tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

08/02/2017 : NIGHT RIDERS - Meta

NIGHT RIDERS

Meta

MusicVinyl
ElectroIndietronicaMinimal

[75/100]   

Passionvinyle
08/02/2017, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

For those who want to hear other music than the usual Christmas songs or top 100 music these days: trythe latest release from Night Riders. This is a Parisian trio that produce quite special music. The base of most of the songs is repetitive minimal electro. Think French electro band Celluloide. On some tracks it's only this base and personally I think this is a little less interesting. It gets really interesting when they add vocals or other instruments which create multiple layers in their music. For example, the occasional saxophonist Thomas de Pourquery in the title track Meta gives a jazz / lounge spin to the song. The album opens with L'Ourobore (instrumental) that merges seamlessly into Rendre l'Âme. As previously said, that second song, with vocals, is more fascinating to listen to. Recommended tracks are L'Art de la Dérive, Via Crusis, Prodrome and the dark instrumental Descente.

Meta is no bite-size piece of music and certainly no Christmas song, but if you make the effort you will discover some beautiful gems. Self released or on vinyl through passionvinyle.fr

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/02/2017


NL

Voor wie dezer dagen iets anders wil horen dan de gebruikelijke kerstsongs of eindejaarsmuziek is er de nieuwste van Night Riders. Dat is een Parijs trio dat nogal speciale muziek maakt. De basis van de meeste songs bestaat uit repetitieve minimal electro. Denk daarbij bv aan de Franse electro band Celluloide. Bij sommige tracks blijft het bij deze basis en persoonlijk vind ik dat iets minder boeiend. Het wordt pas echt interessant wanneer men daar vocals of andere instrumenten aan toevoegt waardoor je meerdere lagen in hun muziek krijgt. Bijvoorbeeld de saxofoon van gelegenheidsmuzikant Thomas de Pourquery in het titelnummer Meta geeft een Jazz/lounge draai aan de song. Het album opent met L’Ourobore (een instrumentaal nummer) dat naadloos overgaat in Rendre l’Âme. Zoals eerder gezegd is die tweede song ,met vocals, boeiender om naar te luisteren. Aan te raden zijn ook L’Art de la Dérive, Via Crusis, Prodrome en de donkere instrumental Descente.

Meta is geen hapklare brok muziek en al zeker geen kerstmisgewauwel, maar wanneer je moeite doet dan ontdek je enkele mooie pareltjes. In eigen beheer of op vinyl via passionvinyle.fr

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/02/2017


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless