tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

24/06/2014 : SURGYN - Envy

SURGYN

Envy

MusicCD
Dark ElectroElectro PopFuture PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[90/100]   

DWA
24/06/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

I missed their US tour, but it's clear that the guys (Veil & Sovereign, sorry: almost used your real names here) are selling themselves better and better! They have grown since I saw them for the first time on stage and how! Their sound is great and the lyrics too! It's clear that they offer what I miss in so many other bands: great music with content! Indeed: you are a product sell yourself (and that was also the title of my interview with the guys)! So far the intro!

'Limousine' was already a single and people who missed it get a chance to grab it! I for sure love the combination of both voices. Despite the fact it has been done before: the harsh and the clean voice sound pretty unique. 'Green Heart' is driven by a nice clean voice that can sing and shows it off! I love the pathos mixed with the electronic tunes! It's a dance floor filler!
Stiletto' is a typical Surgyn track, well driven into club land and with 2 great voices and their typical lyrics! Love it! I already reviewed the 'Feed me Fame' track and loved it (see link underneath). Today I still do! 'Martyr' is a drum'n bass wordless piece, one I tend to skip (and the only one as even the intro is worth it). 'Kind of Crowns' has a nice melancholic voice and a great monstrous screamer in it! I love the drum'n bass and all the electronics. The pathos in this track is just great! More dubstep & drum'n bass on 'Needles'! 'Insidious' is a real clubber! Love this bomber! Harsh voice and great beats! Start to dance! 'Hollywood Death Scene' is a slow one with a harsh voice and a melancholic voice. I like the synths, as they produce a certain Holly sound (sounds like a party in a church during a ceremonial). 'Melancholia' is a false slow electronic track with soft voices. It has somehow a retro 80's melancholic sound.

It was worth waiting for! It feels like a great continuation of a great saga! I hope they get the attention needed to become bigger and play more at great venues! It's also great to see them on a provocative ground! Russia won't be pleased with this one. I must admit it's another approach as Gaytron, but I support both bands and do whatever I can to promote them!

Both thumbs up, folks!

interview

review Feed me Fame

live review Vampyre Party 2013

Filip VAN MUYLEM
24/06/2014


 

Next reviews
LEGACY FESTIVAL • Mol (21/06/2014)
QLAY • The Swan the Horse and the Black Matter
SHIREEN • Unmarked EP
PHILIPPE MORA • The Beast Within
HATCHLING • Other EP
PIETER NOOTEN • CLASSICS: Sleeps with the fishes
SCOTT COOPER • Out of the furnace
YOUNG KNIVES • Sick Octave
STUART ROSENBERG • The Pope Of Greenwich Village
IVY & GOLD • Eye of the Storm EP

 

Other reviews from SURGYN
SURGYN • Feed Me Fame

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
MIREXXX • Vault
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
DICEPEOPLE • One From Many
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
WANT/ED • Unthinkable

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
SCHEUBER • The Me I See

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy
ALPHAMAY • Twisted Lines
RECTOR SCANNER • Herzschlag

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
PARRALOX • Subculture

Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, exactly 9 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex on Major Records!
22
01
This month 47 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
21
01
Today, exactly 26 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
MILA MAR
Haime
21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life