tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : DARK POEM - The Fire Lives Inside

DARK POEM

The Fire Lives Inside

MusicCD
DarkwaveFaerie-lectroFolk / Ethnic / Tribal

[85/100]   

Wool-E Discs
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Four years after the debut Tales From the Shades, the follow-up album is released through Wool-E Discs. This Dark Poem album contains dreamy, magical music that includes samples, electronics, tribal percussion and spirited vocals, providing some nice moments. InTightrope Dancers we hear forest sounds, a dark bass, delicate percussion and a charged atmosphere. Together with the heavenly singing, the result is a collection of somewhat weird but attractive songs. Lughnasadh has some Indian influences and sound colors, while in Skulls And Bones tribal and trance rhythms come to the fore. Each track offers something different that fits within the whole of the album. While Listening to Like Water, you can imagine yourself in a semi-flooded cave.

What more can I say? This album was made in collaboration with musicians such as Traumasutra (Hybryds), ​​George Mensink (Kristus Kut) and Mark Burghgraeve (Somnambulist, ex-Klinik). Dark Poem sounds original and has well-developed songs with a lot of variation. On Lives on The Fire Inside the band explores the boundaries of what is achievable with the provided instruments, both in content and form. The main theme is a kind of tribute to the earth and its seasons, which is clearly reflected in the samples and rhythms. With Tales from the Shades the band creates a personal and mysterious world that draws you in and captivates until the end.

A strong album and a must for people who love dreampop, darkwave and faerie-lectro. A band which is great on stage as well.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Vier jaar na het debuut Tales From The Shades, is er nu het vervolg via Wool-E Discs. Zoals we Dark Poem een beetje kennen, is dit een dromerige feeërieke muziek bestaande uit samples, electronica, tribale percussie en begeesterende zang. Dat levert enkele mooie momenten op, bv. Tightrope Dancers dat bestaat uit woudgeluiden, een donkere bas, fijne percussie en een geladen sfeer. Voeg daarbij de hemelse gezangen en je hebt een ietwat weirde maar aantrekkelijke song. Lughnasadh heeft wat Indiase invloeden en klankkleuren terwijl in Skulls And Bones een tribaal en naar trance neigend ritme op de voorgrond treedt. Zo heeft elke track wat anders dat in het geheel van het album past. Tijdens Like Water waan je je in een half ondergelopen grot.

Wat kan ik nog meer zeggen? Voor dit album is samengewerkt met muzikanten zoals Traumasutra (Hybryds), George Mensink (Kristus Kut) en Mark Burghgraeve (Somnambulist, ex-Klinik). Dark Poem klinkt origineel en heeft goed uitgewerkte songs met nogal wat variatie. In The Fire Lives Inside worden de grenzen opgezocht van wat haalbaar is met de instrumenten die ter beschikking zijn, zowel qua inhoud als qua vorm. Het hoofdthema is een soort eerbetoon aan de Aarde en haar seizoenen, wat duidelijk tot uiting komt in de samples en de ritmes. Met haar muziek slaagt de band erin om een eigen mysterieuze wereld op te bouwen die je meezuigt en weet te boeien tot het einde.

Een sterk album en een aanrader voor mensen die van dreampop, darkwave en faerie-lectro houden. Een band die trouwens ook live een aanrader is.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle
15
04
PSY'AVIAH
Lightflare

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
04
Rummelsnuff releases double album / best of - “Salzig schmeckt der Wind”
23
04
The Mexican-German band Rabia Sorda has recorded its hardest album to date “The World Ends Today
21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'
15
04
Vogue.Noir release Strange.Days
14
04
Mourners release their first songs!

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
04
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Lips Like Sugar
23
04
HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS
The Space In Between
22
04
NINE INCH NAILS
Only
21
04
HUMINOIDA
Ghosts on Photos
21
04
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
20
04
MIDAS FALL
Glue
19
04
0KONTROL
Limbo