tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/11/2015 : IAMX - Metanoia

IAMX

Metanoia

MusicCD
Dark ElectroElectro Pop

[88/100]   

SONY MUSIC
08/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Since the debut album Kiss + Swallow, IAMX's music has grown. The debut featured dark straightforward electropop,and gradually, by every release all kinds of complex textures and nuances are added to his music. The last two albums Volatile Times and Unified Fields were both gems that offered much listening pleasure.

Chris Corner, the man behind IAMX, has gone through a tough period before he recorded his sixth album. And you can hear that a little bit in the songs. It seems as if he wants to battle his inner demons with music. Metanoia is not a happy, but it has become a very interesting and varied album.

This album is like the latest releases, in the sense that the songs contain several layers. Sometimes they sound a bit simple and minimalist which is rather due to the synth sounds he uses in his songs. Listen for example to Happiness and North Star.

The vocals do sound less poppy and more introverted than on the previous albums, Insommnia floats on a piano tune in which the singing is hidden between the instruments. Looking Outside is also a rather introverted, dark and slow track in which the vocals play a minor role.

The album contains some rousing songs, such as Oh Cruel Darkness Embrace Me, Aphrodisiac and No Maker Made Me. These tracks come the closest to what you would call a dance track, but you won’t find dance anthems like You Stick It In Me and My Secret Friend here.

This album needs a few listens. It's more introverted and less direct than for example The Alternative and Kingdom Of Welcome Addicition, but with every listen you’ll discover new things. It is a CD that puts Chris Corner back on the musical map. As he says himself: "Here you won’t hear stadium music, it’s a CD that allows me to do many things on stage”.

Metanoia is different from his previous work, and yet it sounds very IAMX. Chris Corner has to dig deep into his soul and you hear that. A strong album that you best listen to with an open mind.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/11/2015


NL

Sinds het debuutalbum Kiss + Swallow, is de muziek van IAMX gegroeid. Het debuut bevatte donkere recht toe recht aan electropop en gaandeweg de releases zijn er allerlei complexe structuren en nuanceringen aan de muziek toegevoegd. Zo waren de laatste twee albums Volatile Times en Unified Fields allebei pareltjes die veel luisterplezier boden.

Chris Corner, de man achter IAMX, had een zware periode achter de rug vooraleer aan zijn zesde album begon. En dat hoor je een beetje in de songs. Het lijkt alsof hij via zijn muziek met zijn demonen wil afrekenen. Metanoia is dus geen vrolijk, maar wel een heel boeiend en gevarieerd album geworden.

Hij trekt de lijn van de laatste releases door en maakt songs die bestaan uit verschillende lagen. Toch klinken ze soms simpel en minimalistisch. Dat is veeleer te wijten aan de synthgeluiden die hij in zijn songs gebruikt. Luister bijv. maar eens naar Happiness en North Star.

De zang klinkt wel minder poppy en meer introvert dan op de vorige platen, zo drijft Insommnia op een pianoriedel waarin de zang eerder opgaat tussen de instrumenten. Ook Looking Outside is een eerder introverte, donkere en trage track waarin de zang allerminst de hoofdrol opeist.

Het album bevat toch nog wat opzwepende nummers zoals Oh Cruel Darkness Embrace Me, Aphrodisiac en No Maker Made Me. Die komen nog het dichtst in de buurt van wat je een danstrack zou noemen, maar echte dansstampers zoals You Stick It In Me of My Secret Friend zal je hier niet vinden.

Dit album moet je een paar luisterbeurten gunnen. Het is iets introverter en minder direct dan bijv. The Alternative en Kingdom of Welcome Addicition, maar bij elke luisterbeurt ontdek je nieuwe dingen. Een groeiplaat waarmee Chris Corner zichzelf opnieuw op de kaart zet. Zoals hijzelf zegt: “hier hoor je geen stadionmuziek, maar een plaat waarmee ik live veel kanten op kan”.

Metanoia is anders dan zijn voorgaande werk en toch klinkt het erg IAMX. Chris Corner heeft diep moeten graven in zijn ziel en dat hoor je. Een sterk album dat je beter met een open vizier beluistert.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/11/2015


 

Next reviews
CYNICAL EXISTENCE • Echoes
CHICK QUEST • Vs Galore
GARCONS COIFFEURS • The Early Years 2005-2010
MISE EN ABYME • Crimini d’Odio
TALVEKOIDIK • Spitzbergen
THE GLEANERS • Amateur Best
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
DESTRUCTION UNIT • Negative Feedback Resistor
DEADFILMSTAR • The Inevitable Rise & Fall Of Fake White &The Ill Fated Tour
NOTHING ALWAYS WORKS • In It

 

Other reviews from IAMX
IAMX • North Star
IAMX • Brussels, AB (07/11/2015)
IAMX • The Unified Field

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + ELECTRO POP
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
ALLES • Post
ATTRITION • One Horse Rider : Reprise
TECHNOMANCER • D-MN
FLARES • Dimensions divide us
SURGYN • Envy
ZONE TRIPPER • Horizon
VAINERZ • Love Run ep
VANGUARD • Retribution
SOL 19 , TRUE ZEBRA , HYBRYDS • Antwerpen, JH Wommel (1/02/2014)

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7 • EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
MISERIA ULTIMA • Witch Heart Apparition
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
SAMHAIN • Experiment
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall

Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
Today it's exactly 42 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
41 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 41 years ago!
26
11
40 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
31 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 39 Years Old Today

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace

PHOTOS

25
11
QNTAL
Christuskirche Bochum
24
11
THE CURE
Sportpaleis Antwerpen
18
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Porta Nigra Autumn Passage
18
11
HEILUNG
Ruhrcongress Bochum
18
11
EIVOR
Ruhrcongress Bochum
18
11
LILI REFRAIN
Ruhrcongress Bochum
15
11
VERSENGOLD
Ruhrcongress Bochum

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
11
WHISPERING SONS
The most beautiful Rock Rally-moment ever....
26
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Sense
25
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
11
DARK POEM
Too Dark To See
23
11
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
(Let's Get) Physical
22
11
DOUBLE ECHO
Ancient Youth
21
11
NABTA
Drop The Mask