tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/06/2014 : HATCHLING - Other EP

HATCHLING

Other EP

MusicCD
Electro PopSynth Pop / Electro PopSynthpop

[85/100]   

Self-released
23/06/2014, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Friday night. Listening to some dark music. Putting on pikes, black lace shirt, black eye shadow, rosaries and a lot of rings and bracelets, combing our hair straight up, and we were ready to go out, in the eighties anyway.

This album brings me instantaneously back in that ambiance but this band is not another eighties clone. Hatchling does make eighties related synth music, but they clearly reflected on the songs on this EP.

In opener "PRFCT", tight rhythms and harmonious melodies form, along with the high female voice, an instant synthpop song. And on "Names" this recipe is used again, but this time also with a delightful melancholic male voice.

And from the third composition, they begin to intrigue me even more. Soundtrack sounds, directly escaped out of a fifties sci-fi classic, opens "Ellen". The song is teetering perfectly on the edge of the narrative and danceable. Just as The Human League, all compositions are instant recognizable, danceable and even a potential hit (if it were yet another decade).

The penultimate track, "Latin", is daring. The up-tempo parts resemble a (young) Gary Numan, where the slow parts are almost a mystical soundtrack, which does not break the song at all yet builds a balanced song.

And this soundtrack approach is fully driven in "Birds", the last song on this EP. With minimalist synth and beautiful, refined piano arrangements it forms a magnificent composition.

Too bad it's an EP, because I would really like to know this band a lot better, but as a debut & teaser "Other" is absolute brilliant. Looking forward to that first full album!

(And in the meantime: support your scene! Buy this album!)

www.htchlng.com

Ward DE PRINS
23/06/2014




NL

Vrijdagavond. Een of ander duister plaatje opzetten. Puntschoenen aandoen, zwart kanten hemd, zwarte oogschaduw, paternosters & massa’s ringen en armbanden, haren omhoog en we waren klaar om uit te gaan, in de jaren tachtig dan toch.

Dit plaatje brengt me instant terug in die sfeer maar is geen zoveelste jaren tachtig kloon. Hatchling maakt jaren tachtig gerelateerde synth composities maar er is duidelijk nagedacht over de songs op deze EP.

Strakke ritmes & harmonieuze melodielijnen vormen in opener “PRFCT”, samen met de hoge vrouwenstem, een instant klare synthpop song. Op “Names” mag dit nog eens overgedaan worden, doch ditmaal ook met een heerlijk melancholische mannenstem.

En vanaf de derde compositie beginnen ze me nog meer te intrigeren. Soundtrack geluiden die zo uit een jaren vijftig sci-fi klassieker zijn ontsnapt luiden “Ellen” in, verhalend doch balancerend op de rand van het dansbare. Net zoals The Human League zijn alle composities instant herkenbaar, dansbaar & hitgevoelig (ware het een ander decennium).

De voorlaatste track, “Latin”, is gedurfd. De uptempo delen zouden zo op een (oud) Gary Numan album kunnen passen, daar waar de trage delen haast een mystieke soundtrack vormen, die het geheel niet afbreken maar wel een mooie afwisseling vormen.

En deze soundtrack benadering wordt ten volle doorgedreven in “Birds”, de laatste song op deze soundtrack, waarbij minimalistische synthesizer en mooie piano akkoorden een schitterend geheel vormen.

Zonde dat het maar een EP is, want deze band had ik graag wat beter leren kennen, maar als debuut en teaser is “Other” meer dan 100% geslaagd. Uitkijken naar dat eerste full album!

(en in afwachting daarvan : support your scene! koop deze EP!

www.htchlng.com

Ward DE PRINS
23/06/2014




 

Next reviews
PIETER NOOTEN • CLASSICS: Sleeps with the fishes
SCOTT COOPER • Out of the furnace
YOUNG KNIVES • Sick Octave
STUART ROSENBERG • The Pope Of Greenwich Village
IVY & GOLD • Eye of the Storm EP
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • What Time is Love?
• Deadline 25/5
AMBERIAN DAWN • Magic Forest
JOSH BOONE • Stuck In Love
DIE FORM • Schaulust

 

Other reviews from HATCHLING
HATCHLING • Alpha

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO POP + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP + SYNTHPOP
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
CHROM • Peak And Decay
BEBORN BETON • A Worthy Compensation

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

12
06
12
06
12
06
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
NACHTMAHR
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
GROUND NERO
Westbad, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis
10
06
HANTE
Noir
09
06
DEZ MONA
Close To You