tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : DARK POEM - The Fire Lives Inside

DARK POEM

The Fire Lives Inside

MusicCD
DarkwaveFaerie-lectroFolk / Ethnic / Tribal

[85/100]   

Wool-E Discs
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Four years after the debut Tales From the Shades, the follow-up album is released through Wool-E Discs. This Dark Poem album contains dreamy, magical music that includes samples, electronics, tribal percussion and spirited vocals, providing some nice moments. InTightrope Dancers we hear forest sounds, a dark bass, delicate percussion and a charged atmosphere. Together with the heavenly singing, the result is a collection of somewhat weird but attractive songs. Lughnasadh has some Indian influences and sound colors, while in Skulls And Bones tribal and trance rhythms come to the fore. Each track offers something different that fits within the whole of the album. While Listening to Like Water, you can imagine yourself in a semi-flooded cave.

What more can I say? This album was made in collaboration with musicians such as Traumasutra (Hybryds), ​​George Mensink (Kristus Kut) and Mark Burghgraeve (Somnambulist, ex-Klinik). Dark Poem sounds original and has well-developed songs with a lot of variation. On Lives on The Fire Inside the band explores the boundaries of what is achievable with the provided instruments, both in content and form. The main theme is a kind of tribute to the earth and its seasons, which is clearly reflected in the samples and rhythms. With Tales from the Shades the band creates a personal and mysterious world that draws you in and captivates until the end.

A strong album and a must for people who love dreampop, darkwave and faerie-lectro. A band which is great on stage as well.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Vier jaar na het debuut Tales From The Shades, is er nu het vervolg via Wool-E Discs. Zoals we Dark Poem een beetje kennen, is dit een dromerige feeërieke muziek bestaande uit samples, electronica, tribale percussie en begeesterende zang. Dat levert enkele mooie momenten op, bv. Tightrope Dancers dat bestaat uit woudgeluiden, een donkere bas, fijne percussie en een geladen sfeer. Voeg daarbij de hemelse gezangen en je hebt een ietwat weirde maar aantrekkelijke song. Lughnasadh heeft wat Indiase invloeden en klankkleuren terwijl in Skulls And Bones een tribaal en naar trance neigend ritme op de voorgrond treedt. Zo heeft elke track wat anders dat in het geheel van het album past. Tijdens Like Water waan je je in een half ondergelopen grot.

Wat kan ik nog meer zeggen? Voor dit album is samengewerkt met muzikanten zoals Traumasutra (Hybryds), George Mensink (Kristus Kut) en Mark Burghgraeve (Somnambulist, ex-Klinik). Dark Poem klinkt origineel en heeft goed uitgewerkte songs met nogal wat variatie. In The Fire Lives Inside worden de grenzen opgezocht van wat haalbaar is met de instrumenten die ter beschikking zijn, zowel qua inhoud als qua vorm. Het hoofdthema is een soort eerbetoon aan de Aarde en haar seizoenen, wat duidelijk tot uiting komt in de samples en de ritmes. Met haar muziek slaagt de band erin om een eigen mysterieuze wereld op te bouwen die je meezuigt en weet te boeien tot het einde.

Een sterk album en een aanrader voor mensen die van dreampop, darkwave en faerie-lectro houden. Een band die trouwens ook live een aanrader is.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl