tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : LAY YOUR GHOST - A darker love

LAY YOUR GHOST

A darker love

MusicCD (EP)


[81/100]   
11/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

Lay Your Ghost is the solo synthpop act by the American Axel Otero (a.k.a. Axel Ghost). He releases his first debut EP A Darker Love on bandcamp. Axel's penchant for the big names in the synthpop genre and his examples are recognizable in his music: Duran Duran and Depeche Mode.

A Darker Love is the opening track. A very quiet synthpop song with a typical eighties sound. We hear influences of Duran Duran. Das Ende has a very appealing and catchy drumbeat. It sounds darker, but recognizable. With a very nice synth melody, the third song Death Of Me kicks off. It sounds slightly more angular and has some sharper edges. If we want, we can call it a bit more EBM. Holy Ghost is very Depeche Mode-inspired. A very fine synthpop song that has it all. The way Axel sings is catchy. We now that a lot of acts have bad voices. Well, Axel has a great one!

The last song on this EP is The Flame, with a lingering melody. It is a danceable song. So if you find half a square meter on the dancefloor somewhere, that is all you need. And sometimes that is enough.

Axel himself puts it as follows:
I've always loved music with some form of duality in it. I wanted to do something that was danceable, melodic, but with lyrics that were not Necessarily the happiest. I also wanted to set a mood throughout the album and make the listener get lost in it. Each time I write something for Lay Your Ghost, I feel like I'm closer to what I want LYG to sound like, but I also feel that this EP is definitely a strong start towards the right direction. Musically, there are some obvious influences, but I'm mainly inspired by European synthpop and EBM groups. Lyrically, for this album I was inspired by horror movies, TV shows, stories and mainly personal stuff running through my head.


I could not describe it better. For synthpop lovers (and by the way: also for other people!), this debut EP is a beautiful gift. The songs are OK, vocals are very catchy. A good debut!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016

http://layyourghost.bandcamp.com/album/a-darker-love

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses