tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl / digital review

23/12/2021 : SYGO CRIES - Talking about walls

SYGO CRIES

Talking about walls

MusicVinyl / Digital
Gothic RockPost Punk

[89/100]   

Self-released
23/12/2021, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

When passion drives you, when musical paths cross, when everything adds up … beautiful things can happen!

This happend in June 2020, when Wim Guillemyn (The Other Intern) read the message from Mika Goedrijk (This Morn' Omina, Nebula-H, Pow(d)er Pussy) that he was looking for a creative, motivated bass player for his Sygo Cries project. Wim saw the band perform as support for Your Life On Hold. His bass playing fingers itched and also musically Wim could relate to the post-punk/goth-rock atmosphere Sygo Cries brought.

After some chats they had their first meeting, where musical ideas immediately turned into songs. Call it chemistry …

During the summer, Olivier Moulin (The Mars Model) also joined the band to perform live keyboards/synths. The attraction soon made the young and eager Brooklyn Machet request to take up the guitar parts. One year later this resulted in a 12 inch that listens to the title Talking about Walls. A limited edition of 100 copies on clear blue vinyl produced by John Wolf (Your Life On Hold, Mildreda, Mildred in Oblivion).

On the A-side we find the rather melodic ‘Spiders (in our head)’, a sturdy post-punk song/goth rock song with nice prominent basses and stinging guitar work. There are mouth-watering passages that are reminiscent to early U2 and the Mission cues. Even a bit of Joy Division can be heard. ‘End Of The Century’ is a goth rock song of the better kind, one on which the black dressed can relax on dance floor, shrouded in fog. Or even better in front of a live stage, because Sygo Cries is more than happy to storm the stage.

On the B-side we hear ‘The Parting Glass’ as a first song … Slowly a ballad unfolds into a rather burly song that leans more towards the dark-wave style. The bass line carries the whole track and that makes this entire Talking About Walls a blissful 12 inch. Then, with ‘Ship Of Friends’, we get a post-punk song weaned by solid electro that made me dance happily through my living room. Over and over again… On Sygo Cries’ Bandcamp you get ‘Surrender’ as a bonus track.

The fun and musical chemistry from the band shines off this 12 inch. It all fits, It sounds great and it touches. We demand more live shows and more releases like this!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
23/12/2021


NL

Wanneer passie je drijft. Wanneer muzikale wegen elkaar kruisen. Wanneer iets klopt, ontstaan mooie dingen.

Zo ook in juni 2020. Wim Guillemyn (The Other Intern) las het berichtje van Mika Goedrijk (This Morn’ Omina, Nebula-H, Pow(d)er Pussy) dat hij een creatieve, gemotiveerde bassist zocht voor Sygo Cries. Wim zag de band spelen in het voorprogrammma van Your Life On Hold. Zijn bassistenvingers jeukten en muzikaal kon Wim zich vinden in de postpunk/gothrockerige sfeer die Sygo Cries laat horen.

Een aantal chats later kwam het tot een eerste treffen, waarbij muzikale ideeën zich ontpopten tot songs. Noem het chemie.
In de daaropvolgende zomer vervoegde Olivier Moulin (The Mars Model) de band om live de keyboards/synths voor zijn rekening te nemen. En de aantrekkingskracht was groot: kort nadien kwam jong geweld Brooklyn Machet op de proppen met de vraag de gitaar ter hand te mogen nemen. Een jaar later resulteert dit in een 12 inch met de titel Talking about Walls. Een gelimiteerde uitgave op 100 exemplaren op clear blue vinyl. John Wolf (Your Life On Hold, Mildreda, Mildred in Oblivion) tekende voor de productie.

Op de A-side vinden we het eerder melodieuze Spiders (in our head). Een kloeke postpunksong/gothrocksong met lekker prominent aanwezige bassen en striemend gitaarwerk. Er zitten passages in die doen watertanden en zowel een zweem van de vroege U2 als the Mission in zich dragen. Zelfs Joy Division klinkt erin door. End Of The Century is gothrock van de bovenste plank, waarbij het zwarte volk half ineengeplooid zalig kan verwijlen op een in mist gehulde dansvloer. Of nog liever voor een live podium. Want Sygo Cries wil de podia meer dan graag onveilig maken.

Op de B-side horen we als eerste The Parting Glass. Langzaam ontvouwt een ballade zich tot een toch wel potige song die wat meer richting darkwave neigt. De baslijn draagt het geheel en dat maakt deze hele Talking About Walls een zalige 12inch.
Met Ship Of Friends krijgen we een stevige electro postpunksong die mij alvast vrolijk doorheen mijn woonkamer deed dansen. Over and over again…
Op bandcamp krijg je als toemaatje Surrender cadeau.

Op deze 12 inch zijn het speelplezier en de muzikale chemie voelbaar. Het klopt. Het klinkt. Het raakt. Het is hoog tijd voor vele optredens en méér van dit.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
23/12/2021


23/12/2021 : SYGO CRIES - Talking about walls 23/12/2021 : SYGO CRIES - Talking about walls 23/12/2021 : SYGO CRIES - Talking about walls

 

Next reviews
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
MOVMENT • Transformation
G.U.S.T. • Gust of wind
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
CAVERNA DELLE ROSE • Elysian Chants
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor

 

Other reviews from SYGO CRIES
SYGO CRIES • In Outside Places
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC ROCK + POST PUNK
KILL SHELTER • Asylum
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
NAUT • Raise The Lights
RAZORLINE • Razorline
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
MASQUERADE • Blood is the New Black
CRIMSON SCARLET • Collection: 2011-2014

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
PIG • Pain Is God
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
SYGO CRIES • In Outside Places
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills

Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

25
09
LEAETHER STRIP
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
COMBICHRIST
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
SOLAR FAKE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
WINTERKALTE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets