tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/11/2015 : IAMX - Metanoia

IAMX

Metanoia

MusicCD
Dark ElectroElectro Pop

[88/100]   

SONY MUSIC
08/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Since the debut album Kiss + Swallow, IAMX's music has grown. The debut featured dark straightforward electropop,and gradually, by every release all kinds of complex textures and nuances are added to his music. The last two albums Volatile Times and Unified Fields were both gems that offered much listening pleasure.

Chris Corner, the man behind IAMX, has gone through a tough period before he recorded his sixth album. And you can hear that a little bit in the songs. It seems as if he wants to battle his inner demons with music. Metanoia is not a happy, but it has become a very interesting and varied album.

This album is like the latest releases, in the sense that the songs contain several layers. Sometimes they sound a bit simple and minimalist which is rather due to the synth sounds he uses in his songs. Listen for example to Happiness and North Star.

The vocals do sound less poppy and more introverted than on the previous albums, Insommnia floats on a piano tune in which the singing is hidden between the instruments. Looking Outside is also a rather introverted, dark and slow track in which the vocals play a minor role.

The album contains some rousing songs, such as Oh Cruel Darkness Embrace Me, Aphrodisiac and No Maker Made Me. These tracks come the closest to what you would call a dance track, but you won’t find dance anthems like You Stick It In Me and My Secret Friend here.

This album needs a few listens. It's more introverted and less direct than for example The Alternative and Kingdom Of Welcome Addicition, but with every listen you’ll discover new things. It is a CD that puts Chris Corner back on the musical map. As he says himself: "Here you won’t hear stadium music, it’s a CD that allows me to do many things on stage”.

Metanoia is different from his previous work, and yet it sounds very IAMX. Chris Corner has to dig deep into his soul and you hear that. A strong album that you best listen to with an open mind.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/11/2015


NL

Sinds het debuutalbum Kiss + Swallow, is de muziek van IAMX gegroeid. Het debuut bevatte donkere recht toe recht aan electropop en gaandeweg de releases zijn er allerlei complexe structuren en nuanceringen aan de muziek toegevoegd. Zo waren de laatste twee albums Volatile Times en Unified Fields allebei pareltjes die veel luisterplezier boden.

Chris Corner, de man achter IAMX, had een zware periode achter de rug vooraleer aan zijn zesde album begon. En dat hoor je een beetje in de songs. Het lijkt alsof hij via zijn muziek met zijn demonen wil afrekenen. Metanoia is dus geen vrolijk, maar wel een heel boeiend en gevarieerd album geworden.

Hij trekt de lijn van de laatste releases door en maakt songs die bestaan uit verschillende lagen. Toch klinken ze soms simpel en minimalistisch. Dat is veeleer te wijten aan de synthgeluiden die hij in zijn songs gebruikt. Luister bijv. maar eens naar Happiness en North Star.

De zang klinkt wel minder poppy en meer introvert dan op de vorige platen, zo drijft Insommnia op een pianoriedel waarin de zang eerder opgaat tussen de instrumenten. Ook Looking Outside is een eerder introverte, donkere en trage track waarin de zang allerminst de hoofdrol opeist.

Het album bevat toch nog wat opzwepende nummers zoals Oh Cruel Darkness Embrace Me, Aphrodisiac en No Maker Made Me. Die komen nog het dichtst in de buurt van wat je een danstrack zou noemen, maar echte dansstampers zoals You Stick It In Me of My Secret Friend zal je hier niet vinden.

Dit album moet je een paar luisterbeurten gunnen. Het is iets introverter en minder direct dan bijv. The Alternative en Kingdom of Welcome Addicition, maar bij elke luisterbeurt ontdek je nieuwe dingen. Een groeiplaat waarmee Chris Corner zichzelf opnieuw op de kaart zet. Zoals hijzelf zegt: “hier hoor je geen stadionmuziek, maar een plaat waarmee ik live veel kanten op kan”.

Metanoia is anders dan zijn voorgaande werk en toch klinkt het erg IAMX. Chris Corner heeft diep moeten graven in zijn ziel en dat hoor je. Een sterk album dat je beter met een open vizier beluistert.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/11/2015


 

Next reviews
CYNICAL EXISTENCE • Echoes
CHICK QUEST • Vs Galore
GARCONS COIFFEURS • The Early Years 2005-2010
MISE EN ABYME • Crimini d’Odio
TALVEKOIDIK • Spitzbergen
THE GLEANERS • Amateur Best
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
DESTRUCTION UNIT • Negative Feedback Resistor
DEADFILMSTAR • The Inevitable Rise & Fall Of Fake White &The Ill Fated Tour
NOTHING ALWAYS WORKS • In It

 

Other reviews from IAMX
IAMX • North Star
IAMX • Brussels, AB (07/11/2015)
IAMX • The Unified Field

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + ELECTRO POP
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
ALLES • Post
ATTRITION • One Horse Rider : Reprise
TECHNOMANCER • D-MN
FLARES • Dimensions divide us
SURGYN • Envy
ZONE TRIPPER • Horizon
VAINERZ • Love Run ep
VANGUARD • Retribution
SOL 19 , TRUE ZEBRA , HYBRYDS • Antwerpen, JH Wommel (1/02/2014)

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
SAMHAIN • Experiment
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger