tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

22/06/2013 : AUTODAFEH - Blackout Scenario

AUTODAFEH

Blackout Scenario

MusicCD
EBM

[75/100]   

Scanner
22/06/2013, Chris KONINGS

Starting in 2007, Autodafeh are part of the old school EBM revival. They used to work with Sigsaly Transmissions but for their fourth album they made the shift to Scanner, a label not unknown with most EBM folk. Other bands on Scanner are Absurd Minds, Spetsnaz, Centhron and for a short while also The Eternal Afflict.

So you can expect some heavy boot stompin and sweatin bodies on the dancefloor when you hear any of Autodafeh's songs. They take a lot of ingredients from bands like Front 242 and Nitzer Ebb, complete with analog sounds. But they also show us a new side with synthpop dreamsong "The Pain That We Feel".

The album is a bit inconsistent though, songs like "Claustrophobia", "Bloody Mary" and "The Shadow" have far fetched lyrics that annoy quickly. There are enough highlights however, I really love the Nitzer Ebb sound of songs like "Step Up" and "Lessons To Learn". "Exercise Your Brain" is a good opener, setting the right mood immediately and it continues with "Getaway".

A lengthy album, maybe chucking a few songs overboard would benefit the overall experience. But still, if you like EBM, good beats and catchy melodies with straightforward lyrics, this is the stuff for you. My favorite remains "Hunt For Glory" though...

Chris KONINGS
22/06/2013

Part of the big old school EBM re-appearrance, Autodafeh started in 2007 and this is already their fourth album. They moved from Sigsaly to Scanner, a label most EBM lovers will know from bands like Spetsnaz, Absurd Minds and for a short time The Eternal Afflict. As we can expect, there's no change in style, it's still blood pumpin 'n sweat drippin EBM! Lyrics are straightforward, sloganesque and mostly meaningless, but they get you in exactly the right mood so that's great! "Exercise Your Brain", "Getaway" and "Emerging Sadness" are pretty compelling and worth a little shuffle in my room. "Claustrophobia" has it's moment but the lyrics are a bit rediculous... It all gets a lot better with "Flow", a good melody and variations in tempo bring the needed magic. Then they even get a bit mellow with the synthpop hit "The Pain That We Feel". I love the analog sound of the melody and the hissing vocals. They show a new side of themselves and it's a success! From now on, the album races on with one highlight after another, do check "Step Up" and ever more "Lessons To Learn", with shouted vocals that could come from Nitzer Ebb. Too bad about lowpoints like "Bloody Mary" or "Shadow". A bit inconsistent but still enough beats 'n shouts to keep your feet happy.

Music reviews

24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
08
SLEEPING PULSE
War
23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo