tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/11/2015 : IAMX - Metanoia

IAMX

Metanoia

MusicCD
Dark ElectroElectro Pop

[88/100]   

SONY MUSIC
08/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Since the debut album Kiss + Swallow, IAMX's music has grown. The debut featured dark straightforward electropop,and gradually, by every release all kinds of complex textures and nuances are added to his music. The last two albums Volatile Times and Unified Fields were both gems that offered much listening pleasure.

Chris Corner, the man behind IAMX, has gone through a tough period before he recorded his sixth album. And you can hear that a little bit in the songs. It seems as if he wants to battle his inner demons with music. Metanoia is not a happy, but it has become a very interesting and varied album.

This album is like the latest releases, in the sense that the songs contain several layers. Sometimes they sound a bit simple and minimalist which is rather due to the synth sounds he uses in his songs. Listen for example to Happiness and North Star.

The vocals do sound less poppy and more introverted than on the previous albums, Insommnia floats on a piano tune in which the singing is hidden between the instruments. Looking Outside is also a rather introverted, dark and slow track in which the vocals play a minor role.

The album contains some rousing songs, such as Oh Cruel Darkness Embrace Me, Aphrodisiac and No Maker Made Me. These tracks come the closest to what you would call a dance track, but you won’t find dance anthems like You Stick It In Me and My Secret Friend here.

This album needs a few listens. It's more introverted and less direct than for example The Alternative and Kingdom Of Welcome Addicition, but with every listen you’ll discover new things. It is a CD that puts Chris Corner back on the musical map. As he says himself: "Here you won’t hear stadium music, it’s a CD that allows me to do many things on stage”.

Metanoia is different from his previous work, and yet it sounds very IAMX. Chris Corner has to dig deep into his soul and you hear that. A strong album that you best listen to with an open mind.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/11/2015


NL

Sinds het debuutalbum Kiss + Swallow, is de muziek van IAMX gegroeid. Het debuut bevatte donkere recht toe recht aan electropop en gaandeweg de releases zijn er allerlei complexe structuren en nuanceringen aan de muziek toegevoegd. Zo waren de laatste twee albums Volatile Times en Unified Fields allebei pareltjes die veel luisterplezier boden.

Chris Corner, de man achter IAMX, had een zware periode achter de rug vooraleer aan zijn zesde album begon. En dat hoor je een beetje in de songs. Het lijkt alsof hij via zijn muziek met zijn demonen wil afrekenen. Metanoia is dus geen vrolijk, maar wel een heel boeiend en gevarieerd album geworden.

Hij trekt de lijn van de laatste releases door en maakt songs die bestaan uit verschillende lagen. Toch klinken ze soms simpel en minimalistisch. Dat is veeleer te wijten aan de synthgeluiden die hij in zijn songs gebruikt. Luister bijv. maar eens naar Happiness en North Star.

De zang klinkt wel minder poppy en meer introvert dan op de vorige platen, zo drijft Insommnia op een pianoriedel waarin de zang eerder opgaat tussen de instrumenten. Ook Looking Outside is een eerder introverte, donkere en trage track waarin de zang allerminst de hoofdrol opeist.

Het album bevat toch nog wat opzwepende nummers zoals Oh Cruel Darkness Embrace Me, Aphrodisiac en No Maker Made Me. Die komen nog het dichtst in de buurt van wat je een danstrack zou noemen, maar echte dansstampers zoals You Stick It In Me of My Secret Friend zal je hier niet vinden.

Dit album moet je een paar luisterbeurten gunnen. Het is iets introverter en minder direct dan bijv. The Alternative en Kingdom of Welcome Addicition, maar bij elke luisterbeurt ontdek je nieuwe dingen. Een groeiplaat waarmee Chris Corner zichzelf opnieuw op de kaart zet. Zoals hijzelf zegt: “hier hoor je geen stadionmuziek, maar een plaat waarmee ik live veel kanten op kan”.

Metanoia is anders dan zijn voorgaande werk en toch klinkt het erg IAMX. Chris Corner heeft diep moeten graven in zijn ziel en dat hoor je. Een sterk album dat je beter met een open vizier beluistert.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/11/2015


 

Next reviews
CYNICAL EXISTENCE • Echoes
CHICK QUEST • Vs Galore
GARCONS COIFFEURS • The Early Years 2005-2010
MISE EN ABYME • Crimini d’Odio
TALVEKOIDIK • Spitzbergen
THE GLEANERS • Amateur Best
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
DESTRUCTION UNIT • Negative Feedback Resistor
DEADFILMSTAR • The Inevitable Rise & Fall Of Fake White &The Ill Fated Tour
NOTHING ALWAYS WORKS • In It

 

Other reviews from IAMX
IAMX • North Star
IAMX • Brussels, AB (07/11/2015)
IAMX • The Unified Field

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + ELECTRO POP
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
ALLES • Post
ATTRITION • One Horse Rider : Reprise
TECHNOMANCER • D-MN
FLARES • Dimensions divide us
SURGYN • Envy
ZONE TRIPPER • Horizon
VAINERZ • Love Run ep
VANGUARD • Retribution
SOL 19 , TRUE ZEBRA , HYBRYDS • Antwerpen, JH Wommel (1/02/2014)

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
ERASURE • THE NEON

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)