tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

22/06/2013 : AUTODAFEH - Blackout Scenario

AUTODAFEH

Blackout Scenario

MusicCD
EBM

[75/100]   

Scanner
22/06/2013, Chris KONINGS

Starting in 2007, Autodafeh are part of the old school EBM revival. They used to work with Sigsaly Transmissions but for their fourth album they made the shift to Scanner, a label not unknown with most EBM folk. Other bands on Scanner are Absurd Minds, Spetsnaz, Centhron and for a short while also The Eternal Afflict.

So you can expect some heavy boot stompin and sweatin bodies on the dancefloor when you hear any of Autodafeh's songs. They take a lot of ingredients from bands like Front 242 and Nitzer Ebb, complete with analog sounds. But they also show us a new side with synthpop dreamsong "The Pain That We Feel".

The album is a bit inconsistent though, songs like "Claustrophobia", "Bloody Mary" and "The Shadow" have far fetched lyrics that annoy quickly. There are enough highlights however, I really love the Nitzer Ebb sound of songs like "Step Up" and "Lessons To Learn". "Exercise Your Brain" is a good opener, setting the right mood immediately and it continues with "Getaway".

A lengthy album, maybe chucking a few songs overboard would benefit the overall experience. But still, if you like EBM, good beats and catchy melodies with straightforward lyrics, this is the stuff for you. My favorite remains "Hunt For Glory" though...

Chris KONINGS
22/06/2013

Part of the big old school EBM re-appearrance, Autodafeh started in 2007 and this is already their fourth album. They moved from Sigsaly to Scanner, a label most EBM lovers will know from bands like Spetsnaz, Absurd Minds and for a short time The Eternal Afflict. As we can expect, there's no change in style, it's still blood pumpin 'n sweat drippin EBM! Lyrics are straightforward, sloganesque and mostly meaningless, but they get you in exactly the right mood so that's great! "Exercise Your Brain", "Getaway" and "Emerging Sadness" are pretty compelling and worth a little shuffle in my room. "Claustrophobia" has it's moment but the lyrics are a bit rediculous... It all gets a lot better with "Flow", a good melody and variations in tempo bring the needed magic. Then they even get a bit mellow with the synthpop hit "The Pain That We Feel". I love the analog sound of the melody and the hissing vocals. They show a new side of themselves and it's a success! From now on, the album races on with one highlight after another, do check "Step Up" and ever more "Lessons To Learn", with shouted vocals that could come from Nitzer Ebb. Too bad about lowpoints like "Bloody Mary" or "Shadow". A bit inconsistent but still enough beats 'n shouts to keep your feet happy.

Music reviews

23
10
PAUL MCCANN
Here Comes The Rapture
22
10
VEDA RAYS
For The Rest To Rest
20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
10
DAVID J
Interview with David J
20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!

PHOTOS

23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
10
CRASH COURSE IN SCIENCE
Flying Turns (Live @ BIM 2009)
22
10
ADULT.
Heartbreak (Live @ MOOGFEST SOUND LAB)
21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?