tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl / digital review

23/12/2021 : SYGO CRIES - Talking about walls

SYGO CRIES

Talking about walls

MusicVinyl / Digital
Gothic RockPost Punk

[89/100]   

Self-released
23/12/2021, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

When passion drives you, when musical paths cross, when everything adds up … beautiful things can happen!

This happend in June 2020, when Wim Guillemyn (The Other Intern) read the message from Mika Goedrijk (This Morn' Omina, Nebula-H, Pow(d)er Pussy) that he was looking for a creative, motivated bass player for his Sygo Cries project. Wim saw the band perform as support for Your Life On Hold. His bass playing fingers itched and also musically Wim could relate to the post-punk/goth-rock atmosphere Sygo Cries brought.

After some chats they had their first meeting, where musical ideas immediately turned into songs. Call it chemistry …

During the summer, Olivier Moulin (The Mars Model) also joined the band to perform live keyboards/synths. The attraction soon made the young and eager Brooklyn Machet request to take up the guitar parts. One year later this resulted in a 12 inch that listens to the title Talking about Walls. A limited edition of 100 copies on clear blue vinyl produced by John Wolf (Your Life On Hold, Mildreda, Mildred in Oblivion).

On the A-side we find the rather melodic ‘Spiders (in our head)’, a sturdy post-punk song/goth rock song with nice prominent basses and stinging guitar work. There are mouth-watering passages that are reminiscent to early U2 and the Mission cues. Even a bit of Joy Division can be heard. ‘End Of The Century’ is a goth rock song of the better kind, one on which the black dressed can relax on dance floor, shrouded in fog. Or even better in front of a live stage, because Sygo Cries is more than happy to storm the stage.

On the B-side we hear ‘The Parting Glass’ as a first song … Slowly a ballad unfolds into a rather burly song that leans more towards the dark-wave style. The bass line carries the whole track and that makes this entire Talking About Walls a blissful 12 inch. Then, with ‘Ship Of Friends’, we get a post-punk song weaned by solid electro that made me dance happily through my living room. Over and over again… On Sygo Cries’ Bandcamp you get ‘Surrender’ as a bonus track.

The fun and musical chemistry from the band shines off this 12 inch. It all fits, It sounds great and it touches. We demand more live shows and more releases like this!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
23/12/2021


NL

Wanneer passie je drijft. Wanneer muzikale wegen elkaar kruisen. Wanneer iets klopt, ontstaan mooie dingen.

Zo ook in juni 2020. Wim Guillemyn (The Other Intern) las het berichtje van Mika Goedrijk (This Morn’ Omina, Nebula-H, Pow(d)er Pussy) dat hij een creatieve, gemotiveerde bassist zocht voor Sygo Cries. Wim zag de band spelen in het voorprogrammma van Your Life On Hold. Zijn bassistenvingers jeukten en muzikaal kon Wim zich vinden in de postpunk/gothrockerige sfeer die Sygo Cries laat horen.

Een aantal chats later kwam het tot een eerste treffen, waarbij muzikale ideeën zich ontpopten tot songs. Noem het chemie.
In de daaropvolgende zomer vervoegde Olivier Moulin (The Mars Model) de band om live de keyboards/synths voor zijn rekening te nemen. En de aantrekkingskracht was groot: kort nadien kwam jong geweld Brooklyn Machet op de proppen met de vraag de gitaar ter hand te mogen nemen. Een jaar later resulteert dit in een 12 inch met de titel Talking about Walls. Een gelimiteerde uitgave op 100 exemplaren op clear blue vinyl. John Wolf (Your Life On Hold, Mildreda, Mildred in Oblivion) tekende voor de productie.

Op de A-side vinden we het eerder melodieuze Spiders (in our head). Een kloeke postpunksong/gothrocksong met lekker prominent aanwezige bassen en striemend gitaarwerk. Er zitten passages in die doen watertanden en zowel een zweem van de vroege U2 als the Mission in zich dragen. Zelfs Joy Division klinkt erin door. End Of The Century is gothrock van de bovenste plank, waarbij het zwarte volk half ineengeplooid zalig kan verwijlen op een in mist gehulde dansvloer. Of nog liever voor een live podium. Want Sygo Cries wil de podia meer dan graag onveilig maken.

Op de B-side horen we als eerste The Parting Glass. Langzaam ontvouwt een ballade zich tot een toch wel potige song die wat meer richting darkwave neigt. De baslijn draagt het geheel en dat maakt deze hele Talking About Walls een zalige 12inch.
Met Ship Of Friends krijgen we een stevige electro postpunksong die mij alvast vrolijk doorheen mijn woonkamer deed dansen. Over and over again…
Op bandcamp krijg je als toemaatje Surrender cadeau.

Op deze 12 inch zijn het speelplezier en de muzikale chemie voelbaar. Het klopt. Het klinkt. Het raakt. Het is hoog tijd voor vele optredens en méér van dit.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
23/12/2021


23/12/2021 : SYGO CRIES - Talking about walls 23/12/2021 : SYGO CRIES - Talking about walls 23/12/2021 : SYGO CRIES - Talking about walls

 

Next reviews
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
MOVMENT • Transformation
G.U.S.T. • Gust of wind
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
CAVERNA DELLE ROSE • Elysian Chants
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor

 

Other reviews from SYGO CRIES
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC ROCK + POST PUNK
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
NAUT • Raise The Lights
RAZORLINE • Razorline
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
MASQUERADE • Blood is the New Black
CRIMSON SCARLET • Collection: 2011-2014
FADING RAIN • Winter Ballads

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
PIG • Pain Is God
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 44 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'
06
04
MARROWVOLTAGE
There is always a strong, dominating motif behind any of our songs. A feeling, a powerful association. For example, the gravitational force of an abyss underneath you. The movement of mighty and elegant creatures in the
05
04
LACRIMOSA
There were times when I could hardly believe that I would ever be able to finish the album.

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf