tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/02/2017 : DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE - Perseverantia

DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE

Perseverantia

MusicCD
DroneExperimentalNoisePsychedelic

[90/100]   

Indigo
13/02/2017, Ward DE PRINS

EN

The album Perseverantia has been out for a while but I discovered it only recently. Danielle de Picciotto is the partner of Alexander Hacke and together they have created this hypnotic album. The American Danielle is the co-founder of the Berlin Love Parade and is a multidisciplinary artist, engaging in film, books and music. Alexander Hacke is perhaps best known as the bassist of Einstürzende Neubauten. Both are also members of Crime & The City Solution.

Despite this successful and substantial history, together as a duo both choose a minimalist approach and bring their hypnotic drones with violin, guitar, drums, synth and some occasional vocals from both Danielle and Alexander.

Opener Love Foundation brings you slowly to the right mood using atmospheric guitar and violin against a noisy background. Melancholic and hypnotic, this 10-minute song can completely relax you.

During the song Faith Danielle tells of a discussion between a daughter and a mother. A seemingly simple but surreal debate that leads to a real life lesson....Dear Mother, Please could you tell me where I was born. Dear daughter, I have forgotten but our house was on the left side of the road...... We are born in a void and live in a void.....All I can do is give you candles to light the way....

Despite the beauty of these first compositions, it is the song Awake which is the real highlight of this album for me. Noise and drone gain an additional hypnotic effect by the throat singing of Alexander Hacke. Utterly sublime!

But in fact the whole album is one long highlight and on such a level that I am almost certain that this will end up in my top 10 of 2017. An absolute must for lovers of (the combination of) drone, noise and psychedelia!

Every step of the journey will be done with unconditional love. All obstacles will be met with faith.

Ward DE PRINS
13/02/2017


NL

Het album Perseverantia is al een tijdje uit, maar ik ontdekte het pas recent. Danielle de Picciotto is de levenspartner van Alexander Hacke en samen creëerden ze dit hypnotiserend album. Ze hebben elk individueel a flink wat watertjes doorzwommen. De Amerikaanse Danielle is onder meer de mede-oprichter van de Berlijnse Love Parade & houdt zich multidisciplinair bezig met film, boeken en muziek & Alexander Hacke is allicht het best gekend als bassist van Einstürzende Neubauten, en beiden maken ze ook deel uit van Crime & The City Solution.

Ondanks deze niet geringe voorgeschiedenis grijpen beide samen als duo naar een minimalistische benadering en brengen ze hypnotiserende drones met viool, gitaar, drum, synth, en occasioneel enige vocalen van zowel Danielle als Alexander.

Opener Love Foundation brengt je traag in je juiste sfeer met behulp van trage, atmosferische gitaar en viool tegen een noisy achtergrond. Melancholisch en hypnotiserend brengt deze 10 minuten durende song je compleet tot rust.

Tijdens het nummer Faith vertelt Danielle een discussie tussen dochter en moeder. Een ogenschijnlijk eenvoudige doch surreële discussie die uitmondt in een ware levensles.....Dear Mother, Please could you tell me where I was born. Dear daughter, I have forgotten but our house was on the left side of the road...... We are born in a void and live in a void.....All I can do is give you candles to light the way....

Ondanks de pracht van deze eerste composities is het evenwel het nummer Awake dat voor mij het werkelijke hoogtepunt van dit album is. Noise en drone die een extra hypnotiserend effect krijgen door de keelzang van Alexander Hacke. Ronduit subliem !

Maar het gehele album is eigenlijk één lang hoogtepunt en van een dergelijk niveau dat ik nu al bijna zeker ben dat dit in mijn top 10 van 2017 terecht zal komen. Een absolute aanrader voor liefhebbers van (de combinatie van) drone, noise en psychedelica !

Every step of the journey will be done with unconditional love. All obstacles will be met with faith.

Ward DE PRINS
13/02/2017


 

Next reviews
DICEPEOPLE • Synthetic
FOR ALL THE EMPTINESS • MT
NIGHT RIDERS • Meta
BETA EVERS • Delusion
ARKAN • Kelem
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
ENEMY OF REALITY • Arakhne
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
RAZORLINE • Razorline
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Playing Substance by New Order / Playing Substance by Joy Division @ Het Depot - Leuven - B - 27.01.2017

 

Same genre: DRONE
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

 

Same genre: NOISE
THE HEAT INC. • EP
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash

Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
01
Blackened Bass Act, LUNA 13 Drops The Provocative LP, Gorgo & New Single, 'Hear My Call'
27
01
On this day, 40 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 44 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 4 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 31 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

24
01
DUCTAPE
Dark Winter Liège Festival - Le Garage
07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
01
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA
Crossroads
27
01
156
Kokoro
26
01
WARDRUNA
Raido
25
01
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
24
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Spring Dance
23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover