tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

10/12/2016 : WAN'S - Lost Inside

WAN'S

Lost Inside

MusicCD (EP)
New wavePost Punk

[73/100]   

Sunny Side Up
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If you read the text of the booklet, you become a little quiet. During the making of this EP, many rock gods (Glenn Frey, Lemmy Kilmister and of course David Bowie) left this globe. These are facts that affect you, you even shed a tear (and often more than that), but reportedly, life goes on. Also for Wan's. It's a band you might not know, but about six years ago these Belgians released the nice CD In A Lifetime, which was a successful blend of alternative rock, post-punk, EBM and electro.

On the new EP Lost Inside (the cover reminds us in one way or another of Nowhere by Ride) four tracks are included.

The wave rock of Shine On starts hard and refers to the later period of Echo And The Bunnymen. Heavy guitars and a chorus that you shout from the first to the last second. In the middle of the track, you even hear the return of the bagpipe guitars! Big Country, anyone?

Rage offers you the same, but it sounds more melancholic. Mommy also goes in that direction,but the best of the EP is saved for the end: Walking is a mysterious, very intimate song that sounds a bit like Suede.

Conclusion? More than just good!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Als je de tekst van het hoesje leest, word je een heel klein beetje stil. Tijdens de opnames van deze ep verlieten heel wat rockgoden (Glenn Frey, Lemmy Kilmister en natuurlijk David Bowie) de aardbol. Het zijn feiten die je raken, je pinkt er een traantje bij weg (en vaak meer dan dat), maar naar verluidt gaat het leven voort. Ook voor Wan’s is dat het geval. Het is een band die je misschien niet meteen kent, maar zo’n zes jaar geleden bracht deze Belgische formatie de niet onaardige cd In A Lifetime uit, een geslaagde mix van alternatieve rock, post punk, EBM en elektro.

Op de nieuwe ep Lost Inside (de cover doet ons op één of andere manier wat aan Nowhere van Ride denken) staan 4 tracks.

Shine On begint meteen met een harde noot: waverock die verwijst naar de latere periode van Echo And The Bunnymen. Stevig gitaarwerk en een refrein dat je zo meebrult. In het midden hoor je zelfs de terugkeer van de doedelzakgitaren! Riep daar iemand Big Country?

Rage biedt je hetzelfde, maar klinkt iets melancholischer. Ook Mommy gaat dezelfde richting uit, maar het beste van de ep heeft Wan’s voor het einde bewaard: Walking is een mysterieuze, zeer intimistische song die wat naar Suede lonkt.

Conclusie? Meer dan verdienstelijk!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016: Part II: There once was… (the history)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
SAHONA • SAHONA
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - PART 1: If only it could always be winter and always night...
MORBUS M. • Fight Or Die
GARY NUMAN • Here In The Black (Live at Hollywood Forever Cemetery)
SYNAPSYCHE • The Abyss Effect
NOIR • The Burning Bridge EP
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
TACOCAT • Gent, Cafe Video (23/05/2016)

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
THE ASSOCIATES • Sulk
THE ASSOCIATES • Fourth Drawer Down.
THE ASSOCIATES • The Affectionate Punch
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West
HONEYMOON COWBOYS • Still
EAGULLS • Ullages

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds:
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
STRUGGLER • The Gap
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
RAZORLINE • Razorline
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
MEDIUM MEDIUM • The Glitterhouse

Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
01
no:carrier drops 'Lovesong' video, a cover of The Cure hit in collaboration with Mills and Nadia S.
31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.
18
12
North American Industrial/Metal band Ministry announce new album with new single & video!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
01
WOUTER DEWIT
La durée. - Strings Version
16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury
13
01
VOITH
A Christmas Eve In Berlin (Official Video)
12
01
REIZSTROM
Invisible Force