tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/12/2018 : FROSTTIDE - Decedents – Enshrined

FROSTTIDE

Decedents – Enshrined

MusicCD
MetalSymphonic Metal

[83/100]   

Out Of Line
07/12/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Frosttide is a three-piece melodic folk metal band from Finland and was founded in 2009. After a couple of EPs (Dawn Of Frost, Our Journey) and two albums (Awakening 2013, Blood Oath 2015) they are back with their debut release on Out Of Line: Decedents - Enshrined.

We all know Finland has already brought us a lot of metal bands in the past. Frosttide is said to be influenced by Insomnium, Moonsorrow, Wintersuen and Amorphis but still manages to maintain its own twist, for example by means of decent song structures.

On this 2CD digi-pack release we get a nice collection of songs and in addition to the original tracks, we also get the pure instrumental versions as a gift.

The intro track 'Ocean's Peace' is very musical and yet subdued. A harbinger of mischief, waiting for the arrival of death, which is the main theme throughout this album. With 'Tranquility' all musical registers are opened up. Solid guitar melodies, which provide the tempo and riffs and just about everything else, while some keyboards in the background enrich the nice alternations in tempo and pieces of this orchestral beauty. And this for over 6 minutes long, including some excellent guitar solos.

'Carved In Ice' is a bit more timid and down tempo. Which does not mean that disaster will languish or depth is not there, on the contrary. It overwhelms and smothers you completely. The darkness is omnipresent and offers everything but peace of mind.

Those who want it even more bombastic, like a tsunami that unrolls its power, will definitely dig 'Final Hour'. However lyrical it may start off, after half a minute you feel the tension growing. When guitars and double bass drums unite, all hellfire breaks loose. Typical for the musical style of 'Frosttide', are the many tempo changes and the musical diversity. Here too we are presented with a great piece of orchestral opulence as has been present on a festive table. Only to be swallowed back by a wall of clipped guitar play. The structure of the songs is so great. Like fading to almost silence halfway, to turn again into an almost deafening spectacle.

Now that we have warmed up, we get 9 minute long fireworks in front of us. Which gets disconcerts you by the beauty, the striking, the diversity. Enchantment takes over and just when you think you can quietly enjoy this, you soon get struck again by the immense power of the heavy guitars. The sorrow is softened by orchestral episodes but the devil gets his play. Halfway another sparkle of hope for salvation, but alas....

Frosttide clearly has everything to make it in the metal scene. This album, originally released as an EP, has been completely remastered and became a very solid, varied piece of work. No matter how hard it may sound at times, it still can be touching. You get really sucked into their story. Even if metal is not your thing in itself, the beauty of these Decedents - Enshrined will overwhelm you.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
07/12/2018


NL

Frosttide is een driekoppige melodieuze folkmetalband uit Finland. De band werd in 2009 opgericht. Na een paar EP’s (Dawn Of Frost , Our Journey) en twee albums (Awakening 2013, Blood Oath 2015) zijn ze nu terug met hun debuut bij Out Of Line: Decedents – Enshrined. Dat Finland al heel wat metalbands op de kaart zette is geen nieuws. Frosttide is beïnvloed door Insomnium, Moonsorrow, Wintersuen en Amorphis, maar heeft toch een eigen twist door heel veel structuur in de songs.

We krijgen een mooie verzameling songs die in een 2 CD-digipack-uitgave wordt uitgebracht. Naast de originele songs krijgen we de zuiver instrumentale versies cadeau.

De intro Ocean’s Peace is muzikaal en ingetogen. Een voorbode van het onheil, het wachten op komst van de dood die als thema de rode draad vormt doorheen dit album. Met Tranquility wordt het arsenaal aan muzikale overload meteen opengetrokken. Stevige gitaarmelodieën, die qua tempo en riffs zowat alles omvatten, enige keyboards op de achtergrond, mooie afwisselingen in het tempo en stukken orkestrale schoonheid. En dit ruim 6 minuten lang, gespijsd met uitmuntende gitaarsolo’s.

Carved In Ice is wat meer timide, het tempo iets rustiger. Wat helemaal niet wil zeggen dat het onheil wegkwijnt of de diepgang er niet zou zijn, wel integendeel. Het overweldigt en verzwelgt je helemaal. De duisternis is alom tegenwoordig en biedt alles behalve zielsrust.

Wie nog meer bombast wil die als een tsunami hoog opzwellend zijn kracht ontrolt, vindt in Final Hour zeker zijn gading. Hoe lyrisch het ook start, na een halve minuut voel je de spanning. Als gitaren en dubbele basdrums zich verenigen breekt het hellevuur los. Eigen aan de muzikale stijl van Frosttide, zijn de vele tempowisselingen en de muzikale diversiteit. Ook hier krijgen we een geweldig stuk orkestrale weelde op een feestelijke tafel gepresenteerd. Om dan terug te worden verzwolgen door een muur van snoeihard gitaarwerk. De structuur van de nummers is geweldig. Halfweg valt het helemaal stil om vervolgens weer in een oorverdovend spektakel te veranderen.

Nu we zijn opgewarmd, krijgen we een ruim 9 minuten durend vuurwerk. Waar je onthutst wordt door de pracht, het eclatante, de diversiteit. Verwondering maakt zich van je meester. En wanneer je denkt hiervan te mogen genieten, word je algauw weer opgeslokt door de immense kracht en bombast van snoeiharde metal. De pil wordt verzacht door orkestrale episodes, maar de duivel haalt zijn gram alsnog. Halfweg nog een sprankel hoop op verlossing, maar eilaas….

Frosttide heeft duidelijk alles om het te maken binnen de metalwereld. Deze langspeler, ooit een EP die volledig is geremasterd, is een heel stevig, gevarieerd werkstuk. Hoe hard ook bij momenten, het raakt vooral. Je wordt echt meegezogen in het verhaal. Zelfs als is metal op zich niet je ding, de schoonheid van deze Decedents – Enshrined overweldigt je alsnog.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
07/12/2018


07/12/2018 : FROSTTIDE - Decedents – Enshrined 07/12/2018 : FROSTTIDE - Decedents – Enshrined

Music reviews

17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R
13
08
AIMA
Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
12
08
AUGER
From Now On I

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS
07
08
CHELSEA announce European Tour in September

Concert reviews

07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo
17
08
MOTOR!K
Static
16
08
ENZO KREFT
Disobedient
15
08
DER KLINKE
CURTAINS