tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/09/2015 : TERENCE FIXMER - Depth Charged

TERENCE FIXMER

Depth Charged

MusicCD
Techno Body Music

[80/100]   

CLR
28/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Because of his collaboration with Nitzer Ebb-frontman Douglas McCarthy, this northern French musician is probably the biggest techno name in the black scene. Well, we use the term techno, but his music is more than just producing some beats, something you can definitely hear on his fifth solo album Depth Charged.

The man from Lille likes to categorize his work as Techno Body Music, or in human terms: what you get when you mix EBM with intelligent techno. The album sounds very dark and is dominated by synthetic sounds that seem to be taken from some obscure science fiction movies. His minimal techno is repetitive, but the more you press the repeat button, the more you’ll be addicted. A song like Inside Of Me, the only one with vocals (sung by Terence himself) is very reminiscent of what Dive is doing for decades and that says a lot about the black atmosphere of this CD. The ten tracks sound bombastic, threatening, but never boring.

Depth Charged is splendid techno to listen to, and dark too!

Didier BECU
28/09/2015


NL

Door zijn samenwerking met Nitzer Ebb-frontman Douglas McCarthy, moet deze Noord-Franse muzikant zowat de grootste technonaam in de zwarte scène zijn. Nou ja, we schrijven techno, maar zijn muziek is meer dan het produceren van wat beats en dat hoor je zeker op zijn vijfde soloplaat Depth Charged.

Zelf categoriseert de Rijselnaar zijn werk als Techno Body Music, of hoe muziek klinkt als je EBM met intelligente techno mengt. Het album klinkt bijzonder donker en wordt gedomineerd door synthetische geluiden die uit één of andere sciencefictionfilm komen. Deze minimal techno is repetitief, maar hoe meer je de herhaaltoets indrukt des te meer verslavend de plaat wordt. Een nummer als Inside Of Me, het enige met zang (bovendien door Terence zelf gezongen) doet sterk denken aan Dive en dat zegt genoeg over de gitzwarte sfeer die deze cd uitstraalt. De tien tracks klinken bombastisch, dreigend, maar vervelen geen seconde.

Depth Charged is heerlijke luistertechno, en nog donkere ook.

Didier BECU
28/09/2015


Music reviews

25
09
THE EXPLODING BOY
Alarms!
01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 31 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
LES PANTIES
L'Arrivée
25
09
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth