tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : THE PRETENDERS - Alone

THE PRETENDERS

Alone

MusicCD
Rock

[60/100]   

BMG
11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

Last Friday, October 21th, The Pretenders released a tenth album, the first in eight years. Alone was recorded in Nashville with Dan Aucherbach (The Black Keys, The Arcs). The album was intended as a follow-up to Chrissie Hynde's album Stockholm (2014), , but because of the specific way of working, 'with driving guitars, ragged but righteous arrangements', as the press release puts it, the choice was made to fly the Pretenders flag, with Hynde as the only original band member.

I really liked 2014's Stockholm, Chrissie Hynde's first ever solo-attempt, a brilliant album, including true rockers and some poppy stuff without fillers. I was a little surprised to read that a new Pretenders album had been scheduled, anxious to hear it too!

The Pretenders 2016 includes band members of Dan Aucherbach's The Arcs: Richard Swift on drums, Leon Michels on keyboards and Russ Pahl on pedal steel, Johnny Cash's bass player Dave Roe and country rocker Kenny Vaughan on guitars. Dan Aucherbach plays on all sorts of instruments and Hynde on vocals, providing the Pretenders touch.

The album was promised as 'the older, wiser, badder sister to the exhilarating debut' (Pretenders, 1980). That might be a little exaggerated or a bridge too far. I don't think you can compare both albums, nor can it be compared with other Pretenders classics. It's a good record, the new Pretenders sounds really fresh and at its best it rocks like hell. There is some great guitar playing and Michels' keyboard/organ sound is grand. Gems such as Chord Lord, Never Be Together, featuring no-one less than Duane Eddy!, Alone, the single Holy Communion and Gotta Wait are the best proof, although the latter is more a Black Keys song featuring Chrissie Hynde, if you ask me. Those uptempo rockers are instant faves, as are Roadie Man and Death Is Enough, which might be the only ballad on the album I really love.

The many ballads or mid-tempo songs on the album are perhaps the weakest links, as Chrissie has done so much better in the past. I think I will skip Better than Me (although vintage Pretenders), Blue Eyed Sky, The Man you Are, One More Day, I Hate Myself and Let's Get Lost at the next listening sessions.

I must admit that when I first heard it, I wasn't too keen on the album, but my expectations were perhaps too high. Alone is a grower with some really good songs. Is it the cracker that I had expected, topping albums such as Learning How To Crawl, Pretenders, Pretenders II or even Pop Star and Loose Screw? No. Is it better than Stockholm? No, it isn't, but it contains some top notch songs and yes, it's a good album, definitely worth listening to.

I'll keep my mouth shut about the shabby artwork that comes with the album, promised!

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

Vrijdag 21 oktober zag het tiende Pretenders-album het licht, het eerste in acht jaar. De opvolger van Break Up The Concrete, opgenomen in Nashville met Dan Aucherbach (The Black Keys, The Arcs), was eigenlijk bedoeld als Chrissie Hynde's tweede solo-album, een vervolg op Stockholm uit 2014, maar gaandeweg wezen gitaarsound en de arrangementen uit dat het een Pretenders-album zou worden, zo staat te lezen in het persbericht. Een Pretendersplaat dus, maar dan met Chrissie Hynde als énige originele bandlid.

Ik was aangenaam verrast toen Chrissie Hynde in 2014 uitpakte met een eerste solo-album. Stockholm was een evenwichtige plaat, een goede mix van vuige rockers en popdeuntjes, geen 'vullers'. Op een nieuw Pretenders-album had ik niet meer gerekend, dus groot was mijn verbazing evenals mijn nieuwsgierigheid natuurlijk.

De line-up van The Pretenders anno 2016 bestaat uit leden van Dan Aucherbach's The Arcs: drummer Richard Swift, Leon Michels op toetsen, Russ Pahl op pedal steel, countryrocker Kenny Vaughan op gitaar en de voormalige bassist van Johnny Cash op bas. Dan Aucherbach speelt zowat op alles en la Hynde brengt op haar eentje de Pretenders-touch aan met haar zo typische stemgeluid.

Het album zou het oudere, wijzere en gemenere zusje zijn van het debuutalbum Pretenders uit 1980, aldus het persbericht. Dat is lichtjes overdreven. Je kan Alone niét vergelijken met Pretenders, noch met andere Pretenders-classics, het is wel gewoon een goed album.

De nieuwe Pretenders klinken best fris en hoekig, zeker in de uptempo tracks, als er gerockt mag worden, zeg maar. En soms mag dat, iets té vaak staan de ballads in de weg. Als er gerockt wordt, zoals in Chord Lord, Never Be Together, Alone, de single Holy Communion en Gotta Wait, eerder Black Keys featuring Chrissie Hynde dan Pretenders, gaat het dak eraf. De uptempo songs zijn dan ook de beste wat mij betreft, al is Roadie Man, met dat geweldige 'orgeltje', ook erg knap en Death Is Enough is misschien de énige ballad die ik kan appreciëren op dit album.

Nee, te veel ballads, Chrissie. Ik skip Better Than Me (nochtans vintage Pretenders), Blue Eyed Sky, The Man You Are, One More Day en I Hate Myself tijdens een volgende luisterbeurt.

Alone is een groeiplaat, een goede plaat ook, al staan er misschien iets te veel ballads en mid-tempo songs op en komt ze misschien niet tegemoet aan de (te) hoge verwachtingen. Nee, geen tweede Learning How To Crawl, Pretenders, Pretenders II, noch Loose Screw of Pop Star, en ook Stockholm vind ik een tikkeltje beter. Maar een goed album, zondermeer met enkele héél sterke songs aan boord.

Over het afgrijselijke artwork op de hoes, zal ik hier niet uitweiden. Het gaat tenslotte om de muziek, niet?

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


Music reviews

23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)