tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/07/2019 : HOCICO - Artificial Extinction

HOCICO

Artificial Extinction

MusicCD
Dark ElectroHarsh ElectroIndustrial

[93/100]   

Out Of Line
09/07/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

From far away Mexico the new Hocico reaches our continent. Yet again an extremely aggressive harsh / industrial sounding album called Artificial Extinction. Erik Garcia and Oscar Mayorga provoke their machinery again and this to unprecedented heights and aggression. The band that entered the stage for the first time in 1994 meanwhile released lots of music for the electro-loving mobs. Wondering what they have to offer to us this time...

And we don't have to wait long to be sucked into their pitch black dark electro. They seem to have a patent on this style and even more! ‘Dark Sunday’ immediately makes this clear. The melody, typical of them and cheerful in themselves, is supported by immense dark beats. And they have a go at it, slow but yet with extremely exciting pace. You can already smell the rubber odor of the dancing shoe soles scorching. It gives me the impression that they are tuned a bit lower than ever before. The fact that this duo is not devoid of more cinematic / spherical music is nothing new neither. With ‘El Ballet Mecanico’ we get an electro track with a lot of diversity. Quite simple and modest, but with a strong dose of distortion and other raped sounds and lyrics it delivers a solid kick in the ass. ‘Blinded Race’ can be classified in the same category. ‘Breathing Under Your Feet’ maybe also, although more techno influences mingle with their rather classical sound. A gem, without a doubt!

We know stage animal Erk does not need much time to take a thorough breath. So after some relative peace it’s full throttle again with title song ‘Artificial Extinction’. Pounding harsh electro with a lot of aggression and anger in the vocal parts.

‘Shut Me Down’ is another blast until the end. Unashamed and with a lost sense of reality, unstoppably aggressive, … It reminds me a bit of the style represented by the Belgian harsh electro-icon Suicide Commando.

Tanzen und Im Rhytmus Bleiben we often read on T-shirts and sweaty tattooed EBM bodies. Hocico carries the opinion. ‘Psychonaut’ is another blissful, rather dark song. Excessively slow dark beats that still give you some time to breath... Although the aggression continues to siege with ‘Damaged’, ‘Cross The Line’ and ‘Palabras de Sangre’ that is topped with a firm dose of old school EBM sauce.

The fact Hocico is familiar with various styles becomes clear again with the closing track ‘Quite Zone (In Dead SIlence)’ which balances on the thin lines between dark electro, future pop and synth pop. And does it matter? Nope!

With Artificial Extinction Hocico delivers another beautiful work of art. The duo has remained unbelievably strong and steady going since 1994, with their unabashedly aggressive electro. They also continue to produce music at a high pace and, as far as I'm concerned, they can continue for ever!.

OUT OF LINE

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
09/07/2019


NL

Uit het verre Mexico waait een nieuwe Hocico binnen. Het alweer extreem agressieve harsh/industrial klinkende Artificial Extinction. Erik Garcia en Oscar Mayorga tergen weer de machinerie tot ongekende hoogte en agressie. De band die in 1994 voor het eerst een podium besteeg, liet al geweldige muziek op het electro-minnend gepeupel los. Benieuwd wat ze nu in petto hebben.

Lang hoeven we niet te wachten om meegezogen te worden in diepe donkere electro. Dark Sunday maakt meteen duidelijk dat ze er meer dan een patent op hebben. De hen typerende en an sich vrolijke melodie wordt geruggesteund door immense dark beats. En die gaan tekeer op een gezapig maar uitermate opzwepend tempo. Je ruikt nu reeds de door het dansen schroeiende rubbergeur van de schoenzolen. Mij geeft het de indruk dat ze nog wat tonen dieper zijn getuned dan ooit voorheen. Dat het gezelschap niet gespeend is van wat meer filmisch/sferische muziek is ook niets nieuws. Met El Ballet Mecanico krijgen we een electro-stukje met heel veel diversiteit. Vrij eenvoudig en ingetogen, ondanks een stevige dosis distortie en andere verkrachte tonen die het lyrische een stevige trap onder het kontwerk geven. Blinded Race valt in dezelfde categorie te classeren. Breathing Under Your Feet eventueel ook. Hoewel hier meer techno-invloeden doorheen het eerder klassiek klinkende geluid fietsen. Een pareltje, zonder enige twijfel.

We weten dat het podiumbeest Erik niet veel tijd nodig heeft om even een grondige teug adem tot zich te nemen. Dus na de relatieve rust, terug vol gas met de titelsong Artificial Extinction. Stampende harsh electro met de agressie en kwaadheid in het vocale deel.
Shut Me Down is weer zo’n knaller over de gehele lijn. Onverdroten en zonder enige zin voor realiteit. Onstopbaar agressief en het doet me denken aan de stijl die we van het Belgische harsh electro-icoon Suicide Commando in grote mate krijgen voorgeschoteld.

Tanzen und Im Rhytmus Bleiben. Aan het Duitse front lezen we het op T-shirts en zien we het getatoeëerd op menig bezweet EBM-lijf. Hocico is van hetzelfde gedacht. Psychonaut is een zalige vrij donkere song. Tergend trage darkbeats die je nog de kans bieden wat lucht te happen... hoewel. De agressie mag tomeloos verder zegevieren met Damaged, Cross The Line en een door een stevige dosis old school EBM-saus overgoten Palabras De Sangre.

Dat Hocico op verschillende fronten thuis is wordt duidelijk met de afsluiter Quite Zone (In Dead SIlence) dewelke balanceert op een zone tussen dark electro, future pop en synthpop. Maar maakt het ook maar één moer uit? Nope!

Hocico levert alweer een prachtwerk af. Het duo blijft ongelooflijk overeind, al sedert 1994, met hun onverdroten agressieve electro. Ze blijven ook aan een hoog tempo muziek maken. En wat mij betreft mogen ze dat blijven doen.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
09/07/2019


09/07/2019 : HOCICO - Artificial Extinction 09/07/2019 : HOCICO - Artificial Extinction 09/07/2019 : HOCICO - Artificial Extinction 09/07/2019 : HOCICO - Artificial Extinction

 

Next reviews
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
VUKOVAR • Cremator
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows

 

Other reviews from HOCICO
HOCICO • Ofensor
HOCICO • Forgotten Tears
HOCICO • In The Name Of Violence
HOCICO • Bite me EP

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + HARSH ELECTRO + INDUSTRIAL
DATACODE DIVISION • Dissections

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
FEU FOLLET • Le champ des morts
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
ENZO KREFT • Control
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

 

Same genre: HARSH ELECTRO
REACTOR7X • And Chaos Bacame The New Order
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
REACTOR7X • Illusion Of Chaos
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
SYNAPSYCHE • The Abyss Effect
DOUBLE EYELID • Broken Mirror
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
CHAINREACTOR • Dirt
M.O.D. • Broken Machinery

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident

Music reviews

28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park
14
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Melancholic Disposition
13
03
STEREOSEAT
Heavenly Creatures

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!
21
03
Bone Machine | 32 - Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s exactly 30 years ago that Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...
03
03
DAVID SARDY
Producer David Sardy on his work with The Who, Oasis, Marilyn Manson and scoring work.
17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes
25
03
JOZEF VAN WISSEM
Ruins
24
03
KRANKLAND
In the Realms of the Unreal
23
03
A;GRUMH
Danger Zone