tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : THE PRETENDERS - Alone

THE PRETENDERS

Alone

MusicCD
Rock

[60/100]   

BMG
11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

Last Friday, October 21th, The Pretenders released a tenth album, the first in eight years. Alone was recorded in Nashville with Dan Aucherbach (The Black Keys, The Arcs). The album was intended as a follow-up to Chrissie Hynde's album Stockholm (2014), , but because of the specific way of working, 'with driving guitars, ragged but righteous arrangements', as the press release puts it, the choice was made to fly the Pretenders flag, with Hynde as the only original band member.

I really liked 2014's Stockholm, Chrissie Hynde's first ever solo-attempt, a brilliant album, including true rockers and some poppy stuff without fillers. I was a little surprised to read that a new Pretenders album had been scheduled, anxious to hear it too!

The Pretenders 2016 includes band members of Dan Aucherbach's The Arcs: Richard Swift on drums, Leon Michels on keyboards and Russ Pahl on pedal steel, Johnny Cash's bass player Dave Roe and country rocker Kenny Vaughan on guitars. Dan Aucherbach plays on all sorts of instruments and Hynde on vocals, providing the Pretenders touch.

The album was promised as 'the older, wiser, badder sister to the exhilarating debut' (Pretenders, 1980). That might be a little exaggerated or a bridge too far. I don't think you can compare both albums, nor can it be compared with other Pretenders classics. It's a good record, the new Pretenders sounds really fresh and at its best it rocks like hell. There is some great guitar playing and Michels' keyboard/organ sound is grand. Gems such as Chord Lord, Never Be Together, featuring no-one less than Duane Eddy!, Alone, the single Holy Communion and Gotta Wait are the best proof, although the latter is more a Black Keys song featuring Chrissie Hynde, if you ask me. Those uptempo rockers are instant faves, as are Roadie Man and Death Is Enough, which might be the only ballad on the album I really love.

The many ballads or mid-tempo songs on the album are perhaps the weakest links, as Chrissie has done so much better in the past. I think I will skip Better than Me (although vintage Pretenders), Blue Eyed Sky, The Man you Are, One More Day, I Hate Myself and Let's Get Lost at the next listening sessions.

I must admit that when I first heard it, I wasn't too keen on the album, but my expectations were perhaps too high. Alone is a grower with some really good songs. Is it the cracker that I had expected, topping albums such as Learning How To Crawl, Pretenders, Pretenders II or even Pop Star and Loose Screw? No. Is it better than Stockholm? No, it isn't, but it contains some top notch songs and yes, it's a good album, definitely worth listening to.

I'll keep my mouth shut about the shabby artwork that comes with the album, promised!

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

Vrijdag 21 oktober zag het tiende Pretenders-album het licht, het eerste in acht jaar. De opvolger van Break Up The Concrete, opgenomen in Nashville met Dan Aucherbach (The Black Keys, The Arcs), was eigenlijk bedoeld als Chrissie Hynde's tweede solo-album, een vervolg op Stockholm uit 2014, maar gaandeweg wezen gitaarsound en de arrangementen uit dat het een Pretenders-album zou worden, zo staat te lezen in het persbericht. Een Pretendersplaat dus, maar dan met Chrissie Hynde als énige originele bandlid.

Ik was aangenaam verrast toen Chrissie Hynde in 2014 uitpakte met een eerste solo-album. Stockholm was een evenwichtige plaat, een goede mix van vuige rockers en popdeuntjes, geen 'vullers'. Op een nieuw Pretenders-album had ik niet meer gerekend, dus groot was mijn verbazing evenals mijn nieuwsgierigheid natuurlijk.

De line-up van The Pretenders anno 2016 bestaat uit leden van Dan Aucherbach's The Arcs: drummer Richard Swift, Leon Michels op toetsen, Russ Pahl op pedal steel, countryrocker Kenny Vaughan op gitaar en de voormalige bassist van Johnny Cash op bas. Dan Aucherbach speelt zowat op alles en la Hynde brengt op haar eentje de Pretenders-touch aan met haar zo typische stemgeluid.

Het album zou het oudere, wijzere en gemenere zusje zijn van het debuutalbum Pretenders uit 1980, aldus het persbericht. Dat is lichtjes overdreven. Je kan Alone niét vergelijken met Pretenders, noch met andere Pretenders-classics, het is wel gewoon een goed album.

De nieuwe Pretenders klinken best fris en hoekig, zeker in de uptempo tracks, als er gerockt mag worden, zeg maar. En soms mag dat, iets té vaak staan de ballads in de weg. Als er gerockt wordt, zoals in Chord Lord, Never Be Together, Alone, de single Holy Communion en Gotta Wait, eerder Black Keys featuring Chrissie Hynde dan Pretenders, gaat het dak eraf. De uptempo songs zijn dan ook de beste wat mij betreft, al is Roadie Man, met dat geweldige 'orgeltje', ook erg knap en Death Is Enough is misschien de énige ballad die ik kan appreciëren op dit album.

Nee, te veel ballads, Chrissie. Ik skip Better Than Me (nochtans vintage Pretenders), Blue Eyed Sky, The Man You Are, One More Day en I Hate Myself tijdens een volgende luisterbeurt.

Alone is een groeiplaat, een goede plaat ook, al staan er misschien iets te veel ballads en mid-tempo songs op en komt ze misschien niet tegemoet aan de (te) hoge verwachtingen. Nee, geen tweede Learning How To Crawl, Pretenders, Pretenders II, noch Loose Screw of Pop Star, en ook Stockholm vind ik een tikkeltje beter. Maar een goed album, zondermeer met enkele héél sterke songs aan boord.

Over het afgrijselijke artwork op de hoes, zal ik hier niet uitweiden. Het gaat tenslotte om de muziek, niet?

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


Music reviews

17
11
ALIEN VAMPIRES
Evil Twin Ep
16
11
DAVID J
Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
15
11
KLANGWELT
The Incident
14
11
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE
Resin EP
13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher
12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
11
New album by BORGHESIA - Proti kapitulaciji (Against Capitulation) - Out now!
17
11
Rise Of The Robots | Autobahn Reaches 44-Years
16
11
Varsovie present brand new video clip, Killing Anna!
13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works
15
11
RUSSIAN DARK COMMUNITY
New groups are always good, it is better to discover something new than to listen to what is already advertised on every site for the hundredth time.
13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
11
BLEIB MODERN
Paper Skin
17
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
To Replace My Sadness (preview 2016)
16
11
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
15
11
SRSQ
Permission
14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad
12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)