tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : WAN'S - Lost Inside

WAN'S

Lost Inside

MusicCD (EP)
New wavePost Punk

[73/100]   

Sunny Side Up
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If you read the text of the booklet, you become a little quiet. During the making of this EP, many rock gods (Glenn Frey, Lemmy Kilmister and of course David Bowie) left this globe. These are facts that affect you, you even shed a tear (and often more than that), but reportedly, life goes on. Also for Wan's. It's a band you might not know, but about six years ago these Belgians released the nice CD In A Lifetime, which was a successful blend of alternative rock, post-punk, EBM and electro.

On the new EP Lost Inside (the cover reminds us in one way or another of Nowhere by Ride) four tracks are included.

The wave rock of Shine On starts hard and refers to the later period of Echo And The Bunnymen. Heavy guitars and a chorus that you shout from the first to the last second. In the middle of the track, you even hear the return of the bagpipe guitars! Big Country, anyone?

Rage offers you the same, but it sounds more melancholic. Mommy also goes in that direction,but the best of the EP is saved for the end: Walking is a mysterious, very intimate song that sounds a bit like Suede.

Conclusion? More than just good!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Als je de tekst van het hoesje leest, word je een heel klein beetje stil. Tijdens de opnames van deze ep verlieten heel wat rockgoden (Glenn Frey, Lemmy Kilmister en natuurlijk David Bowie) de aardbol. Het zijn feiten die je raken, je pinkt er een traantje bij weg (en vaak meer dan dat), maar naar verluidt gaat het leven voort. Ook voor Wan’s is dat het geval. Het is een band die je misschien niet meteen kent, maar zo’n zes jaar geleden bracht deze Belgische formatie de niet onaardige cd In A Lifetime uit, een geslaagde mix van alternatieve rock, post punk, EBM en elektro.

Op de nieuwe ep Lost Inside (de cover doet ons op één of andere manier wat aan Nowhere van Ride denken) staan 4 tracks.

Shine On begint meteen met een harde noot: waverock die verwijst naar de latere periode van Echo And The Bunnymen. Stevig gitaarwerk en een refrein dat je zo meebrult. In het midden hoor je zelfs de terugkeer van de doedelzakgitaren! Riep daar iemand Big Country?

Rage biedt je hetzelfde, maar klinkt iets melancholischer. Ook Mommy gaat dezelfde richting uit, maar het beste van de ep heeft Wan’s voor het einde bewaard: Walking is een mysterieuze, zeer intimistische song die wat naar Suede lonkt.

Conclusie? Meer dan verdienstelijk!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016: Part II: There once was… (the history)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
SAHONA • SAHONA
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - PART 1: If only it could always be winter and always night...
MORBUS M. • Fight Or Die
GARY NUMAN • Here In The Black (Live at Hollywood Forever Cemetery)
SYNAPSYCHE • The Abyss Effect
NOIR • The Burning Bridge EP
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
TACOCAT • Gent, Cafe Video (23/05/2016)

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away

Music reviews

05
06
GOOD CO
So Pretty
30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
06
PSYCHE
The Things That Dreams Are Made Of (Party Monster Mix)
05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE