tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl / digital review

16/05/2019 : VEIL OF LIGHT - Inflict

VEIL OF LIGHT

Inflict

MusicVinyl / Digital
Post PunkSynth Wave

[86/100]   

Avant! Records
16/05/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The Swiss/Zurich duo Veil Of Light returns, two years after releasing ‘Front Teeth’, with another full fledged long-player, ‘Inflict’. Their overal synth-based post-punk gets here a more industrial touch at moments and is supported by somewhat stronger beats. The eight track album is available as limited edition on orange vinyl by Avant! Records.

‘So Hard’ is more than just the song title and immediately demonstrates, with bone-dry rythms, how hard things can get. Pour a voice soaked in chemical stuff over it and you get a great cocktail that goes down very smoothly. Without knowing what we did wrong, we get an accusing finger pointing in our direction, ‘You Done Me Wrong’. Fortunately, the accusations are packed within a great song, which eases the pain. Without pity a sledgehammer called Fact2019 throws us back to the eighties. A solid layer of Depeche Mode sounds are played, and without shame, because these guys simply continue their so far great album.

We already mentioned in the introduction that the beats and rhythms were given a slightly more prominent place, without however approaching EBM or likewise styles. In ‘Holy Wars’ they seem to be at the frontline, which gives the song a more solid timbre. These gentlemen also do not shy away from the more experimental use of certain soundscapes, which sound a little tougher and more chaotic. As if they don't find their place in a logically constructed sequence. In Europe we can dig this sh*t!. And we did even get to the hard pounding and strong tempo great track ‘Animal Instinct’. It is amazing to note that, even if the song remains synth wave-based, you retain a blissful hip-rocking feeling. Despite this feeling, I think also some hard-core EBM fans might get fond of this song. Machinery as a torture tool, twisted twisting of the LFO and VCO knobs on the analog synths in the recording studio. Dark and mysterious, driven by a solid bass line. I do love it. It’s the title song ‘Inflict’.

So what does remain at the end? Which is the song that one would place at the end of an album? ‘There is Nothing Left?’ Yeah right! ‘Nothing Left’ is like the apotheose, a finger licking closure song!

Conclusion: Thank you Veil Of Light! This person is very happy to have had the opportunity to enjoy this album already. And I’ll surely repeat that experience in the next days. Why? Because, I just can’t get enough! Basta!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/05/2019


NL

Het uit Zürich afkomstige duo Veil Of Light is twee jaar na Front Teeth, terug met een volwaardige longplayer Inflict. Hun synth-gebaseerde postpunk krijgt een meer industrieel tintje met momenten en bedient zich van wat stevigere beats. Het 8 nummers tellende album verschijnt in limited edition oranje vinyl op Avant! Reocrds.

So Hard is meer dan een songtitel. Het demonstreert meteen met kurkdroge ritmes hoe hard het soms kan gaan. Druppel daar overheen een in chemisch spul gedrenkte stem en je hebt een geweldige cocktail die heel vlotjes binnen loopt. Zonder te weten wat er scheelt stelt, krijg je een beschuldigende vinger cadeau in You Done Me Wrong. De betichtingen zijn gelukkig verpakt in een geweldige song, wat de tergende pijn wat verzacht. Zonder medelijden een mokerslag naar de eighties met Fact2019. Een stevige laag Depeche Mode weerklinkt zonder schroom. En dat is ook nergens voor nodig, de heren zetten hier een tot nog toe geweldig album gewoonweg verder.

In de inleiding vertelden we al dat de beats en ritmes een iets prominentere plaats kregen, zonder echter de EBM of vergelijkbare muziekstijlen te benaderen. In Holy Wars zijn die dan ook frontline aanwezig, wat de song een iets gefundeerder timbre geeft. En de heren schuwen ook het experimenteler gebruik van bepaalde soundscapes niet, die wat warriger en chaotischer klinken. Alsof ze hun plekje binnen een logisch opgebouwde sequentie niet vinden. In Europe mogen we van dit gegeven proeven. En wat te zeggen van nog wat steviger gebonk en tempo, die ontegensprekelijk lekker klinken bij Animal Instinct. Het is verbazingwekkend vast te stellen dat het synthwave-based blijft, dat je toch zo een zalig heupwiegend gevoel blijft behouden, ondanks het feit dat een doorwinterd EBM-fan deze song wel eens héél genegen zou kunnen zijn.

De machinerie als marteltuig, onheilspelbaar gedraai aan LFO- en VCO-knoppen op de analoge kasten in de opnamestudio. Donker en mysterieus, door een stevige baslijn geruggesteund. I do love it... de titelsong Inflict… En wat blijft er op het einde nog over? Welke song geef je dan nog een plaats op een album? There is Nothing Left? Yeah right. Nothing Left is er één met een heel grote strik. Een afscheid van deze Inflict om de vingers bij af te likken.

Conclusie: dankjewel Veil Of Light ! Blijgemutst is deze mens dit album al te mogen hebben geproefd. En dat zal eerstdaags nog verschillende keren gebeuren. Waarom? Omdat het gewoon smaakt naar méér van dat. Voila….

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/05/2019


16/05/2019 : VEIL OF LIGHT - Inflict 16/05/2019 : VEIL OF LIGHT - Inflict

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)
12
09
SPANKRAGHT
N16