tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/11/2015 : ALEK DRIVE - Frontière

ALEK DRIVE

Frontière

MusicCD
ElectroElectronicsNew BeatTrance/Rave

[84/100]   

Unknown Pleasures Records
08/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Call it chauvinism, but if I see the name of Eric Van Wonterghem on a CD, then is almost feels like a guarantee for quality. The debut of the French musician Alek Drive was mastered in Eric's Prodam studio in Berlin and the result is simply amazing from the first to the last second: addictive, full of adrenaline... and it actually has everything to call it a top disc!

Alek is 25. Four years ago he began to experiment with all kinds of electronic instruments, and the young Frenchman realized pretty quickly that by composing music he could dislodge his inner demons. After releasing an EP, Alek travelled to Australia. According to the biography on his Facebook page, Alek took his laptop with him, composed some songs and sent them to Unknown Pleasures Records, and you can guess what the result was...

It's a nice story, and it could be true, because you hear that this man really lives in another dimension. An let us be thankful, as a daydreamer who experiences his fantasies through synthesized upbeat sounds is just irresistible, isn't he? Opener Cronos does what you expect from a first track: you get used to what is coming, just as if you touch something for the very first time. The track is followed by the wonderful dance indus Frontières.

Is it techno? IDM? Or electroclash? Perhaps a little bit of everything, but anyone who can write a track like Jesus Loves Electro, is both a tad crazy and ingenious, it reminds of Yello (not that it really sounds like Yello). Libération could not have a better title: this music frees your mind. This is the kind of music you want to dance to and forget everything!

On Lubeck and the sublime Amour Musique HIV + joins, and suddenly it sounds a little bit like DAF. A bit, because a track by Alek Drive is almost indescribable, as Catch or Rock To The Beat (no, it is not a cover of 101) flirts with new beat…not that it ever becomes new beat. No, this is Alek Drive!

Frontière is sublime dark techno (or something like that)! Let the machines come to you!

Didier BECU
08/11/2015


NL

Noem het chauvinisme, maar als ik de naam Eric Van Wonterghem op een cd zie verschijnen, dan is dat bijna altijd een garantie voor topkwaliteit. Het debuut van de Franse muzikant Alek Drive is in de Berlijnse Prodam-studio van Eric gemasterd en het resultaat is van de eerste tot laatste seconde verbluffend, verslavend, vol adrenaline…en je vindt er eigenlijk zowat alles in terug om van een topplaat te kunnen spreken!

Alek is 25, en vier jaar geleden begon hij met allerlei elektronische instrumenten te experimenteren, en de jonge Fransman besefte vrij vlug dat hij door het componeren van muziek zijn innerlijke demonen kon verjagen. Na het uitbrengen van een ep, trok Alek naar het verre Australië. Volgens de biografie op zijn Facebookpagina, nam Alek zijn laptop mee, componeerde wat nummers en stuurde die dan op naar Unknown Pleasures Records, met een vervolg dat je kan raden.

Het is een mooi verhaaltje en het zou best waar kunnen zijn, want op deze plaat kan je horen dat deze man zich echt wel in een andere dimensie bevindt. Een dagdromer die zijn fantasieën beleeft door middel van synthetische klanken. Opener Cronos doet wat je van een eerste track mag verwachten: het laat je wennen aan wat komen zal, net alsof je voor de eerste keer iets aanraakt. Het wordt meteen gevolgd door het heerlijke dance-indusnummer Frontières

Is het techno? IDM? Of electroclash? Wellicht een beetje van alles, maar wie een track als Jesus Loves Electro kan verzinnen is zowel een tikkeltje gek als geniaal. Het doet wat denken aan Yello (zonder dat het echt als Yello klinkt). Libération kon geen betere titel hebben: deze muziek bevrijdt je geest. Dit is het soort muziek waarop je urenlang wil dansen, en alles vergeten! 

Op Lubeck en het prachtige Amour Musique komt HIV+ wat meehelpen, en plotseling klinkt het een heel klein beetje als DAF. Een beetje, want een nummer van Alek Drive is bijna onbeschrijfbaar, zo flirt zowel Catch als Rock To The Beat (neen, het is geen cover van 101) met new beat.

Frontière is sublieme donkere techno! Laat de machines tot u komen! 

 

Didier BECU
08/11/2015


 

Next reviews
IAMX • Metanoia
CYNICAL EXISTENCE • Echoes
CHICK QUEST • Vs Galore
GARCONS COIFFEURS • The Early Years 2005-2010
MISE EN ABYME • Crimini d’Odio
TALVEKOIDIK • Spitzbergen
THE GLEANERS • Amateur Best
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
DESTRUCTION UNIT • Negative Feedback Resistor
DEADFILMSTAR • The Inevitable Rise & Fall Of Fake White &The Ill Fated Tour

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum

 

Same genre: NEW BEAT
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
ONMENS • Witruimte
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Inspiration
!BANG ELEKTRONIKA • Aktivierung!

 

Same genre: TRANCE/RAVE
CRISIS ACTOR • Superstar
GLENN LOVE • (R)age Electric (EP)
KONER • Die Babbie
JUNO REACTOR • The Golden Sun… Remixed
NON-HUMAN PERSONS • Original Fascination #2
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
FUNKER VOGT • Survivors Collector's Edition
ZONE TRIPPER • Horizon
XP8 • Nigredo EP
MOBTHROW • Unfolded

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell