tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/02/2017 : DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE - Perseverantia

DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE

Perseverantia

MusicCD
DroneExperimentalNoisePsychedelic

[90/100]   

Indigo
13/02/2017, Ward DE PRINS

EN

The album Perseverantia has been out for a while but I discovered it only recently. Danielle de Picciotto is the partner of Alexander Hacke and together they have created this hypnotic album. The American Danielle is the co-founder of the Berlin Love Parade and is a multidisciplinary artist, engaging in film, books and music. Alexander Hacke is perhaps best known as the bassist of Einstürzende Neubauten. Both are also members of Crime & The City Solution.

Despite this successful and substantial history, together as a duo both choose a minimalist approach and bring their hypnotic drones with violin, guitar, drums, synth and some occasional vocals from both Danielle and Alexander.

Opener Love Foundation brings you slowly to the right mood using atmospheric guitar and violin against a noisy background. Melancholic and hypnotic, this 10-minute song can completely relax you.

During the song Faith Danielle tells of a discussion between a daughter and a mother. A seemingly simple but surreal debate that leads to a real life lesson....Dear Mother, Please could you tell me where I was born. Dear daughter, I have forgotten but our house was on the left side of the road...... We are born in a void and live in a void.....All I can do is give you candles to light the way....

Despite the beauty of these first compositions, it is the song Awake which is the real highlight of this album for me. Noise and drone gain an additional hypnotic effect by the throat singing of Alexander Hacke. Utterly sublime!

But in fact the whole album is one long highlight and on such a level that I am almost certain that this will end up in my top 10 of 2017. An absolute must for lovers of (the combination of) drone, noise and psychedelia!

Every step of the journey will be done with unconditional love. All obstacles will be met with faith.

Ward DE PRINS
13/02/2017


NL

Het album Perseverantia is al een tijdje uit, maar ik ontdekte het pas recent. Danielle de Picciotto is de levenspartner van Alexander Hacke en samen creëerden ze dit hypnotiserend album. Ze hebben elk individueel a flink wat watertjes doorzwommen. De Amerikaanse Danielle is onder meer de mede-oprichter van de Berlijnse Love Parade & houdt zich multidisciplinair bezig met film, boeken en muziek & Alexander Hacke is allicht het best gekend als bassist van Einstürzende Neubauten, en beiden maken ze ook deel uit van Crime & The City Solution.

Ondanks deze niet geringe voorgeschiedenis grijpen beide samen als duo naar een minimalistische benadering en brengen ze hypnotiserende drones met viool, gitaar, drum, synth, en occasioneel enige vocalen van zowel Danielle als Alexander.

Opener Love Foundation brengt je traag in je juiste sfeer met behulp van trage, atmosferische gitaar en viool tegen een noisy achtergrond. Melancholisch en hypnotiserend brengt deze 10 minuten durende song je compleet tot rust.

Tijdens het nummer Faith vertelt Danielle een discussie tussen dochter en moeder. Een ogenschijnlijk eenvoudige doch surreële discussie die uitmondt in een ware levensles.....Dear Mother, Please could you tell me where I was born. Dear daughter, I have forgotten but our house was on the left side of the road...... We are born in a void and live in a void.....All I can do is give you candles to light the way....

Ondanks de pracht van deze eerste composities is het evenwel het nummer Awake dat voor mij het werkelijke hoogtepunt van dit album is. Noise en drone die een extra hypnotiserend effect krijgen door de keelzang van Alexander Hacke. Ronduit subliem !

Maar het gehele album is eigenlijk één lang hoogtepunt en van een dergelijk niveau dat ik nu al bijna zeker ben dat dit in mijn top 10 van 2017 terecht zal komen. Een absolute aanrader voor liefhebbers van (de combinatie van) drone, noise en psychedelica !

Every step of the journey will be done with unconditional love. All obstacles will be met with faith.

Ward DE PRINS
13/02/2017


 

Next reviews
DICEPEOPLE • Synthetic
FOR ALL THE EMPTINESS • MT
NIGHT RIDERS • Meta
BETA EVERS • Delusion
ARKAN • Kelem
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
ENEMY OF REALITY • Arakhne
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
RAZORLINE • Razorline
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Playing Substance by New Order / Playing Substance by Joy Division @ Het Depot - Leuven - B - 27.01.2017

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One
PALE THORNS • Somberland

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017

 

Same genre: NOISE
DIVE • Underneath
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler
LA MUERTE • Murder Machine
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Bönen Germany, Festival (23/04/2016)
30,000 MONKIES • I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation
THE CLAYPOOL LENNON DELIRIUM • Monolith of Phobos

Music reviews

20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me
16
10
DOOMSQUAD
Pyramids On Mars