tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

28/05/2013 : XP8 - Adrenochrome

XP8

Adrenochrome

MusicCD
Dark ElectroDark PopEBMTechno

[89/100]   

Self-released
28/05/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

The least we can say about XP8 is that they got balls! Leaving DWA, working out a fundraising campaign for their new album AND raising the required money (pretty fast). Andrenochrome is more than just the music: it's a novel, based on a story written by Marko, in the late 1990’s and recently revised. The story is set in the not so distant future in a third recession London. The story revolves around two individuals, Liam Bateman and Kath Hastings. Liam is assisting Kath from being captured by various organizations for the information she carries. The story takes you through all the twists, turns, and deception they encounter. It's a tale full of intriguing characters with larger than life personalities. It's very cyberpunk in nature, calling upon all the classic themes of the genre while maintaining a distinct rivethead feel. With these characteristics, it's a captivating novel, which fans of sci-fi and suspense will surely embrase.

Every track on Adrenochrome is named after a chapter in the book and the music acts as the perfect accompaniment to the story. Apart from that, each of the songs can easily be played in a club, car, or your home, without the need of keeping the noval handy. So far the underlying concept of this great endevor! Push play and start to read...

'Awakenings' is the kind of song that gets you out of your bed and pumps you all up, ready to go and fill the dancefloor. I love the beats and the uptempo vibe. The vocals still remind me a bit of Apoptygma Berzerk, but i love it. Great sound!

'Camden Town' goes on with the same vibe, hitting the dancefloor! The little breakdowns are great and I love the whispering voice, before the game explodes. It has the same quality as what we can expect from our national radio and expensive studio recordings! Starting to love this novel, whilst listening to the second song over and over...

'Getaway' still resonates in my head, love the pumpin' beats, goes well with the short story. Could make it on the dancefloor too, hitting like a nuclear blast. It's well worked out with nice beats and a great voice. A warm welcome to clubland, again!

With a roaring sound from the get go, like a cyberbike getting started, nasty talk, nasty (computer)voice and some breakbeats, 'Information' is also part of clubland. XP8 really gets the party going.

'Night run' fits in very well with the story, it really feels like it should be... Love the dropping of bombs on the dancefloor and the warm sound which fills the air.

'Beyond the looking glass' takes of as a pure techno track, with a fat bass kicking in early in the track. The only thing that sounds a bit strange is the voice, luckily some angry sounds take over the voice, making it even more creepy. Some real harsh EBM emerge after a while, to slow down again and trow a new bomb, seems more and more like a technique.

'Going underground' cools the game a bit, sounding a bit like old school New Wave (almost like Gary Numan versus The Klinik). Love this track! After the whispering voice, some nice distant vocals are introduced.

'Hunters' is again an incoming bomb and the screaming in 'incoming, search and destroy', I simply adore.

'Hostage' feels like a bit of nostalgia, due to the voice (err sounds even a bit like Robert Smith from The Cure), love the pumping beats. well driven song.

'Showdown' starts like a hell of a Suicide Commando song, mixed with some great techno. This one will definitely make it on the dancefloor.

With 'Inside their heads', it's time to go back to the Apoptygma Berzerk kind of vocals, bringing a warmer sound, as if peace finally returns...

I must say I loved the novel in combination with the music. XP8 has done a great job, blowing us out of our socks! The sound and the production is just so professional! They have balls and they kick ass as never before!

interview:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/xp8/

review of their gig:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/suicide-commando-soman-aesthetic-perfection-sam-xp8-c-lekktor-surgyn-vampireparty-live-6-4-2013-petrol-antwerpen-belgium/

Filip VAN MUYLEM
28/05/2013


 

Next reviews
MONO NO AWARE • Tatemae
ZEBRA ISLAND • Saturnine
PARáRA
WIELORYB • Namaste
GUIDO BELCANTO • Zo Goed Als Alleen
SONIC AREA • Music For Ghosts
SAVAGES • Review of the concert at the Botanique in Brussels on May 13th 2013
GEISTFORM • Data Transmission
CHELSEA WOLFE • Review of the concert at the Trix in Antwerp on May 6th, 2013
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Evoking eternity ep

 

Other reviews from XP8
XP8 • Albedo
XP8 • Nigredo EP

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
MIREXXX • Vault
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds

 

Same genre: DARK POP
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence

 

Same genre: EBM
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
NEGANT • No !

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless