tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

08/02/2017 : NIGHT RIDERS - Meta

NIGHT RIDERS

Meta

MusicVinyl
ElectroIndietronicaMinimal

[75/100]   

Passionvinyle
08/02/2017, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

For those who want to hear other music than the usual Christmas songs or top 100 music these days: trythe latest release from Night Riders. This is a Parisian trio that produce quite special music. The base of most of the songs is repetitive minimal electro. Think French electro band Celluloide. On some tracks it's only this base and personally I think this is a little less interesting. It gets really interesting when they add vocals or other instruments which create multiple layers in their music. For example, the occasional saxophonist Thomas de Pourquery in the title track Meta gives a jazz / lounge spin to the song. The album opens with L'Ourobore (instrumental) that merges seamlessly into Rendre l'Âme. As previously said, that second song, with vocals, is more fascinating to listen to. Recommended tracks are L'Art de la Dérive, Via Crusis, Prodrome and the dark instrumental Descente.

Meta is no bite-size piece of music and certainly no Christmas song, but if you make the effort you will discover some beautiful gems. Self released or on vinyl through passionvinyle.fr

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/02/2017


NL

Voor wie dezer dagen iets anders wil horen dan de gebruikelijke kerstsongs of eindejaarsmuziek is er de nieuwste van Night Riders. Dat is een Parijs trio dat nogal speciale muziek maakt. De basis van de meeste songs bestaat uit repetitieve minimal electro. Denk daarbij bv aan de Franse electro band Celluloide. Bij sommige tracks blijft het bij deze basis en persoonlijk vind ik dat iets minder boeiend. Het wordt pas echt interessant wanneer men daar vocals of andere instrumenten aan toevoegt waardoor je meerdere lagen in hun muziek krijgt. Bijvoorbeeld de saxofoon van gelegenheidsmuzikant Thomas de Pourquery in het titelnummer Meta geeft een Jazz/lounge draai aan de song. Het album opent met L’Ourobore (een instrumentaal nummer) dat naadloos overgaat in Rendre l’Âme. Zoals eerder gezegd is die tweede song ,met vocals, boeiender om naar te luisteren. Aan te raden zijn ook L’Art de la Dérive, Via Crusis, Prodrome en de donkere instrumental Descente.

Meta is geen hapklare brok muziek en al zeker geen kerstmisgewauwel, maar wanneer je moeite doet dan ontdek je enkele mooie pareltjes. In eigen beheer of op vinyl via passionvinyle.fr

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/02/2017


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
08
Diane Grace signs Devil's pact with Starman Records
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
08
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
19
08
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
18
08
MARY OCHER
The Android Sea
17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless