tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

11/11/2015 : MASQUERADE - Blood is the New Black

MASQUERADE

Blood is the New Black

MusicVinyl
GothicGothic RockPost Punk

[90/100]   

Fight Records
11/11/2015, Luki PUKI

EN

I saw the four piece band Masquerade at Return to the Batcave Festival and it blew me away. Superb Gothpunks loving playing to the crowd. Singer Suzi Sabotage is great live, lots of odd panting, screaming and generally having fun with the rest of the band… so, I was a bit worried the magic wouldn’t translate onto a recording. As a guy I rarely admit this, but I was wrong.

The five track EP Blood is the New Black doesn’t disappoint. Guitars, bass and drums are as good as anything that came out of the original gothpunk scene. Suzi’s stage antics carried over without loosing any of the live charm.

The title song touches on media sexualisation, but my favorite is All Things Hurt which, judging from the video, is about the red wine hangover from hell. We all know it looks cool contrasting blood red with your porcelain white makeup, but red wine is basically hangover in a bottle. Other lyrics touch on more cliché goth elements like funerals and unrequited love. 

Hats off to Finlands finest gothrockers for a great release.

Luki PUKI
11/11/2015


NL

Toen ik Masquerade aan het werk zag tijdens het Return To The Batcave Festival, blies het mij onmiddellijk van mijn sokken. Schitterend gothpunks die met volle overgave voor hun publiek spelen. Zangeres Suzi Sabotage is geweldig op het podium: ze hijgt, ze schreeuwt en heeft volop plezier met de rest van de band... dus was ik een beetje bang dat ze deze magie niet op een plaat zou kunnen brengen. Een man geeft het niet graag toe, maar ik had het mis.

De vijf nummers op Blood is the New Black stellen helemaal niet teleur. De gitaren, de bas en de drums klinken net zo goed als tijdens de hoogdagen van de gothpunk. En ja hoor, wat Suzi op een podium presteert, klinkt even sterk op plaat.

De titelsong gaat over de seksuitbuiting in de media, terwijl All Things Hurt (ten minste dat denk ik toch als ik de video zie) over de kater die je krijgt als je rode wijn uit de hel drinkt. We weten allemaal dat bloedrood een mooi contrast vormt met porseleinwitte make-up, maar vergeet niet dat rode wijn nog altijd een kater in flesvorm is! De andere teksten gaan meer over clichés die je wel meer in het gothgenre aantreft zoals begrafenissen of onbeantwoorde liefde.

Petje af voor Finlands beste gothrockers voor deze prachtige release!

Luki PUKI
11/11/2015


 

Next reviews
CRIMSON SCARLET • Collection: 2011-2014
HORTUS BOTANICUS • (NL, Leiden)
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III
MERCURY REV • Brussels, Botanique (08/11/2015)
DE BRASSERS • Brussels, Magasin 4 (07/11/2015)
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • Ghent, De Handelsbeurs (07/11/15)
HEADDREAMER • Human Frequencies
SPECTRA*PARIS • License To Kill
RANK • PLAN YOUR DOWNFALL
NEW ORDER • Brussels, AB (06/11/2015)

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC + GOTHIC ROCK + POST PUNK
TERMINAL GODS • Machine Beat Messiah

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NAUT • Raise The Lights
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
NORMORIA • Origin

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines

Music reviews

27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

28
01
DEPECHE MODE
Enjoy The Silence
27
01
GEOMETRIC VISION
Apocalypse Queen
26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)