strong dose of distortion and other raped sounds and lyrics it delivers a solid kick in the ass. ‘Blinded Race’ can be classified in the same category. ‘Breathing Under Your Feet’ maybe also, although more techno influences mingle with their rather classical sound. A gem, without a doubt!

We know stage animal Erk does not need much time to take a thorough breath. So after some relative peace it’s full throttle again with title song ‘Artificial Extinction’. Pounding harsh electro with a lot of aggression and anger in the vocal parts.

‘Shut Me Down’ is another blast until the end. Unashamed and with a lost sense of reality, unstoppably aggressive, … It reminds me a bit of the style represented by the Belgian harsh electro-icon Suicide Commando.

Tanzen und Im Rhytmus Bleiben we often read on T-shirts and sweaty tattooed EBM bodies. Hocico carries the opinion. ‘Psychonaut’ is another blissful, rather dark song. Excessively slow dark beats that still give you some time to breath... Although the aggression continues to siege with ‘Damaged’, ‘Cross The Line’ and ‘Palabras de Sangre’ that is topped with a firm dose of old school EBM sauce.

The fact Hocico is familiar with various styles becomes clear again with the closing track ‘Quite Zone (In Dead SIlence)’ which balances on the thin lines between dark electro, future pop and synth pop. And does it matter? Nope!

With Artificial Extinction Hocico delivers another beautiful work of art. The duo has remained unbelievably strong and steady going since 1994, with their unabashedly aggressive electro. They also continue to produce music at a high pace and, as far as I'm concerned, they can continue for ever!.

OUT OF LINE

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
09/07/2019


NL

Uit het verre Mexico waait een nieuwe Hocico binnen. Het alweer extreem agressieve harsh/industrial klinkende Artificial Extinction. Erik Garcia en Oscar Mayorga tergen weer de machinerie tot ongekende hoogte en agressie. De band die in 1994 voor het eerst een podium besteeg, liet al geweldige muziek op het electro-minnend gepeupel los. Benieuwd wat ze nu in petto hebben.

Lang hoeven we niet te wachten om meegezogen te worden in diepe donkere electro. Dark Sunday maakt meteen duidelijk dat ze er meer dan een patent op hebben. De hen typerende en an sich vrolijke melodie wordt geruggesteund door immense dark beats. En die gaan tekeer op een gezapig maar uitermate opzwepend tempo. Je ruikt nu reeds de door het dansen schroeiende rubbergeur van de schoenzolen. Mij geeft het de indruk dat ze nog wat tonen dieper zijn getuned dan ooit voorheen. Dat het gezelschap niet gespeend is van wat meer filmisch/sferische muziek is ook niets nieuws. Met El Ballet Mecanico krijgen we een electro-stukje met heel veel diversiteit. Vrij eenvoudig en ingetogen, ondanks een stevige dosis distortie en andere verkrachte tonen die het lyrische een stevige trap onder het kontwerk geven. Blinded Race valt in dezelfde categorie te classeren. Breathing Under Your Feet eventueel ook. Hoewel hier meer techno-invloeden doorheen het eerder klassiek klinkende geluid fietsen. Een pareltje, zonder enige twijfel.

We weten dat het podiumbeest Erik niet veel tijd nodig heeft om even een grondige teug adem tot zich te nemen. Dus na de relatieve rust, terug vol gas met de titelsong Artificial Extinction. Stampende harsh electro met de agressie en kwaadheid in het vocale deel.
Shut Me Down is weer zo’n knaller over de gehele lijn. Onverdroten en zonder enige zin voor realiteit. Onstopbaar agressief en het doet me denken aan de stijl die we van het Belgische harsh electro-icoon Suicide Commando in grote mate krijgen voorgeschoteld.

Tanzen und Im Rhytmus Bleiben. Aan het Duitse front lezen we het op T-shirts en zien we het getatoeëerd op menig bezweet EBM-lijf. Hocico is van hetzelfde gedacht. Psychonaut is een zalige vrij donkere song. Tergend trage darkbeats die je nog de kans bieden wat lucht te happen... hoewel. De agressie mag tomeloos verder zegevieren met Damaged, Cross The Line en een door een stevige dosis old school EBM-saus overgoten Palabras De Sangre.

Dat Hocico op verschillende fronten thuis is wordt duidelijk met de afsluiter Quite Zone (In Dead SIlence) dewelke balanceert op een zone tussen dark electro, future pop en synthpop. Maar maakt het ook maar één moer uit? Nope!

Hocico levert alweer een prachtwerk af. Het duo blijft ongelooflijk overeind, al sedert 1994, met hun onverdroten agressieve electro. Ze blijven ook aan een hoog tempo muziek maken. En wat mij betreft mogen ze dat blijven doen.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
09/07/2019


09/07/2019 : HOCICO - Artificial Extinction 09/07/2019 : HOCICO - Artificial Extinction 09/07/2019 : HOCICO - Artificial Extinction 09/07/2019 : HOCICO - Artificial Extinction

 

Next reviews
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
VUKOVAR • Cremator
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows

 

Other reviews from HOCICO
HOCICO • Ofensor
HOCICO • Forgotten Tears
HOCICO • In The Name Of Violence
HOCICO • Bite me EP

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + HARSH ELECTRO + INDUSTRIAL
DATACODE DIVISION • Dissections

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls

 

Same genre: HARSH ELECTRO
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • The Dread Files
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
REACTOR7X • And Chaos Bacame The New Order
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
REACTOR7X • Illusion Of Chaos
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
SYNAPSYCHE • The Abyss Effect

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'
25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
14
10
NOISUF-X
Let's Rock
13
10
ANNA MEREDITH
R-Type
12
10
LOLA ANGST
Wie Gott
11
10
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
10
10
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Halloween
09
10
FRONT 242
Tragedy For You