tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

19/06/2014 : AMBERIAN DAWN - Magic Forest

AMBERIAN DAWN

Magic Forest

MusicCD
Symphonic Metal

[89/100]   

Napalm Records
19/06/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Amberian Dawn brings nice symphonic metal, with a great female fronted sound and lots of faeric influences. I must admit that the first track - 'Cherish Me' - reminds me very strongly of ABBA, but then in a symphonic metal version.

'Dance of Life' has a high tempo and is clearly symphonic metal minded. I caught a nice guitar solo too! 'Magic Forest' starts as if it was part of an impressive musical (could be a Disney musical). The voice is very close to Celine Dion in this one.

The symphonic orchestra plays an important role in this one. The production sound is really a pearl! 'Agonizing Night' takes us deeper into the symphonic sound with lots of classic instruments and great backings! It has a very impressive sound!

'Warning' goes back to the Disney musical, is a bit bombastic and sounds as if the faery people are having a party to scare the darkness away! It has also a big Eurosong festival vibe! 'Son of Rainbow' is sweet and enchanting you with their faery touch. The chorus is very catchy! 'I'm Still here' is going back to the main symphonic metal sound with a great solo in it. The voice sounds very powerful and touches one soul at another moment. 'Memorial' gets into an opera or at least a very classical sound with the male tenor voice as an extra add! More and more I feel like being part of a very expensive musical. 'Endless silence' gets great and powerful vocals, a magical guitar solo and a more hard rock directed sound. All metal registers are opened after a while and the bomb explodes. 'Green-Eyed' is the last track and is a real ballad, driven by strings, a harp and a classical bombastic sound. The musical almost gets a happy end. A lot of lighters will be lifted during the next gig! A great emotional and bombastic end!

At first it was a bit strange to run into some kind of musical orientated symphonic metal story, but the result is a happy end and a good feeling. I'm glad I got dragged into this new world and discovered another new sound and yet another great band. Aïte!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
19/06/2014


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books

PHOTOS

22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan