tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : GHOST - Popestar

GHOST

Popestar

MusicCD (EP)
GlamrockMetal

[80/100]   

Spinefarm Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Ghost is a strange creature in metal land. The band looks daunting, but the music contain some pop elements. That goes for the latest album Meloria that sounded lighter than its predecessor, but it was a strong release. The opinions among the fans were divided over Meloria, but the music is put together in a clev er way. The vocals are clean and reminiscent of singers like Freddie Mercury, James Dio...

The latest release is an EP with one new Ghost song and four covers. No obvious covers anyway. Opener Square Hammer is a new Ghost song that rocks. The vocals are wonderfully melodic. The track is solid. Then the covers... Nocturnal Me by Echo & The Bunymen is sounds good. It is slightly heavier than the original, which gives the song a dark vibe. I Believe by Simian Mobile Disco sounds as ambient. It is spacey music on which Papa Emeritus III is only accompanied by synth and percussion. Nice, but a misfit between the rest of the tracks. Missionary Man by Eurythmics is a song I listened to a lot in the 80s. It's a bold choice. The band gets away with it though. Bible of the Swedishband Imperiet closes the EP. I do not really like this cover version because it doesn't add much to the original. It has no large Ghost-twist, although the song offers many opportunities.

Pope Star is an EP with one ghost track, a great track by the way. In addition, it contains some wonderful covers. A successful sop.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Ghost is een vreemd beestje in metalland. De bandleden zien er wat afschrikwekkend uit maar hun muziek bezit nogal wat popelementen. Dat geldt vooral voor het laatste album Meloria dat lichter klonk dan hun voorganger maar wel een sterke release was. Toegegeven: de meningen onder de fans waren wat verdeeld over Meloria. Je mag ervan zeggen wat je wilt, maar de muziek zit clever in elkaar. De zang is clean en doet eerder denken aan zangers zoals Freddy Mercury, James Dio…

De nieuwste release is een ep met één nieuwe Ghost-song en vier covers. Geen voor de hand liggende covers trouwens. Opener Square Hammer is een nieuwe compositie die rockt als de beesten. De zang is heerlijk melodieus. De track staat als een huis. Dan de covers… Nocturnal Me van Echo & The Bunymen is zeer geslaagd. Iets zwaarder dan het origineel met een donkere vibe. I Believe van Simian Mobile Disco klinkt als ambient, spacy muziek waarbij Papa Emeritus III alleen door synth en percussie begeleid wordt. Geslaagd maar niet echt passend tussen de andere tracks. Daarna Missionary Man van Eurythmics, een track die ik veel beluisterde in de jaren 80. Een gewaagde keuze, maar de band komt ermee weg. Bible van het Zweedse Imperiet sluit de ep af. Deze cover vind ik niet zo geslaagd. Hij is nogal schatplichtig aan het origineel waardoor er geen grote Ghost-draai aan wordt gegeven. De song biedt nochtans heel wat mogelijkheden.

Popestar is een ep met één Ghost-track, een fantastische track by the way. Daarnaast zijn er enkele geslaagde covers. Een zoethoudertje.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : GHOST - Popestar 11/12/2016 : GHOST - Popestar

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
10
09
AUSTRA
Utopia
09
09
ROSA CRVX
Omnes