tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : WAN'S - Lost Inside

WAN'S

Lost Inside

MusicCD (EP)
New wavePost Punk

[73/100]   

Sunny Side Up
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If you read the text of the booklet, you become a little quiet. During the making of this EP, many rock gods (Glenn Frey, Lemmy Kilmister and of course David Bowie) left this globe. These are facts that affect you, you even shed a tear (and often more than that), but reportedly, life goes on. Also for Wan's. It's a band you might not know, but about six years ago these Belgians released the nice CD In A Lifetime, which was a successful blend of alternative rock, post-punk, EBM and electro.

On the new EP Lost Inside (the cover reminds us in one way or another of Nowhere by Ride) four tracks are included.

The wave rock of Shine On starts hard and refers to the later period of Echo And The Bunnymen. Heavy guitars and a chorus that you shout from the first to the last second. In the middle of the track, you even hear the return of the bagpipe guitars! Big Country, anyone?

Rage offers you the same, but it sounds more melancholic. Mommy also goes in that direction,but the best of the EP is saved for the end: Walking is a mysterious, very intimate song that sounds a bit like Suede.

Conclusion? More than just good!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Als je de tekst van het hoesje leest, word je een heel klein beetje stil. Tijdens de opnames van deze ep verlieten heel wat rockgoden (Glenn Frey, Lemmy Kilmister en natuurlijk David Bowie) de aardbol. Het zijn feiten die je raken, je pinkt er een traantje bij weg (en vaak meer dan dat), maar naar verluidt gaat het leven voort. Ook voor Wan’s is dat het geval. Het is een band die je misschien niet meteen kent, maar zo’n zes jaar geleden bracht deze Belgische formatie de niet onaardige cd In A Lifetime uit, een geslaagde mix van alternatieve rock, post punk, EBM en elektro.

Op de nieuwe ep Lost Inside (de cover doet ons op één of andere manier wat aan Nowhere van Ride denken) staan 4 tracks.

Shine On begint meteen met een harde noot: waverock die verwijst naar de latere periode van Echo And The Bunnymen. Stevig gitaarwerk en een refrein dat je zo meebrult. In het midden hoor je zelfs de terugkeer van de doedelzakgitaren! Riep daar iemand Big Country?

Rage biedt je hetzelfde, maar klinkt iets melancholischer. Ook Mommy gaat dezelfde richting uit, maar het beste van de ep heeft Wan’s voor het einde bewaard: Walking is een mysterieuze, zeer intimistische song die wat naar Suede lonkt.

Conclusie? Meer dan verdienstelijk!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016: Part II: There once was… (the history)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
SAHONA • SAHONA
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - PART 1: If only it could always be winter and always night...
MORBUS M. • Fight Or Die
GARY NUMAN • Here In The Black (Live at Hollywood Forever Cemetery)
SYNAPSYCHE • The Abyss Effect
NOIR • The Burning Bridge EP
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
TACOCAT • Gent, Cafe Video (23/05/2016)

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
THE ASSOCIATES • Sulk

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

12
06
12
06
12
06
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
NACHTMAHR
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
GROUND NERO
Westbad, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis
10
06
HANTE
Noir