tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : DARK POEM - The Fire Lives Inside

DARK POEM

The Fire Lives Inside

MusicCD
DarkwaveFaerie-lectroFolk / Ethnic / Tribal

[85/100]   

Wool-E Discs
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Four years after the debut Tales From the Shades, the follow-up album is released through Wool-E Discs. This Dark Poem album contains dreamy, magical music that includes samples, electronics, tribal percussion and spirited vocals, providing some nice moments. InTightrope Dancers we hear forest sounds, a dark bass, delicate percussion and a charged atmosphere. Together with the heavenly singing, the result is a collection of somewhat weird but attractive songs. Lughnasadh has some Indian influences and sound colors, while in Skulls And Bones tribal and trance rhythms come to the fore. Each track offers something different that fits within the whole of the album. While Listening to Like Water, you can imagine yourself in a semi-flooded cave.

What more can I say? This album was made in collaboration with musicians such as Traumasutra (Hybryds), ​​George Mensink (Kristus Kut) and Mark Burghgraeve (Somnambulist, ex-Klinik). Dark Poem sounds original and has well-developed songs with a lot of variation. On Lives on The Fire Inside the band explores the boundaries of what is achievable with the provided instruments, both in content and form. The main theme is a kind of tribute to the earth and its seasons, which is clearly reflected in the samples and rhythms. With Tales from the Shades the band creates a personal and mysterious world that draws you in and captivates until the end.

A strong album and a must for people who love dreampop, darkwave and faerie-lectro. A band which is great on stage as well.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Vier jaar na het debuut Tales From The Shades, is er nu het vervolg via Wool-E Discs. Zoals we Dark Poem een beetje kennen, is dit een dromerige feeërieke muziek bestaande uit samples, electronica, tribale percussie en begeesterende zang. Dat levert enkele mooie momenten op, bv. Tightrope Dancers dat bestaat uit woudgeluiden, een donkere bas, fijne percussie en een geladen sfeer. Voeg daarbij de hemelse gezangen en je hebt een ietwat weirde maar aantrekkelijke song. Lughnasadh heeft wat Indiase invloeden en klankkleuren terwijl in Skulls And Bones een tribaal en naar trance neigend ritme op de voorgrond treedt. Zo heeft elke track wat anders dat in het geheel van het album past. Tijdens Like Water waan je je in een half ondergelopen grot.

Wat kan ik nog meer zeggen? Voor dit album is samengewerkt met muzikanten zoals Traumasutra (Hybryds), George Mensink (Kristus Kut) en Mark Burghgraeve (Somnambulist, ex-Klinik). Dark Poem klinkt origineel en heeft goed uitgewerkte songs met nogal wat variatie. In The Fire Lives Inside worden de grenzen opgezocht van wat haalbaar is met de instrumenten die ter beschikking zijn, zowel qua inhoud als qua vorm. Het hoofdthema is een soort eerbetoon aan de Aarde en haar seizoenen, wat duidelijk tot uiting komt in de samples en de ritmes. Met haar muziek slaagt de band erin om een eigen mysterieuze wereld op te bouwen die je meezuigt en weet te boeien tot het einde.

Een sterk album en een aanrader voor mensen die van dreampop, darkwave en faerie-lectro houden. Een band die trouwens ook live een aanrader is.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
12
This month, 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
Russian Dark Community in search of new blood
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
12
ORKESTRA OBSOLETE
Blue Monday
02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover