tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

09/11/2015 : IAMX - Brussels, AB (07/11/2015)

IAMX

Brussels, AB (07/11/2015)

Concert
09/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

IAMX, the band of Chris Corner, has a new album: Metanoia, that was presented at the AB in Brussels. Normally, performances by IAMX are very energetic. I was wondering if this would be the case now, as the new album is indeed a lot more introverted than the previous ones.

Four screens are scattered across the stage on which visuals are projected. This time there is no guitarist with them on tour, but next to Chris synths there are two keyboardists, a drum and sometimes a bass.

The concert immediately starts at full speed with the powerful I Come With Knives, followed by The Alternative and the very well-received new song Happiness, just like Mercy,coming from their debut album. Whoever, anyone who thought that after his illness Corner would be restrained or quiet on stage was wrong! He is energetic and fully showcases his vocal and entertaining talents.

From his latest album we hear No Maker Made Me and Oh Cruel Darkness Embrace Me among classics such as Volatile Times, Bernadette and Spit It Out. We notice that almost all the songs are reworked, as they all have an uniform sound so they fit better as a whole. There are some problems with his microphone stand, for which he apologized, but for the rest everything goes well.

Just when I get the feeling that gig is losing its power, Corner launches three bombes after Surrender: After Every Party I Die makes the public outrageous (a track that was already available on Bloodsport by Sneaker Pimps in Japan, and later on The Alternative), Aphrodiasiac, that sounds better live and a long, but dazzling version of Your Joy Is My Low. In addition, he asks a handful of fans to join him on stage to dance, it is a beautiful climax.

For the encores the band returns with Bring Me Back A Dog, Kiss + Swallow, that remains a public favorite and with I Am Terrified a brilliant concert is closed. You never notice the introverted character of his latest album on stage. On the contrary, IAMX provided a boost of energy that clearly was appreciated by the audience.

Take a look at Xavier's photoshoot.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/11/2015


NL

IAMX, de band rond Chris Corner, heeft een nieuw album uit: Metanoia, dat ze in de AB kwamen voorstellen. Tot nu toe waren optredens van IAMX altijd heel energiek. Ik was benieuwd of dit nu ook het geval zou zijn, het nieuwe album is immers heel wat introverter dan het vorige.

Een viertal schermen staan over het podium verspreid waarop visuals worden geprojecteerd. Deze keer is er geen gitarist mee op tournee, maar wel twee keyboardspelers naast de synths van Chris, een drum en soms een bas. 

Het concert begint meteen op volle snelheid met het sterke I Come With Knives, dat wordt gevolgd door The Alternative en de bijzonder goed onthaalde nieuwe song Happiness, net als Mercy dat uit hun debuutplaat komt. Wie dacht dat Corner na zijn ziekte eerder ingetogen of rustiger zou zijn op het podium, komt bedrogen uit. Hij is energiek en etaleert volop zijn vocale en entertainende talenten.

Uit zijn nieuwste album horen we No Maker Made Me en Oh Cruel Darkness Embrace Me tussen klassiekers zoals Volatile Times, Bernadette en Spit It Out. Wat opvalt is dat zowat alle songs herwerkt zijn, ze zijn uniform en zijn goed op elkaar afgestemd. Behalve wat problemen met zijn microfoonstandaard, waarvoor hij zijn excuses aanbiedt, verloopt alles goed.

Net als ik het gevoel krijg dat het optreden een beetje stil dreigt te vallen, laat hij na Surrender drie bommen op het publiek los: After Every Party I Die, dat het publiek uitzinnig maakt (een track die in Japan al op Bloodsport van Sneaker Pimps stond, en later ook op The Alternative), Aphrodiasiac, dat live beter tot zijn recht komt dan op plaat en een uitgerekte, maar schitterende versie van Your Joy Is My Low. Daarbij roept hij een handvol fans op het podium om mee te dansen, het wordt een mooie climax.

Voor de bisronde komt hij terug met Bring Me Back A Dog, Kiss+Swallow, dat duidelijk een publiekslieveling blijft en I Am Terrified, waarmee een schitterend concert wordt afgesloten. Het introverte karakter op zijn laatste album viel nauwelijks op. Alle nummers waren wat bewerkt en zorgden voor een energieboost die duidelijk door het publiek werd geapprecieerd. Onbegrijpelijk toch dat IAMX minder bekend is bij het Nederlandstalige publiek dan bij het Franstalige…

Neem ook een kijkje op de fotoreportage van Xavier.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/11/2015


Music reviews

10
05
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Fear And Cufre
09
05
NEL & JP
Desinterersse
07
05
DARKEST NIGHT 2024
30
04
ATTRITION
The Black Maria
26
04
HYBRYDS
Mythopia, the sequel
25
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Elysium

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
05
TRAGIC VISIONS Confronts Mental Health Struggles With First New Album In 15 Years
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
50 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
38 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
43 years Spellbound!
19
05
46 of The Man-Machine!

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
05
AUSGANG
“This crushing, slamming, heavy strife …” It is 1982. In and around Birmingham a band arises from the ashes of various Post-Punk acts.
11
05
XTR HUMAN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist, XTR Human
09
05
THE RED MOON MACABRE
Resurrected after 32 years in 2021, now very active again. Interview with Renzo Tellez, founder of the classic Goth Rock band ‘The Red Moon Macabre’.
06
05
NOW AFTER NOTHING
An Interview With Darkwave Band, NOW AFTER NOTHING
10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION

PHOTOS

26
05
DER W STEFAN WEIDNER
Christuskirche Bochum
20
05
MONO INC
Christuskirche Bochum
14
05
CHRISTIAN DEATH
Rockpalast Bochum Matrix
16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
05
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
27
05
MIDAS FALL
Glue
26
05
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
25
05
ANIMAUX ANIME
Power
24
05
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth
23
05
SRSQ
Permission
22
05
SKEPTICAL MINDS
Emptiness