tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

27/05/2013 : MONO NO AWARE - Tatemae

MONO NO AWARE

Tatemae

MusicCD
AmbientRhythmic Industrial

[85/100]   

Hands Productions
27/05/2013, Chris KONINGS

Seven years after his last real album "Kataku", Leif Künzel is back with the new album "Tatemae". In between these, there were two exploits; "Ketoujin", a release with 13 before unreleased tracks, and the EP "Pachinko To Hanbaagaa". MONO NO AWARE is Japanese, describing a concept to define the essence of Japanese culture. It was invented by Motoori Norinaga (1730-1801), a literary and linguistic scholar. The term itself can be roughly translated as "Sensitivity to things".

Over to the essence, what is it like? Should we spend our hard earned cash on 200 grams of cardboard and plastic? Since these crude materials contain some wonderful and hypnotic rhythmic noise, the correct answer is: HELL YEAH!

Hypnotic, that's the word that defines this album. Ranging from industrial noise to ambient with some field recordings, every song can draw you into a cold and bleak dream. The album starts with a dark brooding ambient intro, quickly picking up the pace with some harsh acid industrial (Jadoo & Blackbox). After some powerful and even relentness rhythmic noise (KFF & AI) you can take a breath of cold air (MMM). Then it's back to the grinder, especially with "Negum", which is a six minute long joyride through Sonar-like machinal repetitive noise. "Alive" repeats the same but in a less convincing way. In need for a bit of Esplendor-style mangled voices? "Hadaka" will provide just that!

A few remixes are added, both Wieloryb and Dirty K do a good job, I like Wielorybs better though; fast paced action and a few ethnic elements really work well together, which he already proved in his own album "Namaste". Dirty K takes six and a half minute, a bit over my attention span but still a good stomper. The last two songs are good filmic outro's, very visual and floaty sounds, reminding me of Access To Arasaka.

There's also a double cd version available, the extra part is called Honne but I did not have the pleasure to check that one out... Again a good one from Hands!

Chris KONINGS
27/05/2013


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell