tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/07/2013 : RASTABAN - Aurora

RASTABAN

Aurora

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalMedieval

[95/100]   

Self-released
07/07/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

A while ago, I had the chance to interview Rastaban as promo for their gig at Trolls et Légendes. When I saw them on stage it was a blast, and I can still feel the energy simply looking back at it. Mich, the drummer, who's also doing a lot of the press contact, promised me the new cd and now that I have it I am more than happy with the result.

It's very clear that Rastaban is here to stay and with this cd they just confirm their quality in the studio and with the live tracks as well! They just found a booking agency, so I’m pretty confident we will see them more often, as they really deserve!

Aurora is a festive Tribal Folk album with all the ingredients to start a party and keep it going. Rastaban is a very talented band, with a lot of experienced musicians in the line-up. The Slideridoo and violin are real party makers on every track they're used on. Another thing I love is the combination of Marine's and Stéphan's voices.

'Désert' starts with a very mysterious and evocative touch and ends up with an Arabic/eastern groove, and even some Dead Can Dance influence. The addition of Thomas Biesmeijer on bouzouki (Cesair & LEAF) is a good thing for sure. I love the Slideridoo on it. The sound is almost hypnotic/trance.

The vocal part of 'Moja Dusa' is a nice male-female duet; the verses in English are sung by Steph while the chorus in Ukrainian is sung by Marine. The Slavic influence is very appealing. I can even hear some medieval influence. Again a very hypnotic sound. The title track means 'My soul' in Ukrainian (and in a lot of other Slavic languages too).

'Seven Seas' is a softer song, but with the same hypnotic vibe. It seems to be a slow grower, but before you know you start to like it. Again the violin and slideridoo are very impressive. Marine's voice has a more tragic undertone here.

'Caje Sukarije' is one of the songs I can remember they played live. It's a traditional gypsy balkan song, very festive. A lot of people were dancing to it. Great vibe and almost impossible to sit still! The live recording is included on this album too. When I was told the title means 'pretty little gipsy girl', it all becomes very clear. Nice gypsy music!

'Aumgaia' is sung in French and with some kinda Indian chant in the background. The violin starts the party, joined by the drums and an hypnotic slideridoo. Just as with the previous song you feel the need to start dancing; however it feels a bit sadder. This song is known from their previous band IlianA. The name of the song is the combination of Gaia (earth) and aum, the primordial sound. It's a song about the relation between the earth and humanity.

The live tracks were recorded during their gig at the Qbus Club in Leiden (The Netherlands) and prove once more that Rastaban really is a party starter! You can feel the energy and the positive vibe. The cool thing is that you can hear the audience sing along more than once. Everybody has fun and enjoys it and that is something you can feel whilst listening to the live tracks. I also definitely love 'Iliana', the last track (also from their previous band 'IlianA'), which they played a lot during their gigs. It's in Serbo-Croatian. A great ending to a great cd!

For booking in Flanders:

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Mosca-Blanca-boeking-management/250106918355087

For the rest of the world:

rastabanmusic@gmail.com

More info:

www.facebook.com/rastabanmusic
www.youtube.com/rastabanmusic
www.reverbnation.com/rastabanmusic

some nice links from our own site:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/rastaban/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/haggard-stille-volk-rastaban-dark-poem-trolls-et-legendes-29-3-2013-at-mons-belgium/

Here you find an overview of what can be found on our website about The Trolls et Légendes-Festival 2015:

Trolls et Légendes VI

Friday:

Naheulband (f), Feuerschwanz (d), La Horde (b)

Interview with Naheulband

Interview Feuerschwanz

album review Feuerschwanz

interview La Horde

Saturday:

Eluveitie (ch), Tanzwut (d), Huldre (dk), Nook Karavan (b)

Promo links:

interview Eluveitie

album review Eluveitie

live pics Eulveitie

live review Eluveitie

album review Tanzwut Freitag der 13.

album review Tanzwut (Eselmesse)

Tanzwut interview

album review Huldre

Huldre interview

interview Nook Karavan

Sunday:

Corvus Corax (d), Rastaban (b), Cuélebre (sp), Cesair (nl)

Promo links:

interview Corvus Corax

album review Corvus Corax

interview Rastaban

album review Rastaban

interview Cuélebre

album review Cuélebre

interview Cesair at Trolls

album review Cesair

These bands will play during daytime:

interview Acus Vacuum

Interview Gny

A great compilation:

La Guilde Folk - Wild Folk Pagan VOL III with Cesair, Rastaban, Cuèlebre … Click here

A great initiative, thinking out of the box and showing a pure heart. Let politics out of it and see for yourself … sound cloud is included … Thx a lot for your input!

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/folk-for-the-people-folk-for-the-people-a-benefit-compilation-for-the-victims-of-repression-in-ukraine/

Filip VAN MUYLEM
07/07/2013


 

Next reviews
CHRISTIAN WOLZ • WOLZ
THE ARCH • Beating The Balance
DEATH VALLEY SCARS • Suicide, Sex and Suffering
EDITORS • The Weight Of Your Love
VASELYNE • The Fire Within
ESSENCE OF MIND • Escape (EP)
VANITY • Occult you
SYNTECH • Trans-Neptunian Objects
AUTODAFEH • Blackout Scenario
BORN FOR BLISS • Innocent (EP)

 

Same combination of genres: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL + MEDIEVAL
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
VARIOUS ARTISTS • La Guilde Folk - Wild Folk Pagan VOL III
CORVUS CORAX • Gimlie
QNTAL • QNTAL VII
CUéLEBRE • Oinos
THE MOON AND THE NIGHTSPIRIT • Holdrejtek
EGIDA AUREA • Live a Parigi
FAUN • Luna
HULDRE • Intet Menneskebarn

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde

Music reviews

16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains