tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

11/11/2015 : MASQUERADE - Blood is the New Black

MASQUERADE

Blood is the New Black

MusicVinyl
GothicGothic RockPost Punk

[90/100]   

Fight Records
11/11/2015, Luki PUKI

EN

I saw the four piece band Masquerade at Return to the Batcave Festival and it blew me away. Superb Gothpunks loving playing to the crowd. Singer Suzi Sabotage is great live, lots of odd panting, screaming and generally having fun with the rest of the band… so, I was a bit worried the magic wouldn’t translate onto a recording. As a guy I rarely admit this, but I was wrong.

The five track EP Blood is the New Black doesn’t disappoint. Guitars, bass and drums are as good as anything that came out of the original gothpunk scene. Suzi’s stage antics carried over without loosing any of the live charm.

The title song touches on media sexualisation, but my favorite is All Things Hurt which, judging from the video, is about the red wine hangover from hell. We all know it looks cool contrasting blood red with your porcelain white makeup, but red wine is basically hangover in a bottle. Other lyrics touch on more cliché goth elements like funerals and unrequited love. 

Hats off to Finlands finest gothrockers for a great release.

Luki PUKI
11/11/2015


NL

Toen ik Masquerade aan het werk zag tijdens het Return To The Batcave Festival, blies het mij onmiddellijk van mijn sokken. Schitterend gothpunks die met volle overgave voor hun publiek spelen. Zangeres Suzi Sabotage is geweldig op het podium: ze hijgt, ze schreeuwt en heeft volop plezier met de rest van de band... dus was ik een beetje bang dat ze deze magie niet op een plaat zou kunnen brengen. Een man geeft het niet graag toe, maar ik had het mis.

De vijf nummers op Blood is the New Black stellen helemaal niet teleur. De gitaren, de bas en de drums klinken net zo goed als tijdens de hoogdagen van de gothpunk. En ja hoor, wat Suzi op een podium presteert, klinkt even sterk op plaat.

De titelsong gaat over de seksuitbuiting in de media, terwijl All Things Hurt (ten minste dat denk ik toch als ik de video zie) over de kater die je krijgt als je rode wijn uit de hel drinkt. We weten allemaal dat bloedrood een mooi contrast vormt met porseleinwitte make-up, maar vergeet niet dat rode wijn nog altijd een kater in flesvorm is! De andere teksten gaan meer over clichés die je wel meer in het gothgenre aantreft zoals begrafenissen of onbeantwoorde liefde.

Petje af voor Finlands beste gothrockers voor deze prachtige release!

Luki PUKI
11/11/2015


 

Next reviews
CRIMSON SCARLET • Collection: 2011-2014
HORTUS BOTANICUS • (NL, Leiden)
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III
MERCURY REV • Brussels, Botanique (08/11/2015)
DE BRASSERS • Brussels, Magasin 4 (07/11/2015)
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • Ghent, De Handelsbeurs (07/11/15)
HEADDREAMER • Human Frequencies
SPECTRA*PARIS • License To Kill
RANK • PLAN YOUR DOWNFALL
NEW ORDER • Brussels, AB (06/11/2015)

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC + GOTHIC ROCK + POST PUNK
KILL SHELTER • Asylum
TERMINAL GODS • Machine Beat Messiah

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THIS VALE OF TEARS • This Vale Of Tears
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
DARK • Nightmare
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
A SLICE OF LIFE • Tabula Rasa
SYGO CRIES • In Outside Places
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills

Music reviews

05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH
deathwish
05
10
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
04
10
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND
O Lord
03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes