tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/09/2015 : TERENCE FIXMER - Depth Charged

TERENCE FIXMER

Depth Charged

MusicCD
Techno Body Music

[80/100]   

CLR
28/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Because of his collaboration with Nitzer Ebb-frontman Douglas McCarthy, this northern French musician is probably the biggest techno name in the black scene. Well, we use the term techno, but his music is more than just producing some beats, something you can definitely hear on his fifth solo album Depth Charged.

The man from Lille likes to categorize his work as Techno Body Music, or in human terms: what you get when you mix EBM with intelligent techno. The album sounds very dark and is dominated by synthetic sounds that seem to be taken from some obscure science fiction movies. His minimal techno is repetitive, but the more you press the repeat button, the more you’ll be addicted. A song like Inside Of Me, the only one with vocals (sung by Terence himself) is very reminiscent of what Dive is doing for decades and that says a lot about the black atmosphere of this CD. The ten tracks sound bombastic, threatening, but never boring.

Depth Charged is splendid techno to listen to, and dark too!

Didier BECU
28/09/2015


NL

Door zijn samenwerking met Nitzer Ebb-frontman Douglas McCarthy, moet deze Noord-Franse muzikant zowat de grootste technonaam in de zwarte scène zijn. Nou ja, we schrijven techno, maar zijn muziek is meer dan het produceren van wat beats en dat hoor je zeker op zijn vijfde soloplaat Depth Charged.

Zelf categoriseert de Rijselnaar zijn werk als Techno Body Music, of hoe muziek klinkt als je EBM met intelligente techno mengt. Het album klinkt bijzonder donker en wordt gedomineerd door synthetische geluiden die uit één of andere sciencefictionfilm komen. Deze minimal techno is repetitief, maar hoe meer je de herhaaltoets indrukt des te meer verslavend de plaat wordt. Een nummer als Inside Of Me, het enige met zang (bovendien door Terence zelf gezongen) doet sterk denken aan Dive en dat zegt genoeg over de gitzwarte sfeer die deze cd uitstraalt. De tien tracks klinken bombastisch, dreigend, maar vervelen geen seconde.

Depth Charged is heerlijke luistertechno, en nog donkere ook.

Didier BECU
28/09/2015


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty