tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/07/2013 : RASTABAN - Aurora

RASTABAN

Aurora

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalMedieval

[95/100]   

Self-released
07/07/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

A while ago, I had the chance to interview Rastaban as promo for their gig at Trolls et Légendes. When I saw them on stage it was a blast, and I can still feel the energy simply looking back at it. Mich, the drummer, who's also doing a lot of the press contact, promised me the new cd and now that I have it I am more than happy with the result.

It's very clear that Rastaban is here to stay and with this cd they just confirm their quality in the studio and with the live tracks as well! They just found a booking agency, so I’m pretty confident we will see them more often, as they really deserve!

Aurora is a festive Tribal Folk album with all the ingredients to start a party and keep it going. Rastaban is a very talented band, with a lot of experienced musicians in the line-up. The Slideridoo and violin are real party makers on every track they're used on. Another thing I love is the combination of Marine's and Stéphan's voices.

'Désert' starts with a very mysterious and evocative touch and ends up with an Arabic/eastern groove, and even some Dead Can Dance influence. The addition of Thomas Biesmeijer on bouzouki (Cesair & LEAF) is a good thing for sure. I love the Slideridoo on it. The sound is almost hypnotic/trance.

The vocal part of 'Moja Dusa' is a nice male-female duet; the verses in English are sung by Steph while the chorus in Ukrainian is sung by Marine. The Slavic influence is very appealing. I can even hear some medieval influence. Again a very hypnotic sound. The title track means 'My soul' in Ukrainian (and in a lot of other Slavic languages too).

'Seven Seas' is a softer song, but with the same hypnotic vibe. It seems to be a slow grower, but before you know you start to like it. Again the violin and slideridoo are very impressive. Marine's voice has a more tragic undertone here.

'Caje Sukarije' is one of the songs I can remember they played live. It's a traditional gypsy balkan song, very festive. A lot of people were dancing to it. Great vibe and almost impossible to sit still! The live recording is included on this album too. When I was told the title means 'pretty little gipsy girl', it all becomes very clear. Nice gypsy music!

'Aumgaia' is sung in French and with some kinda Indian chant in the background. The violin starts the party, joined by the drums and an hypnotic slideridoo. Just as with the previous song you feel the need to start dancing; however it feels a bit sadder. This song is known from their previous band IlianA. The name of the song is the combination of Gaia (earth) and aum, the primordial sound. It's a song about the relation between the earth and humanity.

The live tracks were recorded during their gig at the Qbus Club in Leiden (The Netherlands) and prove once more that Rastaban really is a party starter! You can feel the energy and the positive vibe. The cool thing is that you can hear the audience sing along more than once. Everybody has fun and enjoys it and that is something you can feel whilst listening to the live tracks. I also definitely love 'Iliana', the last track (also from their previous band 'IlianA'), which they played a lot during their gigs. It's in Serbo-Croatian. A great ending to a great cd!

For booking in Flanders:

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Mosca-Blanca-boeking-management/250106918355087

For the rest of the world:

rastabanmusic@gmail.com

More info:

www.facebook.com/rastabanmusic
www.youtube.com/rastabanmusic
www.reverbnation.com/rastabanmusic

some nice links from our own site:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/rastaban/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/haggard-stille-volk-rastaban-dark-poem-trolls-et-legendes-29-3-2013-at-mons-belgium/

Here you find an overview of what can be found on our website about The Trolls et Légendes-Festival 2015:

Trolls et Légendes VI

Friday:

Naheulband (f), Feuerschwanz (d), La Horde (b)

Interview with Naheulband

Interview Feuerschwanz

album review Feuerschwanz

interview La Horde

Saturday:

Eluveitie (ch), Tanzwut (d), Huldre (dk), Nook Karavan (b)

Promo links:

interview Eluveitie

album review Eluveitie

live pics Eulveitie

live review Eluveitie

album review Tanzwut Freitag der 13.

album review Tanzwut (Eselmesse)

Tanzwut interview

album review Huldre

Huldre interview

interview Nook Karavan

Sunday:

Corvus Corax (d), Rastaban (b), Cuélebre (sp), Cesair (nl)

Promo links:

interview Corvus Corax

album review Corvus Corax

interview Rastaban

album review Rastaban

interview Cuélebre

album review Cuélebre

interview Cesair at Trolls

album review Cesair

These bands will play during daytime:

interview Acus Vacuum

Interview Gny

A great compilation:

La Guilde Folk - Wild Folk Pagan VOL III with Cesair, Rastaban, Cuèlebre … Click here

A great initiative, thinking out of the box and showing a pure heart. Let politics out of it and see for yourself … sound cloud is included … Thx a lot for your input!

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/folk-for-the-people-folk-for-the-people-a-benefit-compilation-for-the-victims-of-repression-in-ukraine/

Filip VAN MUYLEM
07/07/2013


 

Next reviews
CHRISTIAN WOLZ • WOLZ
THE ARCH • Beating The Balance
DEATH VALLEY SCARS • Suicide, Sex and Suffering
EDITORS • The Weight Of Your Love
VASELYNE • The Fire Within
ESSENCE OF MIND • Escape (EP)
VANITY • Occult you
SYNTECH • Trans-Neptunian Objects
AUTODAFEH • Blackout Scenario
BORN FOR BLISS • Innocent (EP)

 

Same combination of genres: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL + MEDIEVAL
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
VARIOUS ARTISTS • La Guilde Folk - Wild Folk Pagan VOL III
CORVUS CORAX • Gimlie
QNTAL • QNTAL VII
CUéLEBRE • Oinos
THE MOON AND THE NIGHTSPIRIT • Holdrejtek
EGIDA AUREA • Live a Parigi
FAUN • Luna
HULDRE • Intet Menneskebarn
HEIMATAERDE • Kaltwaerts

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde
TANZWUT • Freitag der 13
FEUERSCHWANZ • Auf's Leben

Music reviews

01
02
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Hologram Moon
31
01
MIRLAND/LARSEN
Disturbia
30
01
KASPER HATE
Why Live When You Can Rule
29
01
GLAARE
To Deaf and Day
28
01
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT
NEIN! (Single)
27
01
BLUTENGEL
Black

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
02
Swiss Electro / EBM / Industrial band DEO CADAVER re-releases first (and only) album to stop illegal bootlegging.
23
02
Today, it’s exactly 40 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
19
02
Peek-a-Boo founder Ward De Prins has passed away...
18
02
Darkness On Demand (Ex-Dance Or Die) release new video, EP and album!
18
02
Today, exactly 15 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Nemuer Unveils Mystical Music Video With Ancient Babylonian Lyrics

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
01
KIM LARSEN (: OF THE WAND AND THE MOON:)
Symbols still carry personal meaning to me.
29
01
ELEKTROSTAUB
'I think it will be almost impossible to combine all the artists into one single concept.'
26
01
DIE FORM
I would like to be optimistic and positive, but the world seems to move inexorably/blindly towards a sombre future, towards chaos.
24
01
LIVINGTOTEM
‘INDUSTRIAL INFUSED ROMANTIC TECHNOID MUSIC’
22
01
MESH
Richard Silverthorn Of Mesh On “Gothic Meets Classic” And The “Live at Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig” Album

PHOTOS

19
02
DUNE MESSIAH
Moth Club, London, UK
19
02
DRAB MAJESTY
Moth Club, London, UK
19
02
THE SOFT MOON
Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
19
02
SARIN
Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
18
02
PUNISH YOURSELF
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
18
02
SPANKRAGHT
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
10
02
NIK KERSHAW
New Victoria Theatre, Woking, UK

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
02
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
23
02
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Ewige Nacht
23
02
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
Gold (Live at WGT 2014)
22
02
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
21
02
SONJA KRAUSHOFER
Wie Tränen Im Regen
20
02
EVI VINE
My Hands Are Tied
19
02
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date