tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : AMBER ARCADES - Fading Lines

AMBER ARCADES

Fading Lines

MusicCD
DreampopEthereal / Heavenly VoicesIndie Rock

[70/100]   

PIAS
10/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

After two EPs (Amber Arcades, 2013; Patiently, 2015), Amber Arcades (moniker of the Dutch Annelotte de Graaf) releases the debut album Fading Lines: a collection of 10 songs that we situate between indie rock and dreampop. De Graaf's melodic and slightly husky voice, combined with whining guitars and a lot of echo, results in an album with beautiful pop songs that will please teenage girls and romantic souls. It all sounds great, melodic and dreamy, and it is also well made.

We draw your attention to Perpetuum Mobile because it sounds different than the rest of the material (without whining guitars), with a strong and attractive melody, and to Aphophenia because of the stunning slide guitar of Meg Duffy, while the panting percussion and the trembling guitars in Turning Light convince us as well, and even the final track White Fuzz: simple, yet wonderful lyrics with atmospheric noise in the background.

Right Now and This Time are good sounding indie pop songs, and after a second and third listening,
even I Will Follow continues to float through our heads.

Lovers of dream pop can buy this album with eyes closed.

Tracklist:
1 Come With Me
2 Constant’s Dream
3 Fading Lines
4 I Will Follow
5 Perpetuum Mobile
6 Right Now
7 Apophenia
8 This Time
9 Turning Light
10 White Fuzz

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


NL

Na twee ep’s (Amber Arcades, 2013; Patiently, 2015), brengt Amber Arcades (pseudoniem voor de Utrechtse Annelotte de Graaf) het debuutalbum Fading Lines uit, een verzameling van 10 liedjes die we situeren tussen indierock en dreampop. De Graafs melodieuze en lichtjes omfloerste stem, gecombineerd met jengelende gitaren en flink wat echo, resulteert in een album met fraaie popsongs waarmee vooral tienermeisjes en romantische zielen zich zullen kunnen affirmeren. Het klinkt allemaal uitstekend, melodieus en dromerig en het is bovendien goed gemaakt.

We pikken er Perpetuum Mobile uit omdat het anders klinkt dan de rest van het materiaal (zonder jengelende gitaren), met een sterke en aantrekkelijke melodie, en Aphophenia wegens de prachtige slidegitaar van Meg Duffy, terwijl de hijgende percussie en de bibberende gitaren in Turning Light ons ook kunnen overtuigen, evenals de eindtrack White Fuzz: een eenvoudig en toch wondermooi liedje met atmosferisch geruis op de achtergrond.

Right Now en This Time zijn op hun beurt goed klinkende indiepopsongs en na een tweede en derde beluisering blijft ook I Will Follow langer dan nodig in ons hoofd hangen.

Liefhebbers van dreampop hoeven in elk geval niet te twijfelen.

Tracklist:
1 Come With Me
2 Constant’s Dream
3 Fading Lines
4 I Will Follow
5 Perpetuum Mobile
6 Right Now
7 Apophenia
8 This Time
9 Turning Light
10 White Fuzz

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : AMBER ARCADES - Fading Lines 10/12/2016 : AMBER ARCADES - Fading Lines

Music reviews

18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead
14
10
VLIMMER
Angststand
13
10
VENTENNER
Killing Jar

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018
16
10
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play - out on iTunes today!
15
10
PEEK-A-BOO MAGAZINE N° 31 - OUT NOW!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had
06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me
16
10
DOOMSQUAD
Pyramids On Mars
15
10
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn