tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : WAN'S - Lost Inside

WAN'S

Lost Inside

MusicCD (EP)
New wavePost Punk

[73/100]   

Sunny Side Up
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If you read the text of the booklet, you become a little quiet. During the making of this EP, many rock gods (Glenn Frey, Lemmy Kilmister and of course David Bowie) left this globe. These are facts that affect you, you even shed a tear (and often more than that), but reportedly, life goes on. Also for Wan's. It's a band you might not know, but about six years ago these Belgians released the nice CD In A Lifetime, which was a successful blend of alternative rock, post-punk, EBM and electro.

On the new EP Lost Inside (the cover reminds us in one way or another of Nowhere by Ride) four tracks are included.

The wave rock of Shine On starts hard and refers to the later period of Echo And The Bunnymen. Heavy guitars and a chorus that you shout from the first to the last second. In the middle of the track, you even hear the return of the bagpipe guitars! Big Country, anyone?

Rage offers you the same, but it sounds more melancholic. Mommy also goes in that direction,but the best of the EP is saved for the end: Walking is a mysterious, very intimate song that sounds a bit like Suede.

Conclusion? More than just good!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Als je de tekst van het hoesje leest, word je een heel klein beetje stil. Tijdens de opnames van deze ep verlieten heel wat rockgoden (Glenn Frey, Lemmy Kilmister en natuurlijk David Bowie) de aardbol. Het zijn feiten die je raken, je pinkt er een traantje bij weg (en vaak meer dan dat), maar naar verluidt gaat het leven voort. Ook voor Wan’s is dat het geval. Het is een band die je misschien niet meteen kent, maar zo’n zes jaar geleden bracht deze Belgische formatie de niet onaardige cd In A Lifetime uit, een geslaagde mix van alternatieve rock, post punk, EBM en elektro.

Op de nieuwe ep Lost Inside (de cover doet ons op één of andere manier wat aan Nowhere van Ride denken) staan 4 tracks.

Shine On begint meteen met een harde noot: waverock die verwijst naar de latere periode van Echo And The Bunnymen. Stevig gitaarwerk en een refrein dat je zo meebrult. In het midden hoor je zelfs de terugkeer van de doedelzakgitaren! Riep daar iemand Big Country?

Rage biedt je hetzelfde, maar klinkt iets melancholischer. Ook Mommy gaat dezelfde richting uit, maar het beste van de ep heeft Wan’s voor het einde bewaard: Walking is een mysterieuze, zeer intimistische song die wat naar Suede lonkt.

Conclusie? Meer dan verdienstelijk!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016: Part II: There once was… (the history)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
SAHONA • SAHONA
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - PART 1: If only it could always be winter and always night...
MORBUS M. • Fight Or Die
GARY NUMAN • Here In The Black (Live at Hollywood Forever Cemetery)
SYNAPSYCHE • The Abyss Effect
NOIR • The Burning Bridge EP
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
TACOCAT • Gent, Cafe Video (23/05/2016)

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
THE ASSOCIATES • Sulk
THE ASSOCIATES • Fourth Drawer Down.
THE ASSOCIATES • The Affectionate Punch

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds:

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
WHISPERING SONS • Image
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
A SLICE OF LIFE • Restless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
NAUT • Raise The Lights
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
12
'Vampire' - new Blutengel single
15
12
A Date In Camden | The Fall At The Witch Trial
14
12
On this day, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 39 Today!
13
12
Horses | Patti Smith’s Debut Masterpiece 43 Years On!
12
12
This weekend, BIMFEST 2018 kicks off with Covenant, Leaether Strip, Light Asylum, Clock Dva & Agent Side Grinder amongst others!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

13
12
DIVE
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
13
12
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
12
THE SPECTORS
Clyde & Bonnie
15
12
LACRIMOSA
Die Unbekannte Farbe
14
12
OFELIADORME
Hands
13
12
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)