tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

27/09/2015 : ILANA J - Free Falling From The Ground Up

ILANA J

Free Falling From The Ground Up

MusicCD (EP)
PopRockSinger Songwriter

[85/100]   

Self-released
27/09/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

British singer-songwriter Ilana J has released her first EP, containing six compositions. England was the first single, released earlier this year, a good sounding pop song with acalm guitar, wood-like drums and a catchy melody, in which the simple verse competes with the polyphonic chorus, that lingers in the head right from the start. I Believe in Love gets the same crisp drum sound, chooses a quiet pace with a polyphonic passage and piano, and a slightly distorted voice that gives the song a fresh atmosphere. We thought of Haim while listening to this track. In The End is much more of a singer-songwriter composition with a simple acoustic guitar accompaniment. Iliana J's voice is powerful and pleasant and the melody flows effortlessly from her mouth. A beautiful and versatile composition.

The recent single Paper Planes chooses the path of England and I Believe in Love. The attractive melody is decorated with piano, guitar and quietly crackled percussion. A track that deserves to be a hit. Kate Nash and again Haim come to mind, but Ilana J is sufficiently original to stand her ground. Sing is singer-songwriter material, a powerful melody with beautiful and convincing lyrics. Maybe Ilana J can position herself as a pop artist over time, but we find her singer-songwriter material more attractive. And if Paper Planes doesn’t bring the hoped-for breakthrough, then Ilana J has the track Smoke still on hand to convince the outside world: a beautiful pop ballade with again a very attractive chorus, hectic drums, bell-like guitars and beautiful harmonies.

Who said that she is the new Kim Wilde?

Tracklist:
1 England
2 I Believe in Love
3 In the End
4 Paper Planes
5 Sing
6 Smoke

William LIÉNARD
27/09/2015


NL

De Britse singer-songwriter Ilana J heeft haar eerste ep gereleaset die zes composities bevat. England is de eerste single, die eerder dit jaar werd uitgebracht, een goed klinkende popsong met rustig gitaarspel, houttachtig drumwerk en een aanstekelijk melodie waarin de eenvoudige zanglijn van de strofe het opneemt tegen het meerstemmige refrein dat al na de eerste keer in het hoofd blijft hangen. I Believe in Love krijgt hetzelfde knisperende drumgeluid, maar in plaats van te ontpoppen tot een melig liefdesballade, kiest Ilana J voor een vrij hoog tempo, meersstemmige passages met piano op de voorgrond en een lichtjes gemanipuleerd stemgeluid dat de track een frisse sfeer geeft. We dachten tijdens het beluisteren meer dan eens aan Haim. In The End is veel meer een singer-songwritercompositie die met een simpele akoestische gitaarbegeleiding wordt gepresenteerd. Iliana J’s stem klinkt krachtig en aangenaam en de melodie vloeit moeiteloos uit haar mond. Prachtige en veelzijdige compositie.

De recente single Paper Planes kiest het pad van England en I Believe in Love, waarbij de aantrekkelijke melodie is versierd met piano, rustig gitaarspel en knisperende percussie. Een track die het verdient om een hit te worden. Kate Nash en opnieuw Haim komen ons voor de geest, maar Ilana J is voldoende origineel om ook zonder vergelijkingen haar mannetje te staan. Sing is opnieuw singer-songwritermateriaal: een krachtige melodie en een prachtige tekst die op een overtuigende manier worden gebracht. Misschien kan Ilana J zich op termijn als popartieste profileren, maar wat ons betreft is haar singer-songwritermateriaal een stuk aantrekkelijker. En mocht Paper Planes de verhoopte doorbraak niet brengen, dan heeft Ilana J nog altijd Smoke achter de hand om de buitenwacht te overtuigen: een bloedmooie popballade met opnieuw een zeer aantrekkelijk refrein, een jachtige drumpartij, belachtige gitaren en prachtige harmonieën.

Wie zei dat dit de nieuwe Kim Wilde wordt?

William LIÉNARD
27/09/2015


27/09/2015 : ILANA J - Free Falling From The Ground Up 27/09/2015 : ILANA J - Free Falling From The Ground Up 27/09/2015 : ILANA J - Free Falling From The Ground Up

 

Next reviews
YOUTH LAGOON • The Knower
CARLO VAN PUTTEN (DEAD GUITARS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ROSEAU • Salt
DEAD CLONES • Dead Clones
BACH FAMILY • Magnificat (Choir & Orchestra Arcangelo, Antwerpen, deSingel, 24/09/2015)
WHITE COAL ADDICTION • Minor Offence EP
SILVERBIRD • Running
HEATHER H CELESTE • Modern Death
HIGH TINY HAIRS • High Tiny Hairs
HARBOUR OF SOULS • Mountain Of Fire

 

Same combination of genres: POP + ROCK + SINGER SONGWRITER
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
SWEET BABOO • Dennis
THE ANCHORESS • Confessions of a Romance Novelist
AN PIERLÉ & FULCO OTTERVANGER • Slumberland
KATIE MAC • Minutes Into Hours (EP)
ANGÉLINE • Back To Pike Place
LAURA STEVENSON • Cocksure
HANNAH IN THE WARS • Only Wanna Be
DELEYAMAN • The Edge
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS • Push the sky away

 

Same genre: POP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)

 

Same genre: ROCK
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
KEVIN MORBY • Singing Saw

Music reviews

17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear
09
01
HA:PEOPLE.3.55
El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary
14
01
On this night, 42 years ago, Joy Division played at King Kong, Antwerp (B)!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad
13
01
MOLLY NILSSON
1995
12
01
COIL
Tattooed Man