tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : AMBER ARCADES - Fading Lines

AMBER ARCADES

Fading Lines

MusicCD
DreampopEthereal / Heavenly VoicesIndie Rock

[70/100]   

PIAS
10/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

After two EPs (Amber Arcades, 2013; Patiently, 2015), Amber Arcades (moniker of the Dutch Annelotte de Graaf) releases the debut album Fading Lines: a collection of 10 songs that we situate between indie rock and dreampop. De Graaf's melodic and slightly husky voice, combined with whining guitars and a lot of echo, results in an album with beautiful pop songs that will please teenage girls and romantic souls. It all sounds great, melodic and dreamy, and it is also well made.

We draw your attention to Perpetuum Mobile because it sounds different than the rest of the material (without whining guitars), with a strong and attractive melody, and to Aphophenia because of the stunning slide guitar of Meg Duffy, while the panting percussion and the trembling guitars in Turning Light convince us as well, and even the final track White Fuzz: simple, yet wonderful lyrics with atmospheric noise in the background.

Right Now and This Time are good sounding indie pop songs, and after a second and third listening,
even I Will Follow continues to float through our heads.

Lovers of dream pop can buy this album with eyes closed.

Tracklist:
1 Come With Me
2 Constant’s Dream
3 Fading Lines
4 I Will Follow
5 Perpetuum Mobile
6 Right Now
7 Apophenia
8 This Time
9 Turning Light
10 White Fuzz

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


NL

Na twee ep’s (Amber Arcades, 2013; Patiently, 2015), brengt Amber Arcades (pseudoniem voor de Utrechtse Annelotte de Graaf) het debuutalbum Fading Lines uit, een verzameling van 10 liedjes die we situeren tussen indierock en dreampop. De Graafs melodieuze en lichtjes omfloerste stem, gecombineerd met jengelende gitaren en flink wat echo, resulteert in een album met fraaie popsongs waarmee vooral tienermeisjes en romantische zielen zich zullen kunnen affirmeren. Het klinkt allemaal uitstekend, melodieus en dromerig en het is bovendien goed gemaakt.

We pikken er Perpetuum Mobile uit omdat het anders klinkt dan de rest van het materiaal (zonder jengelende gitaren), met een sterke en aantrekkelijke melodie, en Aphophenia wegens de prachtige slidegitaar van Meg Duffy, terwijl de hijgende percussie en de bibberende gitaren in Turning Light ons ook kunnen overtuigen, evenals de eindtrack White Fuzz: een eenvoudig en toch wondermooi liedje met atmosferisch geruis op de achtergrond.

Right Now en This Time zijn op hun beurt goed klinkende indiepopsongs en na een tweede en derde beluisering blijft ook I Will Follow langer dan nodig in ons hoofd hangen.

Liefhebbers van dreampop hoeven in elk geval niet te twijfelen.

Tracklist:
1 Come With Me
2 Constant’s Dream
3 Fading Lines
4 I Will Follow
5 Perpetuum Mobile
6 Right Now
7 Apophenia
8 This Time
9 Turning Light
10 White Fuzz

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : AMBER ARCADES - Fading Lines 10/12/2016 : AMBER ARCADES - Fading Lines

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
12
Life On Mars?-Hunky Dory Is 47 Today!
16
12
'Vampire' - new Blutengel single
15
12
A Date In Camden | The Fall At The Witch Trial
14
12
On this day, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 39 Today!
13
12
Horses | Patti Smith’s Debut Masterpiece 43 Years On!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

13
12
DIVE
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
13
12
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
12
NORMA LOY
Baphomet
16
12
THE SPECTORS
Clyde & Bonnie
15
12
LACRIMOSA
Die Unbekannte Farbe
14
12
OFELIADORME
Hands
13
12
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain