tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : DARK POEM - The Fire Lives Inside

DARK POEM

The Fire Lives Inside

MusicCD
DarkwaveFaerie-lectroFolk / Ethnic / Tribal

[85/100]   

Wool-E Discs
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Four years after the debut Tales From the Shades, the follow-up album is released through Wool-E Discs. This Dark Poem album contains dreamy, magical music that includes samples, electronics, tribal percussion and spirited vocals, providing some nice moments. InTightrope Dancers we hear forest sounds, a dark bass, delicate percussion and a charged atmosphere. Together with the heavenly singing, the result is a collection of somewhat weird but attractive songs. Lughnasadh has some Indian influences and sound colors, while in Skulls And Bones tribal and trance rhythms come to the fore. Each track offers something different that fits within the whole of the album. While Listening to Like Water, you can imagine yourself in a semi-flooded cave.

What more can I say? This album was made in collaboration with musicians such as Traumasutra (Hybryds), ​​George Mensink (Kristus Kut) and Mark Burghgraeve (Somnambulist, ex-Klinik). Dark Poem sounds original and has well-developed songs with a lot of variation. On Lives on The Fire Inside the band explores the boundaries of what is achievable with the provided instruments, both in content and form. The main theme is a kind of tribute to the earth and its seasons, which is clearly reflected in the samples and rhythms. With Tales from the Shades the band creates a personal and mysterious world that draws you in and captivates until the end.

A strong album and a must for people who love dreampop, darkwave and faerie-lectro. A band which is great on stage as well.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Vier jaar na het debuut Tales From The Shades, is er nu het vervolg via Wool-E Discs. Zoals we Dark Poem een beetje kennen, is dit een dromerige feeërieke muziek bestaande uit samples, electronica, tribale percussie en begeesterende zang. Dat levert enkele mooie momenten op, bv. Tightrope Dancers dat bestaat uit woudgeluiden, een donkere bas, fijne percussie en een geladen sfeer. Voeg daarbij de hemelse gezangen en je hebt een ietwat weirde maar aantrekkelijke song. Lughnasadh heeft wat Indiase invloeden en klankkleuren terwijl in Skulls And Bones een tribaal en naar trance neigend ritme op de voorgrond treedt. Zo heeft elke track wat anders dat in het geheel van het album past. Tijdens Like Water waan je je in een half ondergelopen grot.

Wat kan ik nog meer zeggen? Voor dit album is samengewerkt met muzikanten zoals Traumasutra (Hybryds), George Mensink (Kristus Kut) en Mark Burghgraeve (Somnambulist, ex-Klinik). Dark Poem klinkt origineel en heeft goed uitgewerkte songs met nogal wat variatie. In The Fire Lives Inside worden de grenzen opgezocht van wat haalbaar is met de instrumenten die ter beschikking zijn, zowel qua inhoud als qua vorm. Het hoofdthema is een soort eerbetoon aan de Aarde en haar seizoenen, wat duidelijk tot uiting komt in de samples en de ritmes. Met haar muziek slaagt de band erin om een eigen mysterieuze wereld op te bouwen die je meezuigt en weet te boeien tot het einde.

Een sterk album en een aanrader voor mensen die van dreampop, darkwave en faerie-lectro houden. Een band die trouwens ook live een aanrader is.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

24
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Human Transitions
23
03
AUTOGRAMM
What R U Waiting 4?
22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
03
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Phoenix
23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco