tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : LAY YOUR GHOST - A darker love

LAY YOUR GHOST

A darker love

MusicCD (EP)


[81/100]   
11/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

Lay Your Ghost is the solo synthpop act by the American Axel Otero (a.k.a. Axel Ghost). He releases his first debut EP A Darker Love on bandcamp. Axel's penchant for the big names in the synthpop genre and his examples are recognizable in his music: Duran Duran and Depeche Mode.

A Darker Love is the opening track. A very quiet synthpop song with a typical eighties sound. We hear influences of Duran Duran. Das Ende has a very appealing and catchy drumbeat. It sounds darker, but recognizable. With a very nice synth melody, the third song Death Of Me kicks off. It sounds slightly more angular and has some sharper edges. If we want, we can call it a bit more EBM. Holy Ghost is very Depeche Mode-inspired. A very fine synthpop song that has it all. The way Axel sings is catchy. We now that a lot of acts have bad voices. Well, Axel has a great one!

The last song on this EP is The Flame, with a lingering melody. It is a danceable song. So if you find half a square meter on the dancefloor somewhere, that is all you need. And sometimes that is enough.

Axel himself puts it as follows:
I've always loved music with some form of duality in it. I wanted to do something that was danceable, melodic, but with lyrics that were not Necessarily the happiest. I also wanted to set a mood throughout the album and make the listener get lost in it. Each time I write something for Lay Your Ghost, I feel like I'm closer to what I want LYG to sound like, but I also feel that this EP is definitely a strong start towards the right direction. Musically, there are some obvious influences, but I'm mainly inspired by European synthpop and EBM groups. Lyrically, for this album I was inspired by horror movies, TV shows, stories and mainly personal stuff running through my head.


I could not describe it better. For synthpop lovers (and by the way: also for other people!), this debut EP is a beautiful gift. The songs are OK, vocals are very catchy. A good debut!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016

http://layyourghost.bandcamp.com/album/a-darker-love

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell