tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/09/2015 : TERENCE FIXMER - Depth Charged

TERENCE FIXMER

Depth Charged

MusicCD
Techno Body Music

[80/100]   

CLR
28/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Because of his collaboration with Nitzer Ebb-frontman Douglas McCarthy, this northern French musician is probably the biggest techno name in the black scene. Well, we use the term techno, but his music is more than just producing some beats, something you can definitely hear on his fifth solo album Depth Charged.

The man from Lille likes to categorize his work as Techno Body Music, or in human terms: what you get when you mix EBM with intelligent techno. The album sounds very dark and is dominated by synthetic sounds that seem to be taken from some obscure science fiction movies. His minimal techno is repetitive, but the more you press the repeat button, the more you’ll be addicted. A song like Inside Of Me, the only one with vocals (sung by Terence himself) is very reminiscent of what Dive is doing for decades and that says a lot about the black atmosphere of this CD. The ten tracks sound bombastic, threatening, but never boring.

Depth Charged is splendid techno to listen to, and dark too!

Didier BECU
28/09/2015


NL

Door zijn samenwerking met Nitzer Ebb-frontman Douglas McCarthy, moet deze Noord-Franse muzikant zowat de grootste technonaam in de zwarte scène zijn. Nou ja, we schrijven techno, maar zijn muziek is meer dan het produceren van wat beats en dat hoor je zeker op zijn vijfde soloplaat Depth Charged.

Zelf categoriseert de Rijselnaar zijn werk als Techno Body Music, of hoe muziek klinkt als je EBM met intelligente techno mengt. Het album klinkt bijzonder donker en wordt gedomineerd door synthetische geluiden die uit één of andere sciencefictionfilm komen. Deze minimal techno is repetitief, maar hoe meer je de herhaaltoets indrukt des te meer verslavend de plaat wordt. Een nummer als Inside Of Me, het enige met zang (bovendien door Terence zelf gezongen) doet sterk denken aan Dive en dat zegt genoeg over de gitzwarte sfeer die deze cd uitstraalt. De tien tracks klinken bombastisch, dreigend, maar vervelen geen seconde.

Depth Charged is heerlijke luistertechno, en nog donkere ook.

Didier BECU
28/09/2015


Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra
22
09
BLACK LINE
Snap
21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell
19
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Connection is addiction
19
09
NO!ON
6
18
09
NEOCOMA
Like An Angel