tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

28/05/2013 : XP8 - Adrenochrome

XP8

Adrenochrome

MusicCD
Dark ElectroDark PopEBMTechno

[89/100]   

Self-released
28/05/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

The least we can say about XP8 is that they got balls! Leaving DWA, working out a fundraising campaign for their new album AND raising the required money (pretty fast). Andrenochrome is more than just the music: it's a novel, based on a story written by Marko, in the late 1990’s and recently revised. The story is set in the not so distant future in a third recession London. The story revolves around two individuals, Liam Bateman and Kath Hastings. Liam is assisting Kath from being captured by various organizations for the information she carries. The story takes you through all the twists, turns, and deception they encounter. It's a tale full of intriguing characters with larger than life personalities. It's very cyberpunk in nature, calling upon all the classic themes of the genre while maintaining a distinct rivethead feel. With these characteristics, it's a captivating novel, which fans of sci-fi and suspense will surely embrase.

Every track on Adrenochrome is named after a chapter in the book and the music acts as the perfect accompaniment to the story. Apart from that, each of the songs can easily be played in a club, car, or your home, without the need of keeping the noval handy. So far the underlying concept of this great endevor! Push play and start to read...

'Awakenings' is the kind of song that gets you out of your bed and pumps you all up, ready to go and fill the dancefloor. I love the beats and the uptempo vibe. The vocals still remind me a bit of Apoptygma Berzerk, but i love it. Great sound!

'Camden Town' goes on with the same vibe, hitting the dancefloor! The little breakdowns are great and I love the whispering voice, before the game explodes. It has the same quality as what we can expect from our national radio and expensive studio recordings! Starting to love this novel, whilst listening to the second song over and over...

'Getaway' still resonates in my head, love the pumpin' beats, goes well with the short story. Could make it on the dancefloor too, hitting like a nuclear blast. It's well worked out with nice beats and a great voice. A warm welcome to clubland, again!

With a roaring sound from the get go, like a cyberbike getting started, nasty talk, nasty (computer)voice and some breakbeats, 'Information' is also part of clubland. XP8 really gets the party going.

'Night run' fits in very well with the story, it really feels like it should be... Love the dropping of bombs on the dancefloor and the warm sound which fills the air.

'Beyond the looking glass' takes of as a pure techno track, with a fat bass kicking in early in the track. The only thing that sounds a bit strange is the voice, luckily some angry sounds take over the voice, making it even more creepy. Some real harsh EBM emerge after a while, to slow down again and trow a new bomb, seems more and more like a technique.

'Going underground' cools the game a bit, sounding a bit like old school New Wave (almost like Gary Numan versus The Klinik). Love this track! After the whispering voice, some nice distant vocals are introduced.

'Hunters' is again an incoming bomb and the screaming in 'incoming, search and destroy', I simply adore.

'Hostage' feels like a bit of nostalgia, due to the voice (err sounds even a bit like Robert Smith from The Cure), love the pumping beats. well driven song.

'Showdown' starts like a hell of a Suicide Commando song, mixed with some great techno. This one will definitely make it on the dancefloor.

With 'Inside their heads', it's time to go back to the Apoptygma Berzerk kind of vocals, bringing a warmer sound, as if peace finally returns...

I must say I loved the novel in combination with the music. XP8 has done a great job, blowing us out of our socks! The sound and the production is just so professional! They have balls and they kick ass as never before!

interview:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/xp8/

review of their gig:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/suicide-commando-soman-aesthetic-perfection-sam-xp8-c-lekktor-surgyn-vampireparty-live-6-4-2013-petrol-antwerpen-belgium/

Filip VAN MUYLEM
28/05/2013


 

Next reviews
MONO NO AWARE • Tatemae
ZEBRA ISLAND • Saturnine
PARáRA
WIELORYB • Namaste
GUIDO BELCANTO • Zo Goed Als Alleen
SONIC AREA • Music For Ghosts
SAVAGES • Review of the concert at the Botanique in Brussels on May 13th 2013
GEISTFORM • Data Transmission
CHELSEA WOLFE • Review of the concert at the Trix in Antwerp on May 6th, 2013
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Evoking eternity ep

 

Other reviews from XP8
XP8 • Albedo
XP8 • Nigredo EP

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
MATT HART • Infinite Horizon Requiem
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7 • EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
MISERIA ULTIMA • Witch Heart Apparition
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
SAMHAIN • Experiment
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
MILDREDA • I was never really there

 

Same genre: DARK POP
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')

 

Same genre: EBM
THE JUGGERNAUTS • Fear
ELM • Penetrator
WULF7 • I don't want (Anymore)
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

30
01
Today, 27 years ago American Industrial-Metal band Ministry released Filth Pig!
29
01
On this day, 40 years ago, Fad Gadget performed at the Amsterdam Meervaart Theatre.
28
01
Electronic Duo, Akustikkoppler Tap Into The Past And Future With New Album
27
01
On this day, 41 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 45 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 5 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
SHE PAST AWAY
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
ASH CODE
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
01
THE ARCH
Cocks Populi - Naked Piano Mix 2020
28
01
POISONED HASTIA
Reptile
27
01
MERCIFUL NUNS
Cremation
26
01
MARSHEAUX
Safe Tonight
25
01
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
24
01
EMPUSAE
Cadence Chamanique
23
01
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void