tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

10/12/2016 : 13TH MONKEY - Live at Forms of Hands 15

13TH MONKEY

Live at Forms of Hands 15

MusicDigital
DanceDark ElectroElectroElectronicsTechno Body Music

[90/100]   

Hands Productions
10/12/2016, Peter HESELMANS

EN

13th Monkey treats itself with a birthday present: ten years after its creation and first performance, now a live edition of the gig on the Forms Of Hands Festival 2015 is out. Andreas Thedens and Harm Bemer, both from Luneburg (Germany), show that the rural village has more to offer than historic buildings, cows and sheep.

This gig is a sort of best-of of the CDs Redefining the Paradigm or Bang (2009) and Return of the Monkey (2011). New work has been announced, but in the meantime we have to be satisfied with a live concert by this dance sensation.

I had the luck to see this show myself (see attached video) and I was quite impressed by this energetic set. The techno-industrial sounds take you into the atmosphere of the dark alternative club scene.

The 145 bpm are sent into your brain and limbs and make it difficult to stand still. The sometimes hard pounding beats and repetitive melodies, topped with a generous portion of techno sounds, they offer you a chance to escape from this society for a while

Monotone, sometimes bombastic rhythms, create a sense of controlled chaos that feels euphoric in your head and sometimes they are topped with an ambient atmosphere or dark atmospheric effects which take your brain to the edge of madness. Only a trepanation can help to remove those hard and distorted rhythms.

Let yourself drift away on this wild danceable electronica, hard beats and dark basses that can’t be tamed.

Peter HESELMANS
10/12/2016


NL

13th Monkey trakteert zichzelf op een verjaardagscadeau: tien jaar na de oprichting en de eerste voorstelling is er nu deze live-uitgave van het optreden op het Forms Of Hands-festival 2015. Andreas Thedens en Harm Bemer, beiden afkomstig uit het Duitse Lüneburg, bewijzen dat er in dit landelijk plaatsje meer te beleven en te zien is dan mooie historische gebouwen of grazende koeien en schapen.

Dit optreden is een soort best-of van hun studio-cd’s Redefining the Paradigm of Bang (2009) en Return of the Monkey (2011). Al een tijdje geleden dus. Nieuw werk werd al aangekondigd, maar ondertussen behelpen we ons met deze live danssensatie.

Ik had het geluk om persoonlijk aanwezig te zijn bij dit optreden (zie bijgevoegde video) en was behoorlijk onder de indruk van deze energieke set. De techno-industriële klanken brengen je direct in de sfeer van het donkere alternatieve clubcircuit.

De 145 Bpm worden keurig naar je brein en ledematen gestuurd, zodat het moeilijk is om stil te blijven staan. De soms hard beukende beats en repetitieve melodieën, overgoten met een flinke portie technoklanken, laten je even ontsnappen uit deze maatschappij.

Monotone, soms bombastische ritmes, creëren een gevoel van gecontroleerde chaos dat in je hoofd euforisch aanvoelt: klanken die soms zijn overgoten met een ambiënte sfeer of donkere atmosferische effecten die je brein op de rand van de waanzin brengen. Alleen een schedelboring kan hier helpen om de harde en vervormde ritmes vakkundig te verwijderen.

Laat je meedrijven op deze wilde dansbare electronica, harde beats en donkere bassen, die niet getemd willen worden en evolueren tot boeiende muziekparty waarvan we graag deel uitmaken.

https://pro.beatport.com/release/live-at-forms-of-hands-15/1748257

Peter HESELMANS
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
TACOCAT • Gent, Cafe Video (23/05/2016)
METROLAND • Synthetic Sound (EP)
CONTINENTAL LIAISON • Action Time/The Sublime (single)
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Noire Psyché
SUUNS • Brussels, Botanique (22/05/2016)
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
GIOUMOURTZINA • Blakk Metall
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
WIELORYB • Semantik
WOLJAGER • Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen

 

Same genre: DANCE
THE INVISIBLE • Patience
DJ SHADOW • The Mountain Will Fall
MONOLITH • Domination
PRIMAL SCREAM • Chaosmosis
BLINKY BLINKY COMPUTERBAND • Fractured Sign
DMX KREW • You Exist
XYMOX • Phoenix
PRIMAL SCREAM • Where The Light Gets In
UNDERWORLD • Second Toughest In The Infants-Redux
BLINKY BLINKY COMPUTERBAND • Strange Electro Pop

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
ENZO KREFT • Control
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
MIREXXX • Vault

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual

 

Same genre: TECHNO BODY MUSIC
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
XOTOX • Essentials
LAURAPALMER • Laurapalmer 12'
POPSIMONOVA • Brokedown Palace
TERENCE FIXMER • Depth Charged

Music reviews

19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here
18
10
RIDE
This Is Not a Safe Place
17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
10
ORBITAL
One Perfect Sunrise
18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg