tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/11/2015 : IAMX - Metanoia

IAMX

Metanoia

MusicCD
Dark ElectroElectro Pop

[88/100]   

SONY MUSIC
08/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Since the debut album Kiss + Swallow, IAMX's music has grown. The debut featured dark straightforward electropop,and gradually, by every release all kinds of complex textures and nuances are added to his music. The last two albums Volatile Times and Unified Fields were both gems that offered much listening pleasure.

Chris Corner, the man behind IAMX, has gone through a tough period before he recorded his sixth album. And you can hear that a little bit in the songs. It seems as if he wants to battle his inner demons with music. Metanoia is not a happy, but it has become a very interesting and varied album.

This album is like the latest releases, in the sense that the songs contain several layers. Sometimes they sound a bit simple and minimalist which is rather due to the synth sounds he uses in his songs. Listen for example to Happiness and North Star.

The vocals do sound less poppy and more introverted than on the previous albums, Insommnia floats on a piano tune in which the singing is hidden between the instruments. Looking Outside is also a rather introverted, dark and slow track in which the vocals play a minor role.

The album contains some rousing songs, such as Oh Cruel Darkness Embrace Me, Aphrodisiac and No Maker Made Me. These tracks come the closest to what you would call a dance track, but you won’t find dance anthems like You Stick It In Me and My Secret Friend here.

This album needs a few listens. It's more introverted and less direct than for example The Alternative and Kingdom Of Welcome Addicition, but with every listen you’ll discover new things. It is a CD that puts Chris Corner back on the musical map. As he says himself: "Here you won’t hear stadium music, it’s a CD that allows me to do many things on stage”.

Metanoia is different from his previous work, and yet it sounds very IAMX. Chris Corner has to dig deep into his soul and you hear that. A strong album that you best listen to with an open mind.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/11/2015


NL

Sinds het debuutalbum Kiss + Swallow, is de muziek van IAMX gegroeid. Het debuut bevatte donkere recht toe recht aan electropop en gaandeweg de releases zijn er allerlei complexe structuren en nuanceringen aan de muziek toegevoegd. Zo waren de laatste twee albums Volatile Times en Unified Fields allebei pareltjes die veel luisterplezier boden.

Chris Corner, de man achter IAMX, had een zware periode achter de rug vooraleer aan zijn zesde album begon. En dat hoor je een beetje in de songs. Het lijkt alsof hij via zijn muziek met zijn demonen wil afrekenen. Metanoia is dus geen vrolijk, maar wel een heel boeiend en gevarieerd album geworden.

Hij trekt de lijn van de laatste releases door en maakt songs die bestaan uit verschillende lagen. Toch klinken ze soms simpel en minimalistisch. Dat is veeleer te wijten aan de synthgeluiden die hij in zijn songs gebruikt. Luister bijv. maar eens naar Happiness en North Star.

De zang klinkt wel minder poppy en meer introvert dan op de vorige platen, zo drijft Insommnia op een pianoriedel waarin de zang eerder opgaat tussen de instrumenten. Ook Looking Outside is een eerder introverte, donkere en trage track waarin de zang allerminst de hoofdrol opeist.

Het album bevat toch nog wat opzwepende nummers zoals Oh Cruel Darkness Embrace Me, Aphrodisiac en No Maker Made Me. Die komen nog het dichtst in de buurt van wat je een danstrack zou noemen, maar echte dansstampers zoals You Stick It In Me of My Secret Friend zal je hier niet vinden.

Dit album moet je een paar luisterbeurten gunnen. Het is iets introverter en minder direct dan bijv. The Alternative en Kingdom of Welcome Addicition, maar bij elke luisterbeurt ontdek je nieuwe dingen. Een groeiplaat waarmee Chris Corner zichzelf opnieuw op de kaart zet. Zoals hijzelf zegt: “hier hoor je geen stadionmuziek, maar een plaat waarmee ik live veel kanten op kan”.

Metanoia is anders dan zijn voorgaande werk en toch klinkt het erg IAMX. Chris Corner heeft diep moeten graven in zijn ziel en dat hoor je. Een sterk album dat je beter met een open vizier beluistert.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/11/2015


 

Next reviews
CYNICAL EXISTENCE • Echoes
CHICK QUEST • Vs Galore
GARCONS COIFFEURS • The Early Years 2005-2010
MISE EN ABYME • Crimini d’Odio
TALVEKOIDIK • Spitzbergen
THE GLEANERS • Amateur Best
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
DESTRUCTION UNIT • Negative Feedback Resistor
DEADFILMSTAR • The Inevitable Rise & Fall Of Fake White &The Ill Fated Tour
NOTHING ALWAYS WORKS • In It

 

Other reviews from IAMX
IAMX • North Star
IAMX • Brussels, AB (07/11/2015)
IAMX • The Unified Field

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + ELECTRO POP
ALLES • Post
ATTRITION • One Horse Rider : Reprise
TECHNOMANCER • D-MN
FLARES • Dimensions divide us
SURGYN • Envy
ZONE TRIPPER • Horizon
VAINERZ • Love Run ep
VANGUARD • Retribution
SOL 19 , TRUE ZEBRA , HYBRYDS • Antwerpen, JH Wommel (1/02/2014)
FADERHEAD • Atoms & Emptiness

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
FEU FOLLET • Le champ des morts
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
ENZO KREFT • Control
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination