tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / digital review

07/05/2019 : WISBORG - From the Cradle to the Coffin

WISBORG

From the Cradle to the Coffin

MusicCD / Digital
Gothic Rock

[92/100]   

Danse Macabre
07/05/2019, Charles “Chuck” MOORHOUSE

After the opening track serenades your lighting of the candelabra and setting the table for your spectral soire, complete with tinny gramophone piano, the rest of the songs sound very similar - similar in that they are all darkly melodic, powerful anthems of regret, despair, and remorse... and loud, gloriously loud.

The vocals are often over the top romanticism and audible histrionics. But the emotional outpouring is undeniable. For instance on “Spirits that I Called,” we hear Konstantin succumbing to the realization of the pain that he’s caused and, no longer able to bare the guilt, emotionally crumbling before our ears. Likewise, on “The Reaping,” an 8.5 minute opus, he shouts, begging for his soul’s relief. The piano reappears in several songs, holding the creepy element firmly in place as the tempest of heavy synths, deep bass lines, and crushing guitars swirl around it. The lyrics evoke lost and faded love, pain and remembrance. "Blood is Life" offers the slightest element of hope or at least perseverance with "the heart may be sore, but for now, it's still beating. The mind may be tired, but it's still awake." “Beautiful and Broken” evokes a 90’s rock-industrial crossover sound that you might hear on forward minded “alternative” or “college” radio. But that’s about as “accessible” as these tracks get. “Sardonic Laughter of Doomed Lovers” is roughly hewn dirge torched from a metallic monolith; greasy, grimey, and covered in soot. It’s apropos to have, “The Cruelty of Time” as the out track. The freight train of a song grinds slowly towards the end of the line. As the last piano notes fade, we’re emotionally exhausted and empty, but nonetheless satisfied.

You hear reminders of the usual suspects in this album, Sisters of Mercy, Fields of the Nephilim, Killing Joke, along with some others that add a layer of interest and make this much more than a “genre”-type of album. For example, in many guitar solos and soaring backgrounds, there is a distinct element of psychadelia, ala Red Temple Spirits. Perhaps Wisborg has taken it upon themselves to restore the eclipsed moon.

Charles “Chuck” MOORHOUSE
07/05/2019


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline