tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/06/2014 : HATCHLING - Other EP

HATCHLING

Other EP

MusicCD
Electro PopSynth Pop / Electro PopSynthpop

[85/100]   

Self-released
23/06/2014, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Friday night. Listening to some dark music. Putting on pikes, black lace shirt, black eye shadow, rosaries and a lot of rings and bracelets, combing our hair straight up, and we were ready to go out, in the eighties anyway.

This album brings me instantaneously back in that ambiance but this band is not another eighties clone. Hatchling does make eighties related synth music, but they clearly reflected on the songs on this EP.

In opener "PRFCT", tight rhythms and harmonious melodies form, along with the high female voice, an instant synthpop song. And on "Names" this recipe is used again, but this time also with a delightful melancholic male voice.

And from the third composition, they begin to intrigue me even more. Soundtrack sounds, directly escaped out of a fifties sci-fi classic, opens "Ellen". The song is teetering perfectly on the edge of the narrative and danceable. Just as The Human League, all compositions are instant recognizable, danceable and even a potential hit (if it were yet another decade).

The penultimate track, "Latin", is daring. The up-tempo parts resemble a (young) Gary Numan, where the slow parts are almost a mystical soundtrack, which does not break the song at all yet builds a balanced song.

And this soundtrack approach is fully driven in "Birds", the last song on this EP. With minimalist synth and beautiful, refined piano arrangements it forms a magnificent composition.

Too bad it's an EP, because I would really like to know this band a lot better, but as a debut & teaser "Other" is absolute brilliant. Looking forward to that first full album!

(And in the meantime: support your scene! Buy this album!)

www.htchlng.com

Ward DE PRINS
23/06/2014




NL

Vrijdagavond. Een of ander duister plaatje opzetten. Puntschoenen aandoen, zwart kanten hemd, zwarte oogschaduw, paternosters & massa’s ringen en armbanden, haren omhoog en we waren klaar om uit te gaan, in de jaren tachtig dan toch.

Dit plaatje brengt me instant terug in die sfeer maar is geen zoveelste jaren tachtig kloon. Hatchling maakt jaren tachtig gerelateerde synth composities maar er is duidelijk nagedacht over de songs op deze EP.

Strakke ritmes & harmonieuze melodielijnen vormen in opener “PRFCT”, samen met de hoge vrouwenstem, een instant klare synthpop song. Op “Names” mag dit nog eens overgedaan worden, doch ditmaal ook met een heerlijk melancholische mannenstem.

En vanaf de derde compositie beginnen ze me nog meer te intrigeren. Soundtrack geluiden die zo uit een jaren vijftig sci-fi klassieker zijn ontsnapt luiden “Ellen” in, verhalend doch balancerend op de rand van het dansbare. Net zoals The Human League zijn alle composities instant herkenbaar, dansbaar & hitgevoelig (ware het een ander decennium).

De voorlaatste track, “Latin”, is gedurfd. De uptempo delen zouden zo op een (oud) Gary Numan album kunnen passen, daar waar de trage delen haast een mystieke soundtrack vormen, die het geheel niet afbreken maar wel een mooie afwisseling vormen.

En deze soundtrack benadering wordt ten volle doorgedreven in “Birds”, de laatste song op deze soundtrack, waarbij minimalistische synthesizer en mooie piano akkoorden een schitterend geheel vormen.

Zonde dat het maar een EP is, want deze band had ik graag wat beter leren kennen, maar als debuut en teaser is “Other” meer dan 100% geslaagd. Uitkijken naar dat eerste full album!

(en in afwachting daarvan : support your scene! koop deze EP!

www.htchlng.com

Ward DE PRINS
23/06/2014




 

Next reviews
PIETER NOOTEN • CLASSICS: Sleeps with the fishes
SCOTT COOPER • Out of the furnace
YOUNG KNIVES • Sick Octave
STUART ROSENBERG • The Pope Of Greenwich Village
IVY & GOLD • Eye of the Storm EP
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • What Time is Love?
• Deadline 25/5
AMBERIAN DAWN • Magic Forest
JOSH BOONE • Stuck In Love
DIE FORM • Schaulust

 

Other reviews from HATCHLING
HATCHLING • Alpha

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO POP + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP + SYNTHPOP
ERASURE • THE NEON
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
CHROM • Peak And Decay
BEBORN BETON • A Worthy Compensation

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
ART DIKTATOR • Isola

Music reviews

02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
12
This month, 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
Russian Dark Community in search of new blood
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
12
ORKESTRA OBSOLETE
Blue Monday
02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover