tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

24/06/2014 : SURGYN - Envy

SURGYN

Envy

MusicCD
Dark ElectroElectro PopFuture PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[90/100]   

DWA
24/06/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

I missed their US tour, but it's clear that the guys (Veil & Sovereign, sorry: almost used your real names here) are selling themselves better and better! They have grown since I saw them for the first time on stage and how! Their sound is great and the lyrics too! It's clear that they offer what I miss in so many other bands: great music with content! Indeed: you are a product sell yourself (and that was also the title of my interview with the guys)! So far the intro!

'Limousine' was already a single and people who missed it get a chance to grab it! I for sure love the combination of both voices. Despite the fact it has been done before: the harsh and the clean voice sound pretty unique. 'Green Heart' is driven by a nice clean voice that can sing and shows it off! I love the pathos mixed with the electronic tunes! It's a dance floor filler!
Stiletto' is a typical Surgyn track, well driven into club land and with 2 great voices and their typical lyrics! Love it! I already reviewed the 'Feed me Fame' track and loved it (see link underneath). Today I still do! 'Martyr' is a drum'n bass wordless piece, one I tend to skip (and the only one as even the intro is worth it). 'Kind of Crowns' has a nice melancholic voice and a great monstrous screamer in it! I love the drum'n bass and all the electronics. The pathos in this track is just great! More dubstep & drum'n bass on 'Needles'! 'Insidious' is a real clubber! Love this bomber! Harsh voice and great beats! Start to dance! 'Hollywood Death Scene' is a slow one with a harsh voice and a melancholic voice. I like the synths, as they produce a certain Holly sound (sounds like a party in a church during a ceremonial). 'Melancholia' is a false slow electronic track with soft voices. It has somehow a retro 80's melancholic sound.

It was worth waiting for! It feels like a great continuation of a great saga! I hope they get the attention needed to become bigger and play more at great venues! It's also great to see them on a provocative ground! Russia won't be pleased with this one. I must admit it's another approach as Gaytron, but I support both bands and do whatever I can to promote them!

Both thumbs up, folks!

interview

review Feed me Fame

live review Vampyre Party 2013

Filip VAN MUYLEM
24/06/2014


 

Next reviews
LEGACY FESTIVAL • Mol (21/06/2014)
QLAY • The Swan the Horse and the Black Matter
SHIREEN • Unmarked EP
PHILIPPE MORA • The Beast Within
HATCHLING • Other EP
PIETER NOOTEN • CLASSICS: Sleeps with the fishes
SCOTT COOPER • Out of the furnace
YOUNG KNIVES • Sick Octave
STUART ROSENBERG • The Pope Of Greenwich Village
IVY & GOLD • Eye of the Storm EP

 

Other reviews from SURGYN
SURGYN • Feed Me Fame

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
MIREXXX • Vault
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
PARRALOX • Subculture

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis