tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : GHOST - Popestar

GHOST

Popestar

MusicCD (EP)
GlamrockMetal

[80/100]   

Spinefarm Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Ghost is a strange creature in metal land. The band looks daunting, but the music contain some pop elements. That goes for the latest album Meloria that sounded lighter than its predecessor, but it was a strong release. The opinions among the fans were divided over Meloria, but the music is put together in a clev er way. The vocals are clean and reminiscent of singers like Freddie Mercury, James Dio...

The latest release is an EP with one new Ghost song and four covers. No obvious covers anyway. Opener Square Hammer is a new Ghost song that rocks. The vocals are wonderfully melodic. The track is solid. Then the covers... Nocturnal Me by Echo & The Bunymen is sounds good. It is slightly heavier than the original, which gives the song a dark vibe. I Believe by Simian Mobile Disco sounds as ambient. It is spacey music on which Papa Emeritus III is only accompanied by synth and percussion. Nice, but a misfit between the rest of the tracks. Missionary Man by Eurythmics is a song I listened to a lot in the 80s. It's a bold choice. The band gets away with it though. Bible of the Swedishband Imperiet closes the EP. I do not really like this cover version because it doesn't add much to the original. It has no large Ghost-twist, although the song offers many opportunities.

Pope Star is an EP with one ghost track, a great track by the way. In addition, it contains some wonderful covers. A successful sop.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Ghost is een vreemd beestje in metalland. De bandleden zien er wat afschrikwekkend uit maar hun muziek bezit nogal wat popelementen. Dat geldt vooral voor het laatste album Meloria dat lichter klonk dan hun voorganger maar wel een sterke release was. Toegegeven: de meningen onder de fans waren wat verdeeld over Meloria. Je mag ervan zeggen wat je wilt, maar de muziek zit clever in elkaar. De zang is clean en doet eerder denken aan zangers zoals Freddy Mercury, James Dio…

De nieuwste release is een ep met één nieuwe Ghost-song en vier covers. Geen voor de hand liggende covers trouwens. Opener Square Hammer is een nieuwe compositie die rockt als de beesten. De zang is heerlijk melodieus. De track staat als een huis. Dan de covers… Nocturnal Me van Echo & The Bunymen is zeer geslaagd. Iets zwaarder dan het origineel met een donkere vibe. I Believe van Simian Mobile Disco klinkt als ambient, spacy muziek waarbij Papa Emeritus III alleen door synth en percussie begeleid wordt. Geslaagd maar niet echt passend tussen de andere tracks. Daarna Missionary Man van Eurythmics, een track die ik veel beluisterde in de jaren 80. Een gewaagde keuze, maar de band komt ermee weg. Bible van het Zweedse Imperiet sluit de ep af. Deze cover vind ik niet zo geslaagd. Hij is nogal schatplichtig aan het origineel waardoor er geen grote Ghost-draai aan wordt gegeven. De song biedt nochtans heel wat mogelijkheden.

Popestar is een ep met één Ghost-track, een fantastische track by the way. Daarnaast zijn er enkele geslaagde covers. Een zoethoudertje.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : GHOST - Popestar 11/12/2016 : GHOST - Popestar

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
11
01
On this day 35 years ago, Nina Hagen performed in front of 1,5 million people on the first edition of world’s biggest festivals Rock in Rio (Brazil).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.
11
01
CHRIS HASKETT (ROLLINS BAND)
'Musicians are more like radios that occasionally pick up and reproduce things from the cosmos.'

PHOTOS

26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest
26
12
REIN
Bimfest
26
12
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
bimfest
26
12
STURM CAFE
bimfest
26
12
RADERKRAFT
bimfest
26
12
ZWEITE JUGEND
Bimfest
26
12
ENZO KREFT
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing
13
01
VOK
Waterfall