tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

14/11/2014 : HOT GUTS - Wilds

HOT GUTS

Wilds

MusicVinyl
Dark ElectroDark WaveIndustrialPost Punk

[90/100]   

Avant! Records
14/11/2014, Pascal VERLOOVE

Whether you’re an actor, a singer or a band, at some point in time when you are becoming famous, people will inevitably start Googling your name to know more about you, or to find out what you look like. But it’s not sure that, back in 2007, when Wes Russell and Greg Frantz created Hot Guts in Philadelphia, they were thinking of what a Google Images result page would show to people Googling their band name in 2014. Try it if you’re not afraid of feeling queasy, because you get a strange mix of rock and roll and let us say kind of … sausages! Nothing is wrong with Google, results on Bing are even weirder… Still hungry?

But you are not reading a cooking magazine, are you? So let’s focus on the recipe to make a first-class wild and dark album, oscillating between electro industrial and post-punk instead.

Actually, the band line-up has since then changed, and Hot Guts is now a mixed duo and couple because Wes, the frontman, has teamed up with his partner Shari Wallin. Shari (aka Shari Vari – this name may ring a bell to you), is also the lady behind Void Vision, who is just releasing a fabulous debut album at the same time. So, this duo/couple combination seems to be a winning one, as we have seen some other electronic bands functioning in the same way (ADULT., Soft Metals,…).

Wilds is Hot Guts’ second album, which comes up two years after their debut album Edges,released on Blind Prophet Records. It features eight intriguing tracks, fusions of electronic waves and post-punk atmospheres, with a good pinch of industrial sounds.

Wilds debuts with All Suns, a long, cold, quiet synth intro, until a drum machine starts pulsing a beat and then, shortly after, Wes starts singing, or rather declaiming a tenebrous and scary incantation to the sun. You could easily picture him in an abandoned factory building, or in a deserted cathedral, looking at a dark cloudy sky though the crumbling roof. And, as the track evolves, more sounds, mostly industrial, are added to the recipe and Wes' singing turns from darkness to anger, and while he is repeating “All suns set” over and over again, you are left wondering if ours will ever rise again!

Even though none of the eight tracks on Wilds sounds the same, all the key elements of Hot Guts’ unique style are present on this first song: repetitive drum patterns, cold synths lines, distorted guitars and industrial sounds. But the most important element of all that is Wes’ chant, dark, chilling, sometimes gothic and frequently repeating the same key words over again, which is adding to the dread.

Several songs (such as the excellent Kite and Shadows – one of the highlights of the album) are constructed by adding different layers of sounds, in a crescendo, until a climax is reached and then quickly dropping one layer after the other creating a silence that is oppressing.

Wes does not share the mike with Shari much, except on A Kindness that closes the album, where their voices are echoing each other, playing a game that will unsettle you. Thrilling!

If you are ever wondering what Hot Guts may sound like, some tracks could remind you of Clan of Xymox (Name of the World), Nine Inch Nails or, mainly for our Belgian readers who may remember them, Poésie Noire (Fires). But such comparisons are just intended to hook the readers and urge you to listen to Wilds, not to underscore real similarities.

Call it post-punk, post-electro or post-industrial, Wilds is post-apocalyptic. It is dark, cold and eerie, but above all it is a delight for all those who think music should not be as bright as the sun. Actually Wes himself summarizes all this very well in Drift chanting ad libitum “There is no light to follow (when we drift)”. Classy!

Pascal VERLOOVE
14/11/2014


14/11/2014 : HOT GUTS - Wilds 14/11/2014 : HOT GUTS - Wilds

 

Next reviews
• The Newsroom-Season 2
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Beautiful and Damned
JOSEPHN HAHN • Mall
ELUVEITIE • Origins
CATHERINE BREILLAT • Romance
INCITE • Light Spin
DANY BOON • Supercondriaque
RINGEL-S, THE KLINIK AND THE NEON JUDGEMENT • De Casino, St.-Niklaas 8/11/2014
DAVID MICHOD • The Rover
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN • Diksmuide, Belgium (08/11/14)

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
SAMHAIN • Experiment
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper