tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/02/2017 : DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE - Perseverantia

DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE

Perseverantia

MusicCD
DroneExperimentalNoisePsychedelic

[90/100]   

Indigo
13/02/2017, Ward DE PRINS

EN

The album Perseverantia has been out for a while but I discovered it only recently. Danielle de Picciotto is the partner of Alexander Hacke and together they have created this hypnotic album. The American Danielle is the co-founder of the Berlin Love Parade and is a multidisciplinary artist, engaging in film, books and music. Alexander Hacke is perhaps best known as the bassist of Einstürzende Neubauten. Both are also members of Crime & The City Solution.

Despite this successful and substantial history, together as a duo both choose a minimalist approach and bring their hypnotic drones with violin, guitar, drums, synth and some occasional vocals from both Danielle and Alexander.

Opener Love Foundation brings you slowly to the right mood using atmospheric guitar and violin against a noisy background. Melancholic and hypnotic, this 10-minute song can completely relax you.

During the song Faith Danielle tells of a discussion between a daughter and a mother. A seemingly simple but surreal debate that leads to a real life lesson....Dear Mother, Please could you tell me where I was born. Dear daughter, I have forgotten but our house was on the left side of the road...... We are born in a void and live in a void.....All I can do is give you candles to light the way....

Despite the beauty of these first compositions, it is the song Awake which is the real highlight of this album for me. Noise and drone gain an additional hypnotic effect by the throat singing of Alexander Hacke. Utterly sublime!

But in fact the whole album is one long highlight and on such a level that I am almost certain that this will end up in my top 10 of 2017. An absolute must for lovers of (the combination of) drone, noise and psychedelia!

Every step of the journey will be done with unconditional love. All obstacles will be met with faith.

Ward DE PRINS
13/02/2017


NL

Het album Perseverantia is al een tijdje uit, maar ik ontdekte het pas recent. Danielle de Picciotto is de levenspartner van Alexander Hacke en samen creëerden ze dit hypnotiserend album. Ze hebben elk individueel a flink wat watertjes doorzwommen. De Amerikaanse Danielle is onder meer de mede-oprichter van de Berlijnse Love Parade & houdt zich multidisciplinair bezig met film, boeken en muziek & Alexander Hacke is allicht het best gekend als bassist van Einstürzende Neubauten, en beiden maken ze ook deel uit van Crime & The City Solution.

Ondanks deze niet geringe voorgeschiedenis grijpen beide samen als duo naar een minimalistische benadering en brengen ze hypnotiserende drones met viool, gitaar, drum, synth, en occasioneel enige vocalen van zowel Danielle als Alexander.

Opener Love Foundation brengt je traag in je juiste sfeer met behulp van trage, atmosferische gitaar en viool tegen een noisy achtergrond. Melancholisch en hypnotiserend brengt deze 10 minuten durende song je compleet tot rust.

Tijdens het nummer Faith vertelt Danielle een discussie tussen dochter en moeder. Een ogenschijnlijk eenvoudige doch surreële discussie die uitmondt in een ware levensles.....Dear Mother, Please could you tell me where I was born. Dear daughter, I have forgotten but our house was on the left side of the road...... We are born in a void and live in a void.....All I can do is give you candles to light the way....

Ondanks de pracht van deze eerste composities is het evenwel het nummer Awake dat voor mij het werkelijke hoogtepunt van dit album is. Noise en drone die een extra hypnotiserend effect krijgen door de keelzang van Alexander Hacke. Ronduit subliem !

Maar het gehele album is eigenlijk één lang hoogtepunt en van een dergelijk niveau dat ik nu al bijna zeker ben dat dit in mijn top 10 van 2017 terecht zal komen. Een absolute aanrader voor liefhebbers van (de combinatie van) drone, noise en psychedelica !

Every step of the journey will be done with unconditional love. All obstacles will be met with faith.

Ward DE PRINS
13/02/2017


 

Next reviews
DICEPEOPLE • Synthetic
FOR ALL THE EMPTINESS • MT
NIGHT RIDERS • Meta
BETA EVERS • Delusion
ARKAN • Kelem
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
ENEMY OF REALITY • Arakhne
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
RAZORLINE • Razorline
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Playing Substance by New Order / Playing Substance by Joy Division @ Het Depot - Leuven - B - 27.01.2017

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One
PALE THORNS • Somberland

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone

 

Same genre: NOISE
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
DIVE • Underneath
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler
LA MUERTE • Murder Machine

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
40 Years Of 20 Jazz Funk Greats!
08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
76 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
27 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers
07
12
VAST
Touched
07
12
MOTOR!K
Static
06
12
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go
05
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers