tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this album classics review

09/11/2015 : SPECTRA*PARIS - License To Kill

SPECTRA*PARIS

License To Kill

MusicAlbum Classics
Dark PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[95/100]   

Out Of Line
09/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

When Elena Alice Fossi joined Kirlian Camera in 2000, no one imagined that this woman would give this legendary darkwave act a new life. Anyone who has seen Elena one second on stage knows that this is the place where she belongs, but she's also a versatile artist, just listen to her side projects Alice Neve Fox or Sideantartica. And of course there's Spectra*Paris, the pop project that is created through the fascination with James Bond. Now that Daniel Craig dominates the world again, we’d like to talk about our favorite Bond girl who unfortunately was never in a 007 movie, but she’s the best!

Licence To Kill was the successor of the 2007 album Dead Models Society (containing the heartbreaking cover Mad World by Tears For Fears). Although you can’t compare the two albums (except that they both contain dark pop), Licence To Kill is the strongest of the two. In this project, Elena Fossi is surrounded by two other powerful women, but it is clear that this is her project in which she firmly holds the reins.

If you are forced to push Spectra*Paris into a category then the music of this Italian beauty ends up in the pop section, but it's so much more than that. The title track Licence To Kill begins with mysterious footsteps, and explodes after a few seconds in a real rock monster. Elena Fossi is an irresistible pop diva on Spectra*Paris, she even sounds a bit like Lady Gaga, but (and this is probably her Kirlian Camera influence) it is always dark.

That dark effect you immediately hear on Clockwork London: perfect pop that is experimenting with the A Clockwork Orange soundtrack by Wendy Carlos. Elena leads you to the dark catacombs. Sometimes her pop music sounds a little bit heavy, but never bombastic.

For the frontwoman of Kirlian Camera it is also normal that her influences are present in Spectra*Paris. Movie Ghouls is schizophrenic pop, just as the eerie keyboards in Aston Martin DB5.

Diva's always sound irresistible, but they’re dangerous as well. Elena catches you in her web via Carrie Satan with sugar-sweet pop, but once you arrive there, you'll never get away, she has the power!.The voice sweetens your mind, but the keyboard sounds suggest that it is too late. Destructive pop, it exists, and Elena Alice Fossi has created it!

"Blood sprays everywhere", Elena whispers in Death Records; the black widow has done her job: you are forever in love with her pop. It’s not just because of the title that Lost Highway Voices smells a tad of David Lynch. Who said that pop music is stupid? Listen to Spectra*Paris!

Didier BECU
09/11/2015


NL

Toen Elena Fossi in 2000 bij Kirlian Camera kwam, was er wellicht niemand die kon vermoeden dat deze vrouw deze legendarische darkwave-act een nieuw leven zou bezorgen. Na Elena één seconde op het podium te zien, weet je dat dit haar geliefde plaats is, maar ze is tevens een veelzijdige artieste, luister maar naar haar nevenprojecten Alice Neve Fox of Sideantartica. En natuurlijk is er ook Spectra*Paris, het popproject dat ontstaan is door de fascinatie voor James Bond. Nu Daniel Craig de hele wereld domineert, vonden wij het best leuk om het eens over onze favoriete Bondgirl te hebben dat jammer genoeg nooit in een 007-film te zien was!

Licence To Kill was de opvolger van het in 2007 verschenen Dead Models Society (met daarop de hartverscheurende cover Mad World van Tears For Fears). Alhoewel je de twee albums niet met elkaar kan vergelijken (behalve dat ze allebei donkere pop bevatten), is Licence To Kill de sterkste van de twee. In dit project wordt Elena Fossi omringd door twee andere vrouwen, maar het is duidelijk dat dit haar project is waarin zij stevig de touwtjes in handen heeft.

Als je toch wordt gedwongen om Spectra*Paris in een hokje te duwen, dan belandt de muziek van deze Italiaanse schone sowieso bij popmuziek, maar ze is zo veel meer dan dat. De titeltrack Licence To Kill begint met geheimzinnige voetstappen en ontploft na enkele seconden in een rockmonster. Elena Fossi gedraagt zich als een onweerstaanbare popdiva, het klinkt zelfs wat als Lady Gaga, maar (en dat is waarschijnlijk haar Kirlian Camera-verleden) het blijft steeds donker.

Dat donkere effect hoor je meteen op Clockwork London: perfecte pop die met de A Clockwork Orange-soundtrack van Wendy Carlos experimenteert. Elena leidt je naar donkere catacomben. Soms is het pop die wat zwaar klinkt, maar nooit te bombastisch.

Als frontvrouw van Kirlian Camera is het natuurlijk ook normaal dat je ook die invloeden in Spectra*Paris hoort. Movie Ghouls is schizofrene pop, net zoals de angstaanjagende keyboards in Aston Martin DB5.

Diva’s klinken altijd zowel onweerstaanbaar als gevaarlijk. Elena strikt je in haar web via Carrie Satan met zeemzoete pop, maar ze sleept je genadeloos mee. Eens je er bent belandt, kom je er nooit meer weg. De stem laaft je geest, maar de keyboards verraden dat het te laat is. Destructieve pop, het bestaat…

“Blood sprays everywhere” fluistert Elena in Death Records, de zwarte weduwe heeft haar werk gedaan: je bent voor eeuwig verliefd op haar pop. Heerlijk, mystiek en het is niet alleen wegens de titel dat Lost Highway Voices een tikkeltje naar David Lynch ruikt. Wie zei daar alweer dat pop stom is? 

Didier BECU
09/11/2015


Music reviews

12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more
09
11
UK Gothic Rock Band HER DESPAIR Release Official Music Video for 'The Exorcism' - New EP, Exorcisms Of Eroticism due November 22nd
08
11
Bauhaus' David J announces 'Missive to an Angel from the Halls of Infamy and Allure' LP and Euro/UK tour!
07
11
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Jesus Built My Hotrod!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
05
11
THEN COMES SILENCE
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
05
11
MODELE MARTIAL
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
08
11
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Ritual
07
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Electric Dreams
06
11
SOCIETY 1
It's Yours Now