tempobet yeni adresi
like this mp3/download review

12/06/2017 : XOSAR - Xymeria

XOSAR

Xymeria

MusicMP3/Download
HorrorLo-fiTechno

[93/100]   

Self-released
12/06/2017, Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY

US-born and Berlin-based producer Xosar is back with another collection of tracks, released digitally via her own Bandcamp. The seventeen tracks in "Xymeria" are kind of connected with each other as the soundtrack to her own Sci-Fi story about the Xymerians, human beings that have been able, in the near future, to create a sort of separate state of enhanced spirituality. Whether we are interested or not in the story itself, it's undeniable that the music is definitely more Sci-Fi and occult-driven than ever.

What she was already showing in some of her previous LPs, like "Holographic Matrix" from 2015 and "Psychick Justice" from 2014, and in her last EP "Show Yourself", released in her own imprint Gyrocyre, feels fully developed here. This is dark, occult-friendly, mystical Post-Techno. You can tell that she loves Coil, not because Xymeria sounds remotely similar to our beloved duo but because the whole album feels like a weird trip to a separate dimension, much like Coil's most esoteric albums. In some of the slower, creepier tracks, she even gets closer to contemporary Horror-Synth weirdos like Umberto or Xander Harris than to anything even resembling dance music.

The album is full of gems and it should definitely be enjoyed as a whole but my favourite track is probably "Cybertronika", complete with vocals and a Pop approach that for some reason makes it sound even more unsettling, like the soundtrack to some nightmarish Horror/Sci-Fi musical. Let's hope we can listen to this on vinyl some time in the not too distant future.

Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY
12/06/2017


12/06/2017 : XOSAR - Xymeria 12/06/2017 : XOSAR - Xymeria

Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
08
Diane Grace signs Devil's pact with Starman Records
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
08
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
19
08
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
18
08
MARY OCHER
The Android Sea
17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless