tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : DEAD RABBITS - The Ticket That Exploded

DEAD RABBITS

The Ticket That Exploded

MusicCD

Fuzz Club
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

Dead Rabbits from Southampton is one of the most popular bands on Fuzz Club. After having released TimeIsYourOnlyEnemy, the British label of the band made a trip in the past by releasing the debut album from 2013 on both CD and vinyl, and for those who are interested, there is even a tape available.

You can say a lot about this debut, but not about the fact that this gem is unknown. Well, okay, that’s probably the fate of many good indie records, but it still hurts as this album is surely as good as a classic by The Telescopes or Moose (if you can remember them).

Described by the label as music that captures the bleak reality of growing up in modern Britain, you will find nine tracks here that all breath a high dose of nihilism. The vocals by singer Tom Hayes are as careless as those by Jim Reid. The songs are quite psychedelic (hello Spacemen 3!), the fuzz guitars are shoegaze (so hello Loop!) and above all: it’s noisy pop (well hello My Bloody Valentine!).

Of course there are many bands that make music like this, but you’ll rarely come across a band that makes irresistible tunes like It’s All In Her Head, MMB or Pulling The Trigger (the song with the superb chorus All I Ask You Is To Leave).

Perhaps pop noir with fuzz guitars is a perfect way to describe the sound of these lads. I don’t know, but it sounds superb and for this kind of records, people invented the repeat button. This is top!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
04
07
'Locating Silver Lake' celebrates its international premiere at Edinburgh Film Festival!
29
06
Tonight! Dark Entries Night @ Kinky Star with Dead Man's Hill & Causenation!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl
12
07
SOFT RIOT
Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen
11
07
EUROPEAN GHOST
Suspended in the void