tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

11/11/2015 : MASQUERADE - Blood is the New Black

MASQUERADE

Blood is the New Black

MusicVinyl
GothicGothic RockPost Punk

[90/100]   

Fight Records
11/11/2015, Luki PUKI

EN

I saw the four piece band Masquerade at Return to the Batcave Festival and it blew me away. Superb Gothpunks loving playing to the crowd. Singer Suzi Sabotage is great live, lots of odd panting, screaming and generally having fun with the rest of the band… so, I was a bit worried the magic wouldn’t translate onto a recording. As a guy I rarely admit this, but I was wrong.

The five track EP Blood is the New Black doesn’t disappoint. Guitars, bass and drums are as good as anything that came out of the original gothpunk scene. Suzi’s stage antics carried over without loosing any of the live charm.

The title song touches on media sexualisation, but my favorite is All Things Hurt which, judging from the video, is about the red wine hangover from hell. We all know it looks cool contrasting blood red with your porcelain white makeup, but red wine is basically hangover in a bottle. Other lyrics touch on more cliché goth elements like funerals and unrequited love. 

Hats off to Finlands finest gothrockers for a great release.

Luki PUKI
11/11/2015


NL

Toen ik Masquerade aan het werk zag tijdens het Return To The Batcave Festival, blies het mij onmiddellijk van mijn sokken. Schitterend gothpunks die met volle overgave voor hun publiek spelen. Zangeres Suzi Sabotage is geweldig op het podium: ze hijgt, ze schreeuwt en heeft volop plezier met de rest van de band... dus was ik een beetje bang dat ze deze magie niet op een plaat zou kunnen brengen. Een man geeft het niet graag toe, maar ik had het mis.

De vijf nummers op Blood is the New Black stellen helemaal niet teleur. De gitaren, de bas en de drums klinken net zo goed als tijdens de hoogdagen van de gothpunk. En ja hoor, wat Suzi op een podium presteert, klinkt even sterk op plaat.

De titelsong gaat over de seksuitbuiting in de media, terwijl All Things Hurt (ten minste dat denk ik toch als ik de video zie) over de kater die je krijgt als je rode wijn uit de hel drinkt. We weten allemaal dat bloedrood een mooi contrast vormt met porseleinwitte make-up, maar vergeet niet dat rode wijn nog altijd een kater in flesvorm is! De andere teksten gaan meer over clichés die je wel meer in het gothgenre aantreft zoals begrafenissen of onbeantwoorde liefde.

Petje af voor Finlands beste gothrockers voor deze prachtige release!

Luki PUKI
11/11/2015


 

Next reviews
CRIMSON SCARLET • Collection: 2011-2014
HORTUS BOTANICUS • (NL, Leiden)
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III
MERCURY REV • Brussels, Botanique (08/11/2015)
DE BRASSERS • Brussels, Magasin 4 (07/11/2015)
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • Ghent, De Handelsbeurs (07/11/15)
HEADDREAMER • Human Frequencies
SPECTRA*PARIS • License To Kill
RANK • PLAN YOUR DOWNFALL
NEW ORDER • Brussels, AB (06/11/2015)

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC + GOTHIC ROCK + POST PUNK
TERMINAL GODS • Machine Beat Messiah

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NAUT • Raise The Lights
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
NORMORIA • Origin
AUTUMN • The Fall

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away

Music reviews

19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here
18
10
RIDE
This Is Not a Safe Place
17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
10
THE VELVET UNDERGROUND & NICO
21
10
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets
20
10
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
19
10
ORBITAL
One Perfect Sunrise
18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)