tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : DEAD RABBITS - The Ticket That Exploded

DEAD RABBITS

The Ticket That Exploded

MusicCD

Fuzz Club
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

Dead Rabbits from Southampton is one of the most popular bands on Fuzz Club. After having released TimeIsYourOnlyEnemy, the British label of the band made a trip in the past by releasing the debut album from 2013 on both CD and vinyl, and for those who are interested, there is even a tape available.

You can say a lot about this debut, but not about the fact that this gem is unknown. Well, okay, that’s probably the fate of many good indie records, but it still hurts as this album is surely as good as a classic by The Telescopes or Moose (if you can remember them).

Described by the label as music that captures the bleak reality of growing up in modern Britain, you will find nine tracks here that all breath a high dose of nihilism. The vocals by singer Tom Hayes are as careless as those by Jim Reid. The songs are quite psychedelic (hello Spacemen 3!), the fuzz guitars are shoegaze (so hello Loop!) and above all: it’s noisy pop (well hello My Bloody Valentine!).

Of course there are many bands that make music like this, but you’ll rarely come across a band that makes irresistible tunes like It’s All In Her Head, MMB or Pulling The Trigger (the song with the superb chorus All I Ask You Is To Leave).

Perhaps pop noir with fuzz guitars is a perfect way to describe the sound of these lads. I don’t know, but it sounds superb and for this kind of records, people invented the repeat button. This is top!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle
15
04
PSY'AVIAH
Lightflare
14
04
MINISTRY
Amerikkkant

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'
15
04
Vogue.Noir release Strange.Days
14
04
Mourners release their first songs!
13
04
Empirion sign with Dependent
12
04
Nox Interna will release their EP 'A Minor Road' in May 2018
11
04
VOODOMA releases new video 'High Again' (acoustic version)

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’
13
03
PSY'AVIAH
'For me, music was important, because I can lose myself in it and find comfort in it.'
08
03
SOFT RIOT
Jack Duckworth talks about Soft Riot

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
04
MIDAS FALL
Glue
19
04
0KONTROL
Limbo
18
04
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
17
04
LANA DEL RABIES
Vicious End
16
04
DIAMOND BLACK
Ghost in the Glass
15
04
HATCHLING
Holly
14
04
THE ARCH
Dark Room