tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : GRAUSAME TOCHTER - Vagina Dentata

GRAUSAME TOCHTER

Vagina Dentata

MusicCD
EBMElectropunk

[72/100]   

Dark Dimensions
10/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

The new Grausame Töchter album is called Vagina Dentata. Sigmund Freud came up with that term. Vagina Dentata or toothed the vagina is related to the male fear for attractive women and is connected with the castration complex. Vagina Dentata also represents the mouth of hell or the gate to hell. It fits perfectly with the erotic themes of Aranea Peel’s electropunk band.

Like the previous album Glaube, Liebe, Hoffnung, the new Vagina Dentata is an eclectic album. But I wasn’t impressed after the first listen. How was it possible that I rewarded Glaube, Liebe, Hoffnung with 84 points out of 100? Was I easily packed by the erotic music videos? Was I blinded by the bold and provocative lyrics? No, I wasn’t. Glaube, Liebe, Hoffnung was an entertaining album with atmosphere, menace and variation. An album with a strong beginning that combined industrial sounds with cellos. But on Vagina Dentata the industrial sounds are rather scarce, they only appear in Fleish Für Die Hyänen and Angst Entstellt Den Menschen. The cellos make room for guitars and even for brass instruments. As a whole, Vagina Dentata is less ominous and less vivacious than its predecessor, but it surely is a varied album.

Vagina Dentata opens with the eponymous and minimally instrumentated title track, in which we hear a threatening Aranea Peel. She continues with the same flair in Liebe Will Beweise. You don’t mess with this lady. Aranea still sounds commanding, dangerous, tempting and insane. She uses her voice as a versatile instrument.

Ich Liebe Meine Vagina doesn’t captivate me. To me it seems a too obvious attempt to write a sing-along. After a reluctant start, Wie Eine Krake impresses: Grausame Töchter sounds delightfully compelling. The highlights of the album are Annika Ist Tot and Tor Zur Hölle with its twinkling piano lines, propulsive electronics and chunky guitars.

The second half of the album consists mainly of upbeat tracks for the dance floor, except the strange circus song Die Ganze Welt Ist Ein Zirkus and the surprising Nordsee Tango, both dominated by brass instruments. In Nordsee Tango, you can hear Aranea Peel’s love for chanson. The lyrics of Los Schlampe, Ficken Geht Immer, Fette Katzen, Perverse Mädchen and Sisyphos Will Vögeln are a little provocative and contain a lot of humour. In Vagina Dentata (Xotox Remix) you hear the abundant distorted industrial sounds that are missing elsewhere on the album.

Vagina Dentata might not be as captivating as Glaube, Liebe, Hoffnung, but Aranea Peel is an idiosyncratic phenomenon that keeps on surprising.

Benny CALUWE
10/12/2016


NL

Het nieuwe album van Grausame Töchter is Vagina Dentata gedoopt. De term is geleend bij Sigmund Freud. Vagina Dentata of getande vagina staat voor de angst van mannen voor de verleidelijke vrouw en wordt in verband gebracht met het castratiecomplex. De Vagina Dentata stelt soms ook de toegangspoort tot de hel voor. Dit alles past helemaal in de erotische thema’s die bij de electropunkband omtrent de charismatische frontvrouw Aranea Peel aan bod komen

Net als het eerdere album Glaube, Liebe, Hoffnung is Vagina Dentata een eclectische plaat. Na de eerste luisterbeurt was ik echter weinig onder de indruk. Hoe was het mogelijk dat ik Glaube, Liebe, Hoffnung had beloond met 84 op 100? Had ik me als een adolescent laten inpakken door enkele erotisch getinte YouTube-video’s? Had ik me een rad voor de ogen laten draaien door gedurfde soms wat provocerende songteksten? Nee. Glaube, Liebe, Hoffnung was een onderhoudende plaat met de nodige atmosfeer, dreiging en variatie. Een plaat met een enorm sterk begin, waarop industriële klanken en cello’s duelleren. Maar op Vagina Dentata zijn de industrial elementen schaarser, die duiken alleen op in Fleisch Für Die Hyänen en Angst Entstellt Den Menschen. De cello’s maakten met wisselend succes plaats voor gitaren en zelfs blazers. Als geheel is Vagina Dentata minder dreigend en minder beklijvend als der voorganger, maar gevarieerd is het album zeker.

Het album opent met de gelijknamige en minimaal geïnstrumenteerde titeltrack, waarin Aranea dreigend klinkt. Ze gaat op haar elan door in Liebe Will Beweise. Met deze dame sol je niet. Als vanouds klinkt Aranea Peel afwisselend gebiedend, gevaarlijk of (al dan niet prettig) gestoord. Ze gebruikt haar kenmerkende stem als een veelzijdig instrument.

Ich Liebe Meine Vagina kan me minder bekoren. Hier hengelt men te nadrukkelijk naar een meezinger. Na een aarzelende start, imponeert Wie Eine Krake wel. Grausame Töchter klinkt heerlijk dwingend. Hoogtepunten op het album zijn Annika Ist Tot en Tor Zur Hölle met de rinkelende pianomelodieën, voortstuwende electronica en de stevige gitaren.

De tweede helft van het album bestaat hoofdzakelijk uit uptempo tracks, bedoeld voor de dansvloer, op 2 songs na. Die Ganze Welt Ist Ein Zirkus, een vreemd cirkusliedje en de verrassende Nordsee Tango worden gedomineerd door blaasinstrumenten. In laatstgenoemde hoor je Aranea’s liefde voor chansons. De lyrics van Los Schlampe (= stoephoer), Ficken Geht Immer; Fette Katzen, Perverse Mädchen en Sisyphos Will Vögeln zijn een tikkeltje aangebrand en bevatten de nodige humor. De Vagina Dentata (Xotox Remix) is rijkelijk bestrooid met de distorted industrial sounds die het album ontbeert.

Hoewel deze Vagina Dentata minder geslaagd is dan de voorganger, is Aranea Peel een eigenzinnig fenomeen dat blijft boeien en verbazen.

Benny CALUWE
10/12/2016


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)