tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/11/2015 : ALEK DRIVE - Frontière

ALEK DRIVE

Frontière

MusicCD
ElectroElectronicsNew BeatTrance/Rave

[84/100]   

Unknown Pleasures Records
08/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Call it chauvinism, but if I see the name of Eric Van Wonterghem on a CD, then is almost feels like a guarantee for quality. The debut of the French musician Alek Drive was mastered in Eric's Prodam studio in Berlin and the result is simply amazing from the first to the last second: addictive, full of adrenaline... and it actually has everything to call it a top disc!

Alek is 25. Four years ago he began to experiment with all kinds of electronic instruments, and the young Frenchman realized pretty quickly that by composing music he could dislodge his inner demons. After releasing an EP, Alek travelled to Australia. According to the biography on his Facebook page, Alek took his laptop with him, composed some songs and sent them to Unknown Pleasures Records, and you can guess what the result was...

It's a nice story, and it could be true, because you hear that this man really lives in another dimension. An let us be thankful, as a daydreamer who experiences his fantasies through synthesized upbeat sounds is just irresistible, isn't he? Opener Cronos does what you expect from a first track: you get used to what is coming, just as if you touch something for the very first time. The track is followed by the wonderful dance indus Frontières.

Is it techno? IDM? Or electroclash? Perhaps a little bit of everything, but anyone who can write a track like Jesus Loves Electro, is both a tad crazy and ingenious, it reminds of Yello (not that it really sounds like Yello). Libération could not have a better title: this music frees your mind. This is the kind of music you want to dance to and forget everything!

On Lubeck and the sublime Amour Musique HIV + joins, and suddenly it sounds a little bit like DAF. A bit, because a track by Alek Drive is almost indescribable, as Catch or Rock To The Beat (no, it is not a cover of 101) flirts with new beat…not that it ever becomes new beat. No, this is Alek Drive!

Frontière is sublime dark techno (or something like that)! Let the machines come to you!

Didier BECU
08/11/2015


NL

Noem het chauvinisme, maar als ik de naam Eric Van Wonterghem op een cd zie verschijnen, dan is dat bijna altijd een garantie voor topkwaliteit. Het debuut van de Franse muzikant Alek Drive is in de Berlijnse Prodam-studio van Eric gemasterd en het resultaat is van de eerste tot laatste seconde verbluffend, verslavend, vol adrenaline…en je vindt er eigenlijk zowat alles in terug om van een topplaat te kunnen spreken!

Alek is 25, en vier jaar geleden begon hij met allerlei elektronische instrumenten te experimenteren, en de jonge Fransman besefte vrij vlug dat hij door het componeren van muziek zijn innerlijke demonen kon verjagen. Na het uitbrengen van een ep, trok Alek naar het verre Australië. Volgens de biografie op zijn Facebookpagina, nam Alek zijn laptop mee, componeerde wat nummers en stuurde die dan op naar Unknown Pleasures Records, met een vervolg dat je kan raden.

Het is een mooi verhaaltje en het zou best waar kunnen zijn, want op deze plaat kan je horen dat deze man zich echt wel in een andere dimensie bevindt. Een dagdromer die zijn fantasieën beleeft door middel van synthetische klanken. Opener Cronos doet wat je van een eerste track mag verwachten: het laat je wennen aan wat komen zal, net alsof je voor de eerste keer iets aanraakt. Het wordt meteen gevolgd door het heerlijke dance-indusnummer Frontières

Is het techno? IDM? Of electroclash? Wellicht een beetje van alles, maar wie een track als Jesus Loves Electro kan verzinnen is zowel een tikkeltje gek als geniaal. Het doet wat denken aan Yello (zonder dat het echt als Yello klinkt). Libération kon geen betere titel hebben: deze muziek bevrijdt je geest. Dit is het soort muziek waarop je urenlang wil dansen, en alles vergeten! 

Op Lubeck en het prachtige Amour Musique komt HIV+ wat meehelpen, en plotseling klinkt het een heel klein beetje als DAF. Een beetje, want een nummer van Alek Drive is bijna onbeschrijfbaar, zo flirt zowel Catch als Rock To The Beat (neen, het is geen cover van 101) met new beat.

Frontière is sublieme donkere techno! Laat de machines tot u komen! 

 

Didier BECU
08/11/2015


 

Next reviews
IAMX • Metanoia
CYNICAL EXISTENCE • Echoes
CHICK QUEST • Vs Galore
GARCONS COIFFEURS • The Early Years 2005-2010
MISE EN ABYME • Crimini d’Odio
TALVEKOIDIK • Spitzbergen
THE GLEANERS • Amateur Best
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
DESTRUCTION UNIT • Negative Feedback Resistor
DEADFILMSTAR • The Inevitable Rise & Fall Of Fake White &The Ill Fated Tour

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue

 

Same genre: NEW BEAT
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
ONMENS • Witruimte
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Inspiration
!BANG ELEKTRONIKA • Aktivierung!

 

Same genre: TRANCE/RAVE
CRISIS ACTOR • Superstar
GLENN LOVE • (R)age Electric (EP)
KONER • Die Babbie
JUNO REACTOR • The Golden Sun… Remixed
NON-HUMAN PERSONS • Original Fascination #2
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
FUNKER VOGT • Survivors Collector's Edition
ZONE TRIPPER • Horizon
XP8 • Nigredo EP
MOBTHROW • Unfolded

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless
20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten