tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl / digital review

16/05/2019 : VEIL OF LIGHT - Inflict

VEIL OF LIGHT

Inflict

MusicVinyl / Digital
Post PunkSynth Wave

[86/100]   

Avant! Records
16/05/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The Swiss/Zurich duo Veil Of Light returns, two years after releasing ‘Front Teeth’, with another full fledged long-player, ‘Inflict’. Their overal synth-based post-punk gets here a more industrial touch at moments and is supported by somewhat stronger beats. The eight track album is available as limited edition on orange vinyl by Avant! Records.

‘So Hard’ is more than just the song title and immediately demonstrates, with bone-dry rythms, how hard things can get. Pour a voice soaked in chemical stuff over it and you get a great cocktail that goes down very smoothly. Without knowing what we did wrong, we get an accusing finger pointing in our direction, ‘You Done Me Wrong’. Fortunately, the accusations are packed within a great song, which eases the pain. Without pity a sledgehammer called Fact2019 throws us back to the eighties. A solid layer of Depeche Mode sounds are played, and without shame, because these guys simply continue their so far great album.

We already mentioned in the introduction that the beats and rhythms were given a slightly more prominent place, without however approaching EBM or likewise styles. In ‘Holy Wars’ they seem to be at the frontline, which gives the song a more solid timbre. These gentlemen also do not shy away from the more experimental use of certain soundscapes, which sound a little tougher and more chaotic. As if they don't find their place in a logically constructed sequence. In Europe we can dig this sh*t!. And we did even get to the hard pounding and strong tempo great track ‘Animal Instinct’. It is amazing to note that, even if the song remains synth wave-based, you retain a blissful hip-rocking feeling. Despite this feeling, I think also some hard-core EBM fans might get fond of this song. Machinery as a torture tool, twisted twisting of the LFO and VCO knobs on the analog synths in the recording studio. Dark and mysterious, driven by a solid bass line. I do love it. It’s the title song ‘Inflict’.

So what does remain at the end? Which is the song that one would place at the end of an album? ‘There is Nothing Left?’ Yeah right! ‘Nothing Left’ is like the apotheose, a finger licking closure song!

Conclusion: Thank you Veil Of Light! This person is very happy to have had the opportunity to enjoy this album already. And I’ll surely repeat that experience in the next days. Why? Because, I just can’t get enough! Basta!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/05/2019


NL

Het uit Zürich afkomstige duo Veil Of Light is twee jaar na Front Teeth, terug met een volwaardige longplayer Inflict. Hun synth-gebaseerde postpunk krijgt een meer industrieel tintje met momenten en bedient zich van wat stevigere beats. Het 8 nummers tellende album verschijnt in limited edition oranje vinyl op Avant! Reocrds.

So Hard is meer dan een songtitel. Het demonstreert meteen met kurkdroge ritmes hoe hard het soms kan gaan. Druppel daar overheen een in chemisch spul gedrenkte stem en je hebt een geweldige cocktail die heel vlotjes binnen loopt. Zonder te weten wat er scheelt stelt, krijg je een beschuldigende vinger cadeau in You Done Me Wrong. De betichtingen zijn gelukkig verpakt in een geweldige song, wat de tergende pijn wat verzacht. Zonder medelijden een mokerslag naar de eighties met Fact2019. Een stevige laag Depeche Mode weerklinkt zonder schroom. En dat is ook nergens voor nodig, de heren zetten hier een tot nog toe geweldig album gewoonweg verder.

In de inleiding vertelden we al dat de beats en ritmes een iets prominentere plaats kregen, zonder echter de EBM of vergelijkbare muziekstijlen te benaderen. In Holy Wars zijn die dan ook frontline aanwezig, wat de song een iets gefundeerder timbre geeft. En de heren schuwen ook het experimenteler gebruik van bepaalde soundscapes niet, die wat warriger en chaotischer klinken. Alsof ze hun plekje binnen een logisch opgebouwde sequentie niet vinden. In Europe mogen we van dit gegeven proeven. En wat te zeggen van nog wat steviger gebonk en tempo, die ontegensprekelijk lekker klinken bij Animal Instinct. Het is verbazingwekkend vast te stellen dat het synthwave-based blijft, dat je toch zo een zalig heupwiegend gevoel blijft behouden, ondanks het feit dat een doorwinterd EBM-fan deze song wel eens héél genegen zou kunnen zijn.

De machinerie als marteltuig, onheilspelbaar gedraai aan LFO- en VCO-knoppen op de analoge kasten in de opnamestudio. Donker en mysterieus, door een stevige baslijn geruggesteund. I do love it... de titelsong Inflict… En wat blijft er op het einde nog over? Welke song geef je dan nog een plaats op een album? There is Nothing Left? Yeah right. Nothing Left is er één met een heel grote strik. Een afscheid van deze Inflict om de vingers bij af te likken.

Conclusie: dankjewel Veil Of Light ! Blijgemutst is deze mens dit album al te mogen hebben geproefd. En dat zal eerstdaags nog verschillende keren gebeuren. Waarom? Omdat het gewoon smaakt naar méér van dat. Voila….

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/05/2019


16/05/2019 : VEIL OF LIGHT - Inflict 16/05/2019 : VEIL OF LIGHT - Inflict

Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race
15
08
SIMON RAYMONDE (COCTEAU TWINS, LOST HORIZONS,SNOWBIRD...)
'I think the secret to it is never to try and force a relationship with someone...'

PHOTOS

20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
NEOCOMA
Like An Angel
17
09
SYDNEY VALETTE
Précipice
16
09
HELDMACHINE
Die Braut, das Meer
15
09
DAVID BOWIE
Absolute Beginners
14
09
ANATHEMA
A Natural Disaster (from A Sort of Homecoming)
13
09
VOITH
A Christmas Eve In Berlin (Official Video)
12
09
PORTION CONTROL
LIVE @ SCHLAGSTROM - 2014