tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

08/02/2017 : NIGHT RIDERS - Meta

NIGHT RIDERS

Meta

MusicVinyl
ElectroIndietronicaMinimal

[75/100]   

Passionvinyle
08/02/2017, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

For those who want to hear other music than the usual Christmas songs or top 100 music these days: trythe latest release from Night Riders. This is a Parisian trio that produce quite special music. The base of most of the songs is repetitive minimal electro. Think French electro band Celluloide. On some tracks it's only this base and personally I think this is a little less interesting. It gets really interesting when they add vocals or other instruments which create multiple layers in their music. For example, the occasional saxophonist Thomas de Pourquery in the title track Meta gives a jazz / lounge spin to the song. The album opens with L'Ourobore (instrumental) that merges seamlessly into Rendre l'Âme. As previously said, that second song, with vocals, is more fascinating to listen to. Recommended tracks are L'Art de la Dérive, Via Crusis, Prodrome and the dark instrumental Descente.

Meta is no bite-size piece of music and certainly no Christmas song, but if you make the effort you will discover some beautiful gems. Self released or on vinyl through passionvinyle.fr

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/02/2017


NL

Voor wie dezer dagen iets anders wil horen dan de gebruikelijke kerstsongs of eindejaarsmuziek is er de nieuwste van Night Riders. Dat is een Parijs trio dat nogal speciale muziek maakt. De basis van de meeste songs bestaat uit repetitieve minimal electro. Denk daarbij bv aan de Franse electro band Celluloide. Bij sommige tracks blijft het bij deze basis en persoonlijk vind ik dat iets minder boeiend. Het wordt pas echt interessant wanneer men daar vocals of andere instrumenten aan toevoegt waardoor je meerdere lagen in hun muziek krijgt. Bijvoorbeeld de saxofoon van gelegenheidsmuzikant Thomas de Pourquery in het titelnummer Meta geeft een Jazz/lounge draai aan de song. Het album opent met L’Ourobore (een instrumentaal nummer) dat naadloos overgaat in Rendre l’Âme. Zoals eerder gezegd is die tweede song ,met vocals, boeiender om naar te luisteren. Aan te raden zijn ook L’Art de la Dérive, Via Crusis, Prodrome en de donkere instrumental Descente.

Meta is geen hapklare brok muziek en al zeker geen kerstmisgewauwel, maar wanneer je moeite doet dan ontdek je enkele mooie pareltjes. In eigen beheer of op vinyl via passionvinyle.fr

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/02/2017


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
10
06
O VEUX
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
APPARAAT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ENZO KREFT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ROSA PARKS
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life
13
06
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Infierno
12
06
THE EDEN HOUSE
Misery