tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DOOMSQUAD - Total Time

DOOMSQUAD

Total Time

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalPost PunkPsychedelic

[85/100]   

Bella Union
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

We were quite uplifted when we recently heard the news that Talking Heads is thinking of a reunion. Of course the big question is whether David Byrne and the rest are still able to bring back the magic of yesteryear. Honestly, we are willing to make a pilgrimage for it, but doubts remain. And if it should fail, there is Doomsquad to dissipate the pain.

This trio from Toronto appeared in various trendy publications recently. We understand that you have had it with yet another band that is labelled as "the next big thing". You don’t have to believe us, but you better watch Doomsquad.

Simon Raymonde understood it too, and the successor of the 2014 debut album (Kalaboogie) is out on his Bella Union label. Beware, if we talk about Talking Heads, we don’t mean an uninspired copy like Vampire Weekend, but a band that mixes dance rhythms, post-punk, psychedelia and experimentation in an extremely original way. Diverse ingredients with equally diverse flavors, but once shaken vigorously, you get a masterpiece like Total Time.

The album was recorded in the desert of New Mexico, and the band got help from many renowned names: Mike Haliechuk of Fucked Up, members of HUREN, but also Mary Margaret O'Hara who sings along on the experimental The Very Large Array.

Total Time sounds anything but ordinary. You really can expect anything, even a song about a donkey with hilarious lyrics as my burro, my hero, my ass (single Solar Ass).

The band fears nothing, Farmer's Almanac begins as an absolutely new-age tune you better avoid, but as soon as the electronic beats and the dub echoes start, you know you are hit again by Doomsquad’s enchanting, very unique sound.

Indie folk with krautrock, psychedelia and post-punk guitars. That’s what you get in the opener Who Owns Noons in Sandusky? or the infectious Pyramids On Mars. Collective Insanity is a bit like Beach House, but it has a more obscure side. The band always admired Genesis P-Orridge, they never made it a secret, which is beautifully showcased on the experimental end song Russian Gaze.

Doomsquad creates unique music that can’t be summarized in a few words, it's more like an experience that puts your mind in a trance. To be placed among the pile of favorites of the year.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

We waren best opgebeurd toen we onlangs het aangename nieuws hoorden dat Talking Heads aan een reünie denkt. De grote vraag blijft natuurlijk of David Byrne en de rest nog in staat zijn om dezelfde magie van weleer te brengen. Eerlijk, we zijn bereid om er zelfs op een bedevaart voor te gaan, maar de twijfels blijven. En als het toch mislukt, is er alsnog Doomsquad dat de pijn kan verdrijven.

Dit trio uit Toronto duikt de laatste weken in allerlei hippe publicaties op. We begrijpen maar al te goed dat je het hebt gehad met alweer zo’n band die als “the next big thing” de wereld wordt ingestuurd. Geloven moet je ons niet, toch houd je Doomsquad maar beter in het oog.

Ook Simon Raymonde heeft dat begrepen, en de opvolger van het debuut uit 2014 (Kalaboogie) is dan ook op zijn Bella Union-label verschenen. Pas op, als we het over Talking Heads hebben, dan bedoelen we geen inspiratieloze kopie zoals Vampire Weekend, wel een band die op uiterst originele manier dansritmes, postpunk, psychedelica en zelfs experimentele elementen met elkaar vermengd. Zeer uiteenlopende ingrediënten met al even diverse smaken dus, maar gewoon eens flink schudden, en je krijgt een meesterwerk zoals Total Time.

De plaat is opgenomen in de woestijn van Nieuw-Mexico, en de band kreeg de hulp van heel wat gerenommeerde namen: Mike Haliechuk van Fucked Up, leden van HUREN, maar ook Mary Margaret O’Hara die meezingt op het experimentele The Very Large Array.

Total Time klinkt allesbehalve alledaags. Je mag je dan ook aan alles verwachten, zelfs een song over een ezel met hilarische lyrics zoals my burro, my hero, my ass (de single Solar Ass).

De band is van niets vies, Farmer’s Almanac begint als een absoluut te mijden new age-gedrocht, maar van zodra de elektronische beats en dubecho’s hun intrede doen, weet je dat je opnieuw in de ban zal geraken van het betoverende, zeer unieke geluid.

Indiefolk met krautrock, psychedelica en postpunkgitaren. Een heerlijke combinatie, zoals je in de opener Who Owns Noons In Sandusky? of het aanstekelijke Pyramids On Mars kan horen. Collective Insanity ruikt wel wat naar Beach House, maar het heeft een duisterder kantje. De band heeft zijn bewondering voor Genesis P-Orridge ook nooit onder stoelen of banken gestoken, wat prachtig gedemonstreerd wordt in de afsluiter Russian Gaze, waarin volop geëxperimenteerd wordt.

Doomsquad maakt aparte muziek die je niet zo maar met een paar woorden kan vatten, het is meer als een belevenis die je geest in een bepaalde trance brengt. Te plaatsen in het stapeltje van aanraders van het jaar.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
COCAINE PISS • Sex Weirdos
VIEON • Fly By Light
VICTOR LOVE • Technomancy
ESKOBAR • Magnetic
BLUSH RESPONSE • Reshaper
ANTIBODY • Shrimps
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
MOGWAI • Atomic OST
DOUBLE EYELID • Broken Mirror

 

Other reviews from DOOMSQUAD
DOOMSQUAD • Antwerpen, Trix (28/05/2016)

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
A SLICE OF LIFE • Tabula Rasa
KILL SHELTER • Asylum
SYGO CRIES • In Outside Places
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions

Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
12
Today, 44 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
79 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
30 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Rabbit Junk Brings Fatalism And Frustration To 'Apocalypse For Beginners'
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
46 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2

PHOTOS

08
12
TARJA TURUNEN
Christuskirche Bochum
05
12
SONAR
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TEST DEPT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
RADICAL G
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
FIX8:SED8
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TC75
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
SOFT RIOT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
12
HELENA HAUFF
Sworn To Secrecy Part II
07
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
06
12
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
05
12
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
04
12
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
03
12
GOOSE
Synrise
02
12
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks