tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

27/09/2015 : ILANA J - Free Falling From The Ground Up

ILANA J

Free Falling From The Ground Up

MusicCD (EP)
PopRockSinger Songwriter

[85/100]   

Self-released
27/09/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

British singer-songwriter Ilana J has released her first EP, containing six compositions. England was the first single, released earlier this year, a good sounding pop song with acalm guitar, wood-like drums and a catchy melody, in which the simple verse competes with the polyphonic chorus, that lingers in the head right from the start. I Believe in Love gets the same crisp drum sound, chooses a quiet pace with a polyphonic passage and piano, and a slightly distorted voice that gives the song a fresh atmosphere. We thought of Haim while listening to this track. In The End is much more of a singer-songwriter composition with a simple acoustic guitar accompaniment. Iliana J's voice is powerful and pleasant and the melody flows effortlessly from her mouth. A beautiful and versatile composition.

The recent single Paper Planes chooses the path of England and I Believe in Love. The attractive melody is decorated with piano, guitar and quietly crackled percussion. A track that deserves to be a hit. Kate Nash and again Haim come to mind, but Ilana J is sufficiently original to stand her ground. Sing is singer-songwriter material, a powerful melody with beautiful and convincing lyrics. Maybe Ilana J can position herself as a pop artist over time, but we find her singer-songwriter material more attractive. And if Paper Planes doesn’t bring the hoped-for breakthrough, then Ilana J has the track Smoke still on hand to convince the outside world: a beautiful pop ballade with again a very attractive chorus, hectic drums, bell-like guitars and beautiful harmonies.

Who said that she is the new Kim Wilde?

Tracklist:
1 England
2 I Believe in Love
3 In the End
4 Paper Planes
5 Sing
6 Smoke

William LIÉNARD
27/09/2015


NL

De Britse singer-songwriter Ilana J heeft haar eerste ep gereleaset die zes composities bevat. England is de eerste single, die eerder dit jaar werd uitgebracht, een goed klinkende popsong met rustig gitaarspel, houttachtig drumwerk en een aanstekelijk melodie waarin de eenvoudige zanglijn van de strofe het opneemt tegen het meerstemmige refrein dat al na de eerste keer in het hoofd blijft hangen. I Believe in Love krijgt hetzelfde knisperende drumgeluid, maar in plaats van te ontpoppen tot een melig liefdesballade, kiest Ilana J voor een vrij hoog tempo, meersstemmige passages met piano op de voorgrond en een lichtjes gemanipuleerd stemgeluid dat de track een frisse sfeer geeft. We dachten tijdens het beluisteren meer dan eens aan Haim. In The End is veel meer een singer-songwritercompositie die met een simpele akoestische gitaarbegeleiding wordt gepresenteerd. Iliana J’s stem klinkt krachtig en aangenaam en de melodie vloeit moeiteloos uit haar mond. Prachtige en veelzijdige compositie.

De recente single Paper Planes kiest het pad van England en I Believe in Love, waarbij de aantrekkelijke melodie is versierd met piano, rustig gitaarspel en knisperende percussie. Een track die het verdient om een hit te worden. Kate Nash en opnieuw Haim komen ons voor de geest, maar Ilana J is voldoende origineel om ook zonder vergelijkingen haar mannetje te staan. Sing is opnieuw singer-songwritermateriaal: een krachtige melodie en een prachtige tekst die op een overtuigende manier worden gebracht. Misschien kan Ilana J zich op termijn als popartieste profileren, maar wat ons betreft is haar singer-songwritermateriaal een stuk aantrekkelijker. En mocht Paper Planes de verhoopte doorbraak niet brengen, dan heeft Ilana J nog altijd Smoke achter de hand om de buitenwacht te overtuigen: een bloedmooie popballade met opnieuw een zeer aantrekkelijk refrein, een jachtige drumpartij, belachtige gitaren en prachtige harmonieën.

Wie zei dat dit de nieuwe Kim Wilde wordt?

William LIÉNARD
27/09/2015


27/09/2015 : ILANA J - Free Falling From The Ground Up 27/09/2015 : ILANA J - Free Falling From The Ground Up 27/09/2015 : ILANA J - Free Falling From The Ground Up

 

Next reviews
YOUTH LAGOON • The Knower
CARLO VAN PUTTEN (DEAD GUITARS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ROSEAU • Salt
DEAD CLONES • Dead Clones
BACH FAMILY • Magnificat (Choir & Orchestra Arcangelo, Antwerpen, deSingel, 24/09/2015)
WHITE COAL ADDICTION • Minor Offence EP
SILVERBIRD • Running
HEATHER H CELESTE • Modern Death
HIGH TINY HAIRS • High Tiny Hairs
HARBOUR OF SOULS • Mountain Of Fire

 

Same combination of genres: POP + ROCK + SINGER SONGWRITER
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
SWEET BABOO • Dennis
THE ANCHORESS • Confessions of a Romance Novelist
AN PIERLÉ & FULCO OTTERVANGER • Slumberland
KATIE MAC • Minutes Into Hours (EP)
ANGÉLINE • Back To Pike Place
LAURA STEVENSON • Cocksure
HANNAH IN THE WARS • Only Wanna Be
DELEYAMAN • The Edge
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS • Push the sky away

 

Same genre: POP
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette

 

Same genre: ROCK
THE HEAT INC. • EP
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'
25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
14
10
NOISUF-X
Let's Rock
13
10
ANNA MEREDITH
R-Type
12
10
LOLA ANGST
Wie Gott
11
10
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
10
10
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Halloween
09
10
FRONT 242
Tragedy For You