tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

24/06/2014 : SURGYN - Envy

SURGYN

Envy

MusicCD
Dark ElectroElectro PopFuture PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[90/100]   

DWA
24/06/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

I missed their US tour, but it's clear that the guys (Veil & Sovereign, sorry: almost used your real names here) are selling themselves better and better! They have grown since I saw them for the first time on stage and how! Their sound is great and the lyrics too! It's clear that they offer what I miss in so many other bands: great music with content! Indeed: you are a product sell yourself (and that was also the title of my interview with the guys)! So far the intro!

'Limousine' was already a single and people who missed it get a chance to grab it! I for sure love the combination of both voices. Despite the fact it has been done before: the harsh and the clean voice sound pretty unique. 'Green Heart' is driven by a nice clean voice that can sing and shows it off! I love the pathos mixed with the electronic tunes! It's a dance floor filler!
Stiletto' is a typical Surgyn track, well driven into club land and with 2 great voices and their typical lyrics! Love it! I already reviewed the 'Feed me Fame' track and loved it (see link underneath). Today I still do! 'Martyr' is a drum'n bass wordless piece, one I tend to skip (and the only one as even the intro is worth it). 'Kind of Crowns' has a nice melancholic voice and a great monstrous screamer in it! I love the drum'n bass and all the electronics. The pathos in this track is just great! More dubstep & drum'n bass on 'Needles'! 'Insidious' is a real clubber! Love this bomber! Harsh voice and great beats! Start to dance! 'Hollywood Death Scene' is a slow one with a harsh voice and a melancholic voice. I like the synths, as they produce a certain Holly sound (sounds like a party in a church during a ceremonial). 'Melancholia' is a false slow electronic track with soft voices. It has somehow a retro 80's melancholic sound.

It was worth waiting for! It feels like a great continuation of a great saga! I hope they get the attention needed to become bigger and play more at great venues! It's also great to see them on a provocative ground! Russia won't be pleased with this one. I must admit it's another approach as Gaytron, but I support both bands and do whatever I can to promote them!

Both thumbs up, folks!

interview

review Feed me Fame

live review Vampyre Party 2013

Filip VAN MUYLEM
24/06/2014


 

Next reviews
LEGACY FESTIVAL • Mol (21/06/2014)
QLAY • The Swan the Horse and the Black Matter
SHIREEN • Unmarked EP
PHILIPPE MORA • The Beast Within
HATCHLING • Other EP
PIETER NOOTEN • CLASSICS: Sleeps with the fishes
SCOTT COOPER • Out of the furnace
YOUNG KNIVES • Sick Octave
STUART ROSENBERG • The Pope Of Greenwich Village
IVY & GOLD • Eye of the Storm EP

 

Other reviews from SURGYN
SURGYN • Feed Me Fame

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
DICEPEOPLE • One From Many
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
DEF NEON • Def Neon
CHROM • Peak And Decay

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy
ALPHAMAY • Twisted Lines
RECTOR SCANNER • Herzschlag

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
PARRALOX • Subculture
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
DICEPEOPLE • Synthetic

Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi