tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/11/2015 : IAMX - Metanoia

IAMX

Metanoia

MusicCD
Dark ElectroElectro Pop

[88/100]   

SONY MUSIC
08/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Since the debut album Kiss + Swallow, IAMX's music has grown. The debut featured dark straightforward electropop,and gradually, by every release all kinds of complex textures and nuances are added to his music. The last two albums Volatile Times and Unified Fields were both gems that offered much listening pleasure.

Chris Corner, the man behind IAMX, has gone through a tough period before he recorded his sixth album. And you can hear that a little bit in the songs. It seems as if he wants to battle his inner demons with music. Metanoia is not a happy, but it has become a very interesting and varied album.

This album is like the latest releases, in the sense that the songs contain several layers. Sometimes they sound a bit simple and minimalist which is rather due to the synth sounds he uses in his songs. Listen for example to Happiness and North Star.

The vocals do sound less poppy and more introverted than on the previous albums, Insommnia floats on a piano tune in which the singing is hidden between the instruments. Looking Outside is also a rather introverted, dark and slow track in which the vocals play a minor role.

The album contains some rousing songs, such as Oh Cruel Darkness Embrace Me, Aphrodisiac and No Maker Made Me. These tracks come the closest to what you would call a dance track, but you won’t find dance anthems like You Stick It In Me and My Secret Friend here.

This album needs a few listens. It's more introverted and less direct than for example The Alternative and Kingdom Of Welcome Addicition, but with every listen you’ll discover new things. It is a CD that puts Chris Corner back on the musical map. As he says himself: "Here you won’t hear stadium music, it’s a CD that allows me to do many things on stage”.

Metanoia is different from his previous work, and yet it sounds very IAMX. Chris Corner has to dig deep into his soul and you hear that. A strong album that you best listen to with an open mind.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/11/2015


NL

Sinds het debuutalbum Kiss + Swallow, is de muziek van IAMX gegroeid. Het debuut bevatte donkere recht toe recht aan electropop en gaandeweg de releases zijn er allerlei complexe structuren en nuanceringen aan de muziek toegevoegd. Zo waren de laatste twee albums Volatile Times en Unified Fields allebei pareltjes die veel luisterplezier boden.

Chris Corner, de man achter IAMX, had een zware periode achter de rug vooraleer aan zijn zesde album begon. En dat hoor je een beetje in de songs. Het lijkt alsof hij via zijn muziek met zijn demonen wil afrekenen. Metanoia is dus geen vrolijk, maar wel een heel boeiend en gevarieerd album geworden.

Hij trekt de lijn van de laatste releases door en maakt songs die bestaan uit verschillende lagen. Toch klinken ze soms simpel en minimalistisch. Dat is veeleer te wijten aan de synthgeluiden die hij in zijn songs gebruikt. Luister bijv. maar eens naar Happiness en North Star.

De zang klinkt wel minder poppy en meer introvert dan op de vorige platen, zo drijft Insommnia op een pianoriedel waarin de zang eerder opgaat tussen de instrumenten. Ook Looking Outside is een eerder introverte, donkere en trage track waarin de zang allerminst de hoofdrol opeist.

Het album bevat toch nog wat opzwepende nummers zoals Oh Cruel Darkness Embrace Me, Aphrodisiac en No Maker Made Me. Die komen nog het dichtst in de buurt van wat je een danstrack zou noemen, maar echte dansstampers zoals You Stick It In Me of My Secret Friend zal je hier niet vinden.

Dit album moet je een paar luisterbeurten gunnen. Het is iets introverter en minder direct dan bijv. The Alternative en Kingdom of Welcome Addicition, maar bij elke luisterbeurt ontdek je nieuwe dingen. Een groeiplaat waarmee Chris Corner zichzelf opnieuw op de kaart zet. Zoals hijzelf zegt: “hier hoor je geen stadionmuziek, maar een plaat waarmee ik live veel kanten op kan”.

Metanoia is anders dan zijn voorgaande werk en toch klinkt het erg IAMX. Chris Corner heeft diep moeten graven in zijn ziel en dat hoor je. Een sterk album dat je beter met een open vizier beluistert.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/11/2015


 

Next reviews
CYNICAL EXISTENCE • Echoes
CHICK QUEST • Vs Galore
GARCONS COIFFEURS • The Early Years 2005-2010
MISE EN ABYME • Crimini d’Odio
TALVEKOIDIK • Spitzbergen
THE GLEANERS • Amateur Best
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
DESTRUCTION UNIT • Negative Feedback Resistor
DEADFILMSTAR • The Inevitable Rise & Fall Of Fake White &The Ill Fated Tour
NOTHING ALWAYS WORKS • In It

 

Other reviews from IAMX
IAMX • North Star
IAMX • Brussels, AB (07/11/2015)
IAMX • The Unified Field

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + ELECTRO POP
ALLES • Post
ATTRITION • One Horse Rider : Reprise
TECHNOMANCER • D-MN
FLARES • Dimensions divide us
SURGYN • Envy
ZONE TRIPPER • Horizon
VAINERZ • Love Run ep
VANGUARD • Retribution
SOL 19 , TRUE ZEBRA , HYBRYDS • Antwerpen, JH Wommel (1/02/2014)
FADERHEAD • Atoms & Emptiness

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
ENZO KREFT • Control
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
MIREXXX • Vault

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better

Music reviews

19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 32 years ago!
21
11
Isn't Anything (album) by My Bloody Valentine turns 32 today!
18
11
Disorientations! New band, new single, new video!
14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

21
11
NITZER EBB
De Casino St Niklaas
21
11
LIEBKNECHT
De Casino St Niklaas
21
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
De Casino St Niklaas
17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
11
EDITORS
All The Kings
21
11
FILTER
Hey Man, Nice Shot
20
11
COLD CAVE
Villains Of The Moon
19
11
HYPERMOND.
Double
19
11
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON:
Caught In Winters Weave
19
11
NITZER EBB
Llive at Kulttempel in Oberhausen, Germany - 15.11.2019
18
11
OAKTREE
La Fin