tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

19/06/2013 : COVENANT - Last Dance

COVENANT

Last Dance

MusicCD
EBMFuturepopMinimal

[71/100]   

Dependent
19/06/2013, Didier BECU

After the excellent new releases by both KMFDM and Mesh, the German label Dependent has two new offerings that are worth your attention. First there is the latest album by Front Line assembly and this new EP by Covenant, a band whom I consider as the best EBM-futurepop (or whatever!)-act.

This new EP is again an important chapter in the history of Sweden's finest as this is the first offering after Daniel Myer from Haujobb left the band. In all honesty, I do miss the input by Myer, but who knows, maybe Andreas Catjar will help us forget this. Mind you, I seriously doubt this but at least it makes Covenant again a complete Swedish act!

So what do you get here? This teaser from Covenant's new album ("Leaving Babylon" will be released in September 2013 along with an intense tour) features six tracks from which three are exclusive on this limited digipack (there are 3000 copies in total).

Last Dance is a typical Covenant-song. There is the typical baritone voice from Eskil Simonsson and of course it's the type of melody that will haunt you once you heard it. The other three tracks are a total different manner and miles away from their latest album "Modern Ruin". The songs are a bit minimal with a Kraftwerk-touch. Fine stuff and quite original as every member was asked to pen down one song, but just not enough to say it's a Covenant-blast. But then again from Covenant I only expect the best, good is just not enough for them!

Anyway, this EP is a nice! Welcome back to a band that was never away.

Didier BECU
19/06/2013


 

Next reviews
PSY'AVIAH • Future Past (EP)
.COM/KILL
ENDUSER / NEEDLE SHARING / TEKNOIST, THE • Enduser Shares Needles With The Teknoist
NIMON • Drowning In Good Intentions
MXRCXL • A Lauging Matter
VARIOUS ARTISTS • _ever Alive: A Tribute to Snowy Red
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO, IN SLAUGHTER NATIVES, ROME, TRIARI, MENTALPLASTIC BODYFILLER, EMPUSAE, DEAD MAN'S HILL & MR. MANUVA • Porta Nigra, 1/6/2013, Aarschot, Belgium
XP8 • Adrenochrome
MONO NO AWARE • Tatemae
ZEBRA ISLAND • Saturnine

 

Other reviews from COVENANT
COVENANT • The Blinding Dark
COVENANT • Modern Ruin

 

Same genre: EBM
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Burn Forever
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag

 

Same genre: FUTUREPOP
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LAS AVES • Die in Shangai
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
CHIRON • Breaking Point EP
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux