tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DOOMSQUAD - Total Time

DOOMSQUAD

Total Time

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalPost PunkPsychedelic

[85/100]   

Bella Union
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

We were quite uplifted when we recently heard the news that Talking Heads is thinking of a reunion. Of course the big question is whether David Byrne and the rest are still able to bring back the magic of yesteryear. Honestly, we are willing to make a pilgrimage for it, but doubts remain. And if it should fail, there is Doomsquad to dissipate the pain.

This trio from Toronto appeared in various trendy publications recently. We understand that you have had it with yet another band that is labelled as "the next big thing". You don’t have to believe us, but you better watch Doomsquad.

Simon Raymonde understood it too, and the successor of the 2014 debut album (Kalaboogie) is out on his Bella Union label. Beware, if we talk about Talking Heads, we don’t mean an uninspired copy like Vampire Weekend, but a band that mixes dance rhythms, post-punk, psychedelia and experimentation in an extremely original way. Diverse ingredients with equally diverse flavors, but once shaken vigorously, you get a masterpiece like Total Time.

The album was recorded in the desert of New Mexico, and the band got help from many renowned names: Mike Haliechuk of Fucked Up, members of HUREN, but also Mary Margaret O'Hara who sings along on the experimental The Very Large Array.

Total Time sounds anything but ordinary. You really can expect anything, even a song about a donkey with hilarious lyrics as my burro, my hero, my ass (single Solar Ass).

The band fears nothing, Farmer's Almanac begins as an absolutely new-age tune you better avoid, but as soon as the electronic beats and the dub echoes start, you know you are hit again by Doomsquad’s enchanting, very unique sound.

Indie folk with krautrock, psychedelia and post-punk guitars. That’s what you get in the opener Who Owns Noons in Sandusky? or the infectious Pyramids On Mars. Collective Insanity is a bit like Beach House, but it has a more obscure side. The band always admired Genesis P-Orridge, they never made it a secret, which is beautifully showcased on the experimental end song Russian Gaze.

Doomsquad creates unique music that can’t be summarized in a few words, it's more like an experience that puts your mind in a trance. To be placed among the pile of favorites of the year.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

We waren best opgebeurd toen we onlangs het aangename nieuws hoorden dat Talking Heads aan een reünie denkt. De grote vraag blijft natuurlijk of David Byrne en de rest nog in staat zijn om dezelfde magie van weleer te brengen. Eerlijk, we zijn bereid om er zelfs op een bedevaart voor te gaan, maar de twijfels blijven. En als het toch mislukt, is er alsnog Doomsquad dat de pijn kan verdrijven.

Dit trio uit Toronto duikt de laatste weken in allerlei hippe publicaties op. We begrijpen maar al te goed dat je het hebt gehad met alweer zo’n band die als “the next big thing” de wereld wordt ingestuurd. Geloven moet je ons niet, toch houd je Doomsquad maar beter in het oog.

Ook Simon Raymonde heeft dat begrepen, en de opvolger van het debuut uit 2014 (Kalaboogie) is dan ook op zijn Bella Union-label verschenen. Pas op, als we het over Talking Heads hebben, dan bedoelen we geen inspiratieloze kopie zoals Vampire Weekend, wel een band die op uiterst originele manier dansritmes, postpunk, psychedelica en zelfs experimentele elementen met elkaar vermengd. Zeer uiteenlopende ingrediënten met al even diverse smaken dus, maar gewoon eens flink schudden, en je krijgt een meesterwerk zoals Total Time.

De plaat is opgenomen in de woestijn van Nieuw-Mexico, en de band kreeg de hulp van heel wat gerenommeerde namen: Mike Haliechuk van Fucked Up, leden van HUREN, maar ook Mary Margaret O’Hara die meezingt op het experimentele The Very Large Array.

Total Time klinkt allesbehalve alledaags. Je mag je dan ook aan alles verwachten, zelfs een song over een ezel met hilarische lyrics zoals my burro, my hero, my ass (de single Solar Ass).

De band is van niets vies, Farmer’s Almanac begint als een absoluut te mijden new age-gedrocht, maar van zodra de elektronische beats en dubecho’s hun intrede doen, weet je dat je opnieuw in de ban zal geraken van het betoverende, zeer unieke geluid.

Indiefolk met krautrock, psychedelica en postpunkgitaren. Een heerlijke combinatie, zoals je in de opener Who Owns Noons In Sandusky? of het aanstekelijke Pyramids On Mars kan horen. Collective Insanity ruikt wel wat naar Beach House, maar het heeft een duisterder kantje. De band heeft zijn bewondering voor Genesis P-Orridge ook nooit onder stoelen of banken gestoken, wat prachtig gedemonstreerd wordt in de afsluiter Russian Gaze, waarin volop geëxperimenteerd wordt.

Doomsquad maakt aparte muziek die je niet zo maar met een paar woorden kan vatten, het is meer als een belevenis die je geest in een bepaalde trance brengt. Te plaatsen in het stapeltje van aanraders van het jaar.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
COCAINE PISS • Sex Weirdos
VIEON • Fly By Light
VICTOR LOVE • Technomancy
ESKOBAR • Magnetic
BLUSH RESPONSE • Reshaper
ANTIBODY • Shrimps
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
MOGWAI • Atomic OST
DOUBLE EYELID • Broken Mirror

 

Other reviews from DOOMSQUAD
DOOMSQUAD • Antwerpen, Trix (28/05/2016)

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline