tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/07/2013 : RASTABAN - Aurora

RASTABAN

Aurora

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalMedieval

[95/100]   

Self-released
07/07/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

A while ago, I had the chance to interview Rastaban as promo for their gig at Trolls et Légendes. When I saw them on stage it was a blast, and I can still feel the energy simply looking back at it. Mich, the drummer, who's also doing a lot of the press contact, promised me the new cd and now that I have it I am more than happy with the result.

It's very clear that Rastaban is here to stay and with this cd they just confirm their quality in the studio and with the live tracks as well! They just found a booking agency, so I’m pretty confident we will see them more often, as they really deserve!

Aurora is a festive Tribal Folk album with all the ingredients to start a party and keep it going. Rastaban is a very talented band, with a lot of experienced musicians in the line-up. The Slideridoo and violin are real party makers on every track they're used on. Another thing I love is the combination of Marine's and Stéphan's voices.

'Désert' starts with a very mysterious and evocative touch and ends up with an Arabic/eastern groove, and even some Dead Can Dance influence. The addition of Thomas Biesmeijer on bouzouki (Cesair & LEAF) is a good thing for sure. I love the Slideridoo on it. The sound is almost hypnotic/trance.

The vocal part of 'Moja Dusa' is a nice male-female duet; the verses in English are sung by Steph while the chorus in Ukrainian is sung by Marine. The Slavic influence is very appealing. I can even hear some medieval influence. Again a very hypnotic sound. The title track means 'My soul' in Ukrainian (and in a lot of other Slavic languages too).

'Seven Seas' is a softer song, but with the same hypnotic vibe. It seems to be a slow grower, but before you know you start to like it. Again the violin and slideridoo are very impressive. Marine's voice has a more tragic undertone here.

'Caje Sukarije' is one of the songs I can remember they played live. It's a traditional gypsy balkan song, very festive. A lot of people were dancing to it. Great vibe and almost impossible to sit still! The live recording is included on this album too. When I was told the title means 'pretty little gipsy girl', it all becomes very clear. Nice gypsy music!

'Aumgaia' is sung in French and with some kinda Indian chant in the background. The violin starts the party, joined by the drums and an hypnotic slideridoo. Just as with the previous song you feel the need to start dancing; however it feels a bit sadder. This song is known from their previous band IlianA. The name of the song is the combination of Gaia (earth) and aum, the primordial sound. It's a song about the relation between the earth and humanity.

The live tracks were recorded during their gig at the Qbus Club in Leiden (The Netherlands) and prove once more that Rastaban really is a party starter! You can feel the energy and the positive vibe. The cool thing is that you can hear the audience sing along more than once. Everybody has fun and enjoys it and that is something you can feel whilst listening to the live tracks. I also definitely love 'Iliana', the last track (also from their previous band 'IlianA'), which they played a lot during their gigs. It's in Serbo-Croatian. A great ending to a great cd!

For booking in Flanders:

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Mosca-Blanca-boeking-management/250106918355087

For the rest of the world:

rastabanmusic@gmail.com

More info:

www.facebook.com/rastabanmusic
www.youtube.com/rastabanmusic
www.reverbnation.com/rastabanmusic

some nice links from our own site:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/rastaban/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/haggard-stille-volk-rastaban-dark-poem-trolls-et-legendes-29-3-2013-at-mons-belgium/

Here you find an overview of what can be found on our website about The Trolls et Légendes-Festival 2015:

Trolls et Légendes VI

Friday:

Naheulband (f), Feuerschwanz (d), La Horde (b)

Interview with Naheulband

Interview Feuerschwanz

album review Feuerschwanz

interview La Horde

Saturday:

Eluveitie (ch), Tanzwut (d), Huldre (dk), Nook Karavan (b)

Promo links:

interview Eluveitie

album review Eluveitie

live pics Eulveitie

live review Eluveitie

album review Tanzwut Freitag der 13.

album review Tanzwut (Eselmesse)

Tanzwut interview

album review Huldre

Huldre interview

interview Nook Karavan

Sunday:

Corvus Corax (d), Rastaban (b), Cuélebre (sp), Cesair (nl)

Promo links:

interview Corvus Corax

album review Corvus Corax

interview Rastaban

album review Rastaban

interview Cuélebre

album review Cuélebre

interview Cesair at Trolls

album review Cesair

These bands will play during daytime:

interview Acus Vacuum

Interview Gny

A great compilation:

La Guilde Folk - Wild Folk Pagan VOL III with Cesair, Rastaban, Cuèlebre … Click here

A great initiative, thinking out of the box and showing a pure heart. Let politics out of it and see for yourself … sound cloud is included … Thx a lot for your input!

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/folk-for-the-people-folk-for-the-people-a-benefit-compilation-for-the-victims-of-repression-in-ukraine/

Filip VAN MUYLEM
07/07/2013


 

Next reviews
CHRISTIAN WOLZ • WOLZ
THE ARCH • Beating The Balance
DEATH VALLEY SCARS • Suicide, Sex and Suffering
EDITORS • The Weight Of Your Love
VASELYNE • The Fire Within
ESSENCE OF MIND • Escape (EP)
VANITY • Occult you
SYNTECH • Trans-Neptunian Objects
AUTODAFEH • Blackout Scenario
BORN FOR BLISS • Innocent (EP)

 

Same combination of genres: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL + MEDIEVAL
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
VARIOUS ARTISTS • La Guilde Folk - Wild Folk Pagan VOL III
CORVUS CORAX • Gimlie
QNTAL • QNTAL VII
CUéLEBRE • Oinos
THE MOON AND THE NIGHTSPIRIT • Holdrejtek
EGIDA AUREA • Live a Parigi
FAUN • Luna
HULDRE • Intet Menneskebarn

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde

Music reviews

25
03
UNKNOWN INSTRUCTORS
Unwilling To Explain
24
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Human Transitions
23
03
AUTOGRAMM
What R U Waiting 4?
22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
03
The Soul Walker | Celebrating The Sound Of The Late Scott Walker
22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
03
BORGHESIA
Like Every Style Of Music, EBM Also Had A Limited Period Of Duration
16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'

PHOTOS

24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
03
HOLE
Celebrity Skin
25
03
FAUNLET
Anatomy
24
03
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Phoenix
23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)