tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

24/06/2014 : SURGYN - Envy

SURGYN

Envy

MusicCD
Dark ElectroElectro PopFuture PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[90/100]   

DWA
24/06/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

I missed their US tour, but it's clear that the guys (Veil & Sovereign, sorry: almost used your real names here) are selling themselves better and better! They have grown since I saw them for the first time on stage and how! Their sound is great and the lyrics too! It's clear that they offer what I miss in so many other bands: great music with content! Indeed: you are a product sell yourself (and that was also the title of my interview with the guys)! So far the intro!

'Limousine' was already a single and people who missed it get a chance to grab it! I for sure love the combination of both voices. Despite the fact it has been done before: the harsh and the clean voice sound pretty unique. 'Green Heart' is driven by a nice clean voice that can sing and shows it off! I love the pathos mixed with the electronic tunes! It's a dance floor filler!
Stiletto' is a typical Surgyn track, well driven into club land and with 2 great voices and their typical lyrics! Love it! I already reviewed the 'Feed me Fame' track and loved it (see link underneath). Today I still do! 'Martyr' is a drum'n bass wordless piece, one I tend to skip (and the only one as even the intro is worth it). 'Kind of Crowns' has a nice melancholic voice and a great monstrous screamer in it! I love the drum'n bass and all the electronics. The pathos in this track is just great! More dubstep & drum'n bass on 'Needles'! 'Insidious' is a real clubber! Love this bomber! Harsh voice and great beats! Start to dance! 'Hollywood Death Scene' is a slow one with a harsh voice and a melancholic voice. I like the synths, as they produce a certain Holly sound (sounds like a party in a church during a ceremonial). 'Melancholia' is a false slow electronic track with soft voices. It has somehow a retro 80's melancholic sound.

It was worth waiting for! It feels like a great continuation of a great saga! I hope they get the attention needed to become bigger and play more at great venues! It's also great to see them on a provocative ground! Russia won't be pleased with this one. I must admit it's another approach as Gaytron, but I support both bands and do whatever I can to promote them!

Both thumbs up, folks!

interview

review Feed me Fame

live review Vampyre Party 2013

Filip VAN MUYLEM
24/06/2014


 

Next reviews
LEGACY FESTIVAL • Mol (21/06/2014)
QLAY • The Swan the Horse and the Black Matter
SHIREEN • Unmarked EP
PHILIPPE MORA • The Beast Within
HATCHLING • Other EP
PIETER NOOTEN • CLASSICS: Sleeps with the fishes
SCOTT COOPER • Out of the furnace
YOUNG KNIVES • Sick Octave
STUART ROSENBERG • The Pope Of Greenwich Village
IVY & GOLD • Eye of the Storm EP

 

Other reviews from SURGYN
SURGYN • Feed Me Fame

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
ENZO KREFT • Control
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
MIREXXX • Vault
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
PARRALOX • Subculture

Music reviews

23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
08
SLEEPING PULSE
War
23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo