tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/09/2015 : TERENCE FIXMER - Depth Charged

TERENCE FIXMER

Depth Charged

MusicCD
Techno Body Music

[80/100]   

CLR
28/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Because of his collaboration with Nitzer Ebb-frontman Douglas McCarthy, this northern French musician is probably the biggest techno name in the black scene. Well, we use the term techno, but his music is more than just producing some beats, something you can definitely hear on his fifth solo album Depth Charged.

The man from Lille likes to categorize his work as Techno Body Music, or in human terms: what you get when you mix EBM with intelligent techno. The album sounds very dark and is dominated by synthetic sounds that seem to be taken from some obscure science fiction movies. His minimal techno is repetitive, but the more you press the repeat button, the more you’ll be addicted. A song like Inside Of Me, the only one with vocals (sung by Terence himself) is very reminiscent of what Dive is doing for decades and that says a lot about the black atmosphere of this CD. The ten tracks sound bombastic, threatening, but never boring.

Depth Charged is splendid techno to listen to, and dark too!

Didier BECU
28/09/2015


NL

Door zijn samenwerking met Nitzer Ebb-frontman Douglas McCarthy, moet deze Noord-Franse muzikant zowat de grootste technonaam in de zwarte scène zijn. Nou ja, we schrijven techno, maar zijn muziek is meer dan het produceren van wat beats en dat hoor je zeker op zijn vijfde soloplaat Depth Charged.

Zelf categoriseert de Rijselnaar zijn werk als Techno Body Music, of hoe muziek klinkt als je EBM met intelligente techno mengt. Het album klinkt bijzonder donker en wordt gedomineerd door synthetische geluiden die uit één of andere sciencefictionfilm komen. Deze minimal techno is repetitief, maar hoe meer je de herhaaltoets indrukt des te meer verslavend de plaat wordt. Een nummer als Inside Of Me, het enige met zang (bovendien door Terence zelf gezongen) doet sterk denken aan Dive en dat zegt genoeg over de gitzwarte sfeer die deze cd uitstraalt. De tien tracks klinken bombastisch, dreigend, maar vervelen geen seconde.

Depth Charged is heerlijke luistertechno, en nog donkere ook.

Didier BECU
28/09/2015


Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
04
07
'Locating Silver Lake' celebrates its international premiere at Edinburgh Film Festival!
29
06
Tonight! Dark Entries Night @ Kinky Star with Dead Man's Hill & Causenation!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl
12
07
SOFT RIOT
Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen
11
07
EUROPEAN GHOST
Suspended in the void
10
07
BLACK NAIL CABARET
Bête Noire