tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

11/11/2014 : ELUVEITIE, ARKONA AND SKáLMöLD - Trix, Antwerp (09/11/2014)

ELUVEITIE, ARKONA AND SKáLMöLD

Trix, Antwerp (09/11/2014)

Concert
Epic MetalFemale Fronted MetalFolk / Ethnic / TribalHeavy Metal

[95/100]   
11/11/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

There’s nothing better on stage than fantastic folk metal bands from different countries with different influences! They sold out the Biebob, so the venue was moved to the bigger Trix and even that one seemed a bit too small! The tone was set from the start!

Skälmöld is an Icelandic folk metal band, singing in its own language. A sold out venue is of course perfect for the warming up band! From the start the band gave us a good vibe. They really work their ass off to please the audience and they are clearly having fun themselves! I had the feeling that they could be a headliner too! The audience is responding with as much energy as what we get from the band, a lot of chemistry is going on! I hardly know this band, but after the first track I feel like I would like to know them better. A surprise in the most positive way! Although they all sing in Icelandic, the crowd is singing along from time to time which is really incredible! Already after the second track it's getting too hot! The crowd is having loads of fun and that's always great to see! A bit later they announce that the new CD is almost ready, but the fans can already grab the unofficial version at the merchandising! From what I hear it will be a must have! They end their short show with a track from their first album, I can say that it's worth checking out.

Arkona, together with the leading lady Masha, a must see! According to the previous CD, I thought it was a good reason to see them live, especially as lots of people were raving about their performance at the recent Metal Female Voices Fest. Already from the beginning all rumors are true: Masha is a wild beast, moving on stage like a tornado, screaming, grunting and moving dangerously with her microphone stand. One of the most attractive tracks is for sure Serbia: melancholy mixed with a nice melodic sound. Their folk metal with traditional influences, mixed with the live energy makes the crowd go nuts, there’s crowd surfing, screaming , all hands up in the air, jumping up and down, the polka's... Pure fun! It's nice to hear the flute and bagpipe as they play an important role in the sound, just as the drummer who plays from time to time like a devil who’s hitting angels. There is sometimes a moment to breath, but most of the time it's straight forward play, they deserve my respect!

Eluveitie is very popular! Their gig in Antwerp is a good preparation for their upcoming gig at the big Trolls et Légendes festival 2015 in Mons! Nice thing to notice too is that lots of people told me that they would go or already have their ticket whenI was handing out the flyer for this great event! The lightshow is pretty spectacular! I think that they played nearly every track from their last CD Origins, it's also very clear that every track is perfect for a gig! The atmosphere is excellent and one to mesmerize! The fact that they have a lot of people on stage playing lots of different instruments helps them to create a wide and warm sound with lots of variation! Another nice thing is the extra spotlight stage on the right and on the left, just like everyone deserves his or her time in the spotlights! After the two ladies had a nice vocal duet there is even a moment for a real wall of death: a very impressive moment!

Chrigel is a top performer, but he also has a great team behind him! Nicole is a sexy violin player with a good voice and Anna Murphy is made to lead the vocals and knows how to perform! One of the highlights is for sure The Call Of The Mountains. As a result I would love to hear the ladies a bit more (but I think that's only my personal point of view). The crowd wanted some encores and received two of them.

Fire and passion, that is what I have seen tonight and Eluveitie will indeed be a perfect headliner for one of the greatest festivals of 2015!

Here you find an overview of what can be found on our website about The Trolls et Légendes-Festival 2015:

Trolls et Légendes VI

Friday:

Naheulband (f), Feuerschwanz (d), La Horde (b)

Interview with Naheulband

Interview Feuerschwanz

album review Feuerschwanz

interview La Horde

Saturday:

Eluveitie (ch), Tanzwut (d), Huldre (dk), Nook Karavan (b)

Promo links:

interview Eluveitie

album review Eluveitie

live pics Eulveitie

live review Eluveitie

album review Tanzwut Freitag der 13.

album review Tanzwut (Eselmesse)

Tanzwut interview

album review Huldre

Huldre interview

interview Nook Karavan

Sunday:

Corvus Corax (d), Rastaban (b), Cuélebre (sp), Cesair (nl)

Promo links:

interview Corvus Corax

album review Corvus Corax

interview Rastaban

album review Rastaban

interview Cuélebre

album review Cuélebre

interview Cesair at Trolls

album review Cesair

These bands will play during daytime:

interview Acus Vacuum

Interview Gny

A great compilation:

La Guilde Folk - Wild Folk Pagan VOL III with Cesair, Rastaban, Cuèlebre … Click here

Filip VAN MUYLEM
11/11/2014


11/11/2014 : ELUVEITIE, ARKONA AND SKáLMöLD - Trix, Antwerp (09/11/2014) 11/11/2014 : ELUVEITIE, ARKONA AND SKáLMöLD - Trix, Antwerp (09/11/2014) 11/11/2014 : ELUVEITIE, ARKONA AND SKáLMöLD - Trix, Antwerp (09/11/2014) 11/11/2014 : ELUVEITIE, ARKONA AND SKáLMöLD - Trix, Antwerp (09/11/2014) 11/11/2014 : ELUVEITIE, ARKONA AND SKáLMöLD - Trix, Antwerp (09/11/2014) 11/11/2014 : ELUVEITIE, ARKONA AND SKáLMöLD - Trix, Antwerp (09/11/2014) 11/11/2014 : ELUVEITIE, ARKONA AND SKáLMöLD - Trix, Antwerp (09/11/2014) 11/11/2014 : ELUVEITIE, ARKONA AND SKáLMöLD - Trix, Antwerp (09/11/2014) 11/11/2014 : ELUVEITIE, ARKONA AND SKáLMöLD - Trix, Antwerp (09/11/2014) 11/11/2014 : ELUVEITIE, ARKONA AND SKáLMöLD - Trix, Antwerp (09/11/2014) 11/11/2014 : ELUVEITIE, ARKONA AND SKáLMöLD - Trix, Antwerp (09/11/2014) 11/11/2014 : ELUVEITIE, ARKONA AND SKáLMöLD - Trix, Antwerp (09/11/2014) 11/11/2014 : ELUVEITIE, ARKONA AND SKáLMöLD - Trix, Antwerp (09/11/2014) 11/11/2014 : ELUVEITIE, ARKONA AND SKáLMöLD - Trix, Antwerp (09/11/2014) 11/11/2014 : ELUVEITIE, ARKONA AND SKáLMöLD - Trix, Antwerp (09/11/2014) 11/11/2014 : ELUVEITIE, ARKONA AND SKáLMöLD - Trix, Antwerp (09/11/2014)

 

Next reviews
JOEL ALLEN SCHROEDER • Dear Mr. Watterson
DESIDERII MARGINIS • Hypnosis
PETER CHELSOM • Hector And The Search For Happiness
JOSEF K • The Only Fun In Town (Expanded)
JOHNNY TABOR • Day Of The Mummy
TRUE ZEBRA • Adoremotion
• The Musketeers-Season 1
TARWATER • Adrift
FUTURE ISLANDS • Singles
JEAN-PIERRE MELVILLE • L'aîné Des Ferchaux

 

Same combination of genres: EPIC METAL + FEMALE FRONTED METAL + FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL + HEAVY METAL
ELUVEITIE • Origins

 

Same genre: EPIC METAL
EPHYRA • Along The Path
AMON AMARTH • Jomsviking
SYNDRO-SYS • Corporation
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 2, 18/10/2014 | Leaves' Eyes, Sirenia, The Sirens and more...
CRIMSON SHADOWS • Kings Among Men

 

Same genre: FEMALE FRONTED METAL
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
ENEMY OF REALITY • Arakhne
ELYSIAN GATES • Crossroads
XANDRIA • Fire And Ashes EP
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 1, 17/10/2014 | MFV United, Ayin Aleph and more...
LIV KRISTINE • Vervain
SKEPTICAL MINDS • Run for your live 2014
SOULOST • The Way I Feel Pt. 2 EP

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
DEMI LOVATO • HOLY FVCK
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
02
Gimme Danger | The Stooges Raw Power Is 50-Today!
06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
02
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face