tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

22/06/2013 : AUTODAFEH - Blackout Scenario

AUTODAFEH

Blackout Scenario

MusicCD
EBM

[75/100]   

Scanner
22/06/2013, Chris KONINGS

Starting in 2007, Autodafeh are part of the old school EBM revival. They used to work with Sigsaly Transmissions but for their fourth album they made the shift to Scanner, a label not unknown with most EBM folk. Other bands on Scanner are Absurd Minds, Spetsnaz, Centhron and for a short while also The Eternal Afflict.

So you can expect some heavy boot stompin and sweatin bodies on the dancefloor when you hear any of Autodafeh's songs. They take a lot of ingredients from bands like Front 242 and Nitzer Ebb, complete with analog sounds. But they also show us a new side with synthpop dreamsong "The Pain That We Feel".

The album is a bit inconsistent though, songs like "Claustrophobia", "Bloody Mary" and "The Shadow" have far fetched lyrics that annoy quickly. There are enough highlights however, I really love the Nitzer Ebb sound of songs like "Step Up" and "Lessons To Learn". "Exercise Your Brain" is a good opener, setting the right mood immediately and it continues with "Getaway".

A lengthy album, maybe chucking a few songs overboard would benefit the overall experience. But still, if you like EBM, good beats and catchy melodies with straightforward lyrics, this is the stuff for you. My favorite remains "Hunt For Glory" though...

Chris KONINGS
22/06/2013

Part of the big old school EBM re-appearrance, Autodafeh started in 2007 and this is already their fourth album. They moved from Sigsaly to Scanner, a label most EBM lovers will know from bands like Spetsnaz, Absurd Minds and for a short time The Eternal Afflict. As we can expect, there's no change in style, it's still blood pumpin 'n sweat drippin EBM! Lyrics are straightforward, sloganesque and mostly meaningless, but they get you in exactly the right mood so that's great! "Exercise Your Brain", "Getaway" and "Emerging Sadness" are pretty compelling and worth a little shuffle in my room. "Claustrophobia" has it's moment but the lyrics are a bit rediculous... It all gets a lot better with "Flow", a good melody and variations in tempo bring the needed magic. Then they even get a bit mellow with the synthpop hit "The Pain That We Feel". I love the analog sound of the melody and the hissing vocals. They show a new side of themselves and it's a success! From now on, the album races on with one highlight after another, do check "Step Up" and ever more "Lessons To Learn", with shouted vocals that could come from Nitzer Ebb. Too bad about lowpoints like "Bloody Mary" or "Shadow". A bit inconsistent but still enough beats 'n shouts to keep your feet happy.

Music reviews

15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum
07
05
STRUCK9
Ritual Body Music

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!
24
05
Covenant to play exclusive vintage and full clubshow at BIMFEST 2018

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
10
06
O VEUX
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
APPARAAT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ENZO KREFT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ROSA PARKS
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life
13
06
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Infierno
12
06
THE EDEN HOUSE
Misery
11
06
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down