tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

10/12/2016 : 13TH MONKEY - Live at Forms of Hands 15

13TH MONKEY

Live at Forms of Hands 15

MusicDigital
DanceDark ElectroElectroElectronicsTechno Body Music

[90/100]   

Hands Productions
10/12/2016, Peter HESELMANS

EN

13th Monkey treats itself with a birthday present: ten years after its creation and first performance, now a live edition of the gig on the Forms Of Hands Festival 2015 is out. Andreas Thedens and Harm Bemer, both from Luneburg (Germany), show that the rural village has more to offer than historic buildings, cows and sheep.

This gig is a sort of best-of of the CDs Redefining the Paradigm or Bang (2009) and Return of the Monkey (2011). New work has been announced, but in the meantime we have to be satisfied with a live concert by this dance sensation.

I had the luck to see this show myself (see attached video) and I was quite impressed by this energetic set. The techno-industrial sounds take you into the atmosphere of the dark alternative club scene.

The 145 bpm are sent into your brain and limbs and make it difficult to stand still. The sometimes hard pounding beats and repetitive melodies, topped with a generous portion of techno sounds, they offer you a chance to escape from this society for a while

Monotone, sometimes bombastic rhythms, create a sense of controlled chaos that feels euphoric in your head and sometimes they are topped with an ambient atmosphere or dark atmospheric effects which take your brain to the edge of madness. Only a trepanation can help to remove those hard and distorted rhythms.

Let yourself drift away on this wild danceable electronica, hard beats and dark basses that can’t be tamed.

Peter HESELMANS
10/12/2016


NL

13th Monkey trakteert zichzelf op een verjaardagscadeau: tien jaar na de oprichting en de eerste voorstelling is er nu deze live-uitgave van het optreden op het Forms Of Hands-festival 2015. Andreas Thedens en Harm Bemer, beiden afkomstig uit het Duitse Lüneburg, bewijzen dat er in dit landelijk plaatsje meer te beleven en te zien is dan mooie historische gebouwen of grazende koeien en schapen.

Dit optreden is een soort best-of van hun studio-cd’s Redefining the Paradigm of Bang (2009) en Return of the Monkey (2011). Al een tijdje geleden dus. Nieuw werk werd al aangekondigd, maar ondertussen behelpen we ons met deze live danssensatie.

Ik had het geluk om persoonlijk aanwezig te zijn bij dit optreden (zie bijgevoegde video) en was behoorlijk onder de indruk van deze energieke set. De techno-industriële klanken brengen je direct in de sfeer van het donkere alternatieve clubcircuit.

De 145 Bpm worden keurig naar je brein en ledematen gestuurd, zodat het moeilijk is om stil te blijven staan. De soms hard beukende beats en repetitieve melodieën, overgoten met een flinke portie technoklanken, laten je even ontsnappen uit deze maatschappij.

Monotone, soms bombastische ritmes, creëren een gevoel van gecontroleerde chaos dat in je hoofd euforisch aanvoelt: klanken die soms zijn overgoten met een ambiënte sfeer of donkere atmosferische effecten die je brein op de rand van de waanzin brengen. Alleen een schedelboring kan hier helpen om de harde en vervormde ritmes vakkundig te verwijderen.

Laat je meedrijven op deze wilde dansbare electronica, harde beats en donkere bassen, die niet getemd willen worden en evolueren tot boeiende muziekparty waarvan we graag deel uitmaken.

https://pro.beatport.com/release/live-at-forms-of-hands-15/1748257

Peter HESELMANS
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
TACOCAT • Gent, Cafe Video (23/05/2016)
METROLAND • Synthetic Sound (EP)
CONTINENTAL LIAISON • Action Time/The Sublime (single)
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Noire Psyché
SUUNS • Brussels, Botanique (22/05/2016)
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
GIOUMOURTZINA • Blakk Metall
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
WIELORYB • Semantik
WOLJAGER • Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen

 

Same genre: DANCE
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
THE INVISIBLE • Patience
DJ SHADOW • The Mountain Will Fall
MONOLITH • Domination
PRIMAL SCREAM • Chaosmosis
BLINKY BLINKY COMPUTERBAND • Fractured Sign
DMX KREW • You Exist
XYMOX • Phoenix
PRIMAL SCREAM • Where The Light Gets In

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
JIHAD • Retrospekt
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

 

Same genre: TECHNO BODY MUSIC
ROUGE • Ultimatum
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
XOTOX • Essentials
LAURAPALMER • Laurapalmer 12'
POPSIMONOVA • Brokedown Palace
TERENCE FIXMER • Depth Charged

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 44 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'
06
04
MARROWVOLTAGE
There is always a strong, dominating motif behind any of our songs. A feeling, a powerful association. For example, the gravitational force of an abyss underneath you. The movement of mighty and elegant creatures in the
05
04
LACRIMOSA
There were times when I could hardly believe that I would ever be able to finish the album.
10
03
ADULT.
'We have worked and risked so much to make this tour happen, so pleeeeeease come get wild!!!'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
11
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Great God