tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : GHOST - Popestar

GHOST

Popestar

MusicCD (EP)
GlamrockMetal

[80/100]   

Spinefarm Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Ghost is a strange creature in metal land. The band looks daunting, but the music contain some pop elements. That goes for the latest album Meloria that sounded lighter than its predecessor, but it was a strong release. The opinions among the fans were divided over Meloria, but the music is put together in a clev er way. The vocals are clean and reminiscent of singers like Freddie Mercury, James Dio...

The latest release is an EP with one new Ghost song and four covers. No obvious covers anyway. Opener Square Hammer is a new Ghost song that rocks. The vocals are wonderfully melodic. The track is solid. Then the covers... Nocturnal Me by Echo & The Bunymen is sounds good. It is slightly heavier than the original, which gives the song a dark vibe. I Believe by Simian Mobile Disco sounds as ambient. It is spacey music on which Papa Emeritus III is only accompanied by synth and percussion. Nice, but a misfit between the rest of the tracks. Missionary Man by Eurythmics is a song I listened to a lot in the 80s. It's a bold choice. The band gets away with it though. Bible of the Swedishband Imperiet closes the EP. I do not really like this cover version because it doesn't add much to the original. It has no large Ghost-twist, although the song offers many opportunities.

Pope Star is an EP with one ghost track, a great track by the way. In addition, it contains some wonderful covers. A successful sop.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Ghost is een vreemd beestje in metalland. De bandleden zien er wat afschrikwekkend uit maar hun muziek bezit nogal wat popelementen. Dat geldt vooral voor het laatste album Meloria dat lichter klonk dan hun voorganger maar wel een sterke release was. Toegegeven: de meningen onder de fans waren wat verdeeld over Meloria. Je mag ervan zeggen wat je wilt, maar de muziek zit clever in elkaar. De zang is clean en doet eerder denken aan zangers zoals Freddy Mercury, James Dio…

De nieuwste release is een ep met één nieuwe Ghost-song en vier covers. Geen voor de hand liggende covers trouwens. Opener Square Hammer is een nieuwe compositie die rockt als de beesten. De zang is heerlijk melodieus. De track staat als een huis. Dan de covers… Nocturnal Me van Echo & The Bunymen is zeer geslaagd. Iets zwaarder dan het origineel met een donkere vibe. I Believe van Simian Mobile Disco klinkt als ambient, spacy muziek waarbij Papa Emeritus III alleen door synth en percussie begeleid wordt. Geslaagd maar niet echt passend tussen de andere tracks. Daarna Missionary Man van Eurythmics, een track die ik veel beluisterde in de jaren 80. Een gewaagde keuze, maar de band komt ermee weg. Bible van het Zweedse Imperiet sluit de ep af. Deze cover vind ik niet zo geslaagd. Hij is nogal schatplichtig aan het origineel waardoor er geen grote Ghost-draai aan wordt gegeven. De song biedt nochtans heel wat mogelijkheden.

Popestar is een ep met één Ghost-track, een fantastische track by the way. Daarnaast zijn er enkele geslaagde covers. Een zoethoudertje.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : GHOST - Popestar 11/12/2016 : GHOST - Popestar

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?