tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : LAY YOUR GHOST - A darker love

LAY YOUR GHOST

A darker love

MusicCD (EP)


[81/100]   
11/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

Lay Your Ghost is the solo synthpop act by the American Axel Otero (a.k.a. Axel Ghost). He releases his first debut EP A Darker Love on bandcamp. Axel's penchant for the big names in the synthpop genre and his examples are recognizable in his music: Duran Duran and Depeche Mode.

A Darker Love is the opening track. A very quiet synthpop song with a typical eighties sound. We hear influences of Duran Duran. Das Ende has a very appealing and catchy drumbeat. It sounds darker, but recognizable. With a very nice synth melody, the third song Death Of Me kicks off. It sounds slightly more angular and has some sharper edges. If we want, we can call it a bit more EBM. Holy Ghost is very Depeche Mode-inspired. A very fine synthpop song that has it all. The way Axel sings is catchy. We now that a lot of acts have bad voices. Well, Axel has a great one!

The last song on this EP is The Flame, with a lingering melody. It is a danceable song. So if you find half a square meter on the dancefloor somewhere, that is all you need. And sometimes that is enough.

Axel himself puts it as follows:
I've always loved music with some form of duality in it. I wanted to do something that was danceable, melodic, but with lyrics that were not Necessarily the happiest. I also wanted to set a mood throughout the album and make the listener get lost in it. Each time I write something for Lay Your Ghost, I feel like I'm closer to what I want LYG to sound like, but I also feel that this EP is definitely a strong start towards the right direction. Musically, there are some obvious influences, but I'm mainly inspired by European synthpop and EBM groups. Lyrically, for this album I was inspired by horror movies, TV shows, stories and mainly personal stuff running through my head.


I could not describe it better. For synthpop lovers (and by the way: also for other people!), this debut EP is a beautiful gift. The songs are OK, vocals are very catchy. A good debut!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016

http://layyourghost.bandcamp.com/album/a-darker-love

Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books

PHOTOS

22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On