tempobet yeni adresi

28/05/2013 : XP8 - Adrenochrome

XP8

Adrenochrome

MusicCD
Dark ElectroDark PopEBMTechno

[89/100]   

Self-released
28/05/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

The least we can say about XP8 is that they got balls! Leaving DWA, working out a fundraising campaign for their new album AND raising the required money (pretty fast). Andrenochrome is more than just the music: it's a novel, based on a story written by Marko, in the late 1990’s and recently revised. The story is set in the not so distant future in a third recession London. The story revolves around two individuals, Liam Bateman and Kath Hastings. Liam is assisting Kath from being captured by various organizations for the information she carries. The story takes you through all the twists, turns, and deception they encounter. It's a tale full of intriguing characters with larger than life personalities. It's very cyberpunk in nature, calling upon all the classic themes of the genre while maintaining a distinct rivethead feel. With these characteristics, it's a captivating novel, which fans of sci-fi and suspense will surely embrase.

Every track on Adrenochrome is named after a chapter in the book and the music acts as the perfect accompaniment to the story. Apart from that, each of the songs can easily be played in a club, car, or your home, without the need of keeping the noval handy. So far the underlying concept of this great endevor! Push play and start to read...

'Awakenings' is the kind of song that gets you out of your bed and pumps you all up, ready to go and fill the dancefloor. I love the beats and the uptempo vibe. The vocals still remind me a bit of Apoptygma Berzerk, but i love it. Great sound!

'Camden Town' goes on with the same vibe, hitting the dancefloor! The little breakdowns are great and I love the whispering voice, before the game explodes. It has the same quality as what we can expect from our national radio and expensive studio recordings! Starting to love this novel, whilst listening to the second song over and over...

'Getaway' still resonates in my head, love the pumpin' beats, goes well with the short story. Could make it on the dancefloor too, hitting like a nuclear blast. It's well worked out with nice beats and a great voice. A warm welcome to clubland, again!

With a roaring sound from the get go, like a cyberbike getting started, nasty talk, nasty (computer)voice and some breakbeats, 'Information' is also part of clubland. XP8 really gets the party going.

'Night run' fits in very well with the story, it really feels like it should be... Love the dropping of bombs on the dancefloor and the warm sound which fills the air.

'Beyond the looking glass' takes of as a pure techno track, with a fat bass kicking in early in the track. The only thing that sounds a bit strange is the voice, luckily some angry sounds take over the voice, making it even more creepy. Some real harsh EBM emerge after a while, to slow down again and trow a new bomb, seems more and more like a technique.

'Going underground' cools the game a bit, sounding a bit like old school New Wave (almost like Gary Numan versus The Klinik). Love this track! After the whispering voice, some nice distant vocals are introduced.

'Hunters' is again an incoming bomb and the screaming in 'incoming, search and destroy', I simply adore.

'Hostage' feels like a bit of nostalgia, due to the voice (err sounds even a bit like Robert Smith from The Cure), love the pumping beats. well driven song.

'Showdown' starts like a hell of a Suicide Commando song, mixed with some great techno. This one will definitely make it on the dancefloor.

With 'Inside their heads', it's time to go back to the Apoptygma Berzerk kind of vocals, bringing a warmer sound, as if peace finally returns...

I must say I loved the novel in combination with the music. XP8 has done a great job, blowing us out of our socks! The sound and the production is just so professional! They have balls and they kick ass as never before!

interview:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/xp8/

review of their gig:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/suicide-commando-soman-aesthetic-perfection-sam-xp8-c-lekktor-surgyn-vampireparty-live-6-4-2013-petrol-antwerpen-belgium/

Filip VAN MUYLEM
28/05/2013


 

Next reviews
MONO NO AWARE • Tatemae
ZEBRA ISLAND • Saturnine
PARáRA
WIELORYB • Namaste
GUIDO BELCANTO • Zo Goed Als Alleen
SONIC AREA • Music For Ghosts
SAVAGES • Review of the concert at the Botanique in Brussels on May 13th 2013
GEISTFORM • Data Transmission
CHELSEA WOLFE • Review of the concert at the Trix in Antwerp on May 6th, 2013
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Evoking eternity ep

 

Other reviews from XP8
XP8 • Albedo
XP8 • Nigredo EP

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BOY HARSHER • Country Girl
CEPHALGY • Gott Maschine Vaterland
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
CYGNOSIC • Siren
NEO SATAN • Black Mass Prophecy
DATACODE DIVISION • Dissections
FOR ALL THE EMPTINESS • MT

 

Same genre: DARK POP
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
CHRISTIAN KJELLVANDER • A Village: Natural Light
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree

 

Same genre: EBM
STRONG PRODUCT • Product III
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals
DIVE • Underneath
ABSURD MINDS • Tempus Fugit
ELM • Kampftrinker
THE FORCE DIMENSION • Machine Sex
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'

 

Same genre: TECHNO
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
AUTOGEN • Antigen
AXIOME • L’avenir est un cerf teint

Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
OMD, MIDGE URE and more confirmed at XIV. AMPHI FESTIVAL 2018
17
01
no:carrier drops 'Lovesong' video, a cover of The Cure hit in collaboration with Mills and Nadia S.
31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
17
01
WOUTER DEWIT
La durée. - Strings Version
16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury
13
01
VOITH
A Christmas Eve In Berlin (Official Video)