tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

27/09/2015 : RISKY PERSON - Risky Person

RISKY PERSON

Risky Person

MusicCD
GaragerockPunk

[80/100]   

Self-released
27/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Risky Person is a Chilean band that plays post-punk and trash/garage rock. Indeed, it's not an obvious combination, but if you like The Breeders, The Raincoats or L7, then this might be something for you.

Pamela Frick sings in a punky style: raw, sometimes with distortion, but also with a clean voice, and sharp as, say John Lydon. Just listen to Drunken. I Have Something To Say is a kind of statement about a small minority that has all the wealth in the world, but in the first place this is a great punk song with wave (guitars) and psychedelic (vocals) influences. Come Near gets the same approach with a guitar that is a bit reminiscent of early Editors. Bipolar is a nice uptempo track. The Letter has an outro with a colorful bass and lyrics about frustration, searching for the meaning of life or about things that go wrong.

In terms of style and genre, there is nothing new to discover, but the album sounds fresh and better than most similar bands. Eight songs: short and strong!

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/09/2015


NL

Risky Person is een Chileense band die post-punk en trash-/garagerock maakt. Inderdaad, het is niet meteen een voor de hand liggende combinatie, maar als je van The Breeders, The Raincoats of L7 houdt, dan zou dit wel iets voor jou kunnen zijn.

Pamela Frick zingt in een punky stijl: rauw, soms met vervorming, maar alsr ze clean zingt, dan krijgt de zang kleur. Ze kan ook scherp en hoog zingen zoals bijv. John Lydon dat doet. Luister maar eens naar Drunken. I Have Something To Say is een soort statement over een kleine minderheid die heerst over alle weelde in de wereld, maar toch is het in de eerste plaats een heerlijke punksong met wat wave (de gitaren) en psychedelische (de zang) invloeden. Come Near krijgt een beetje dezelfde aanpak met een gitaar die een beetje aan de vroege Editors doet denken. Bipolar is een leuk uptempo nummer dat voorbij raast. The Letter heeft een outro met kleurrijk bas- en gitaarspel en een tekst die gaat over frustratie, het zoeken naar de zin van het leven of over dingen die verkeerd lopen.

Qua stijl en genre, is er niets nieuws onder de zon, maar toch klinkt het album fris en beter dan de meeste gelijksoortige bands. Acht liedjes: kort en sterk.

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/09/2015


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete