tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/09/2015 : TERENCE FIXMER - Depth Charged

TERENCE FIXMER

Depth Charged

MusicCD
Techno Body Music

[80/100]   

CLR
28/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Because of his collaboration with Nitzer Ebb-frontman Douglas McCarthy, this northern French musician is probably the biggest techno name in the black scene. Well, we use the term techno, but his music is more than just producing some beats, something you can definitely hear on his fifth solo album Depth Charged.

The man from Lille likes to categorize his work as Techno Body Music, or in human terms: what you get when you mix EBM with intelligent techno. The album sounds very dark and is dominated by synthetic sounds that seem to be taken from some obscure science fiction movies. His minimal techno is repetitive, but the more you press the repeat button, the more you’ll be addicted. A song like Inside Of Me, the only one with vocals (sung by Terence himself) is very reminiscent of what Dive is doing for decades and that says a lot about the black atmosphere of this CD. The ten tracks sound bombastic, threatening, but never boring.

Depth Charged is splendid techno to listen to, and dark too!

Didier BECU
28/09/2015


NL

Door zijn samenwerking met Nitzer Ebb-frontman Douglas McCarthy, moet deze Noord-Franse muzikant zowat de grootste technonaam in de zwarte scène zijn. Nou ja, we schrijven techno, maar zijn muziek is meer dan het produceren van wat beats en dat hoor je zeker op zijn vijfde soloplaat Depth Charged.

Zelf categoriseert de Rijselnaar zijn werk als Techno Body Music, of hoe muziek klinkt als je EBM met intelligente techno mengt. Het album klinkt bijzonder donker en wordt gedomineerd door synthetische geluiden die uit één of andere sciencefictionfilm komen. Deze minimal techno is repetitief, maar hoe meer je de herhaaltoets indrukt des te meer verslavend de plaat wordt. Een nummer als Inside Of Me, het enige met zang (bovendien door Terence zelf gezongen) doet sterk denken aan Dive en dat zegt genoeg over de gitzwarte sfeer die deze cd uitstraalt. De tien tracks klinken bombastisch, dreigend, maar vervelen geen seconde.

Depth Charged is heerlijke luistertechno, en nog donkere ook.

Didier BECU
28/09/2015


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked