tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DOOMSQUAD - Total Time

DOOMSQUAD

Total Time

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalPost PunkPsychedelic

[85/100]   

Bella Union
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

We were quite uplifted when we recently heard the news that Talking Heads is thinking of a reunion. Of course the big question is whether David Byrne and the rest are still able to bring back the magic of yesteryear. Honestly, we are willing to make a pilgrimage for it, but doubts remain. And if it should fail, there is Doomsquad to dissipate the pain.

This trio from Toronto appeared in various trendy publications recently. We understand that you have had it with yet another band that is labelled as "the next big thing". You don’t have to believe us, but you better watch Doomsquad.

Simon Raymonde understood it too, and the successor of the 2014 debut album (Kalaboogie) is out on his Bella Union label. Beware, if we talk about Talking Heads, we don’t mean an uninspired copy like Vampire Weekend, but a band that mixes dance rhythms, post-punk, psychedelia and experimentation in an extremely original way. Diverse ingredients with equally diverse flavors, but once shaken vigorously, you get a masterpiece like Total Time.

The album was recorded in the desert of New Mexico, and the band got help from many renowned names: Mike Haliechuk of Fucked Up, members of HUREN, but also Mary Margaret O'Hara who sings along on the experimental The Very Large Array.

Total Time sounds anything but ordinary. You really can expect anything, even a song about a donkey with hilarious lyrics as my burro, my hero, my ass (single Solar Ass).

The band fears nothing, Farmer's Almanac begins as an absolutely new-age tune you better avoid, but as soon as the electronic beats and the dub echoes start, you know you are hit again by Doomsquad’s enchanting, very unique sound.

Indie folk with krautrock, psychedelia and post-punk guitars. That’s what you get in the opener Who Owns Noons in Sandusky? or the infectious Pyramids On Mars. Collective Insanity is a bit like Beach House, but it has a more obscure side. The band always admired Genesis P-Orridge, they never made it a secret, which is beautifully showcased on the experimental end song Russian Gaze.

Doomsquad creates unique music that can’t be summarized in a few words, it's more like an experience that puts your mind in a trance. To be placed among the pile of favorites of the year.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

We waren best opgebeurd toen we onlangs het aangename nieuws hoorden dat Talking Heads aan een reünie denkt. De grote vraag blijft natuurlijk of David Byrne en de rest nog in staat zijn om dezelfde magie van weleer te brengen. Eerlijk, we zijn bereid om er zelfs op een bedevaart voor te gaan, maar de twijfels blijven. En als het toch mislukt, is er alsnog Doomsquad dat de pijn kan verdrijven.

Dit trio uit Toronto duikt de laatste weken in allerlei hippe publicaties op. We begrijpen maar al te goed dat je het hebt gehad met alweer zo’n band die als “the next big thing” de wereld wordt ingestuurd. Geloven moet je ons niet, toch houd je Doomsquad maar beter in het oog.

Ook Simon Raymonde heeft dat begrepen, en de opvolger van het debuut uit 2014 (Kalaboogie) is dan ook op zijn Bella Union-label verschenen. Pas op, als we het over Talking Heads hebben, dan bedoelen we geen inspiratieloze kopie zoals Vampire Weekend, wel een band die op uiterst originele manier dansritmes, postpunk, psychedelica en zelfs experimentele elementen met elkaar vermengd. Zeer uiteenlopende ingrediënten met al even diverse smaken dus, maar gewoon eens flink schudden, en je krijgt een meesterwerk zoals Total Time.

De plaat is opgenomen in de woestijn van Nieuw-Mexico, en de band kreeg de hulp van heel wat gerenommeerde namen: Mike Haliechuk van Fucked Up, leden van HUREN, maar ook Mary Margaret O’Hara die meezingt op het experimentele The Very Large Array.

Total Time klinkt allesbehalve alledaags. Je mag je dan ook aan alles verwachten, zelfs een song over een ezel met hilarische lyrics zoals my burro, my hero, my ass (de single Solar Ass).

De band is van niets vies, Farmer’s Almanac begint als een absoluut te mijden new age-gedrocht, maar van zodra de elektronische beats en dubecho’s hun intrede doen, weet je dat je opnieuw in de ban zal geraken van het betoverende, zeer unieke geluid.

Indiefolk met krautrock, psychedelica en postpunkgitaren. Een heerlijke combinatie, zoals je in de opener Who Owns Noons In Sandusky? of het aanstekelijke Pyramids On Mars kan horen. Collective Insanity ruikt wel wat naar Beach House, maar het heeft een duisterder kantje. De band heeft zijn bewondering voor Genesis P-Orridge ook nooit onder stoelen of banken gestoken, wat prachtig gedemonstreerd wordt in de afsluiter Russian Gaze, waarin volop geëxperimenteerd wordt.

Doomsquad maakt aparte muziek die je niet zo maar met een paar woorden kan vatten, het is meer als een belevenis die je geest in een bepaalde trance brengt. Te plaatsen in het stapeltje van aanraders van het jaar.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
COCAINE PISS • Sex Weirdos
VIEON • Fly By Light
VICTOR LOVE • Technomancy
ESKOBAR • Magnetic
BLUSH RESPONSE • Reshaper
ANTIBODY • Shrimps
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
MOGWAI • Atomic OST
DOUBLE EYELID • Broken Mirror

 

Other reviews from DOOMSQUAD
DOOMSQUAD • Antwerpen, Trix (28/05/2016)

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty