tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : GHOST - Popestar

GHOST

Popestar

MusicCD (EP)
GlamrockMetal

[80/100]   

Spinefarm Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Ghost is a strange creature in metal land. The band looks daunting, but the music contain some pop elements. That goes for the latest album Meloria that sounded lighter than its predecessor, but it was a strong release. The opinions among the fans were divided over Meloria, but the music is put together in a clev er way. The vocals are clean and reminiscent of singers like Freddie Mercury, James Dio...

The latest release is an EP with one new Ghost song and four covers. No obvious covers anyway. Opener Square Hammer is a new Ghost song that rocks. The vocals are wonderfully melodic. The track is solid. Then the covers... Nocturnal Me by Echo & The Bunymen is sounds good. It is slightly heavier than the original, which gives the song a dark vibe. I Believe by Simian Mobile Disco sounds as ambient. It is spacey music on which Papa Emeritus III is only accompanied by synth and percussion. Nice, but a misfit between the rest of the tracks. Missionary Man by Eurythmics is a song I listened to a lot in the 80s. It's a bold choice. The band gets away with it though. Bible of the Swedishband Imperiet closes the EP. I do not really like this cover version because it doesn't add much to the original. It has no large Ghost-twist, although the song offers many opportunities.

Pope Star is an EP with one ghost track, a great track by the way. In addition, it contains some wonderful covers. A successful sop.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Ghost is een vreemd beestje in metalland. De bandleden zien er wat afschrikwekkend uit maar hun muziek bezit nogal wat popelementen. Dat geldt vooral voor het laatste album Meloria dat lichter klonk dan hun voorganger maar wel een sterke release was. Toegegeven: de meningen onder de fans waren wat verdeeld over Meloria. Je mag ervan zeggen wat je wilt, maar de muziek zit clever in elkaar. De zang is clean en doet eerder denken aan zangers zoals Freddy Mercury, James Dio…

De nieuwste release is een ep met één nieuwe Ghost-song en vier covers. Geen voor de hand liggende covers trouwens. Opener Square Hammer is een nieuwe compositie die rockt als de beesten. De zang is heerlijk melodieus. De track staat als een huis. Dan de covers… Nocturnal Me van Echo & The Bunymen is zeer geslaagd. Iets zwaarder dan het origineel met een donkere vibe. I Believe van Simian Mobile Disco klinkt als ambient, spacy muziek waarbij Papa Emeritus III alleen door synth en percussie begeleid wordt. Geslaagd maar niet echt passend tussen de andere tracks. Daarna Missionary Man van Eurythmics, een track die ik veel beluisterde in de jaren 80. Een gewaagde keuze, maar de band komt ermee weg. Bible van het Zweedse Imperiet sluit de ep af. Deze cover vind ik niet zo geslaagd. Hij is nogal schatplichtig aan het origineel waardoor er geen grote Ghost-draai aan wordt gegeven. De song biedt nochtans heel wat mogelijkheden.

Popestar is een ep met één Ghost-track, een fantastische track by the way. Daarnaast zijn er enkele geslaagde covers. Een zoethoudertje.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : GHOST - Popestar 11/12/2016 : GHOST - Popestar

Music reviews

19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
11
Disorientations! New band, new single, new video!
14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
11
HYPERMOND.
Double
19
11
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON:
Caught In Winters Weave
19
11
NITZER EBB
Llive at Kulttempel in Oberhausen, Germany - 15.11.2019
18
11
OAKTREE
La Fin
17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other
16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart