tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : AMBER ARCADES - Fading Lines

AMBER ARCADES

Fading Lines

MusicCD
DreampopEthereal / Heavenly VoicesIndie Rock

[70/100]   

PIAS
10/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

After two EPs (Amber Arcades, 2013; Patiently, 2015), Amber Arcades (moniker of the Dutch Annelotte de Graaf) releases the debut album Fading Lines: a collection of 10 songs that we situate between indie rock and dreampop. De Graaf's melodic and slightly husky voice, combined with whining guitars and a lot of echo, results in an album with beautiful pop songs that will please teenage girls and romantic souls. It all sounds great, melodic and dreamy, and it is also well made.

We draw your attention to Perpetuum Mobile because it sounds different than the rest of the material (without whining guitars), with a strong and attractive melody, and to Aphophenia because of the stunning slide guitar of Meg Duffy, while the panting percussion and the trembling guitars in Turning Light convince us as well, and even the final track White Fuzz: simple, yet wonderful lyrics with atmospheric noise in the background.

Right Now and This Time are good sounding indie pop songs, and after a second and third listening,
even I Will Follow continues to float through our heads.

Lovers of dream pop can buy this album with eyes closed.

Tracklist:
1 Come With Me
2 Constant’s Dream
3 Fading Lines
4 I Will Follow
5 Perpetuum Mobile
6 Right Now
7 Apophenia
8 This Time
9 Turning Light
10 White Fuzz

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


NL

Na twee ep’s (Amber Arcades, 2013; Patiently, 2015), brengt Amber Arcades (pseudoniem voor de Utrechtse Annelotte de Graaf) het debuutalbum Fading Lines uit, een verzameling van 10 liedjes die we situeren tussen indierock en dreampop. De Graafs melodieuze en lichtjes omfloerste stem, gecombineerd met jengelende gitaren en flink wat echo, resulteert in een album met fraaie popsongs waarmee vooral tienermeisjes en romantische zielen zich zullen kunnen affirmeren. Het klinkt allemaal uitstekend, melodieus en dromerig en het is bovendien goed gemaakt.

We pikken er Perpetuum Mobile uit omdat het anders klinkt dan de rest van het materiaal (zonder jengelende gitaren), met een sterke en aantrekkelijke melodie, en Aphophenia wegens de prachtige slidegitaar van Meg Duffy, terwijl de hijgende percussie en de bibberende gitaren in Turning Light ons ook kunnen overtuigen, evenals de eindtrack White Fuzz: een eenvoudig en toch wondermooi liedje met atmosferisch geruis op de achtergrond.

Right Now en This Time zijn op hun beurt goed klinkende indiepopsongs en na een tweede en derde beluisering blijft ook I Will Follow langer dan nodig in ons hoofd hangen.

Liefhebbers van dreampop hoeven in elk geval niet te twijfelen.

Tracklist:
1 Come With Me
2 Constant’s Dream
3 Fading Lines
4 I Will Follow
5 Perpetuum Mobile
6 Right Now
7 Apophenia
8 This Time
9 Turning Light
10 White Fuzz

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : AMBER ARCADES - Fading Lines 10/12/2016 : AMBER ARCADES - Fading Lines

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis