tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

09/11/2015 : IAMX - Brussels, AB (07/11/2015)

IAMX

Brussels, AB (07/11/2015)

Concert
09/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

IAMX, the band of Chris Corner, has a new album: Metanoia, that was presented at the AB in Brussels. Normally, performances by IAMX are very energetic. I was wondering if this would be the case now, as the new album is indeed a lot more introverted than the previous ones.

Four screens are scattered across the stage on which visuals are projected. This time there is no guitarist with them on tour, but next to Chris synths there are two keyboardists, a drum and sometimes a bass.

The concert immediately starts at full speed with the powerful I Come With Knives, followed by The Alternative and the very well-received new song Happiness, just like Mercy,coming from their debut album. Whoever, anyone who thought that after his illness Corner would be restrained or quiet on stage was wrong! He is energetic and fully showcases his vocal and entertaining talents.

From his latest album we hear No Maker Made Me and Oh Cruel Darkness Embrace Me among classics such as Volatile Times, Bernadette and Spit It Out. We notice that almost all the songs are reworked, as they all have an uniform sound so they fit better as a whole. There are some problems with his microphone stand, for which he apologized, but for the rest everything goes well.

Just when I get the feeling that gig is losing its power, Corner launches three bombes after Surrender: After Every Party I Die makes the public outrageous (a track that was already available on Bloodsport by Sneaker Pimps in Japan, and later on The Alternative), Aphrodiasiac, that sounds better live and a long, but dazzling version of Your Joy Is My Low. In addition, he asks a handful of fans to join him on stage to dance, it is a beautiful climax.

For the encores the band returns with Bring Me Back A Dog, Kiss + Swallow, that remains a public favorite and with I Am Terrified a brilliant concert is closed. You never notice the introverted character of his latest album on stage. On the contrary, IAMX provided a boost of energy that clearly was appreciated by the audience.

Take a look at Xavier's photoshoot.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/11/2015


NL

IAMX, de band rond Chris Corner, heeft een nieuw album uit: Metanoia, dat ze in de AB kwamen voorstellen. Tot nu toe waren optredens van IAMX altijd heel energiek. Ik was benieuwd of dit nu ook het geval zou zijn, het nieuwe album is immers heel wat introverter dan het vorige.

Een viertal schermen staan over het podium verspreid waarop visuals worden geprojecteerd. Deze keer is er geen gitarist mee op tournee, maar wel twee keyboardspelers naast de synths van Chris, een drum en soms een bas. 

Het concert begint meteen op volle snelheid met het sterke I Come With Knives, dat wordt gevolgd door The Alternative en de bijzonder goed onthaalde nieuwe song Happiness, net als Mercy dat uit hun debuutplaat komt. Wie dacht dat Corner na zijn ziekte eerder ingetogen of rustiger zou zijn op het podium, komt bedrogen uit. Hij is energiek en etaleert volop zijn vocale en entertainende talenten.

Uit zijn nieuwste album horen we No Maker Made Me en Oh Cruel Darkness Embrace Me tussen klassiekers zoals Volatile Times, Bernadette en Spit It Out. Wat opvalt is dat zowat alle songs herwerkt zijn, ze zijn uniform en zijn goed op elkaar afgestemd. Behalve wat problemen met zijn microfoonstandaard, waarvoor hij zijn excuses aanbiedt, verloopt alles goed.

Net als ik het gevoel krijg dat het optreden een beetje stil dreigt te vallen, laat hij na Surrender drie bommen op het publiek los: After Every Party I Die, dat het publiek uitzinnig maakt (een track die in Japan al op Bloodsport van Sneaker Pimps stond, en later ook op The Alternative), Aphrodiasiac, dat live beter tot zijn recht komt dan op plaat en een uitgerekte, maar schitterende versie van Your Joy Is My Low. Daarbij roept hij een handvol fans op het podium om mee te dansen, het wordt een mooie climax.

Voor de bisronde komt hij terug met Bring Me Back A Dog, Kiss+Swallow, dat duidelijk een publiekslieveling blijft en I Am Terrified, waarmee een schitterend concert wordt afgesloten. Het introverte karakter op zijn laatste album viel nauwelijks op. Alle nummers waren wat bewerkt en zorgden voor een energieboost die duidelijk door het publiek werd geapprecieerd. Onbegrijpelijk toch dat IAMX minder bekend is bij het Nederlandstalige publiek dan bij het Franstalige…

Neem ook een kijkje op de fotoreportage van Xavier.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/11/2015


Music reviews

27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
01
ASHRR’S Dark Industrialized New Single, “ALL YOURS ALL MINE (DARKER DAYS MIX)” Is Streaming Now
25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

28
01
BIG TIME KILL
Again and Again
28
01
DEPECHE MODE
Enjoy The Silence
27
01
GEOMETRIC VISION
Apocalypse Queen
26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic