casinomaxi casino metropol canli casino

11/12/2016 : DEF NEON - Def Neon

DEF NEON

Def Neon

MusicCD
Electro PopElectropunkIndieSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[77/100]   

AnalogueTrash Records
11/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

A combination of (indie) rock, electro, synthpop and a strong bass. That's what Def Neon from North Wales (Wrexham) has to offer and the first album will be out on Analogue Trash Records by the end of 2016. The band performed with Pop Will Eat Itself, The Orb and The Birthday Massacre and wase praised by critics forits energetic performances.

Rotoscope contains of a recurrent synth rhythm, drums and catchy melodic guitar work. The lead singer’s vocals sound poppy. Destroy has the same ingredients. It's nice to hear the influences from very diverse styles. It sounds poppy and funky, but not boring.

Distorted guitars and a retro-sounding synth melody in Night Vision. The guitar dances with a solid rhythm section. Stand-up rumbles on with an interminable percussion, Jed Is Dead is experimental electro, with lots of bleeps and a catchy, mysterious synthesizer tune. The guitars take the lead in Damaged, the bass strings are tormented painfully. But they seem to love it....

Chocolate is topped with distortion and some noisy fragments, the guitar work is not really hard.

And than the greatest song on the album: High Hopes. Great to hear the explosive combination of elements from all kind of styles. The vocals sound slightly more alternative. Winter is synth pop in a more pure form. Nice beat, danceable and catchy. Stop sounds solid and hard. It includes elements of garage rock and grunge with guitar work that sounds like Van Halen.

The conclusion? A classic? No... Varied? Yes. A band with potential? Yes. If this band can do the same on stage with the same energy, I may be one of the spectators.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
EGRETS ON EGROT • Serve Us Tender
ORGANIC • Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
FAUNA TWIN • The Hydra EP
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
KARIES • Es Geht Sich Aus
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
CROOKED MAN • Crooked Man
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
CHROM • Peak And Decay
WE THE NORTH • Endemic
JOHN FOXX • 21st Century, A Man, A Woman and a City
CHIRON • We Own The Night
THYX • Headless
LAS AVES • Die in Shangai
AD VITAM • The Crush EP

 

Same genre: ELECTROPUNK
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Vagina Dentata
LAST AVENUE • Integration Protocol
SSLEEPING DESIRESS • Ssleeping Desiress
HOCICO • In The Name Of Violence
CONTINENTAL+LIAISON • Series Of Events
APHEX TWIN • Syro
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Glaube Liebe Hoffnung
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
DEVIL-M • Revenge of the Antichrist
COCKSURE • KKEP

 

Same genre: INDIE
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau
USUREI YATSURA • You Are My Usurei Yatsura:
SILVER APPLES • Clinging to a Dream
THEE OH SEES • A Weird Exists
FAUNA TWIN • The Hydra EP

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
DICEPEOPLE • Synthetic
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)
COVENANT • The Blinding Dark
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
SIMPLE MINDS • New Gold Dream '81 '82 '83 '84
FORETASTE • Space Echoes
TORUL • Saviour of Love
LEAETHER STRIP • Reptile Man Drop: A Tribute To Simple Minds
PET SHOP BOYS • Super

Music reviews

29
03
STRUCKTURA
Satues Also Die
27
03
PHALLUS DEI
Black Dawn
25
03
CYGNOSIC
Siren
24
03
BESTIAL MOUTHS
(STILL) Heartless
23
03
PEINE PERDUE
Histoire d'une Âme
21
03
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO
Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
03
CUBANATE is back with ‘BRUTALISM'- a retrospective collection!
27
03
Steven Severin releases (a lot of) new work
26
03
DIVE (Dirk Ivens) releases brand new studio album 'Underneath'
24
03
115 bands announced for Wave Gotik Treffen
23
03
Alison Moyet announces new album “Other” (& tour)
22
03
Lokerse Feesten: 19 new bands announced!

Concert reviews

26
03
26 TH WAVE UND GOTIK TREFFEN - JUNE 2TH - 5 TH 2017
Some minimal bands to check out !
21
03
ELM, MONO ELECTRONIC DENSITY, LUMYIA
Les Vierges Morbides, Café Bobble, Lomme/Rijsel - 11 maart 2017
02
03
THIS MORN'OMINA, STIN SCATZOR, MIREXXX, NOIZE MACHINE
Dark Discharge Industrial Night - Roubaix - 25/02/2017
28
01
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT
Playing Substance by New Order / Playing Substance by Joy Division @ Het Depot - Leuven - B - 27.01.2017
12
12
GROUND NERO - CHARNIER
Kinky Star - 9 december
11
12
KILLING JOKE
Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
03
ALVAR
2017 Dark Demo(n)s candidate
27
03
X-MOUTH SYNDROME
2017 Dark Demo(n)s candidate
24
03
ELM
2017 Dark Demo(n)s candidate
22
03
31ST TILE
2017 Dark Demo(n)s candidate
21
03
CAUSENATION
2017 Dark Demo(n)s candidate

PHOTOS

19
03
COLD CAVE
Fantastique Night XLXI, Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
19
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Fantastique Night XLXI, Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
13
03
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
DownHill XI Edition, Poppodium Volt, Sittard, The Netherlands
13
03
SUICIDE COMMANDO
DownHill XI Edition, Poppodium Volt, Sittard, The Netherlands
13
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
DownHill XI Edition, Poppodium Volt, Sittard, The Netherlands
13
03
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
DownHill XI Edition, Poppodium Volt, Sittard, The Netherlands
11
03
LEBANON HANOVER
BEURSSCHOUWBURG, Brussels, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

30
03
COVENANT
Sound Mirrors
29
03
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Conjure
28
03
GOOSE
Synrise
27
03
ALISON MOYET
Is This Love
26
03
BLONDIE
Call Me
25
03
ORBITAL
One Perfect Sunrise
24
03
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg