tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : DARK POEM - The Fire Lives Inside

DARK POEM

The Fire Lives Inside

MusicCD
DarkwaveFaerie-lectroFolk / Ethnic / Tribal

[85/100]   

Wool-E Discs
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Four years after the debut Tales From the Shades, the follow-up album is released through Wool-E Discs. This Dark Poem album contains dreamy, magical music that includes samples, electronics, tribal percussion and spirited vocals, providing some nice moments. InTightrope Dancers we hear forest sounds, a dark bass, delicate percussion and a charged atmosphere. Together with the heavenly singing, the result is a collection of somewhat weird but attractive songs. Lughnasadh has some Indian influences and sound colors, while in Skulls And Bones tribal and trance rhythms come to the fore. Each track offers something different that fits within the whole of the album. While Listening to Like Water, you can imagine yourself in a semi-flooded cave.

What more can I say? This album was made in collaboration with musicians such as Traumasutra (Hybryds), ​​George Mensink (Kristus Kut) and Mark Burghgraeve (Somnambulist, ex-Klinik). Dark Poem sounds original and has well-developed songs with a lot of variation. On Lives on The Fire Inside the band explores the boundaries of what is achievable with the provided instruments, both in content and form. The main theme is a kind of tribute to the earth and its seasons, which is clearly reflected in the samples and rhythms. With Tales from the Shades the band creates a personal and mysterious world that draws you in and captivates until the end.

A strong album and a must for people who love dreampop, darkwave and faerie-lectro. A band which is great on stage as well.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Vier jaar na het debuut Tales From The Shades, is er nu het vervolg via Wool-E Discs. Zoals we Dark Poem een beetje kennen, is dit een dromerige feeërieke muziek bestaande uit samples, electronica, tribale percussie en begeesterende zang. Dat levert enkele mooie momenten op, bv. Tightrope Dancers dat bestaat uit woudgeluiden, een donkere bas, fijne percussie en een geladen sfeer. Voeg daarbij de hemelse gezangen en je hebt een ietwat weirde maar aantrekkelijke song. Lughnasadh heeft wat Indiase invloeden en klankkleuren terwijl in Skulls And Bones een tribaal en naar trance neigend ritme op de voorgrond treedt. Zo heeft elke track wat anders dat in het geheel van het album past. Tijdens Like Water waan je je in een half ondergelopen grot.

Wat kan ik nog meer zeggen? Voor dit album is samengewerkt met muzikanten zoals Traumasutra (Hybryds), George Mensink (Kristus Kut) en Mark Burghgraeve (Somnambulist, ex-Klinik). Dark Poem klinkt origineel en heeft goed uitgewerkte songs met nogal wat variatie. In The Fire Lives Inside worden de grenzen opgezocht van wat haalbaar is met de instrumenten die ter beschikking zijn, zowel qua inhoud als qua vorm. Het hoofdthema is een soort eerbetoon aan de Aarde en haar seizoenen, wat duidelijk tot uiting komt in de samples en de ritmes. Met haar muziek slaagt de band erin om een eigen mysterieuze wereld op te bouwen die je meezuigt en weet te boeien tot het einde.

Een sterk album en een aanrader voor mensen die van dreampop, darkwave en faerie-lectro houden. Een band die trouwens ook live een aanrader is.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
ELM
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
PRAGA KHAN
AB Brussel
24
09
CHRISTIAN DEATH
South of Heaven Bilzen
24
09
FACTHEORY
South of Heaven Bilzen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets