tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DOOMSQUAD - Total Time

DOOMSQUAD

Total Time

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalPost PunkPsychedelic

[85/100]   

Bella Union
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

We were quite uplifted when we recently heard the news that Talking Heads is thinking of a reunion. Of course the big question is whether David Byrne and the rest are still able to bring back the magic of yesteryear. Honestly, we are willing to make a pilgrimage for it, but doubts remain. And if it should fail, there is Doomsquad to dissipate the pain.

This trio from Toronto appeared in various trendy publications recently. We understand that you have had it with yet another band that is labelled as "the next big thing". You don’t have to believe us, but you better watch Doomsquad.

Simon Raymonde understood it too, and the successor of the 2014 debut album (Kalaboogie) is out on his Bella Union label. Beware, if we talk about Talking Heads, we don’t mean an uninspired copy like Vampire Weekend, but a band that mixes dance rhythms, post-punk, psychedelia and experimentation in an extremely original way. Diverse ingredients with equally diverse flavors, but once shaken vigorously, you get a masterpiece like Total Time.

The album was recorded in the desert of New Mexico, and the band got help from many renowned names: Mike Haliechuk of Fucked Up, members of HUREN, but also Mary Margaret O'Hara who sings along on the experimental The Very Large Array.

Total Time sounds anything but ordinary. You really can expect anything, even a song about a donkey with hilarious lyrics as my burro, my hero, my ass (single Solar Ass).

The band fears nothing, Farmer's Almanac begins as an absolutely new-age tune you better avoid, but as soon as the electronic beats and the dub echoes start, you know you are hit again by Doomsquad’s enchanting, very unique sound.

Indie folk with krautrock, psychedelia and post-punk guitars. That’s what you get in the opener Who Owns Noons in Sandusky? or the infectious Pyramids On Mars. Collective Insanity is a bit like Beach House, but it has a more obscure side. The band always admired Genesis P-Orridge, they never made it a secret, which is beautifully showcased on the experimental end song Russian Gaze.

Doomsquad creates unique music that can’t be summarized in a few words, it's more like an experience that puts your mind in a trance. To be placed among the pile of favorites of the year.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

We waren best opgebeurd toen we onlangs het aangename nieuws hoorden dat Talking Heads aan een reünie denkt. De grote vraag blijft natuurlijk of David Byrne en de rest nog in staat zijn om dezelfde magie van weleer te brengen. Eerlijk, we zijn bereid om er zelfs op een bedevaart voor te gaan, maar de twijfels blijven. En als het toch mislukt, is er alsnog Doomsquad dat de pijn kan verdrijven.

Dit trio uit Toronto duikt de laatste weken in allerlei hippe publicaties op. We begrijpen maar al te goed dat je het hebt gehad met alweer zo’n band die als “the next big thing” de wereld wordt ingestuurd. Geloven moet je ons niet, toch houd je Doomsquad maar beter in het oog.

Ook Simon Raymonde heeft dat begrepen, en de opvolger van het debuut uit 2014 (Kalaboogie) is dan ook op zijn Bella Union-label verschenen. Pas op, als we het over Talking Heads hebben, dan bedoelen we geen inspiratieloze kopie zoals Vampire Weekend, wel een band die op uiterst originele manier dansritmes, postpunk, psychedelica en zelfs experimentele elementen met elkaar vermengd. Zeer uiteenlopende ingrediënten met al even diverse smaken dus, maar gewoon eens flink schudden, en je krijgt een meesterwerk zoals Total Time.

De plaat is opgenomen in de woestijn van Nieuw-Mexico, en de band kreeg de hulp van heel wat gerenommeerde namen: Mike Haliechuk van Fucked Up, leden van HUREN, maar ook Mary Margaret O’Hara die meezingt op het experimentele The Very Large Array.

Total Time klinkt allesbehalve alledaags. Je mag je dan ook aan alles verwachten, zelfs een song over een ezel met hilarische lyrics zoals my burro, my hero, my ass (de single Solar Ass).

De band is van niets vies, Farmer’s Almanac begint als een absoluut te mijden new age-gedrocht, maar van zodra de elektronische beats en dubecho’s hun intrede doen, weet je dat je opnieuw in de ban zal geraken van het betoverende, zeer unieke geluid.

Indiefolk met krautrock, psychedelica en postpunkgitaren. Een heerlijke combinatie, zoals je in de opener Who Owns Noons In Sandusky? of het aanstekelijke Pyramids On Mars kan horen. Collective Insanity ruikt wel wat naar Beach House, maar het heeft een duisterder kantje. De band heeft zijn bewondering voor Genesis P-Orridge ook nooit onder stoelen of banken gestoken, wat prachtig gedemonstreerd wordt in de afsluiter Russian Gaze, waarin volop geëxperimenteerd wordt.

Doomsquad maakt aparte muziek die je niet zo maar met een paar woorden kan vatten, het is meer als een belevenis die je geest in een bepaalde trance brengt. Te plaatsen in het stapeltje van aanraders van het jaar.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
COCAINE PISS • Sex Weirdos
VIEON • Fly By Light
VICTOR LOVE • Technomancy
ESKOBAR • Magnetic
BLUSH RESPONSE • Reshaper
ANTIBODY • Shrimps
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
MOGWAI • Atomic OST
DOUBLE EYELID • Broken Mirror

 

Other reviews from DOOMSQUAD
DOOMSQUAD • Antwerpen, Trix (28/05/2016)

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
A SLICE OF LIFE • Restless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
NAUT • Raise The Lights
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation

Music reviews

23
10
PAUL MCCANN
Here Comes The Rapture
22
10
VEDA RAYS
For The Rest To Rest
20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
10
DAVID J
Interview with David J
20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!

PHOTOS

23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
10
CRASH COURSE IN SCIENCE
Flying Turns (Live @ BIM 2009)
22
10
ADULT.
Heartbreak (Live @ MOOGFEST SOUND LAB)
21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?