tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : GHOST - Popestar

GHOST

Popestar

MusicCD (EP)
GlamrockMetal

[80/100]   

Spinefarm Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Ghost is a strange creature in metal land. The band looks daunting, but the music contain some pop elements. That goes for the latest album Meloria that sounded lighter than its predecessor, but it was a strong release. The opinions among the fans were divided over Meloria, but the music is put together in a clev er way. The vocals are clean and reminiscent of singers like Freddie Mercury, James Dio...

The latest release is an EP with one new Ghost song and four covers. No obvious covers anyway. Opener Square Hammer is a new Ghost song that rocks. The vocals are wonderfully melodic. The track is solid. Then the covers... Nocturnal Me by Echo & The Bunymen is sounds good. It is slightly heavier than the original, which gives the song a dark vibe. I Believe by Simian Mobile Disco sounds as ambient. It is spacey music on which Papa Emeritus III is only accompanied by synth and percussion. Nice, but a misfit between the rest of the tracks. Missionary Man by Eurythmics is a song I listened to a lot in the 80s. It's a bold choice. The band gets away with it though. Bible of the Swedishband Imperiet closes the EP. I do not really like this cover version because it doesn't add much to the original. It has no large Ghost-twist, although the song offers many opportunities.

Pope Star is an EP with one ghost track, a great track by the way. In addition, it contains some wonderful covers. A successful sop.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Ghost is een vreemd beestje in metalland. De bandleden zien er wat afschrikwekkend uit maar hun muziek bezit nogal wat popelementen. Dat geldt vooral voor het laatste album Meloria dat lichter klonk dan hun voorganger maar wel een sterke release was. Toegegeven: de meningen onder de fans waren wat verdeeld over Meloria. Je mag ervan zeggen wat je wilt, maar de muziek zit clever in elkaar. De zang is clean en doet eerder denken aan zangers zoals Freddy Mercury, James Dio…

De nieuwste release is een ep met één nieuwe Ghost-song en vier covers. Geen voor de hand liggende covers trouwens. Opener Square Hammer is een nieuwe compositie die rockt als de beesten. De zang is heerlijk melodieus. De track staat als een huis. Dan de covers… Nocturnal Me van Echo & The Bunymen is zeer geslaagd. Iets zwaarder dan het origineel met een donkere vibe. I Believe van Simian Mobile Disco klinkt als ambient, spacy muziek waarbij Papa Emeritus III alleen door synth en percussie begeleid wordt. Geslaagd maar niet echt passend tussen de andere tracks. Daarna Missionary Man van Eurythmics, een track die ik veel beluisterde in de jaren 80. Een gewaagde keuze, maar de band komt ermee weg. Bible van het Zweedse Imperiet sluit de ep af. Deze cover vind ik niet zo geslaagd. Hij is nogal schatplichtig aan het origineel waardoor er geen grote Ghost-draai aan wordt gegeven. De song biedt nochtans heel wat mogelijkheden.

Popestar is een ep met één Ghost-track, een fantastische track by the way. Daarnaast zijn er enkele geslaagde covers. Een zoethoudertje.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : GHOST - Popestar 11/12/2016 : GHOST - Popestar

Music reviews

15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum
07
05
STRUCK9
Ritual Body Music
05
05
CONSPIRACY COVEN
Conspiracy Coven
03
05
PAULINA CASSIDY
Drawing Up A Storm
25
04
RITUAL VEIL
Wolf In The Night

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
05
Europe, watch out! International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest next month!
19
05
LOW FACTOR releases new album 'L'Oiseau du Désespoir'
17
05
'Worlds Left Behind', first full-length album by NEW HAUNTS
13
05
Adam & Eve release new song 'Unlucky Señor'
13
05
Today it’s exactly 21 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Classic Pop publishes special issue on the career of Pet Shop Boys!

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
05
PERSEPHONE
Maybe You Can Describe The Production Like A Puzzle: You Have To Find Each And Every Piece And Put It Together
08
05
ELECTRO SYNTHETIC REBELLION (ESR)
‘My Work Has Never Been Driven By The Trends Or The Dancefloor/Club Appeal’
04
05
MARTYRIA
The Process Of Creating Our Music Is A Way Of Expressing This Spiritual Transformation
02
05
WARM BODIES
Live - 27th of March - Antwerp Music City
21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’

PHOTOS

21
05
SKELETAL FAMILY
WGT
21
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
WGT
21
05
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA
WGT
21
05
UNDERTHESKIN
WGT
21
05
THE LAST CRY
WGT
20
05
PLASTIC NOICE EXPERIENCE
WGT
20
05
WULFBAND
WGT

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
05
LAID BACK
White Horse
23
05
DIRTY HARRY
D' BOP
22
05
STAHLR
Into The Black
21
05
VIRGIN PRUNES
Baby Turns Blue
21
05
ATTRITION
Dante's Kitchen
20
05
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
19
05
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa