tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : STENDAL BLAST - Ein Abschied - Das Letzte Konzert

STENDAL BLAST

Ein Abschied - Das Letzte Konzert

MusicCD
Alternative RockNeue Deutsche HärtePunk

[76/100]   

Dark Dimensions
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

If you are interested in underground music, then you definitely came across Stendal Blast, especially if you have a passion for German acts. This band from the Ruhr area was founded in 1989 with Einstürzende Neubauten, Die Krupps and Throbbing Gristle as role models.

What started as a joke, became serious when the band from Dorsten went on tour with Calva Y Nada, and later signed a contract with Chrom Records (the label that released the albums by Deine Lakaien). Kaaja Hoyda’s band soon became popular, although no one could label the music. Some songs were EBM-oriented, others were Neue Deutsche Härte, while a lot of music fans saw them as a pure punk band. Probably no one will ever know, but one thing is for sure: Stendal Blast is a band that says exactly what it thinks. The lyrics were funny, but always critical. The anarcho-punk wasn’t always appreciated by the public, and Stendal Blast was both loved and hated. The band released albums that became cult classics in Germany (Was Verdorrt, Alles Liebe and Morgenrot).

Anyway, in 2013 the band decided to drop the curtain after fourteen years with a farewell concert in Leipzig (at the Moritzbastei, a venue which is known among WGT visitors). Three years later, Stendal Blast’s latest record company (Dark Dimensions) releases this final gig on a double CD. It’s indeed the ultimate gift for all the fans, but also a perfect introduction for those who aren’t familiar with Stendal Blast’s music.

Of course understanding German is an absolute bonus if you want to enjoy Stendal Blast’s music, as almost every chosen word has a high dose of irony, not only in the lyrics, but also in the introductory text by singer Kaaja. Funny, but hard. Indeed, freedom is not the ability to choose between ten types of meat salads in the supermarket. Freedom is something, well...completely different.

As announced at the very beginning: Ein abschied kann ein Fest sein (a farewell can be a party), and that’s the essence in a nutshell as Ein Abschied-Das Letzte Konzert leads you through nearly two decades of German electro rock punk.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH • Motetten (JardinDesVoix & Barokensemble Aspetti Musicali o.l.v. Koen Lamberechts, Gent, Sint-Elisabethkerk, 28/05/2016)
WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT • Wild Roses For The Exit
BLEACHED • Lille, L'Aeronef (24/05/2016)
AD VITAM • The Crush EP
BESTIAL MOUTHS • Heartless
DOOMSQUAD • Antwerpen, Trix (28/05/2016)
NEW DARK AGE + CURTIS • Gent, De Charlatan (27/05/2016)
ORATIONS • Incantation EP
WAN'S • Lost Inside

 

Other reviews from STENDAL BLAST
STENDAL BLAST • Wir Ergeben Uns / Das Beste Zum Schluss

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
G.U.S.T. • Gust of wind
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
THE HEAT INC. • EP
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures

 

Same genre: NEUE DEUTSCHE HäRTE
OST+FRONT • Ikarus
SPIELBANN • Wiedergänger
ELANDOR • Loveless Mind
DIE PERLEN • Zurück
HERZPARASIT • Fromme Lämmer
LEICHENWETTER • Legende

 

Same genre: PUNK
THE PULSEBEATS • LOOKIN’ OUT
SONNY VINCENT • Shake Pit Therapy
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design