tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/01/2017 : THE INSIGHT - The Other Side

THE INSIGHT

The Other Side

MusicCD
Dark ElectroDark Wave

[80/100]   

Self-released
24/01/2017, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The previous release ,The White Noise, was largely post-punk and guitar-driven. The approach of their new, fourth album is more synth-oriented. The way the songs are crafted has largely remained the same as on White Noise but it's just in a different guise. And through that other jacket you get a different angle. To be honest: everything sounds a lot more original than the previous release. The vocals also are a nice contrast to the music. Only Wait Out can convince me less. The Sorrow is very atmospheric and reminiscent of darkwave. Come On even begins as synthpop to than to go to dark electro. Le Silence des Autres is a track somewhere between cold wave and dark wave. The French text gives it a nice atmosphere. The song is emerging very slowly and then fades out again. I like the approach and atmosphere in this song. This trick is repeated again in This Day. With a beautiful chorus by the way. Broken closes the album and leaves a solid impression.

With this album The Insight walks a different path. The guitars are largely gone and that is not a bad thing for their music. The synths and keys fit well with the vocals and everything sounds somewhat lighter, more original, yet dark enough to sound like a real darkwave band.

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/01/2017


NL

De vorige release The White Noise was grotendeels gitaargedreven postpunk. De aanpak voor hun nieuwste, vierde album is meer synthgericht. De manier waarop de songs in elkaar steken is wel grotendeels hetzelfde gebleven als op White Noise maar het zit gewoon in een ander jasje. En door dat andere jasje krijg je toch een andere invalshoek. Om eerlijk te zijn: het geheel klinkt daardoor een stuk origineler dan de vorige release. De stem geeft ook een mooi contrast met de muziek. Alleen in Wait Out kan de zang mij minder overtuigen. The Sorrow is heel atmosferisch en doet aan darkwave denken. Come On begint zelfs als synthpop om dan over te gaan naar donkere electro. Le Silence Des Autres zit ergens tussen cold wave en dark wave in. De Franse teksten geven er een mooie kleur aan. De song ontpopt zich heel langzaam om dan terug weg te drijven. Ik hou van de aanpak en de sfeer in dit nummer. Op This Day wordt dit kunstje nog eens herhaalt. Mooi refrein trouwens. Broken sluit het album af en laat een degelijke indruk na.

Met dit album slaat The Insight een andere weg in. De gitaren worden grotendeels achterwege gelaten en voor hun muziek is dit geen slechte zaak. De synths en keys sluiten mooi aan op de zang en alles klinkt iets luchtiger, origineler en toch donker genoeg om als een echte darkwave band te klinken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/01/2017


 

Next reviews
THE FORCE DIMENSION • Machine Sex
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
XTC • Skylarking
THE HUMAN LEAGUE • A Very British Synthesizer Group
GOLDEN APES • Malus
FAREWELL • Sequoia
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25

 

Other reviews from THE INSIGHT
THE INSIGHT • White Noise
THE INSIGHT • White Noise

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + DARK WAVE
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
L'ORDRE DE HELOISE • Après Le Chaos
EUROROCK DAY 2 • Neerpelt (16/05/2015)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Deadfall Artist/Band Management: The Dark Secret Compilation Volume 3
• BIMFEST 2014 DAY 1 FT. AGENT SIDE GRINDER, GAYTRON & BORGHESIA
ASH CODE • Oblivion
HOT GUTS • Wilds
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Glaube Liebe Hoffnung
VOGON POETRY • More things to do in zero gravity EP

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
05
36 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
41 years Spellbound!
19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
05
MODEL DEPOSE
Nightwatch
22
05
MARBLE SOUNDS
Tout et Partout
21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day
19
05
NITZER EBB
Join in the Chant (Burn!)
18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money