tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

28/05/2013 : XP8 - Adrenochrome

XP8

Adrenochrome

MusicCD
Dark ElectroDark PopEBMTechno

[89/100]   

Self-released
28/05/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

The least we can say about XP8 is that they got balls! Leaving DWA, working out a fundraising campaign for their new album AND raising the required money (pretty fast). Andrenochrome is more than just the music: it's a novel, based on a story written by Marko, in the late 1990’s and recently revised. The story is set in the not so distant future in a third recession London. The story revolves around two individuals, Liam Bateman and Kath Hastings. Liam is assisting Kath from being captured by various organizations for the information she carries. The story takes you through all the twists, turns, and deception they encounter. It's a tale full of intriguing characters with larger than life personalities. It's very cyberpunk in nature, calling upon all the classic themes of the genre while maintaining a distinct rivethead feel. With these characteristics, it's a captivating novel, which fans of sci-fi and suspense will surely embrase.

Every track on Adrenochrome is named after a chapter in the book and the music acts as the perfect accompaniment to the story. Apart from that, each of the songs can easily be played in a club, car, or your home, without the need of keeping the noval handy. So far the underlying concept of this great endevor! Push play and start to read...

'Awakenings' is the kind of song that gets you out of your bed and pumps you all up, ready to go and fill the dancefloor. I love the beats and the uptempo vibe. The vocals still remind me a bit of Apoptygma Berzerk, but i love it. Great sound!

'Camden Town' goes on with the same vibe, hitting the dancefloor! The little breakdowns are great and I love the whispering voice, before the game explodes. It has the same quality as what we can expect from our national radio and expensive studio recordings! Starting to love this novel, whilst listening to the second song over and over...

'Getaway' still resonates in my head, love the pumpin' beats, goes well with the short story. Could make it on the dancefloor too, hitting like a nuclear blast. It's well worked out with nice beats and a great voice. A warm welcome to clubland, again!

With a roaring sound from the get go, like a cyberbike getting started, nasty talk, nasty (computer)voice and some breakbeats, 'Information' is also part of clubland. XP8 really gets the party going.

'Night run' fits in very well with the story, it really feels like it should be... Love the dropping of bombs on the dancefloor and the warm sound which fills the air.

'Beyond the looking glass' takes of as a pure techno track, with a fat bass kicking in early in the track. The only thing that sounds a bit strange is the voice, luckily some angry sounds take over the voice, making it even more creepy. Some real harsh EBM emerge after a while, to slow down again and trow a new bomb, seems more and more like a technique.

'Going underground' cools the game a bit, sounding a bit like old school New Wave (almost like Gary Numan versus The Klinik). Love this track! After the whispering voice, some nice distant vocals are introduced.

'Hunters' is again an incoming bomb and the screaming in 'incoming, search and destroy', I simply adore.

'Hostage' feels like a bit of nostalgia, due to the voice (err sounds even a bit like Robert Smith from The Cure), love the pumping beats. well driven song.

'Showdown' starts like a hell of a Suicide Commando song, mixed with some great techno. This one will definitely make it on the dancefloor.

With 'Inside their heads', it's time to go back to the Apoptygma Berzerk kind of vocals, bringing a warmer sound, as if peace finally returns...

I must say I loved the novel in combination with the music. XP8 has done a great job, blowing us out of our socks! The sound and the production is just so professional! They have balls and they kick ass as never before!

interview:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/xp8/

review of their gig:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/suicide-commando-soman-aesthetic-perfection-sam-xp8-c-lekktor-surgyn-vampireparty-live-6-4-2013-petrol-antwerpen-belgium/

Filip VAN MUYLEM
28/05/2013


 

Next reviews
MONO NO AWARE • Tatemae
ZEBRA ISLAND • Saturnine
PARáRA
WIELORYB • Namaste
GUIDO BELCANTO • Zo Goed Als Alleen
SONIC AREA • Music For Ghosts
SAVAGES • Review of the concert at the Botanique in Brussels on May 13th 2013
GEISTFORM • Data Transmission
CHELSEA WOLFE • Review of the concert at the Trix in Antwerp on May 6th, 2013
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Evoking eternity ep

 

Other reviews from XP8
XP8 • Albedo
XP8 • Nigredo EP

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
MIREXXX • Vault
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
DICEPEOPLE • One From Many

 

Same genre: DARK POP
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence

 

Same genre: EBM
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax

Music reviews

20
04
LUCKY AND LOVE
Transitions
12
04
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO
Menetekel
04
04
GROOVENOM
Wir müssen reden
03
04
THE RECEIPTS
The Receipts
02
04
FONTAINES D.C
Dogrel
01
04
FRAGRANCE
Now That I'm Real

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 33 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
15
04
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #33 out now!
14
04
Blindness Vocalist Beth Rettig Announces Debut EP ''The Desert'' From New Project Where We Sleep
13
04
Watch a new trailer for an upcoming documentary on Canadian synthpunk innovator, Nash The Slash!
12
04
Coil Release 150 minutes Of Music Entitled ''SWANYARD''
11
04
Tomorrow! Double concert Neon Electronics + Simi Nah - Win a free album!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
04
GNOSTIC GORILLA
WAKE UP! We are really in deep shit if we don’t snap out of this siege mentality and we need to stop killing the earth!
12
04
ERNEST MOON
“Our interest in the literary arts is equal to that of music.”
11
04
51 PEG
Breaking A 14-Year Absence: An Interview With 51 Peg
10
04
JO QUAIL
'I guess I’m a bit difficult to categorize!'
08
04
LAIBACH
'In reality, nobody really wants to solve a Korean problem.'

PHOTOS

18
04
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
Dark Skies over Witten V Werkstatt Witten Germany
18
04
AUGER
Dark Skies over Witten V Wekstatt Witten Germany
06
04
PERSEPHONE
@ A Mourning hall concert Gelsenkirchen
24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
04
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Gone (Feat. Yvette Winkler)
20
04
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
19
04
GNOSTIC GORRILA
St. Basil's Asylum
18
04
UNDERTHESKIN
Borderline
18
04
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
17
04
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
16
04
ANNI HOGAN
Angels Of Romance (featuring Gavin Friday