tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/07/2013 : RASTABAN - Aurora

RASTABAN

Aurora

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalMedieval

[95/100]   

Self-released
07/07/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

A while ago, I had the chance to interview Rastaban as promo for their gig at Trolls et Légendes. When I saw them on stage it was a blast, and I can still feel the energy simply looking back at it. Mich, the drummer, who's also doing a lot of the press contact, promised me the new cd and now that I have it I am more than happy with the result.

It's very clear that Rastaban is here to stay and with this cd they just confirm their quality in the studio and with the live tracks as well! They just found a booking agency, so I’m pretty confident we will see them more often, as they really deserve!

Aurora is a festive Tribal Folk album with all the ingredients to start a party and keep it going. Rastaban is a very talented band, with a lot of experienced musicians in the line-up. The Slideridoo and violin are real party makers on every track they're used on. Another thing I love is the combination of Marine's and Stéphan's voices.

'Désert' starts with a very mysterious and evocative touch and ends up with an Arabic/eastern groove, and even some Dead Can Dance influence. The addition of Thomas Biesmeijer on bouzouki (Cesair & LEAF) is a good thing for sure. I love the Slideridoo on it. The sound is almost hypnotic/trance.

The vocal part of 'Moja Dusa' is a nice male-female duet; the verses in English are sung by Steph while the chorus in Ukrainian is sung by Marine. The Slavic influence is very appealing. I can even hear some medieval influence. Again a very hypnotic sound. The title track means 'My soul' in Ukrainian (and in a lot of other Slavic languages too).

'Seven Seas' is a softer song, but with the same hypnotic vibe. It seems to be a slow grower, but before you know you start to like it. Again the violin and slideridoo are very impressive. Marine's voice has a more tragic undertone here.

'Caje Sukarije' is one of the songs I can remember they played live. It's a traditional gypsy balkan song, very festive. A lot of people were dancing to it. Great vibe and almost impossible to sit still! The live recording is included on this album too. When I was told the title means 'pretty little gipsy girl', it all becomes very clear. Nice gypsy music!

'Aumgaia' is sung in French and with some kinda Indian chant in the background. The violin starts the party, joined by the drums and an hypnotic slideridoo. Just as with the previous song you feel the need to start dancing; however it feels a bit sadder. This song is known from their previous band IlianA. The name of the song is the combination of Gaia (earth) and aum, the primordial sound. It's a song about the relation between the earth and humanity.

The live tracks were recorded during their gig at the Qbus Club in Leiden (The Netherlands) and prove once more that Rastaban really is a party starter! You can feel the energy and the positive vibe. The cool thing is that you can hear the audience sing along more than once. Everybody has fun and enjoys it and that is something you can feel whilst listening to the live tracks. I also definitely love 'Iliana', the last track (also from their previous band 'IlianA'), which they played a lot during their gigs. It's in Serbo-Croatian. A great ending to a great cd!

For booking in Flanders:

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Mosca-Blanca-boeking-management/250106918355087

For the rest of the world:

rastabanmusic@gmail.com

More info:

www.facebook.com/rastabanmusic
www.youtube.com/rastabanmusic
www.reverbnation.com/rastabanmusic

some nice links from our own site:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/rastaban/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/haggard-stille-volk-rastaban-dark-poem-trolls-et-legendes-29-3-2013-at-mons-belgium/

Here you find an overview of what can be found on our website about The Trolls et Légendes-Festival 2015:

Trolls et Légendes VI

Friday:

Naheulband (f), Feuerschwanz (d), La Horde (b)

Interview with Naheulband

Interview Feuerschwanz

album review Feuerschwanz

interview La Horde

Saturday:

Eluveitie (ch), Tanzwut (d), Huldre (dk), Nook Karavan (b)

Promo links:

interview Eluveitie

album review Eluveitie

live pics Eulveitie

live review Eluveitie

album review Tanzwut Freitag der 13.

album review Tanzwut (Eselmesse)

Tanzwut interview

album review Huldre

Huldre interview

interview Nook Karavan

Sunday:

Corvus Corax (d), Rastaban (b), Cuélebre (sp), Cesair (nl)

Promo links:

interview Corvus Corax

album review Corvus Corax

interview Rastaban

album review Rastaban

interview Cuélebre

album review Cuélebre

interview Cesair at Trolls

album review Cesair

These bands will play during daytime:

interview Acus Vacuum

Interview Gny

A great compilation:

La Guilde Folk - Wild Folk Pagan VOL III with Cesair, Rastaban, Cuèlebre … Click here

A great initiative, thinking out of the box and showing a pure heart. Let politics out of it and see for yourself … sound cloud is included … Thx a lot for your input!

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/folk-for-the-people-folk-for-the-people-a-benefit-compilation-for-the-victims-of-repression-in-ukraine/

Filip VAN MUYLEM
07/07/2013


 

Next reviews
CHRISTIAN WOLZ • WOLZ
THE ARCH • Beating The Balance
DEATH VALLEY SCARS • Suicide, Sex and Suffering
EDITORS • The Weight Of Your Love
VASELYNE • The Fire Within
ESSENCE OF MIND • Escape (EP)
VANITY • Occult you
SYNTECH • Trans-Neptunian Objects
AUTODAFEH • Blackout Scenario
BORN FOR BLISS • Innocent (EP)

 

Same combination of genres: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL + MEDIEVAL
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
VARIOUS ARTISTS • La Guilde Folk - Wild Folk Pagan VOL III
CORVUS CORAX • Gimlie
QNTAL • QNTAL VII
CUéLEBRE • Oinos
THE MOON AND THE NIGHTSPIRIT • Holdrejtek
EGIDA AUREA • Live a Parigi
FAUN • Luna
HULDRE • Intet Menneskebarn
HEIMATAERDE • Kaltwaerts

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde
TANZWUT • Freitag der 13
FEUERSCHWANZ • Auf's Leben

Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!
29
08
41 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag