tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

27/09/2015 : RISKY PERSON - Risky Person

RISKY PERSON

Risky Person

MusicCD
GaragerockPunk

[80/100]   

Self-released
27/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Risky Person is a Chilean band that plays post-punk and trash/garage rock. Indeed, it's not an obvious combination, but if you like The Breeders, The Raincoats or L7, then this might be something for you.

Pamela Frick sings in a punky style: raw, sometimes with distortion, but also with a clean voice, and sharp as, say John Lydon. Just listen to Drunken. I Have Something To Say is a kind of statement about a small minority that has all the wealth in the world, but in the first place this is a great punk song with wave (guitars) and psychedelic (vocals) influences. Come Near gets the same approach with a guitar that is a bit reminiscent of early Editors. Bipolar is a nice uptempo track. The Letter has an outro with a colorful bass and lyrics about frustration, searching for the meaning of life or about things that go wrong.

In terms of style and genre, there is nothing new to discover, but the album sounds fresh and better than most similar bands. Eight songs: short and strong!

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/09/2015


NL

Risky Person is een Chileense band die post-punk en trash-/garagerock maakt. Inderdaad, het is niet meteen een voor de hand liggende combinatie, maar als je van The Breeders, The Raincoats of L7 houdt, dan zou dit wel iets voor jou kunnen zijn.

Pamela Frick zingt in een punky stijl: rauw, soms met vervorming, maar alsr ze clean zingt, dan krijgt de zang kleur. Ze kan ook scherp en hoog zingen zoals bijv. John Lydon dat doet. Luister maar eens naar Drunken. I Have Something To Say is een soort statement over een kleine minderheid die heerst over alle weelde in de wereld, maar toch is het in de eerste plaats een heerlijke punksong met wat wave (de gitaren) en psychedelische (de zang) invloeden. Come Near krijgt een beetje dezelfde aanpak met een gitaar die een beetje aan de vroege Editors doet denken. Bipolar is een leuk uptempo nummer dat voorbij raast. The Letter heeft een outro met kleurrijk bas- en gitaarspel en een tekst die gaat over frustratie, het zoeken naar de zin van het leven of over dingen die verkeerd lopen.

Qua stijl en genre, is er niets nieuws onder de zon, maar toch klinkt het album fris en beter dan de meeste gelijksoortige bands. Acht liedjes: kort en sterk.

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/09/2015


Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection