tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : LAY YOUR GHOST - A darker love

LAY YOUR GHOST

A darker love

MusicCD (EP)


[81/100]   
11/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

Lay Your Ghost is the solo synthpop act by the American Axel Otero (a.k.a. Axel Ghost). He releases his first debut EP A Darker Love on bandcamp. Axel's penchant for the big names in the synthpop genre and his examples are recognizable in his music: Duran Duran and Depeche Mode.

A Darker Love is the opening track. A very quiet synthpop song with a typical eighties sound. We hear influences of Duran Duran. Das Ende has a very appealing and catchy drumbeat. It sounds darker, but recognizable. With a very nice synth melody, the third song Death Of Me kicks off. It sounds slightly more angular and has some sharper edges. If we want, we can call it a bit more EBM. Holy Ghost is very Depeche Mode-inspired. A very fine synthpop song that has it all. The way Axel sings is catchy. We now that a lot of acts have bad voices. Well, Axel has a great one!

The last song on this EP is The Flame, with a lingering melody. It is a danceable song. So if you find half a square meter on the dancefloor somewhere, that is all you need. And sometimes that is enough.

Axel himself puts it as follows:
I've always loved music with some form of duality in it. I wanted to do something that was danceable, melodic, but with lyrics that were not Necessarily the happiest. I also wanted to set a mood throughout the album and make the listener get lost in it. Each time I write something for Lay Your Ghost, I feel like I'm closer to what I want LYG to sound like, but I also feel that this EP is definitely a strong start towards the right direction. Musically, there are some obvious influences, but I'm mainly inspired by European synthpop and EBM groups. Lyrically, for this album I was inspired by horror movies, TV shows, stories and mainly personal stuff running through my head.


I could not describe it better. For synthpop lovers (and by the way: also for other people!), this debut EP is a beautiful gift. The songs are OK, vocals are very catchy. A good debut!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016

http://layyourghost.bandcamp.com/album/a-darker-love

Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!
29
08
41 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag
15
09
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Die Interimsliebenden