tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : WAN'S - Lost Inside

WAN'S

Lost Inside

MusicCD (EP)
New wavePost Punk

[73/100]   

Sunny Side Up
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If you read the text of the booklet, you become a little quiet. During the making of this EP, many rock gods (Glenn Frey, Lemmy Kilmister and of course David Bowie) left this globe. These are facts that affect you, you even shed a tear (and often more than that), but reportedly, life goes on. Also for Wan's. It's a band you might not know, but about six years ago these Belgians released the nice CD In A Lifetime, which was a successful blend of alternative rock, post-punk, EBM and electro.

On the new EP Lost Inside (the cover reminds us in one way or another of Nowhere by Ride) four tracks are included.

The wave rock of Shine On starts hard and refers to the later period of Echo And The Bunnymen. Heavy guitars and a chorus that you shout from the first to the last second. In the middle of the track, you even hear the return of the bagpipe guitars! Big Country, anyone?

Rage offers you the same, but it sounds more melancholic. Mommy also goes in that direction,but the best of the EP is saved for the end: Walking is a mysterious, very intimate song that sounds a bit like Suede.

Conclusion? More than just good!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Als je de tekst van het hoesje leest, word je een heel klein beetje stil. Tijdens de opnames van deze ep verlieten heel wat rockgoden (Glenn Frey, Lemmy Kilmister en natuurlijk David Bowie) de aardbol. Het zijn feiten die je raken, je pinkt er een traantje bij weg (en vaak meer dan dat), maar naar verluidt gaat het leven voort. Ook voor Wan’s is dat het geval. Het is een band die je misschien niet meteen kent, maar zo’n zes jaar geleden bracht deze Belgische formatie de niet onaardige cd In A Lifetime uit, een geslaagde mix van alternatieve rock, post punk, EBM en elektro.

Op de nieuwe ep Lost Inside (de cover doet ons op één of andere manier wat aan Nowhere van Ride denken) staan 4 tracks.

Shine On begint meteen met een harde noot: waverock die verwijst naar de latere periode van Echo And The Bunnymen. Stevig gitaarwerk en een refrein dat je zo meebrult. In het midden hoor je zelfs de terugkeer van de doedelzakgitaren! Riep daar iemand Big Country?

Rage biedt je hetzelfde, maar klinkt iets melancholischer. Ook Mommy gaat dezelfde richting uit, maar het beste van de ep heeft Wan’s voor het einde bewaard: Walking is een mysterieuze, zeer intimistische song die wat naar Suede lonkt.

Conclusie? Meer dan verdienstelijk!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016: Part II: There once was… (the history)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
SAHONA • SAHONA
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - PART 1: If only it could always be winter and always night...
MORBUS M. • Fight Or Die
GARY NUMAN • Here In The Black (Live at Hollywood Forever Cemetery)
SYNAPSYCHE • The Abyss Effect
NOIR • The Burning Bridge EP
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
TACOCAT • Gent, Cafe Video (23/05/2016)

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict

Music reviews

16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall