tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : SPARK! - Maskiner

SPARK!

Maskiner

MusicCD
EBM

[69/100]   

Progress Productions
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Those who fancy old-school EBM can embrace the pounding beats of Swedish band Spark! Three years ago, the future for this project looked anything but rosy. Singer Stefan Brorsson left the band, and Mattias Ziessow was forced to release his latest album (Spektrum) with a host of guest singers (from Spetznaz to Leaether Strip).

On Maskiner however, Christer Hermodsson joins which makes Spark! sound like a real band again. If you feel nothing for EBM, then you be interested in these 11 tracks. Each song is built with the same structure: very hard Nitzer Ebb beats, a tight rhythm and everything sung in Swedish. For untrained ears, these beats probably will sound too monotonous. Except the melodic Maskiner and the Covenant-like Vansinn E, there is hardly any variation.

EBM fanatics who can not get enough of this kind of music, can add this disc to the collection without any hesitation.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Zin in wat ouderwetse old school EBM zonder dat je je daar al te veel vragen bij hoeft te stellen? Nou, dan zit je met de Zweedse formatie Spark! gebeiteld. Een drietal jaar geleden zag de toekomst voor dit project er allesbehalve rooskleurig uit. Zanger Stefan Brorsson verliet de band waardoor Mattias Ziessow verplicht was om zijn nieuwste album (Spektrum) met een resem gastzangers (van Spetznaz tot Leaether Strip) uit te brengen.

Op Maskiner komt echter de redding van Christer Hermodsson, waardoor Spark! opnieuw als een hechte band klinkt. Wie geen boodschap heeft aan EBM, zal maar weinig met deze 11 tracks kunnen aanvangen. Iedere song is namelijk volgens hetzelfde stramien gebouwd: loeiharde Nitzer Ebb-beats, een strak ritme en alles in het Zweeds gezongen. Voor niet getrainde oortjes zouden deze beats wel eens wat te monotoon kunnen klinken, want op het melodieuze Maskiner en het Covenant-achtige Vansinn-E na, is er van variatie amper sprake.

EBM-fanaten die maar niet genoeg krijgen van dit soort muziek mogen deze schijf zonder enige aarzeling aan de collectie toevoegen.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed