tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

22/06/2013 : AUTODAFEH - Blackout Scenario

AUTODAFEH

Blackout Scenario

MusicCD
EBM

[75/100]   

Scanner
22/06/2013, Chris KONINGS

Starting in 2007, Autodafeh are part of the old school EBM revival. They used to work with Sigsaly Transmissions but for their fourth album they made the shift to Scanner, a label not unknown with most EBM folk. Other bands on Scanner are Absurd Minds, Spetsnaz, Centhron and for a short while also The Eternal Afflict.

So you can expect some heavy boot stompin and sweatin bodies on the dancefloor when you hear any of Autodafeh's songs. They take a lot of ingredients from bands like Front 242 and Nitzer Ebb, complete with analog sounds. But they also show us a new side with synthpop dreamsong "The Pain That We Feel".

The album is a bit inconsistent though, songs like "Claustrophobia", "Bloody Mary" and "The Shadow" have far fetched lyrics that annoy quickly. There are enough highlights however, I really love the Nitzer Ebb sound of songs like "Step Up" and "Lessons To Learn". "Exercise Your Brain" is a good opener, setting the right mood immediately and it continues with "Getaway".

A lengthy album, maybe chucking a few songs overboard would benefit the overall experience. But still, if you like EBM, good beats and catchy melodies with straightforward lyrics, this is the stuff for you. My favorite remains "Hunt For Glory" though...

Chris KONINGS
22/06/2013

Part of the big old school EBM re-appearrance, Autodafeh started in 2007 and this is already their fourth album. They moved from Sigsaly to Scanner, a label most EBM lovers will know from bands like Spetsnaz, Absurd Minds and for a short time The Eternal Afflict. As we can expect, there's no change in style, it's still blood pumpin 'n sweat drippin EBM! Lyrics are straightforward, sloganesque and mostly meaningless, but they get you in exactly the right mood so that's great! "Exercise Your Brain", "Getaway" and "Emerging Sadness" are pretty compelling and worth a little shuffle in my room. "Claustrophobia" has it's moment but the lyrics are a bit rediculous... It all gets a lot better with "Flow", a good melody and variations in tempo bring the needed magic. Then they even get a bit mellow with the synthpop hit "The Pain That We Feel". I love the analog sound of the melody and the hissing vocals. They show a new side of themselves and it's a success! From now on, the album races on with one highlight after another, do check "Step Up" and ever more "Lessons To Learn", with shouted vocals that could come from Nitzer Ebb. Too bad about lowpoints like "Bloody Mary" or "Shadow". A bit inconsistent but still enough beats 'n shouts to keep your feet happy.

Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
MARY OCHER
The Android Sea
17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)
15
08
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning