tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

22/06/2013 : AUTODAFEH - Blackout Scenario

AUTODAFEH

Blackout Scenario

MusicCD
EBM

[75/100]   

Scanner
22/06/2013, Chris KONINGS

Starting in 2007, Autodafeh are part of the old school EBM revival. They used to work with Sigsaly Transmissions but for their fourth album they made the shift to Scanner, a label not unknown with most EBM folk. Other bands on Scanner are Absurd Minds, Spetsnaz, Centhron and for a short while also The Eternal Afflict.

So you can expect some heavy boot stompin and sweatin bodies on the dancefloor when you hear any of Autodafeh's songs. They take a lot of ingredients from bands like Front 242 and Nitzer Ebb, complete with analog sounds. But they also show us a new side with synthpop dreamsong "The Pain That We Feel".

The album is a bit inconsistent though, songs like "Claustrophobia", "Bloody Mary" and "The Shadow" have far fetched lyrics that annoy quickly. There are enough highlights however, I really love the Nitzer Ebb sound of songs like "Step Up" and "Lessons To Learn". "Exercise Your Brain" is a good opener, setting the right mood immediately and it continues with "Getaway".

A lengthy album, maybe chucking a few songs overboard would benefit the overall experience. But still, if you like EBM, good beats and catchy melodies with straightforward lyrics, this is the stuff for you. My favorite remains "Hunt For Glory" though...

Chris KONINGS
22/06/2013

Part of the big old school EBM re-appearrance, Autodafeh started in 2007 and this is already their fourth album. They moved from Sigsaly to Scanner, a label most EBM lovers will know from bands like Spetsnaz, Absurd Minds and for a short time The Eternal Afflict. As we can expect, there's no change in style, it's still blood pumpin 'n sweat drippin EBM! Lyrics are straightforward, sloganesque and mostly meaningless, but they get you in exactly the right mood so that's great! "Exercise Your Brain", "Getaway" and "Emerging Sadness" are pretty compelling and worth a little shuffle in my room. "Claustrophobia" has it's moment but the lyrics are a bit rediculous... It all gets a lot better with "Flow", a good melody and variations in tempo bring the needed magic. Then they even get a bit mellow with the synthpop hit "The Pain That We Feel". I love the analog sound of the melody and the hissing vocals. They show a new side of themselves and it's a success! From now on, the album races on with one highlight after another, do check "Step Up" and ever more "Lessons To Learn", with shouted vocals that could come from Nitzer Ebb. Too bad about lowpoints like "Bloody Mary" or "Shadow". A bit inconsistent but still enough beats 'n shouts to keep your feet happy.

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.
17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
04
12
BLUTENGEL
Soul Of Ice