tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/02/2017 : BETA EVERS - Delusion

BETA EVERS

Delusion

MusicCD


[78/100]   

Daft Records
06/02/2017, Fred GADGET

EN

Beta Evers is the artist name of Brigitte Enzler, an electro DJ/musician from German Bavaria. Ever since the 90s she has managed to build up a solid reputation in her Heimat and beyond. For this new release, a first full album called Delusion, she chose Belgian label Daft Records to put this piece of art on CD.

The CD version of Delusion as usual contains some bonustracks that will not be on the vinyl version. And because 'electro' for some of you does not define things enough, and because we at Peek-a-Boo strive to inform you as best as we can, undersigned will gladly play the lazy music critic and engage in some name dropping. So at least you know what to expect.

Well, the music on this Beta Evers album reminds us mostly of a kind of mix between Chris & Cosey and Miss Kitten. This means the album contains 10 minimalistic songs. Minimalistic, but by no means less clever electronic songs drizzled with the always melancholic vocals of the lady herself. Luckily the looming and sometimes nearly emerging monotony that you could expect in this type of songs and music is battled by ckeverly placed and smart synthesizer melodies and sounds. Highlights of this album (or the most danceable tracks, if you wish) according to us are 'Stirring Dreams', 'Torrid Illusion' and of course also 'Frozen Breath'. You might recognize this last song from the fantastic 'Deep; A Female Orientated Electro/Wave Compilation' compilation album released by Daft Records earlier.

All in all Delusion is a must for all you Minimal/Electro heads!

Fred GADGET
06/02/2017


NL

Beta Evers is de artiestennaam van Brigitte Enzler, een electro DJ/muzikant uit het Duitse Beieren. Al sinds de jaren ’90 wist ze een stevige reputatie op te bouwen in haar heimat en ver daarbuiten. Voor uitbrengen van deze nieuwste release, een eerste full album met als titel Delusion, koos zij het Belgische Daft Records om dit kunstwerk op CD te laten persen.

Op de CD-versie van Delusion staan zoals bijna gebruikelijk ook enkele bonus tracks die niet op de vinyl versie te vinden zullen zijn. Omdat ‘electro’ voor sommigen onder jullie misschien een veel te breed en weinig veelzeggend begrip is, en omdat wij van Peek-a-Boo u graag zo goed mogelijk informeren, wil ondergetekende met veel plezier nogmaals voor u de luie muziekjournalist uithangen en zich bezondigen aan wat namedropping. Zo weet u ten minste welk vlees wij hier precies in de kuip hebben.

Wel, de muziek op dit album van Beta Evers doet ons vooral denken aan een soort mix van Chris & Cosey met Miss Kitten. Dit wil zeggen dat dit album tien minimalistische songs telt. Minimalistische, maar daarom zeker niet minder knappe elektronische songs overgoten met de steevast melancholische zang van de dame zelve. Gelukkig wordt de soms in de verte opkomende en dreigende eentonigheid, die men zou kunnen verwachten van dit soort nummers en muziek, op tijd en stond doorbroken door knappe en zorgvuldig geplaatste synthesizermelodieën en klanken. Hoogtepunten op dit album, of als u wil de meest dansbare nummers, zijn volgens ons: 'Stirring Dreams', 'Torrid Illusion' en natuurlijk ook ‘Frozen Breath’ dat u misschien al kende van de fantastische ‘Deep; A Female Orientated Electro/Wave Compilation ’ verzamelaar die eerder bij Daft Records verscheen.

Kortom, Delusion is een echte aanrader voor de Minimal/Electro heads!

Fred GADGET
06/02/2017


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?