tempobet yeni adresi
like this digital review

12/06/2017 : XOSAR - Xymeria

XOSAR

Xymeria

MusicDigital
HorrorLo-fiTechno

[93/100]   

Self-released
12/06/2017, Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY

US-born and Berlin-based producer Xosar is back with another collection of tracks, released digitally via her own Bandcamp. The seventeen tracks in "Xymeria" are kind of connected with each other as the soundtrack to her own Sci-Fi story about the Xymerians, human beings that have been able, in the near future, to create a sort of separate state of enhanced spirituality. Whether we are interested or not in the story itself, it's undeniable that the music is definitely more Sci-Fi and occult-driven than ever.

What she was already showing in some of her previous LPs, like "Holographic Matrix" from 2015 and "Psychick Justice" from 2014, and in her last EP "Show Yourself", released in her own imprint Gyrocyre, feels fully developed here. This is dark, occult-friendly, mystical Post-Techno. You can tell that she loves Coil, not because Xymeria sounds remotely similar to our beloved duo but because the whole album feels like a weird trip to a separate dimension, much like Coil's most esoteric albums. In some of the slower, creepier tracks, she even gets closer to contemporary Horror-Synth weirdos like Umberto or Xander Harris than to anything even resembling dance music.

The album is full of gems and it should definitely be enjoyed as a whole but my favourite track is probably "Cybertronika", complete with vocals and a Pop approach that for some reason makes it sound even more unsettling, like the soundtrack to some nightmarish Horror/Sci-Fi musical. Let's hope we can listen to this on vinyl some time in the not too distant future.

Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY
12/06/2017


12/06/2017 : XOSAR - Xymeria 12/06/2017 : XOSAR - Xymeria

Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

25
09
LEAETHER STRIP
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
COMBICHRIST
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
SOLAR FAKE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
WINTERKALTE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets