tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : AMBER ARCADES - Fading Lines

AMBER ARCADES

Fading Lines

MusicCD
DreampopEthereal / Heavenly VoicesIndie Rock

[70/100]   

PIAS
10/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

After two EPs (Amber Arcades, 2013; Patiently, 2015), Amber Arcades (moniker of the Dutch Annelotte de Graaf) releases the debut album Fading Lines: a collection of 10 songs that we situate between indie rock and dreampop. De Graaf's melodic and slightly husky voice, combined with whining guitars and a lot of echo, results in an album with beautiful pop songs that will please teenage girls and romantic souls. It all sounds great, melodic and dreamy, and it is also well made.

We draw your attention to Perpetuum Mobile because it sounds different than the rest of the material (without whining guitars), with a strong and attractive melody, and to Aphophenia because of the stunning slide guitar of Meg Duffy, while the panting percussion and the trembling guitars in Turning Light convince us as well, and even the final track White Fuzz: simple, yet wonderful lyrics with atmospheric noise in the background.

Right Now and This Time are good sounding indie pop songs, and after a second and third listening,
even I Will Follow continues to float through our heads.

Lovers of dream pop can buy this album with eyes closed.

Tracklist:
1 Come With Me
2 Constant’s Dream
3 Fading Lines
4 I Will Follow
5 Perpetuum Mobile
6 Right Now
7 Apophenia
8 This Time
9 Turning Light
10 White Fuzz

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


NL

Na twee ep’s (Amber Arcades, 2013; Patiently, 2015), brengt Amber Arcades (pseudoniem voor de Utrechtse Annelotte de Graaf) het debuutalbum Fading Lines uit, een verzameling van 10 liedjes die we situeren tussen indierock en dreampop. De Graafs melodieuze en lichtjes omfloerste stem, gecombineerd met jengelende gitaren en flink wat echo, resulteert in een album met fraaie popsongs waarmee vooral tienermeisjes en romantische zielen zich zullen kunnen affirmeren. Het klinkt allemaal uitstekend, melodieus en dromerig en het is bovendien goed gemaakt.

We pikken er Perpetuum Mobile uit omdat het anders klinkt dan de rest van het materiaal (zonder jengelende gitaren), met een sterke en aantrekkelijke melodie, en Aphophenia wegens de prachtige slidegitaar van Meg Duffy, terwijl de hijgende percussie en de bibberende gitaren in Turning Light ons ook kunnen overtuigen, evenals de eindtrack White Fuzz: een eenvoudig en toch wondermooi liedje met atmosferisch geruis op de achtergrond.

Right Now en This Time zijn op hun beurt goed klinkende indiepopsongs en na een tweede en derde beluisering blijft ook I Will Follow langer dan nodig in ons hoofd hangen.

Liefhebbers van dreampop hoeven in elk geval niet te twijfelen.

Tracklist:
1 Come With Me
2 Constant’s Dream
3 Fading Lines
4 I Will Follow
5 Perpetuum Mobile
6 Right Now
7 Apophenia
8 This Time
9 Turning Light
10 White Fuzz

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : AMBER ARCADES - Fading Lines 10/12/2016 : AMBER ARCADES - Fading Lines

Music reviews

17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R
13
08
AIMA
Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
12
08
AUGER
From Now On I

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS
07
08
CHELSEA announce European Tour in September

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo
17
08
MOTOR!K
Static
16
08
ENZO KREFT
Disobedient
15
08
DER KLINKE
CURTAINS