tempobet yeni adresi
like this digital review

12/06/2017 : XOSAR - Xymeria

XOSAR

Xymeria

MusicDigital
HorrorLo-fiTechno

[93/100]   

Self-released
12/06/2017, Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY

US-born and Berlin-based producer Xosar is back with another collection of tracks, released digitally via her own Bandcamp. The seventeen tracks in "Xymeria" are kind of connected with each other as the soundtrack to her own Sci-Fi story about the Xymerians, human beings that have been able, in the near future, to create a sort of separate state of enhanced spirituality. Whether we are interested or not in the story itself, it's undeniable that the music is definitely more Sci-Fi and occult-driven than ever.

What she was already showing in some of her previous LPs, like "Holographic Matrix" from 2015 and "Psychick Justice" from 2014, and in her last EP "Show Yourself", released in her own imprint Gyrocyre, feels fully developed here. This is dark, occult-friendly, mystical Post-Techno. You can tell that she loves Coil, not because Xymeria sounds remotely similar to our beloved duo but because the whole album feels like a weird trip to a separate dimension, much like Coil's most esoteric albums. In some of the slower, creepier tracks, she even gets closer to contemporary Horror-Synth weirdos like Umberto or Xander Harris than to anything even resembling dance music.

The album is full of gems and it should definitely be enjoyed as a whole but my favourite track is probably "Cybertronika", complete with vocals and a Pop approach that for some reason makes it sound even more unsettling, like the soundtrack to some nightmarish Horror/Sci-Fi musical. Let's hope we can listen to this on vinyl some time in the not too distant future.

Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY
12/06/2017


12/06/2017 : XOSAR - Xymeria 12/06/2017 : XOSAR - Xymeria

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless