tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/12/2018 : FROSTTIDE - Decedents – Enshrined

FROSTTIDE

Decedents – Enshrined

MusicCD
MetalSymphonic Metal

[83/100]   

Out Of Line
07/12/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Frosttide is a three-piece melodic folk metal band from Finland and was founded in 2009. After a couple of EPs (Dawn Of Frost, Our Journey) and two albums (Awakening 2013, Blood Oath 2015) they are back with their debut release on Out Of Line: Decedents - Enshrined.

We all know Finland has already brought us a lot of metal bands in the past. Frosttide is said to be influenced by Insomnium, Moonsorrow, Wintersuen and Amorphis but still manages to maintain its own twist, for example by means of decent song structures.

On this 2CD digi-pack release we get a nice collection of songs and in addition to the original tracks, we also get the pure instrumental versions as a gift.

The intro track 'Ocean's Peace' is very musical and yet subdued. A harbinger of mischief, waiting for the arrival of death, which is the main theme throughout this album. With 'Tranquility' all musical registers are opened up. Solid guitar melodies, which provide the tempo and riffs and just about everything else, while some keyboards in the background enrich the nice alternations in tempo and pieces of this orchestral beauty. And this for over 6 minutes long, including some excellent guitar solos.

'Carved In Ice' is a bit more timid and down tempo. Which does not mean that disaster will languish or depth is not there, on the contrary. It overwhelms and smothers you completely. The darkness is omnipresent and offers everything but peace of mind.

Those who want it even more bombastic, like a tsunami that unrolls its power, will definitely dig 'Final Hour'. However lyrical it may start off, after half a minute you feel the tension growing. When guitars and double bass drums unite, all hellfire breaks loose. Typical for the musical style of 'Frosttide', are the many tempo changes and the musical diversity. Here too we are presented with a great piece of orchestral opulence as has been present on a festive table. Only to be swallowed back by a wall of clipped guitar play. The structure of the songs is so great. Like fading to almost silence halfway, to turn again into an almost deafening spectacle.

Now that we have warmed up, we get 9 minute long fireworks in front of us. Which gets disconcerts you by the beauty, the striking, the diversity. Enchantment takes over and just when you think you can quietly enjoy this, you soon get struck again by the immense power of the heavy guitars. The sorrow is softened by orchestral episodes but the devil gets his play. Halfway another sparkle of hope for salvation, but alas....

Frosttide clearly has everything to make it in the metal scene. This album, originally released as an EP, has been completely remastered and became a very solid, varied piece of work. No matter how hard it may sound at times, it still can be touching. You get really sucked into their story. Even if metal is not your thing in itself, the beauty of these Decedents - Enshrined will overwhelm you.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
07/12/2018


NL

Frosttide is een driekoppige melodieuze folkmetalband uit Finland. De band werd in 2009 opgericht. Na een paar EP’s (Dawn Of Frost , Our Journey) en twee albums (Awakening 2013, Blood Oath 2015) zijn ze nu terug met hun debuut bij Out Of Line: Decedents – Enshrined. Dat Finland al heel wat metalbands op de kaart zette is geen nieuws. Frosttide is beïnvloed door Insomnium, Moonsorrow, Wintersuen en Amorphis, maar heeft toch een eigen twist door heel veel structuur in de songs.

We krijgen een mooie verzameling songs die in een 2 CD-digipack-uitgave wordt uitgebracht. Naast de originele songs krijgen we de zuiver instrumentale versies cadeau.

De intro Ocean’s Peace is muzikaal en ingetogen. Een voorbode van het onheil, het wachten op komst van de dood die als thema de rode draad vormt doorheen dit album. Met Tranquility wordt het arsenaal aan muzikale overload meteen opengetrokken. Stevige gitaarmelodieën, die qua tempo en riffs zowat alles omvatten, enige keyboards op de achtergrond, mooie afwisselingen in het tempo en stukken orkestrale schoonheid. En dit ruim 6 minuten lang, gespijsd met uitmuntende gitaarsolo’s.

Carved In Ice is wat meer timide, het tempo iets rustiger. Wat helemaal niet wil zeggen dat het onheil wegkwijnt of de diepgang er niet zou zijn, wel integendeel. Het overweldigt en verzwelgt je helemaal. De duisternis is alom tegenwoordig en biedt alles behalve zielsrust.

Wie nog meer bombast wil die als een tsunami hoog opzwellend zijn kracht ontrolt, vindt in Final Hour zeker zijn gading. Hoe lyrisch het ook start, na een halve minuut voel je de spanning. Als gitaren en dubbele basdrums zich verenigen breekt het hellevuur los. Eigen aan de muzikale stijl van Frosttide, zijn de vele tempowisselingen en de muzikale diversiteit. Ook hier krijgen we een geweldig stuk orkestrale weelde op een feestelijke tafel gepresenteerd. Om dan terug te worden verzwolgen door een muur van snoeihard gitaarwerk. De structuur van de nummers is geweldig. Halfweg valt het helemaal stil om vervolgens weer in een oorverdovend spektakel te veranderen.

Nu we zijn opgewarmd, krijgen we een ruim 9 minuten durend vuurwerk. Waar je onthutst wordt door de pracht, het eclatante, de diversiteit. Verwondering maakt zich van je meester. En wanneer je denkt hiervan te mogen genieten, word je algauw weer opgeslokt door de immense kracht en bombast van snoeiharde metal. De pil wordt verzacht door orkestrale episodes, maar de duivel haalt zijn gram alsnog. Halfweg nog een sprankel hoop op verlossing, maar eilaas….

Frosttide heeft duidelijk alles om het te maken binnen de metalwereld. Deze langspeler, ooit een EP die volledig is geremasterd, is een heel stevig, gevarieerd werkstuk. Hoe hard ook bij momenten, het raakt vooral. Je wordt echt meegezogen in het verhaal. Zelfs als is metal op zich niet je ding, de schoonheid van deze Decedents – Enshrined overweldigt je alsnog.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
07/12/2018


07/12/2018 : FROSTTIDE - Decedents – Enshrined 07/12/2018 : FROSTTIDE - Decedents – Enshrined

Music reviews

15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth
20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...
14
02
Today, exactly 40 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
13
02
In The Light | Happy Birthday Peter Hook!
12
02
Producer/composer Phil Western (Download/PlatEAU/...) passed way on Saturday 9 February.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules
11
02
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
11
02
ALVAR
The Fluid