tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/07/2013 : RASTABAN - Aurora

RASTABAN

Aurora

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalMedieval

[95/100]   

Self-released
07/07/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

A while ago, I had the chance to interview Rastaban as promo for their gig at Trolls et Légendes. When I saw them on stage it was a blast, and I can still feel the energy simply looking back at it. Mich, the drummer, who's also doing a lot of the press contact, promised me the new cd and now that I have it I am more than happy with the result.

It's very clear that Rastaban is here to stay and with this cd they just confirm their quality in the studio and with the live tracks as well! They just found a booking agency, so I’m pretty confident we will see them more often, as they really deserve!

Aurora is a festive Tribal Folk album with all the ingredients to start a party and keep it going. Rastaban is a very talented band, with a lot of experienced musicians in the line-up. The Slideridoo and violin are real party makers on every track they're used on. Another thing I love is the combination of Marine's and Stéphan's voices.

'Désert' starts with a very mysterious and evocative touch and ends up with an Arabic/eastern groove, and even some Dead Can Dance influence. The addition of Thomas Biesmeijer on bouzouki (Cesair & LEAF) is a good thing for sure. I love the Slideridoo on it. The sound is almost hypnotic/trance.

The vocal part of 'Moja Dusa' is a nice male-female duet; the verses in English are sung by Steph while the chorus in Ukrainian is sung by Marine. The Slavic influence is very appealing. I can even hear some medieval influence. Again a very hypnotic sound. The title track means 'My soul' in Ukrainian (and in a lot of other Slavic languages too).

'Seven Seas' is a softer song, but with the same hypnotic vibe. It seems to be a slow grower, but before you know you start to like it. Again the violin and slideridoo are very impressive. Marine's voice has a more tragic undertone here.

'Caje Sukarije' is one of the songs I can remember they played live. It's a traditional gypsy balkan song, very festive. A lot of people were dancing to it. Great vibe and almost impossible to sit still! The live recording is included on this album too. When I was told the title means 'pretty little gipsy girl', it all becomes very clear. Nice gypsy music!

'Aumgaia' is sung in French and with some kinda Indian chant in the background. The violin starts the party, joined by the drums and an hypnotic slideridoo. Just as with the previous song you feel the need to start dancing; however it feels a bit sadder. This song is known from their previous band IlianA. The name of the song is the combination of Gaia (earth) and aum, the primordial sound. It's a song about the relation between the earth and humanity.

The live tracks were recorded during their gig at the Qbus Club in Leiden (The Netherlands) and prove once more that Rastaban really is a party starter! You can feel the energy and the positive vibe. The cool thing is that you can hear the audience sing along more than once. Everybody has fun and enjoys it and that is something you can feel whilst listening to the live tracks. I also definitely love 'Iliana', the last track (also from their previous band 'IlianA'), which they played a lot during their gigs. It's in Serbo-Croatian. A great ending to a great cd!

For booking in Flanders:

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Mosca-Blanca-boeking-management/250106918355087

For the rest of the world:

rastabanmusic@gmail.com

More info:

www.facebook.com/rastabanmusic
www.youtube.com/rastabanmusic
www.reverbnation.com/rastabanmusic

some nice links from our own site:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/rastaban/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/haggard-stille-volk-rastaban-dark-poem-trolls-et-legendes-29-3-2013-at-mons-belgium/

Here you find an overview of what can be found on our website about The Trolls et Légendes-Festival 2015:

Trolls et Légendes VI

Friday:

Naheulband (f), Feuerschwanz (d), La Horde (b)

Interview with Naheulband

Interview Feuerschwanz

album review Feuerschwanz

interview La Horde

Saturday:

Eluveitie (ch), Tanzwut (d), Huldre (dk), Nook Karavan (b)

Promo links:

interview Eluveitie

album review Eluveitie

live pics Eulveitie

live review Eluveitie

album review Tanzwut Freitag der 13.

album review Tanzwut (Eselmesse)

Tanzwut interview

album review Huldre

Huldre interview

interview Nook Karavan

Sunday:

Corvus Corax (d), Rastaban (b), Cuélebre (sp), Cesair (nl)

Promo links:

interview Corvus Corax

album review Corvus Corax

interview Rastaban

album review Rastaban

interview Cuélebre

album review Cuélebre

interview Cesair at Trolls

album review Cesair

These bands will play during daytime:

interview Acus Vacuum

Interview Gny

A great compilation:

La Guilde Folk - Wild Folk Pagan VOL III with Cesair, Rastaban, Cuèlebre … Click here

A great initiative, thinking out of the box and showing a pure heart. Let politics out of it and see for yourself … sound cloud is included … Thx a lot for your input!

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/folk-for-the-people-folk-for-the-people-a-benefit-compilation-for-the-victims-of-repression-in-ukraine/

Filip VAN MUYLEM
07/07/2013


 

Next reviews
CHRISTIAN WOLZ • WOLZ
THE ARCH • Beating The Balance
DEATH VALLEY SCARS • Suicide, Sex and Suffering
EDITORS • The Weight Of Your Love
VASELYNE • The Fire Within
ESSENCE OF MIND • Escape (EP)
VANITY • Occult you
SYNTECH • Trans-Neptunian Objects
AUTODAFEH • Blackout Scenario
BORN FOR BLISS • Innocent (EP)

 

Same combination of genres: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL + MEDIEVAL
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
VARIOUS ARTISTS • La Guilde Folk - Wild Folk Pagan VOL III
CORVUS CORAX • Gimlie
QNTAL • QNTAL VII
CUéLEBRE • Oinos
THE MOON AND THE NIGHTSPIRIT • Holdrejtek
EGIDA AUREA • Live a Parigi
FAUN • Luna
HULDRE • Intet Menneskebarn
HEIMATAERDE • Kaltwaerts

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde
TANZWUT • Freitag der 13
FEUERSCHWANZ • Auf's Leben

Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)
15
08
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning
14
08
ASHRAM
Maria and the violin's string