tempobet yeni adresi
like this digital review

12/06/2017 : XOSAR - Xymeria

XOSAR

Xymeria

MusicDigital
HorrorLo-fiTechno

[93/100]   

Self-released
12/06/2017, Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY

US-born and Berlin-based producer Xosar is back with another collection of tracks, released digitally via her own Bandcamp. The seventeen tracks in "Xymeria" are kind of connected with each other as the soundtrack to her own Sci-Fi story about the Xymerians, human beings that have been able, in the near future, to create a sort of separate state of enhanced spirituality. Whether we are interested or not in the story itself, it's undeniable that the music is definitely more Sci-Fi and occult-driven than ever.

What she was already showing in some of her previous LPs, like "Holographic Matrix" from 2015 and "Psychick Justice" from 2014, and in her last EP "Show Yourself", released in her own imprint Gyrocyre, feels fully developed here. This is dark, occult-friendly, mystical Post-Techno. You can tell that she loves Coil, not because Xymeria sounds remotely similar to our beloved duo but because the whole album feels like a weird trip to a separate dimension, much like Coil's most esoteric albums. In some of the slower, creepier tracks, she even gets closer to contemporary Horror-Synth weirdos like Umberto or Xander Harris than to anything even resembling dance music.

The album is full of gems and it should definitely be enjoyed as a whole but my favourite track is probably "Cybertronika", complete with vocals and a Pop approach that for some reason makes it sound even more unsettling, like the soundtrack to some nightmarish Horror/Sci-Fi musical. Let's hope we can listen to this on vinyl some time in the not too distant future.

Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY
12/06/2017


12/06/2017 : XOSAR - Xymeria 12/06/2017 : XOSAR - Xymeria

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 44 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'
06
04
MARROWVOLTAGE
There is always a strong, dominating motif behind any of our songs. A feeling, a powerful association. For example, the gravitational force of an abyss underneath you. The movement of mighty and elegant creatures in the
05
04
LACRIMOSA
There were times when I could hardly believe that I would ever be able to finish the album.
10
03
ADULT.
'We have worked and risked so much to make this tour happen, so pleeeeeease come get wild!!!'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
11
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Great God
10
05
MOTOR!K
Static