tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

19/06/2014 : AMBERIAN DAWN - Magic Forest

AMBERIAN DAWN

Magic Forest

MusicCD
Symphonic Metal

[89/100]   

Napalm Records
19/06/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Amberian Dawn brings nice symphonic metal, with a great female fronted sound and lots of faeric influences. I must admit that the first track - 'Cherish Me' - reminds me very strongly of ABBA, but then in a symphonic metal version.

'Dance of Life' has a high tempo and is clearly symphonic metal minded. I caught a nice guitar solo too! 'Magic Forest' starts as if it was part of an impressive musical (could be a Disney musical). The voice is very close to Celine Dion in this one.

The symphonic orchestra plays an important role in this one. The production sound is really a pearl! 'Agonizing Night' takes us deeper into the symphonic sound with lots of classic instruments and great backings! It has a very impressive sound!

'Warning' goes back to the Disney musical, is a bit bombastic and sounds as if the faery people are having a party to scare the darkness away! It has also a big Eurosong festival vibe! 'Son of Rainbow' is sweet and enchanting you with their faery touch. The chorus is very catchy! 'I'm Still here' is going back to the main symphonic metal sound with a great solo in it. The voice sounds very powerful and touches one soul at another moment. 'Memorial' gets into an opera or at least a very classical sound with the male tenor voice as an extra add! More and more I feel like being part of a very expensive musical. 'Endless silence' gets great and powerful vocals, a magical guitar solo and a more hard rock directed sound. All metal registers are opened after a while and the bomb explodes. 'Green-Eyed' is the last track and is a real ballad, driven by strings, a harp and a classical bombastic sound. The musical almost gets a happy end. A lot of lighters will be lifted during the next gig! A great emotional and bombastic end!

At first it was a bit strange to run into some kind of musical orientated symphonic metal story, but the result is a happy end and a good feeling. I'm glad I got dragged into this new world and discovered another new sound and yet another great band. Aïte!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
19/06/2014


Music reviews

14
08
LUKE LUND
Hopium
13
08
KRALLICE
Mass Cathexis
09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
08
MICK HARRIS (SCORN,LULL,EX-NAPALM DEATH...)
'I still see myself as a bit of a punk...'
10
08
BILL LASWELL
'Sometimes thing sort of “follow a path”...'
08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AND ONE
Killing The Mercy
14
08
SEPTEMBER 87
Bad Dream Baby
13
08
KING DALTON
When The Bad Is Gone
12
08
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
11
08
JACK MANIAC
No Fate
10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands